一起出现并重建


2020年年度报告 

2020年是我们永远不会忘记的一年。COVID-19大流行病摧毁了数百万家庭的健康和经济福祉,揭示了我们社会基础中像霉菌一样滋生的不平等现象。在这一背景下,乔治-弗洛伊德的谋杀案点燃了全世界的示威游行,人们走上街头,呼吁种族正义,同时撕毁压迫的象征和制度。

我们并肩作战,为2020年的家庭经济生存而努力。在疫情发生的初期,我们迅速行动起来,通过设立一个基金,为最少的人和最后的人提供直接的现金援助,以应对眼前的需求。虽然这项工作是全新的、充满挑战的,但我们通过倾听客户的心声获得了灵感,他们在面对难以想象的压力时,不是以崩溃的方式来应对,而是通过复原力和创造力来转变。到了年底,我们筹集并分发了超过$4千万的急需救援物资,这是我们以前从未接触过的规模,但同样有效地提供了救援。

仍有许多工作要做。今年提醒我们,将社区编织在一起的联系线不仅仅是概念。我们了解到,社区是一个生死攸关的问题。这就是为什么我们将继续出现、倾听和提高声音,这些声音可以共同成为我们所喜爱的甜美的变革之歌,唱出一个所有人都属于的世界。自MAF成立以来,我们就在这首歌中起舞,希望在2021年及以后的日子里,您能加入我们。让我们继续向着正义和欢乐前进。 

JOSÉ QUIÑONEZ
创始人兼CEO

将价值观付诸行动

2020年初,世界被笼罩在不确定的面纱之下。然而,随着新常态的迅速形成,有一个观察结果变得明显而可怕:有色人种受到的打击格外严重。我们做出了一个决定,为那些被遗弃的人挺身而出,以我们的价值观作为北极星进入未知的世界。在这个危机时刻,我们选择了与人们的生活及时相关的资源,通过我们团队的不懈努力,迅速创造了三项新的服务:直接现金援助、恢复贷款,以及一个提升他们的故事和声音的平台。

直接现金援助

在疫情发生之初,我们听到客户说,我们的标准服务还不够。我们迅速行动,启动了COVID-19快速反应基金,通过公平的视角向最后和最不需要帮助的人发放经济援助。在这一年里,我们向全国43 000多个家庭提供了不受限制的现金补助。

建立伙伴关系

我们与全国各地的合作伙伴携手合作,完成了难以想象的任务:筹集了$4千万的资金,以支持那些被排除在联邦救济之外的家庭。我们与一个全国性的社区组织网络合作,通过当地和值得信赖的来源发放救济金,确保我们在最重要的时候出现在人们身边。

动员社区

我们发起了一项新的工作,以动员社区并确保在2020年关键的公民时刻听到人们的声音。这项工作反映了这样一个现实,即财务安全不仅仅是人们的财务选择。新的运动、资源和信息有助于增强人们领导变革的能力。

应对时机

每个团队都有2020年的计划。有的甚至有精心雕琢的、激动人心的计划。当每一个计划都被抛出,消失在快速变化的世界风中时,每一个团队、每一个组织、每一个人都被迫出现。就像我们所服务的那些强大、坚韧的客户一样,我们出现了,并开始工作。我们为我们的贷款项目增加了新的灵活性,将现有的服务迁移到网上,并通过贷款、赠款、辅导和资源等方式来传递支持和团结的信息。

 

 

 

 

 

移民贷款

我们挺身而出,帮助传播归属感的信息,回击排斥和恐惧的敌对移民政策环境。我们大声反对不公正的移民费上涨,并动员盟友建立一个$250万循环贷款基金,帮助移民获得零息贷款,以申请公民身份、DACA等。

 

 

 

 

 

 商业贷款

创业精神是客户DNA的一部分。每天,我们都在与那些为了生存和发展而拼搏的小企业主合作,2020年对他们的考验是无与伦比的。今年,我们推出了新的创业辅导计划,并提供三种类型的贷款,以帮助创业者启动、发展和升级他们的业务。

