دخل مضمون لما لا غنى عنه

لقد كنت أستمع إلى الكثير من الموسيقى أثناء الوباء ، في محاولة لفهم عالمنا. إن الوباء العالمي ، والحرائق المستعرة ، وقمع الناخبين ، وانتخابات سحب الثقة ، وأزمات اللاجئين ليست سوى عدد قليل من الأمور التي تشغل بالنا.

هناك أغنية واحدة تسمى "Sueño con Serpientes"- للموسيقي والشاعر الكوبي سيلفيو رودريغيز - يستخدم استعارات قوية أعتقد أنها تتحدث عما نمر به اليوم.

كتب سيلفيو هذه الأغنية في عام 1975 من كابوس حيث يحارب الثعابين الشفافة ذات الميل الشبيه بالهيدرا. في كل مرة يذبح فيها ثعبانًا ، يظهر ثعبان آخر أكبر.

تبدو مألوفة؟ أعيد تشغيل الأغنية وسط موجة أخرى من انتشار فيروس كورونا. منذ أشهر ، كنا نتغلب على الفيروس حتى ظهر متغير دلتا. كان الضوء في نهاية النفق على مرمى البصر! الآن ، نحن في خضم الجائحة مرة أخرى. لكن كل الأمل لم يضيع ، كما تقول الأغنية ، سيلفيو يهزم الثعبان الأكبر عندما يعلن un verso، una verdad.

أنا أعرف. من المريح التفكير في أن إعلان الحقيقة وحده يمكن أن يهزم أقوى الثعابين ، أو أي وحوش أو أوبئة نحاربها. اتضح أن الحقيقة ضرورية لتقوية قناعتنا ، لكن الأمر يتطلب الكثير لكي تصبح بطلاً. يلمح سيلفيو إلى ماهية ذلك من خلال تلاوة قصيدة بيرتولت بريخت في بداية الأغنية:

"هناك أناس يقاتلون ليوم واحد ، وهم جيدون.
هناك آخرون يقاتلون لمدة عام ، وهم أفضل.
هناك من يقاتل لسنوات عديدة ، وهم أفضل من ذلك.
ولكن هناك من يقاتل طوال حياته: هؤلاء هم الذين لا غنى عنهم ".

النصر لا يضمن الفوز بمعركة واحدة فقط. يتطلب الأمر عملاً حقيقياً بمرور الوقت لكي تكون بطلاً حقيقيًا - مما يجعل أولئك الذين يقاتلون يومًا بعد يوم ، وعلى مر السنين ، وطوال حياتهم ، كما تقول القصيدة ، لا غنى عنه. 

في عالمنا اليوم ، أعتقد أن العمال الأساسيين هم العاملون الذين لا غنى عنهم ، الأبطال الحقيقيون.

فكر في الأمر. حتى قبل توفر لقاحات COVID-19 على نطاق واسع ، ظهر العاملون الأساسيون للعمل في الحقول الزراعية ومصانع تجهيز الأغذية والمطاعم عندما كنا في أمس الحاجة إليها. لقد حضروا إلى العمل ، وخاطروا بحياتهم للحفاظ على مجتمعنا مستمراً. بدون العمالة المهاجرة ، لكانت سلسلة الإمداد الغذائي الخاصة بنا قد انهارت ، مما تسبب في حالة من الذعر والأضرار التي لا توصف في المجتمع. 

لا يمكن قول الشيء نفسه عن الجميع. لم تحضر حكومتنا الفيدرالية للعائلات المهاجرة ، وبدلاً من ذلك تجاهلت نضالاتهم حيث فقدت العائلات الدخل واستنفدت المدخرات وتراكمت الديون. لقد استثنوا عائلات المهاجرين من تلقي الإغاثة التي كان من الممكن أن تساعدهم على مواكبة الفواتير ودفع الإيجار للبقاء في السكن. 

نظرًا لظلم إقصاء عائلات المهاجرين من الإغاثة ، صعد جيراننا لتقديم يد المساعدة.

جمعت MAF $55M لتقديم 63000+ منحة لمساعدة العائلات والعاملين والطلاب غير المسجلين في تغطية الاحتياجات الأساسية والفورية. لكن بينما ننهي برنامج منح الاستجابة السريعة ، نعلم أنه لم يكن كافيًا بشكل واضح. كانت الحاجة هائلة ومكثفة. كوفيد -19 دمر الحياة المالية للعائلات، وسوف يستغرقون سنوات للتعافي. 

نحن مستعدون لعمل المزيد. في ماف ، ننتقل من منح الاستجابة السريعة إلى تقديم الدعم طويل الأجل للأسر التي لديها أطفال والتي تم استبعادها الآن من الحصول على الائتمان الضريبي للأطفال الموسع. أكثر من مليون طفل مهاجر ليس لديهم أرقام ضمان اجتماعي لا يحصلون على الدعم. نحن نطلق MAF's صندوق إنعاش عائلات المهاجرين مع تمويل أولي $25M لتزويد عائلات المهاجرين بدخل مضمون يصل إلى عامين. سيحصل المشاركون على النقد المباشر ، والتدريب المالي المكثف ، والتدريب على المناصرة الذاتية ، والوصول إلى مجموعة MAF من بناء الائتمان والقروض بدون فائدة للمساعدة في إعادة بناء حياتهم المالية بشكل أسرع. 

