作者: Joanna Cortez Hernandez

动员社区采取行动

过去14年的一个重要教训是,改善人们的财政保障不仅仅与他们的个人财政选择有关。在大多数情况下,它与他们的公民生活息息相关。

事情是这样的--金融安全与政治风向和经济结构密切相关,这些政治风向和经济结构使我们服务的许多人处于社会的阴影和边缘。

对于一些客户来说,这也是关于这个国家的移民在开设银行账户或要求公平报酬时面临的障碍。对其他客户来说,则是关于他们根据自己的钱数而被评判和对待的方式。在日常工作中,在所有客户中,我们看到政治现实和文化叙事以真实和日常的方式影响着他们的金融生活。

没有什么比联邦政府对COVID-19的反应更明显了。有数以百万计的移民向美国的税收系统缴费,并以有意义的方式为社区做出贡献。然而,他们中的许多人却被《CARES法案》拒之门外。这就是一个典型的例子,说明当前不公正的政治制度如何不承认我们所有人的内在价值。

MAF的直接计划和服务是我们领导的动员工作的基础。长期以来,我们相信低收入和移民社区是他们自己生活的专家和代言人,我们正在倾听他们的意见。

他们对积极否定他们人性的国家话语、使贫困循环永久化的体制性种族主义制度以及阻碍人们获得他们应得的基本服务和机会的排斥性移民政策感到沮丧。

越来越清楚的是,每天都有改变的迫切需求。而人--真正的专家--需要站在变革的前沿和中心。

这就是为什么我们要重新承诺以社区为中心的方法,有意增加了 调动 作为一个不断增长的工作体系。通过这样做,我们将把更多的精力用于深思熟虑地设计可操作的工具、资源和活动,使人们站在变革的前沿,并动员他们采取公民行动。

在真正的MAF风格中,我们的价值观引导着我们。我们将参与作为我们工作的核心,以加强我们的项目和服务。我们正在通过提升社区的声音和生活经验来利用社区的力量,使之成为改变的力量。我们还将继续与全国各地的其他倡导者合作,这些倡导者与我们有着共同的目标,即通过公民参与增强社区能力。

我们知道的是,社区是强大的。他们要说的话很重要,人们是他们最好的自我代言人。

我们希望通过增强人们的能力,使他们能够参与到公民活动中来,帮助人们大声谈论与他们生活相关的问题。而我们的工作已经开始了。在过去的几个月里,我们设计并测试了以下技术 帮助低收入和移民社区参加人口普查。.很快,我们将推出 "走出投票"(GOTV)活动,以帮助促进与客户的持续对话,了解他们如何就其生活中最紧迫的问题采取行动。

与我们所服务的低收入和移民社区一起,MAF正在重新想象一个我们赞美每个人的力量,政治制度以平等的尊重和尊严对待我们所有人的世界。在这个世界里,主流的说法与我们的现实相吻合,我们都能充分发挥我们的经济和公民潜力。

要建立一个承认、提升和增强所有人内在力量的公平制度,还有很多工作要做。 请继续关注我们不断增长的作品和更多的信息。 加入我们的行列,这样我们就可以一起动员全国各地的社区进行公民参与。

SB 455更新。加州金融赋能基金

MAF是SB 455的发起人,也被称为加州金融赋权基金,它将创建一个$400万的基金来支持提供有效的金融教育和赋权工具的非营利组织。

SB 455法案在没有反对意见的情况下一致通过了加州立法院,并获得了全州市长和广泛的非营利组织联盟的支持。 10月2日,加州州长Gavin Newsom签署了SB 455号法案,使之成为法律。 

MAF发起SB 455:加州金融赋权基金。

在美国,有各种各样的金融产品和服务来帮助消费者建立他们的金融生活。除了银行之外,还有整个金融规划和咨询行业,以帮助消费者做出合理的金融决策。

但是,对于低收入的美国人来说,获得这种建议和支持的机会--可以帮助他们管理复杂的财务生活的服务--充其量也是有限的。

2018年,美国在针对低收入消费者的金融教育项目上花费了$6.7亿--这个数额相当于当年金融规划和咨询行业总收入($570亿)的1%多一点。这一支出差距表明,我们对那些在财务上处于弱势、被边缘化、得不到主流金融机构和咨询业服务的消费者的支持是多么的不足。