 

 

 

Lending Circles

2020年的金融破坏凸显了我们在危机时刻对社区的依赖程度。在经济衰退和普遍失业的情况下,超过1 600人以虚拟方式聚集在一起,加入了 "借贷圈"。客户们挺身而出,创建社区,共同借贷,互助互济。

动员社区采取行动

人们的财务安全不仅仅与他们的个人财务选择有关,在很多情况下,还与他们的公民生活有关。这就是为什么在2020年,我们将动员作为一项不断增长的工作内容,并与创业工作室super{set}合作。这种新的合作关系使我们能够利用最好的技术发起相关活动,并动员人们采取行动。

  • 2020年人口普查

    在十年一次的机会中,我们发起了2020年人口普查活动,以确保经常被视为 "难以到达 "的低收入和移民社区被计算在内。我们发现,通过短信等无障碍渠道发送与文化相关的信息,大大增加了对人口普查的参与和投入。

  • 争取投票

    由于2020年大选事关重大,我们决定发起我们自己的 "外出投票"(GOTV)活动。通过精心策划的目标和相关信息,我们深思熟虑地让社区参与进来--无论他们是否符合资格,都可以利用他们的选票和声音作为强有力的工具,来建设一个为所有人服务的未来。

  • 参议院第1157号法案

    今年,我们共同发起并帮助加州立法机构通过了参议院第1157号法案,使之成为全国第一项租金报告法案。这部新法律为居住在补贴住房中的租户提供了一个历史性的新的信用建设机会,使他们可以选择通过租金报告来建立自己的信用。

社区的力量

这动荡的一年表明了一点:在危机时刻,我们相互依靠。为了应对前所未有的挑战,我们加深了对合作伙伴的承诺。我们欢迎七个令人难以置信的组织加入 "Lending Circles "网络,承担了自愿基金全国召集人的角色,并与公共部门伙伴结盟,向移民家庭发放直接现金援助。

Lending Circles社区

我们与富国银行合作,通过发起全国性的Lending Circles社区活动来迎接2020年的到来,寻找有兴趣将Lending Circles带入其社区的非营利组织。在收到来自全国30多个组织的兴趣后,我们欢迎七个令人难以置信的组织加入Lending Circles网络。.

Ventanillas de Asesoría Financiera (VAF)

我们作为VAF国家召集人承担了新的领导角色,与全国各地的墨西哥领事馆合作,为墨西哥国民提供资源和工具,以适应新的现实。在这一年中,我们主持了网络研讨会,提供及时的资源和工具--从符合CARES法案的减免资格到在COVID期间浏览美国税收制度。

政府伙伴关系

2020年还与地方和州政府建立了新的、更强有力的伙伴关系。从旧金山到圣马特奥县,直到加州首府的台阶,合作伙伴共同努力,分发直接的现金援助,帮助人们提交移民申请,并将家庭与他们所需的资源和信息联系起来。

与外地分享见解

在许多人感到被忽视和看不见的一年里,我们伸出援手,倾听和理解低工资工人、学生和移民家庭在COVID-19危机期间面临的现实。我们从客户的故事、挑战和牺牲中提升我们的学习,让这个领域了解家庭是如何生存的,并学习我们需要如何在这个新的现实中与人们见面。

 

 

 

 

无形的静止

由于没有得到联邦救济,数百万家庭只能勉强维持生计。为了了解这些家庭所面临的现实情况,我们设计并实施了一项前所未有的全国性调查,调查对象包括11 000多名移民。在突破性的新研究中,我们揭示了家庭在COVID-19期间生存和牺牲的不为人知的故事。

 

 

 

 

大流行病中的教育

在新的快速反应洞察系列中,我们拉开了加州低收入大学生经济生活的帷幕。我们探讨了学生的财务和教育决定如何与他们的家庭交织在一起,以及在关键时刻,即使是少量的帮助也能对学生的生活产生重大影响。