في ماف ، نقدم كل ما لدينا لتحمله في مكافحة الفقر ، تمامًا كما فعل العاملون الأساسيون في خضم الوباء العالمي.

ونريد أن نفعل ما هو أفضل. نخطط ل التقييم والدراسة والمشاركة ما نتعلمه من رحلة التعافي لإعلام وإلهام حلول السياسات لتغيير الأنظمة بشكل هادف. 

الاستماع إلى موسيقى Silvio يجعلني أقدر حقيقة أنه ، سواء كنا نقتل الثعابين الشفافة أو نحارب الحرائق أو نحارب الفقر ، فإن الأمر يتطلب اقتناعًا حقيقيًا وعملًا شاقًا طوال العمر لضمان أي نصر. 

لم يكن هذا قتالًا لمرة واحدة من أجلنا ، ولكن الكفاح من أجل حياتنا. هذه هي حقيقتنا. 

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

A Guaranteed Income for the Indispensable

I have been listening to a lot of music during the pandemic, trying to make sense of our world. A global pandemic, raging fires, voter suppression, a recall election, and refugee crises are but a few of what’s top of mind.

There’s one song called “Sueño con Serpientes”—by the Cuban musician and poet Silvio Rodríguez—that uses powerful metaphors that I think speak to what we are going through today.

Silvio wrote this song in 1975 from a nightmare where he battles translucent serpents with a hydra-like tendency. Every time he slays one snake, another larger one appears.

Sound familiar? I replay the song in the midst of yet another COVID-19 surge. Months ago, we were beating the virus until the Delta variant appeared. The light at the end of the tunnel was within sight! Now, we’re in the thick of the pandemic again. But all hope is not lost for, as the song goes, Silvio defeats the larger serpent when he proclaims un verso, una verdad.

I know. It’s soothing to think that proclaiming one’s truth alone can defeat the mightiest of serpents, or whatever monsters or pandemics we’re fighting against. Truth, it turns out, is necessary to strengthen our conviction but it takes a lot more to be a hero. Silvio hints at what that is by reciting this Bertolt Brecht poem at the beginning of the song:

“There are people who fight for a day, and they are good.
There are others who fight for a year, and they are better.
There are those who fight for many years, and they are better still.
But there are those who fight all their lives: these are the indispensable ones.”

Victory is not assured by winning one battle alone. It takes real work over time to be a real hero—making those that fight day in and day out, over years, and throughout their lifetimes, as the poem states, indispensable. 

In our world today, I think of essential workers as the indispensable ones, the real heroes.

Think about it. Even before the COVID-19 vaccines were widely available, essential workers showed up to work in agricultural fields, in food processing plants, and in restaurants when we most needed them. They showed up to work, risking their lives to keep our society going. Without immigrant labor, our food supply chain would have crumbled, causing untold panic and harm in society. 

The same cannot be said of everyone. Our federal government did not show up for immigrant families, instead ignoring their struggles as families lost income, depleted savings, and amassed debts. They excluded immigrant families from receiving relief that could have helped them stay current with bills and pay rent to stay housed. 

Seeing the injustice of excluding immigrant families from relief, our neighbors stepped up to lend a hand.

MAF raised $55M to provide 63,000+ grants to help undocumented families, workers, and students cover basic and immediate needs. But as we wind down our rapid response grants program, we know it was clearly not enough. The need was immense and intense. COVID-19 devastated the financial lives of families, and it will take them years to recover. 

We are ready to do more. At MAF we are moving from rapid response grants to providing long term support to families with children who are now excluded from receiving the expanded Child Tax Credit. Over one million immigrant children without Social Security numbers are not getting support. We are launching MAF’s Immigrant Families Recovery Fund with $25M seed funding to provide immigrant families a guaranteed income of $300 per month for up to two years. Participants will receive direct cash, intensive financial coaching, self-advocacy training, and access to MAF’s suite of credit building and zero interest loans to help rebuild their financial lives faster. 

At MAF, we’re bringing all that we have to bear in the fight against poverty, just as essential workers did in the midst of the global pandemic.

And we want to do better. We plan to evaluate, study, and share what we learn from their recovery journey to inform and inspire policy solutions for meaningful systems change. 

Listening to Silvio’s music makes me appreciate the fact that, whether we’re slaying translucent serpents or battling fires or fighting poverty, it takes real conviction and hard work over a lifetime to ensure any victory. 

This has never been a one-time fight for us, but the fight for our lives. That’s our truth. 

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English