向这些社区提供更高质量的财政支持的资源确实存在。这只是一个以更有效方式重新分配现有资源的问题。

10月2日,州长Gavin Newsom签署了 参议院第455号法案 创建加州金融赋权基金 - 一个$400万的基金,以支持全州非营利组织的基础设施,提供有效的金融教育和赋权工具,帮助消费者改善他们的财务状况。

随着SB 455法案的通过,加利福尼亚州现在正积极参与支持有效的金融教育和赋权工具。该法案为如何设计和提供这些努力提高了明确的标准,并将政府资金用于这一重要工作。

F财务福祉不是一个最终目的地,也不是个人需要达到的单一目标。相反,财务福祉是一种持续存在的状态。它是指在我们一生中能够满足我们所有的财务需求和义务。而要做到这一点,我们需要有效的工具和建议来驾驭复杂的金融系统。   

即使我们认为我们的财务生活已经确定,一些我们无法控制的事情也会发生,从而动摇我们的信心和财务状况。以在长达5周的政府停摆期间被迫离职的联邦工作人员的财务健康为例;其中25%的人报告说要去食物银行以维持桌上的食物,42%的人承担了新的债务以满足其日常开支。有史以来最长的一次政府停摆印证了这个简单的事实:即使是那些拥有最安全工作的人,也会在数周内陷入财务困境。

SB 455对MAF来说是一个重要的时刻,但对金融赋权领域来说是一个更大的时刻。它的通过将使我们能够制定高标准的 如何设计和提供有效的金融教育.

MAF和许多非营利组织一样,提供有效的金融产品和服务,使之发挥作用。在过去的十年中,我们了解到,将安全和负担得起的产品与金融教育配对,可以使人们在金融生活中取得令人印象深刻的结果。当客户申请我们的Lending Circles计划时,他们可以获得免费的在线金融教育课程,45%的首次贷款客户的观看次数超过了最低要求。然后,Lending Circles客户能够将他们的信用评分平均提高168分,将高成本债务减少$1,000,并以99.3%的还款率偿还贷款。我们的许多客户,如波尼(阅读他的故事 此处),能够应用他们在网上学到的概念--无论是关于信贷还是购房--来建立他们的信用并扩大他们进入金融服务领域的机会。

作为我们这个领域的领导者,我们需要就我们如何围绕金融教育和赋权参与社区进行诚实的对话。

金融产品和服务必须有效交付,才能产生积极的转型影响。 我们发现,91%的首次MAF贷款客户选择了了解他们已经拥有的产品。这表明 人们渴望更多地了解他们正在使用的产品,金融教育是一个终身学习的过程。人们希望知道如何使用他们可用的产品,以便他们能够提高他们的财务福祉,我们可以通过提供相关的金融教育计划来支持这一需求。SB 455号法案将为处于创造金融赋权途径最前沿的非营利组织提供机会,以建立一种集体力量,导致我们的金融系统运作方式的积极变化。

每个人,包括那些被纳入和被排除在金融主流系统之外的人,都有很多关于金融产品和服务的知识需要学习。在复杂的金融系统中,没有什么是直观的。我们需要思考如何有效地提供金融教育--以激励和提升所有社区的金融发展。

财务健康很重要,对我们和我们的社区都很重要。SB 455号法案将加州消费者的财务健康放在首位。

我们正在提升我们在金融赋权领域的工作,着眼于更大的系统变革。 财务健康应该成为所有社区的现实。 特别是对于那些经常被主流金融机构忽视的人。 而SB 455是实现这一目标的垫脚石。 我们渴望看到SB 455法案将对全州的标准和资金产生影响。

请务必在社交媒体上关注MAF,以获得更多更新信息。 

媒体联系。
Joanna Cortez Hernandez, MAF
(415) 373-6039
[email protected]