实现难以想象的目标

在充满未知的一年里,我们的工作规模增长远远超出了我们的想象。有了我们身边的支持者和合作伙伴,有了最先进的技术,有了十多年与低工资工人、移民家庭和有色人种合作的经验,我们的规模超过了我们以前的工作,同时继续将关心和关注的精神带到每一次互动中。

项目与服务

  • 2,600+
    零息贷款

  • 650+
    1:1财务辅导课程

  • 15,000+
    MyMAF下载

支持

  •  57,500+
     客户咨询

  •  20,000+
     资源和推荐

  •  120+
     项目网络研讨会

保持财务复原力

说你会做某事是一回事。但要做到完全是另一回事。这正是我们团队在2020年带领的冲锋陷阵,准确有效地将急需的美元交付到客户手中。鉴于2019年以来800%规模的增长,这项工作需要一个复杂的基础设施、仔细的跟踪系统和专门的团队。

抵抗压力的能力

COVID-19大流行病造成的严重破坏并没有使我们在这一前所未有的时刻与我们的社区站在一起。在员工们日以继夜的努力下,我们得以在2020年将超过$28M的资金直接送到人们手中。更重要的是,我们还提供了超过$3M的核心金融项目支持。我们之所以能够在继续保持核心基础的同时,远超以往的极限,是因为每一位成员都完全相信MAF的愿景,并愿意为实现它而努力。

社区的努力

在3月份的短暂时间里,我们集体屏住呼吸,希望出现为一个挣扎中的国家提供有效和持续救济的奇迹。当这一希望在党派政治斗争的重压下崩溃时,我们迅速行动起来,以满足需求。私人基金会和捐赠者加入了我们的行列,他们相信MAF会以诚信和有效的方式为我们提供更多的帮助。2020年,我们的总收入比2019年增加了超过800%--我们的团队和合作伙伴在规模和速度上都做出了非凡的反应,颠覆了传统的方法。

重塑新世界

2021年是充满希望和承诺的一年:COVID-19疫苗正在进行,儿童入境者暂缓行动(DACA)计划已经恢复,新政府提醒我们民主的力量。当我们满怀希望进入2021年时,我们正在采取行动,以确保我们能够实现新一年的承诺。在2020年底,我们欢迎MacKenzie Scott加入MAF的支持者大家庭。有了强大的支持者群体在我们身边,我们正以我们的价值观为引领--倾听人们的声音,确保他们的声音被听到。我们正在考虑更大的问题,设计更大胆的计划,以满足人们在这个不断变化的现实中的需求。我们将最好的技术和我们的项目用于服务于人,我们正在联手重塑一个新的世界。

我们期待着:

吸引人。 重建一个适合所有人的新世界需要远见。正如我们在整个历史上所做的那样,我们有意听取客户的意见,以评估和设想需要做什么。在这个过程中的每一步,我们都在将客户的故事和经验转化为对该领域的见解。

适应性: 正如2020年一次次向我们展示的那样,我们必须为即将到来的事情做好准备。我们知道有 变革在即,我们已经准备好了。新一届美国政府已经准备好改变数百万家庭的现实,承诺进行全面的移民改革和明确的入籍途径。随着DACA的恢复,以及对后续更大变化的期待,我们正在准备确保经济障碍不会阻碍人们获得早该得到的移民救济和保护。

移动化。 只有每个人的声音都被听到,才有可能带来变革。在我们十年一次的人口普查活动和关键的 "走出去投票 "活动所取得的势头的基础上,我们正在继续动员人民并扩大声音。我們正在微調我們的競選平臺,以便在2021年繼續讓人們參與公民活動,並確保他們的聲音被聽到。

