不可或缺的收入保障

在大流行期间,我一直在听很多音乐,试图了解我们的世界。全球大流行、熊熊大火、选民压制、罢免选举和难民危机只是人们最关心的几个问题。

有一首歌叫“Sueño con Serpientes”——由古巴音乐家和诗人西尔维奥·罗德里格斯 (Silvio Rodríguez) 撰写——我认为它使用了强有力的隐喻来说明我们今天正在经历的事情。

西尔维奥在 1975 年创作这首歌曲时,他在一场噩梦中创作了这首曲子,当时他与具有九头蛇似的倾向的半透明蛇战斗。每当他杀死一条蛇时,就会出现另一条更大的蛇。

听起来有点熟?在又一次 COVID-19 激增期间,我重播了这首歌。几个月前,我们一直在打败病毒,直到 Delta 变种出现。隧道尽头的光芒就在眼前!现在,我们又一次陷入了大流行之中。但是所有的希望都没有消失,正如这首歌所说,西尔维奥在宣布时击败了更大的蛇 un verso, una verdad.

我知道。想到仅宣扬自己的真理就可以击败最强大的蛇,或者我们正在对抗的任何怪物或流行病,这是令人欣慰的。事实证明,真相对于加强我们的信念是必要的,但要成为英雄还需要付出更多。 Silvio 通过在歌曲开头背诵 Bertolt Brecht 的这首诗来暗示那是什么:

“有些人打了一天,他们很好。
还有人奋斗了一年,他们更胜一筹。
有些人打了很多年,他们还是更好。
但有些人终其一生都在战斗:这些人是不可或缺的。”

单打一仗不能保证胜利.成为一个真正的英雄需要随着时间的推移付出真正的努力——让那些日复一日、年复一年、终其一生都在战斗的人,如诗中所言,不可或缺。 

在我们今天的世界中,我认为必不可少的工人是不可或缺的人,真正的英雄。

想想看。甚至在 COVID-19 疫苗广泛可用之前,基本工人就出现在我们最需要的时候在农田、食品加工厂和餐馆工作。他们出现在工作岗位上,冒着生命危险来维持我们的社会运转。如果没有移民劳动力,我们的食品供应链就会崩溃,对社会造成难以言喻的恐慌和伤害。 

不能说每个人都一样。我们的联邦政府没有为移民家庭出面,而是无视他们在家庭失去收入、耗尽储蓄和积累债务时的挣扎。他们将移民家庭排除在接受救济之外,这些救济本可以帮助他们及时支付账单并支付租金以留在家中。 

看到将移民家庭排除在救济范围之外的不公正,我们的邻居站出来伸出援助之手。

MAF 筹集了 $55M 以提供 63,000 多笔赠款,以帮助无证家庭、工人和学生满足基本和紧急需求。 但随着我们的快速反应拨款计划逐渐结束,我们知道这显然还不够。需求是巨大而强烈的。新冠肺炎 摧毁了家庭的财务生活,而且他们需要数年时间才能恢复。 

我们准备做更多。在 MAF,我们正在从快速响应赠款转向为现在被排除在扩大儿童税收抵免之外的有孩子的家庭提供长期支持。超过一百万没有社会安全号码的移民儿童没有得到支持。我们正在推出 MAF 移民家庭康复基金 以 $25M 的种子资金为移民家庭提供长达两年的收入保障。参与者将获得直接现金、密集的财务指导、自我宣传培训,并获得 MAF 的信用建设和零利率贷款套件,以帮助他们更快地重建财务生活。 

在 MAF,我们将竭尽全力与贫困作斗争,就像在全球大流行期间必不可少的工人所做的那样。

我们想做得更好。我们计划 评估、研究和分享 我们从他们的恢复之旅中学到了什么,为有意义的系统变革提供信息和启发政策解决方案。 

听 Silvio 的音乐让我体会到这样一个事实:无论我们是在杀死半透明的蛇,还是在与火灾作斗争或与贫困作斗争,都需要真正的信念和一生的努力才能确保任何胜利。 

这对我们来说从来都不是一次性的斗争,而是为我们的生命而斗争。这就是我们的真理。 

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

A Guaranteed Income for the Indispensable

I have been listening to a lot of music during the pandemic, trying to make sense of our world. A global pandemic, raging fires, voter suppression, a recall election, and refugee crises are but a few of what’s top of mind.

There’s one song called “Sueño con Serpientes”—by the Cuban musician and poet Silvio Rodríguez—that uses powerful metaphors that I think speak to what we are going through today.

Silvio wrote this song in 1975 from a nightmare where he battles translucent serpents with a hydra-like tendency. Every time he slays one snake, another larger one appears.

Sound familiar? I replay the song in the midst of yet another COVID-19 surge. Months ago, we were beating the virus until the Delta variant appeared. The light at the end of the tunnel was within sight! Now, we’re in the thick of the pandemic again. But all hope is not lost for, as the song goes, Silvio defeats the larger serpent when he proclaims un verso, una verdad.

I know. It’s soothing to think that proclaiming one’s truth alone can defeat the mightiest of serpents, or whatever monsters or pandemics we’re fighting against. Truth, it turns out, is necessary to strengthen our conviction but it takes a lot more to be a hero. Silvio hints at what that is by reciting this Bertolt Brecht poem at the beginning of the song:

“There are people who fight for a day, and they are good.
There are others who fight for a year, and they are better.
There are those who fight for many years, and they are better still.
But there are those who fight all their lives: these are the indispensable ones.”

Victory is not assured by winning one battle alone. It takes real work over time to be a real hero—making those that fight day in and day out, over years, and throughout their lifetimes, as the poem states, indispensable. 

In our world today, I think of essential workers as the indispensable ones, the real heroes.

Think about it. Even before the COVID-19 vaccines were widely available, essential workers showed up to work in agricultural fields, in food processing plants, and in restaurants when we most needed them. They showed up to work, risking their lives to keep our society going. Without immigrant labor, our food supply chain would have crumbled, causing untold panic and harm in society. 

The same cannot be said of everyone. Our federal government did not show up for immigrant families, instead ignoring their struggles as families lost income, depleted savings, and amassed debts. They excluded immigrant families from receiving relief that could have helped them stay current with bills and pay rent to stay housed. 

Seeing the injustice of excluding immigrant families from relief, our neighbors stepped up to lend a hand.

MAF raised $55M to provide 63,000+ grants to help undocumented families, workers, and students cover basic and immediate needs. But as we wind down our rapid response grants program, we know it was clearly not enough. The need was immense and intense. COVID-19 devastated the financial lives of families, and it will take them years to recover. 

We are ready to do more. At MAF we are moving from rapid response grants to providing long term support to families with children who are now excluded from receiving the expanded Child Tax Credit. Over one million immigrant children without Social Security numbers are not getting support. We are launching MAF’s Immigrant Families Recovery Fund with $25M seed funding to provide immigrant families a guaranteed income of $300 per month for up to two years. Participants will receive direct cash, intensive financial coaching, self-advocacy training, and access to MAF’s suite of credit building and zero interest loans to help rebuild their financial lives faster. 

At MAF, we’re bringing all that we have to bear in the fight against poverty, just as essential workers did in the midst of the global pandemic.

And we want to do better. We plan to evaluate, study, and share what we learn from their recovery journey to inform and inspire policy solutions for meaningful systems change. 

Listening to Silvio’s music makes me appreciate the fact that, whether we’re slaying translucent serpents or battling fires or fighting poverty, it takes real conviction and hard work over a lifetime to ensure any victory. 

This has never been a one-time fight for us, but the fight for our lives. That’s our truth. 

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English