公共收费声明发布。移民家庭向上流动的障碍

MAF最近提交了以下声明,反对拟议的公共收费规则。我们想鼓励大家在12月10日公众评论期结束前也发表自己的意见。保护移民家庭联盟已经设计了一个 "保护移民家庭联盟"。 在线评论门户 以使公众评论过程更容易。

Mission Asset Fund(MAF)强烈反对拟议的公共指控规则,因为它将对各地的移民家庭产生不可逆转的伤害。 国家.在超过十年的时间里,MAF已经支持了成千上万的低收入个人、家庭和移民。 获得安全和负担得起的贷款产品。虽然我们的总部设在加利福尼亚州的旧金山,但我们的非营利组织的项目和服务已经在全美国的社区产生了积极的影响。

作为一个直接服务提供者,我们已经目睹了这一拟议规则在我们客户的生活中造成的恐惧;其中许多人是移民家庭,他们使用CalFresh等计划来帮助维持餐桌的食物。 仅在湾区,包括九个不同的县,就有超过440,400名非公民的家庭参加了现金和非现金福利计划,目前在拟议规则的公共指控确定中被考虑。 事实是,这项拟议的规则不会仅仅影响低收入移民家庭。它已经在所有移民中引起广泛的恐惧,包括他们的美国公民子女。

我们应该把我们所有的努力投入到最大化的机会,让所有人在我们的国家茁壮成长,无论他们的移民或经济状况如何。相反,这项拟议的规则将在作出公共指控的决定时提出片面的标准。 MAF理解财务安全的重要性 我们知道,仅凭一个人的收入和信用报告并不能清楚地描绘出他们的整个财务状况。.事实上,在开始我们项目的6至12个月内,近五分之一的MAF的Lending Circles客户能够摆脱次级信用评分。这只能说明,有许多不同的因素在决定一个人的低信用分数方面起作用,把它作为决定一个人的移民地位的因素是不公平的。  

MAF认识到美国所有移民在克服障碍方面所表现出的坚韧和机智。 这项拟议的规则不仅是无情和不公正的,而且为移民家庭的向上流动制造了障碍。 对公共指控的拟议修改偏离了美国的建国精神。移民在我们的社区结构中是而且将永远是重要的。这项拟议的规则不是拥抱和尊重所有移民的不同背景,而是反移民政策在联邦层面的延伸,进一步延续了对移民的错误描述。  

像许多其他非营利性的直接服务提供者一样,MAF希望确保我们国家的承诺对每个人都是真实的,无论其出身或经济状况如何。作为长期的倡导者,我们绝不会支持以下政策 进一步伤害了美国脆弱的移民家庭。考虑到我们社区的福祉和我们国家的成功,我们敦促国土安全部撤回其对公共指控规则的拟议修改。

团结一致,

Mission Asset Fund (MAF)

公共收费。攻击所有移民

几周前,国土安全部(DHS)宣布了一项拟议规则,将改变政府对已经使用或可能使用公共福利的移民的看法。这项拟议的规则将执行令人发指的评估标准,例如使用移民的信用报告和分数来确定他们是否或可能成为 "公共负担"。从这个角度来看,640分的信用分数(低于平均水平的FICO分数)可能意味着获得或不获得绿卡之间的区别。

拟议的规则描述了有毒的美国价值观,没有承认和尊重所有移民的贡献,无论其经济状况如何。

如果实施,该规则将使以下情况变得困难。1)目前在美国境外并寻求进入美国获得签证许可的移民;或2)已经在美国并通过家庭成员或其雇主申请成为合法永久居民(或绿卡持有人)的移民。

该拟议规则的核心是联邦政府努力扩大公共援助计划的清单。 在评估一个移民是否有资格获得身份时,将考虑这些因素.目前的公共费用政策只考虑现金援助和政府资助的长期机构护理,但拟议的规则将扩大它,也包括以下关键的社会安全网计划。补充营养援助计划(SNAP)、非紧急医疗补助、医疗保险D部分和第八节住房券。