充满挑战的。 变革的一个重要部分是挑战关于被遗弃或被认为看不见的人的主流说法。我们正在利用我们从COVID-19快速反应基金中学到的知识为实地提供信息,利用我们的平台来改变这种说法并带来变化。通过知情的方法,我们正在使生活在阴影中的人得到关注,并确保他们的经历得到倾听和认可。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Showing Up & Rebuilding Together


2020 ANNUAL REPORT 

2020 was a year we will never forget. The COVID-19 pandemic devastated the health and financial well-being of millions of families, revealing inequities festering like mold in our society’s foundation. Amidst this backdrop, the murder of George Floyd ignited demonstrations worldwide as people took to the streets to call for racial justice while tearing down symbols and systems of oppression.

We stood shoulder to shoulder in the fight for families’ financial survival in 2020. In the early days of the pandemic, we moved quickly to respond to the immediate need by standing up a fund to distribute direct cash assistance for the least and the last. While this work was new and challenging, we drew inspiration by listening to clients who responded to unimagined pressure not by crumbling, but instead by transforming through resilience and creativity. By year’s end, we’d raised and distributed over $40 million of desperately needed relief, a scale we’d never before approached yet delivered effectively all the same.

There is still much to be done. This year reminded us that the threads of connection that weave community together are more than mere concepts. Community, we’ve learned, is a matter of life or death. This is why we’ll continue to show up, listen and lift up the voices that, together, can be the sweet song of change we’ve come to love, the one that sings of a world where all people belong. We’ve danced to this song since MAF’s inception and hope that, in 2021 and beyond, you’ll join us. Let’s continue moving to justice and to joy. 

JOSÉ QUIÑONEZ
Founder & CEO

Putting Values into Action

In early 2020, the world was cast under a veil of uncertainty. Yet as a new normal quickly set in, one observation became glaringly, terrifyingly apparent: people of color were getting hit disproportionately hard. We made a decision to step up for those left out, entering the unknown with our values as a north star. In this moment of crisis, we chose to meet people with resources that were timely and relevant in their lives, rapidly creating three new services through our team’s tireless efforts: direct cash assistance, recovery loans, and a platform to uplift their stories and voices.

Direct Cash Assistance

At the outset of the pandemic, we heard from clients that our standard services weren’t enough. We moved quickly to launch a COVID-19 Rapid Response Fund, disbursing financial relief through an equity lens to the last and the least. Over the year, we provided unrestricted cash grants to more than 43,000 families nationwide.

Building Partnerships

Hand in hand with partners across the country, We’ve been able to do the unimaginable: raising $40M to support households left out of federal relief. We worked with a national network of community-based organizations to disburse relief through local and trusted sources, making sure we showed up for people when it mattered most.

Mobilizing Communities

We launched a new body of work to mobilize communities and ensure people’s voices were heard in the pivotal civic moments of 2020. This work reflects the reality that financial security is about much more than people’s financial choices. New campaigns, resources, and information helped empower people to lead change.

Responding to the Moment

Every team had plans for 2020. Some even had meticulously sculpted, exciting plans. As each one was thrown out, lost to the winds of a rapidly changing world, each team, each organization, each person was forced to show up. Just like the powerful, resilient clients we serve, we showed up and got to work. We added new flexibility to our loan programs, migrated existing services online, and showed up–through loans, grants, coaching, and resources–to send a message of support and solidarity.

 

 

 

 

 

Immigration Loans

We stepped up to help spread a message of belonging, pushing back against a hostile immigration policy landscape of exclusion and fear. We spoke out against unjust immigration fee hikes, and mobilized allies to build a $2.5M revolving loan fund to help immigrants access zero-interest loans to apply for Citizenship, DACA, and more.

 

 

 

 

 

 Business Loans

Entrepreneurialism is part of clients’ DNA. Everyday, we work with small business owners who hustle to survive and thrive, and 2020 has tested them in unparalleled ways. This year, we launched a new business coaching program and offered three types of loans to help entrepreneurs launch, grow, and upgrade their business.

 

 

 

Lending Circles

The financial devastation of 2020 underscored how much we rely on community in moments of crisis. Amidst the recession and widespread unemployment, over 1,600 people came together virtually to join a Lending Circle. Clients stepped up, created community, and come together to lend and borrow money to support one another in mutual aid.

Mobilizing Communities into Action

People’s financial security has to do with much more than their personal financial choices and, in many cases, everything to do with their civic lives. That’s why in 2020 we added mobilization as a growing body of work and partnered with the startup studio super{set}. This new partnership enabled us to use the best of technology to launch relevant campaigns and mobilize people into action.

  • 2020 Census

    In a once-in-a-decade opportunity, we launched a 2020 Census campaign to make sure that low-income and immigrant communities, who are often seen as “hard to reach”, got counted. We found that culturally relevant messaging sent through accessible channels, like SMS, significantly increased engagement and participation in the Census.

  • Get Out the Vote

    With too much at stake in the 2020 General Election, we decided to launch our own Get Out the Vote (GOTV) campaign. Through carefully targeted and relevant messaging, we thoughtfully engaged communities—regardless of their eligibility—to use their votes and voices as powerful tools to build a future that works for everyone.

  • Senate Bill 1157

    This year we co-sponsored and helped pass Senate Bill 1157 in the California Legislature, making it the first-in-the-nation rent reporting bill. This new law creates a historic new avenue of credit-building opportunities for tenants living in subsidized housing by providing them the option to build their credit through rent reporting.

Strength in Community

This tumultuous year has made one thing clear: in times of crisis, we lean on each other. In response to unprecedented challenges, we deepened our commitment to our partners. We welcomed seven incredible organizations to the Lending Circles Network, took on the VAF National Convener role, and allied with public sector partners to distribute direct cash assistance to immigrant families.

Lending Circles Communities

In partnership with Wells Fargo, we welcomed 2020 by launching a national Lending Circles Communities campaign in search of nonprofit organizations interested in bringing Lending Circles to their communities. After receiving interest from over 30 organizations nationwide, we welcomed seven incredible organizations to the Lending Circles Network.

Ventanillas de Asesoría Financiera (VAF)

We took on a new leadership role as the VAF National Convener, partnering with Mexican Consulates around the country to provide Mexican nationals with resources and tools for a new reality. Throughout the year, we led webinars offering timely resources and tools—from qualifying for CARES Act relief to navigating the U.S. tax system during COVID.

Government Partnerships

2020 also brought new and stronger partnerships with local and state governments. From San Francisco to San Mateo County, up to the steps of the California state capital, partners worked together to distribute direct cash assistance, help people submit immigration applications, and connect households to the resources and information they needed.

Sharing Insights with the Field

During a year when many felt overlooked and invisible, we reached out to listen and understand the reality facing low-wage workers, students, and immigrant families during the COVID-19 crisis. We’re uplifting our learnings from clients’ stories, challenges, and sacrifices to inform the field about how families are surviving and learn how we need to meet people in this new reality.

 

 

 

 

Invisible Still

Left out of federal relief, millions of families struggled to make ends meet. To understand the realities families are facing, we designed and implemented an unparalleled national survey reaching more than 11,000 immigrants. In groundbreaking new research, we shine a light on the untold stories of families’ survival and sacrifice during COVID-19.

 

 

 

 

Education in a Pandemic

In a new Rapid Response Insights Series, we pulled back the curtain on the financial lives of California’s low-income college students. We explored how students’ financial and educational decisions are interwoven with their families and how even a small amount of help at critical times can make a significant impact in students’ lives.

Using Technology to Connect in a New Reality

As the needs of our community changed, we adapted our tactics without ever losing sight of our values. A beacon to guide us through the darkest of storms, we have remained steadfast in our commitment to meeting people where they are and building products and services that are both timely and relevant. While living rooms may have replaced offices, we’ve continued to keep our heads down in the diligent work of leveraging the best of technology in the service of low-income households.