这是政府故意采取的卑鄙手段,目的是为了 进一步伤害美国的弱势移民家庭。

除了扩大公共负担的定义以包括更多的公共援助项目外,拟议的规则还将为美国公民及移民服务局(USCIS)官员在作出公共负担的决定时规定简短的标准。

在拟议的规则中,联邦政府概述了一个新的家庭收入门槛,对家庭收入超过联邦贫困线250%的移民非常有利(对于一个四口之家,每年超过$62,000)。拟议的规则还将强制要求移民披露他们的信用历史和分数,作为其财务状况的一个加权因素。 它扩大了公共援助计划,同时扩大了经济状况等因素的范围,这将使非公民移民家庭因缺乏 "自给自足",或换句话说,因低收入而受到惩罚。

向移民家庭发出的潜在信息是最令人担忧的--在为你和你的家人的健康和福祉接受关键的公共援助或确保你在美国的未来移民身份之间做出选择。

这是强加给低收入移民家庭的一个残酷而不公正的困境。 但事实是,这项拟议的规则不会仅仅影响低收入移民家庭。它已经在以下人群中引起了广泛的恐惧 所有 移民--包括他们的美国公民子女。

作为一个支持移民的非营利组织,MAF了解金融安全和获得安全和可负担贷款产品的重要性。我们认识到美国所有移民在克服金融障碍方面所表现出的坚韧不拔和聪明才智。 这项拟议的规则不仅是无情和不公正的,而且为低收入和移民家庭的向上流动制造了障碍。它旨在剥夺这些家庭茁壮成长的机会。

在十多年来支持数以千计的低收入个人、家庭和移民建立他们的信用的过程中,我们知道,仅凭个人的收入和信用报告并不能清楚地描绘出他们的整个财务状况。

MAF和许多其他非营利性直接服务提供者一样,将见证国土安全部有关公开指控的拟议规则将对移民家庭造成的伤害。这项拟议的规则是一种不人道和惩罚性的攻击,将破坏全国各地弱势移民家庭的健康和福祉。

上周三,国土安全部最近在《联邦公报》上公布了其拟议规则,这一行为标志着为期60天的公众评论期的开始,将于12月10日星期一结束。正是在这60天的公众评论期内,我们反对公共指控的行动比以往任何时候都重要。 

这场斗争远未结束,现在是采取行动的时候了。

美亚基金致力于为我们的移民社区辩护,并反对这一压制性的拟议规则。无论你是决定用你的声音在 公众评论期 或者你有兴趣了解更多关于 我们支持移民的工作我们鼓励大家作为盟友与我们站在一起,为所有移民社区的公平和公正待遇服务。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Author: Joanna Cortez Hernandez

Mobilizing Communities Into Action

A key lesson from the past 14 years is that improving people’s financial security has to do with much more than their personal financial choices. In most cases, it has everything to do with their civic lives.

Here’s the thing — Financial security is intimately linked with the political winds and economic structures that keep many of the people we serve in the shadows and at the margins of society.

For some clients, it’s also about the barriers immigrants in this country face when opening a bank account or asking for fair pay. For others, it’s about the way they’re judged and treated based on the amount of money they have. On a day to day basis, across all clients, we see that political realities and cultural narratives impact their financial lives in real and everyday ways.

Nothing makes this more evident than the federal government’s response to COVID-19. There are millions of immigrants who pay into the U.S. tax system and contribute to communities in meaningful ways. Yet, many of them were shut out of the CARES Act. This is a prime example of how current unjust political systems fail to recognize the intrinsic value in us all.

MAF’s direct programs and services anchor the mobilization work that we’re leading. As long-time believers that low-income and immigrant communities are the experts in and advocates of their own lives, we’re listening to them.

They’re frustrated with a national discourse that actively denies their humanity, a system of institutional racism that perpetuates a cycle of poverty, and exclusionary immigration policies that block people’s access to essential services and opportunities that they deserve.

What’s become clear more and more every day is the urgent need for change. And people – the true experts – need to be at the front and center of it.

That’s why we’re re-committing ourselves to our community-centered approach by intentionally adding mobilization as a growing body of work. By doing so, we’ll dedicate more of our energy to thoughtfully design actionable tools, resources, and campaigns that place people at the forefront of change and mobilizes them to take civic action.

In true MAF fashion, our values guide us. We’re building on our programs and services by keeping engagement at the heart of our work. We’re harnessing the power of communities by uplifting their voices and lived experiences as a force for change. We’re also continuing to work in collaboration with other advocates across the country who share our goals of empowering communities through civic engagement.

What we know is that communities are powerful. What they have to say matters and people are their best self-advocates.

We want to help people get loud about the issues relevant to their lives by empowering them to become civically engaged. And our work has already begun. In the last few months, we’ve designed and tested technology to help low-income and immigrant communities participate in the census. Soon we’ll be unveiling a Get Out The Vote (GOTV) campaign to help facilitate an ongoing conversation with clients about how they can take action on the issues most pressing to their lives.

Alongside the low-income and immigrant communities we serve, MAF is re-imagining a world where we celebrate everyone’s strengths, and political systems treat us all with an equal amount of respect and dignity. A world where dominant narratives match our realities, and we can all reach our full economic and civic potential.

There’s a lot of work ahead to create an equitable system that recognizes, uplifts and empowers the inherent strength of all people. Stay tuned for more about our growing body of work and join us so that together we can mobilize communities across the country towards civic engagement.

SB 455 Updates: CA Financial Empowerment Fund

MAF is sponsoring SB 455, also known as the California Financial Empowerment Fund, which would create a $4 million fund to support nonprofits delivering effective financial education and empowerment tools.

SB 455 unanimously passed both California legislative chambers unopposed and gained statewide supprot from mayors and a broad coalition of nonprofit organizations. On October 2nd, Californian Governor Gavin Newsom signed SB 455 into law! 

[infogram id=”_/wrcRKsx4N8HkLDObA7ol” prefix=”Lpc” format=”interactive” title=”SB455 Timeline”]

MAF Sponsors SB 455: CA Financial Empowerment Fund

In the U.S. there is a wide array of financial products and services to help consumers build their financial lives. In addition to banks, there is a whole Financial Planning and Advice industry to assist consumers in making sound financial decisions.

But for low-income Americans, access to this advice and support — service that could help them manage their complicated financial lives — is limited, at best.

In 2018, the U.S. spent $670 million in financial education programs for low-income consumers — an amount equal to a little over 1% of the Financial Planning and Advice industry’s total revenue that year ($57 billion). This gap in spending illustrates just how inadequately we support consumers that are financially vulnerable, marginalized and underserved by mainstream financial institutions and the advice industry.

The resources to provide higher quality financial support to these communities do exist. It is just a matter of redistributing existing resources in a more effective way.

On October 2, Govenor Gavin Newsom signed Senate Bill 455 to create the California Financial Empowerment Fund — a $4 million fund to support a statewide infrastructure of nonprofits delivering effective financial education and empowerment tools that help consumers improve their financial well-being.

With the passage of SB 455, the State of California is now actively engaged in supporting effective financial education and empowerment tools. The bill elevates clear standards for how these efforts are designed and delivered and brings government money to bear in this important work.

Financial well-being is not a final destination, nor a singular goal that individuals need to reach. Rather, financial well-being is a continuous state of being. It is about being able to meet all of our financial needs and obligations throughout the course of our lives. And to do so, we require effective tools and advice in navigating complicated financial systems.   

Even when we think our financial lives are set, something out of our control can happen to shake our confidence and financial well-being. Take for example the financial health of federal workers who were forced from their jobs during the 5-week long government shutdown; 25% of which reported going to food banks to put food on the table and 42% of which took on new debt in order to meet their day-to-day expenses. The longest government shutdown ever laid bear this simple fact: even those with the most secure jobs are weeks away from being financially vulnerable.

SB 455 is momentous for MAF but it is an even bigger moment for the financial empowerment field. Its passage will allow us to set high standards of how to design and deliver effective financial education.