Achieving the Unimaginable

In a year full of unknowns, our body of work grew at a scale far beyond our imagination. With a community of supporters and partners by our side, the best of technology on hand, and more than a decade of experience working with low-wage workers, immigrant families, and people of color, we showed up at a scale orders of magnitude above our previous work, while continuing to bring an ethos of care and attention to each interaction.

Programs & Services

  • 2,600+
    zero-interest loans

  • 650+
    1:1 financial coaching sessions

  • 15,000+
    MyMAF downloads

Support

  •  57,500+
     Client inquiries

  •  20,000+
     resources & referrals

  •  120+
     program webinars

Maintaining Financial Resilience

It is one thing to say you’ll do something. It’s another thing entirely to deliver. This is exactly the charge our team led in 2020, accurately and effectively delivering the desperately needed dollars into the hands of clients. Given the 800% increase in scale since 2019, the effort required a sophisticated infrastructure, careful tracking systems, and dedicated team.

Resilience to Mounting Strains

The magnitude of disruption from the COVID-19 pandemic has not diverted us from standing with our communities in this unprecedented time. With staff’s around-the-clock efforts, we were able to put more than $28M directly into people’s hands in 2020. What’s more, we also delivered over $3M in core financial program support. We were only able to stretch far beyond our previous limits, while still continuing to maintain our core foundations, because each member believed fully in MAF’s vision and was willing to work to make it a reality.

A Community Effort

For a brief moment in March, we held our collective breath, hoping for the miracle of effective, sustained relief for a struggling nation. When that hope crumbled under the weight of partisan politicking, we moved quickly to fill a need. Private foundations and donors joined us, trusting MAF to punch far above our weight with integrity and effectiveness. In 2020, our total revenue increased by more than 800% compared to 2019–an exceptional response in scale and speed from both our team and partners that upended traditional approaches.

Reimagining a New World

2021 is a year filled with hope and promise: A COVID-19 vaccine is underway, the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program has been reinstated, and a new administration reminds us of the power of democracy. As we go into 2021 filled with hope, we are taking action to make sure we can fulfill the promise of the new year. At the end of 2020, we welcomed MacKenzie Scott to the MAF family of supporters. With a strong community of supporters by our side, we are leading with our values–listening to people and making sure their voices are heard. We are thinking bigger and designing bolder plans to meet people in this evolving reality. We are placing the best of technology and our programs in the service of people, and we are teaming up to reimagine a new world together.

We’re looking ahead to:

ENGAGING: Rebuilding a new world that works for everyone takes vision. As we’ve done throughout our history, we are listening intentionally to clients to evaluate and envision what needs to be done. At every step of the way, we are translating client stories and experiences into insights to inform the field.

ADAPTING: As the 2020 year showed us time and again, we have to be ready for what’s to come. We know there’s change on the horizon and we’re ready for it. The new U.S. Administration is poised to change the reality for millions of families, promising comprehensive immigration reform and a clear pathway to citizenship. With the reinstatement of DACA and the expectation of bigger changes to follow, we are gearing up to ensure financial barriers don’t stand in the way for people to access immigration relief and protection that is long overdue.

MOBILIZING: Bringing about change is only possible if everyone’s voices are heard. Building on the momentum gained from our once-in-a-decade Census campaign and pivotal Get Out the Vote campaign, we are continuing to mobilize people and magnify voices. We are fine tuning our campaign platforms to continue to civically engage people in 2021 and make sure their voices are heard.

CHALLENGING: A big part of change is challenging the mainstream narrative of people left out or deemed invisible. We are bringing our learnings from our COVID-19 Rapid Response Fund to inform the field, using our platform to change the narrative and bring about change. Through an informed approach, we are bringing visibility to people who live in the shadows and making sure their experiences are heard and recognized.

WITH SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR:

STAFF  | BOARD | FUNDERS | ADVISORY COUNCILS | PARTNERS

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English