MAF, like many nonprofits, provide effective financial products and services that are making a difference. In the past decade, we’ve learned that pairing safe and affordable products with financial education allows people to achieve impressive outcomes in their financial lives. When clients apply to our Lending Circles program they gain access to free online financial education courses, and 45% of first-time loan clients watch more than the minimum requirement. Lending Circles clients are then able to improve their credit scores by an average of 168 points, pay down high-cost debt by $1,000, and repay their loans at a 99.3% repayment rate. Many of our clients, like Boni (read his story here), are able to apply the concepts they learn online — whether it’s about credit or homebuying — to build their credit and expand their access to the financial services world.

As leaders in our field, we need to have an honest conversation about how we engage communities around financial education and empowerment.

Financial products and services have to be delivered effectively in order to have a positive transformational impact. We found that 91% of first-time MAF loan clients opted to learn about a product they already had. This indicates that people are hungry to learn more about the products they’re using and that financial education is a process of lifelong learning. People want to know how to use the products available to them so they can increase their financial well-being and we can support that need by offering relevant financial education programs. SB 455 would provide nonprofits at the forefront of creating pathways to financial empowerment the opportunity to build a collective power that leads to a positive change in how our financial systems function.

Everyone, both those that are included and excluded from the financial mainstream systems, has much to learn about financial products and services. Nothing about navigating complicated financial systems is intuitive. We need to think about how to deliver financial education effectively — in a way that motivates and uplifts the financial growth of all communities.

Financial well-being matters, for us and our communities. SB 455 prioritizes the financial health of consumers in California.

We are uplifting our work in the financial empowerment field with an eye toward bigger systems change. Financial wellness should be a reality for all communities, particularly for those often ignored by mainstream financial institutions, and SB 455 is a stepping stone to make it happen. We are eager to see the impact that SB 455 will have on state-wide standards and funding.

Be sure to follow MAF on social media for more updates! 

Media Contact:
Joanna Cortez Hernandez, MAF
(415) 373-6039
[email protected]

Public Charge Statement Release: A Barrier to Upward Mobility for Immigrant Families

MAF recently submitted the below statement against the proposed public charge rule. We would like to encourage you all to also make your voice heard before the public comment period closes on December 10th. The Protecting Immigrant Families Coalition has designed an online comment portal to make the public comment process easier.

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) strongly opposes the proposed public charge rule because of the irreversible harm that it will have on immigrant families all across the nation. In over ten years, MAF has supported thousands of low-income individuals, families, and immigrants gain access to safe and affordable loan products. While we are based in San Francisco, CA our nonprofit’s programs and services have led positive impact in communities all across America.

As a direct service provider, we are already witnessing the fear that this proposed rule is causing in the lives of our clients; many whom are immigrant families that use programs like CalFresh to help keep food on the table. In the Bay Area alone, which includes nine different counties, there are more than 440,400 noncitizens in families who participate in cash and noncash benefit programs currently being considered in the proposed rule’s public charge determination. The fact of the matter is, this proposed rule will not affect low-income immigrant families alone. It is already causing widespread fear amongst all immigrants–including their US Citizen children.

We should be putting all of our efforts into maximizing the opportunity for all to thrive in our country, regardless of their immigration or financial status. Instead, this proposed rule would set forth short-sided standards when making public charge determinations. MAF understands the importance of financial security and we know that an individual’s income and credit report alone doesn’t depict a clear picture of their entire financial situation. In fact, within 6 to 12 months of starting our program, nearly one-fifth of MAF’s Lending Circles clients are able to escape subprime credit scores. This only goes to show that there are many different factors that play a role in determining someone’s low credit score and that it would be unfair to include it as a factor for deciding an individual’s immigration status.  

MAF recognizes the resilience and resourcefulness displayed by all immigrants in America to overcome barriers. Not only is this proposed rule heartless and unjust, but it creates barriers to upward mobility for immigrant families. The proposed changes to public charge deviate from the founding spirit of America. Immigrants are and will always continue to be important in the fabric of our communities. Instead of embracing and respecting the diverse backgrounds of all immigrants, this proposed rule is an extension of anti-immigrant policies at the federal level that further perpetuates a false narrative of immigrants.  

Like many other nonprofit direct service providers, MAF wants to ensure that the promise of our country is made true for everyone regardless of their origins or financial status. As long-standing advocates, we will never support a policy that further harms vulnerable immigrant families in America. With the well-being of our communities and the success of our nation in mind, we urge the Department of Homeland Security to withdraw its proposed changes to the public charge rule.

In solidarity,

Mission Asset Fund (MAF)

Public Charge: An Attack on All Immigrants

A few weeks ago the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced a proposed rule that will change how the government looks at immigrants who have used or are likely to use public benefits. This proposed rule would enforce outrageous standards for evaluation, like using an immigrant’s credit report and score to determine whether they are or are likely to become a “public charge.” To put this into perspective, a credit score of 640 (a below average FICO score) could mean the difference between receiving and not receiving a green card.

The proposed rule characterizes toxic America values that fail to acknowledge and respect the contributions of all immigrants regardless of financial status.

If implemented, the rule will make it difficult for: 1) immigrants who are currently outside of and seeking permission into the United States to receive a visa; or 2) immigrants who are already in the United States and are applying to become a legal permanent resident (or green card holder) through a family member or their employer.

At the core of the proposed rule is the federal government’s effort to expand the list of public assistance programs that will be considered when evaluating an immigrants’ eligibility to secure status. The current public charge policy only considers cash assistance and government-funded long-term institutional care but the proposed rule would expand it to also include the following key social safety net programs: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), non-emergency Medicaid, Medicare Part D, and Section 8 housing vouchers.

This is a deliberate, mean-spirited tactic employed by the administration to further harm vulnerable immigrant families in the United States.

Aside from expanding the definition of public charge to include additional public assistance programs, the proposed rule would also set forth short-sided standards for US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) officers to consider when making public charge determinations.

In the proposed rule, the federal government outlines a new household income threshold that highly favors immigrants with a household income over 250 percent of the Federal Poverty Level (which, for a family of four, is more than $62,000 annually). The proposed rule would also mandate immigrants to disclose their credit history and score as a weighted factor of their financial status. Its expansion of public assistance programs along with its increased breadth of scope for factors, like financial status, would penalize non-citizen immigrant families for a lack of “self-sufficiency”, or in other words, for being low-income.

The underlying message to immigrant families is what’s most worrisome — choose between receiving critical public assistance for the health and well-being of you and your family or secure your future immigration status in the United States.

This is a cruel and unjust dilemma to impose on low-income immigrant families. But the fact of the matter is, this proposed rule will not affect low-income immigrant families alone. It is already causing widespread fear amongst all immigrants–including their US Citizen children.

As a nonprofit that supports immigrants, MAF understands the importance of financial security and access to safe and affordable loan products. We recognize the resilience and resourcefulness displayed by all immigrants in the United States to overcome financial barriers. Not only is this proposed rule heartless and unjust, but it creates barriers to upward mobility for low-income and immigrant families. It is designed to deny these families a chance to thrive.

In over ten years of supporting thousands of low-income individuals, families, and immigrants to establish their credit, we know that an individual’s income and credit report alone doesn’t depict a clear picture of their entire financial situation.

MAF, like many other nonprofit direct service providers, will witness the harm DHS’ proposed rule related to public charge will cause on immigrant families. This proposed rule is an inhumane and punitive attack that will destroy the health and well-being of vulnerable immigrant families across the nation.

Last Wednesday, DHS recently published its proposed rule in the Federal Register, an act that marks the commencement of a 60-day public comment period that will close on Monday, December 10th. It is during this 60-day public comment period that our action against public charge matters more than ever. 

The fight is far from over and the time to act is now!

MAF is committed to advocating for our immigrant communities and opposing this repressive proposed rule. Whether you decide to use your voice during the public comments period or you’re interested to learn more about our work to support immigrants; we encourage you all to stand with us as allies in service to the fair and just treatment of all immigrant communities.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English