跳到主要内容

作者: Miguel de la Fuente Lau

抵抗是什么样子。MAF的DACA运动,一年后。

特朗普政府于2017年9月5日取消了 "童年抵美者暂缓遣返"(DACA)计划,公然针对移民。对他的行动感到震惊和愤怒,我们没有退缩。我们站起来,进行反击。没有多少时间可以浪费,我们迅速将自己转变为一个快速反应的资助者,以帮助年轻移民度过特朗普造成的危机的不确定性。

我们 启动 一项运动,通过提供$495的补助金来帮助支付申请费,使符合条件的青年能够更新他们的DACA身份。

而当几个月后加州的一名联邦法官发布禁令,裁定特朗普政府的决定违宪,为更多梦想者更新DACA打开大门时,我们继续处理补助金,给年轻移民提供这个政府所拒绝的支持和爱。

对于赚取最低工资的大学生来说,$495可能意味着在DACA或支付房租之间做出选择。这是一个我们不希望他们做出的选择。

这就是为什么我们提供 7,600 费用援助赠款,总额为 $3.8百万 向全国各地的追梦人致敬。这是DACA的一个决定性的抵抗时刻,也是我们自己的时刻。

随着联邦法院继续对 DACA的未来我们保持警觉。在 今年的峰会在美国,全国各地的活动家、倡导者和盟友将汇聚一堂,探讨我们的社区如何在特朗普的美国茁壮成长。我们相信追梦人将帮助引领方向。我们正在邀请他们与我们分享他们的复原力故事,这些故事可以激励和鼓舞我们所有人的长远发展。

今天,我们通过强调DACA资助者的故事来纪念这项工作,这些故事将在未来几年激励我们。

[infogram id=”daca-1-year-later-1h984w80npgg4p3″ prefix=”Y0E”]

驱逐出境、压力和恐惧

在过去几个月中,我们听到许多客户倾诉他们对未来的恐惧和担忧。对许多移民家庭来说,驱逐出境的威胁是巨大的,不仅对父母,而且对他们的孩子造成真正的焦虑和压力。

南加州大学苏珊娜-德沃拉克-佩克社会工作学院发布的一篇新的研究文章,"面对被驱逐出境的恐惧",直观地捕捉到这对家庭造成的创伤性影响。

在今天的政治气候下,无证移民社区感到被当作目标和脆弱,害怕他们的家庭会被拆散。这对移民的子女造成的压力和焦虑尤其大。

正如我们在解读我们收集的关于DACA客户的数据的系列文章中所详述的那样。 负担已经很重了 对于许多为满足基本的日常财务需求而忧心忡忡的家庭来说。

但是对于许多移民父母来说,为他们的孩子获得心理健康支持也同样具有挑战性。寻求获得正确的心理健康服务可能只会增加整个家庭的压力和焦虑感。

在MAF,我们正在尽我们所能,通过创造获得金融产品和服务的机会,确保家庭有可能获得财务健康和稳定。但我们需要继续建立一个广泛的伙伴关系基础,以便移民家庭在接受以下方面的支持时不存在障碍 社区组织和机构 有能力提供关键的精神健康服务。

 

*所有信息图都是在美国的基础上创建和发布的。 在线MSW项目 在南加州大学。

文塔尼利亚:机会之窗

Mission Asset Fund(MAF)和墨西哥领事馆 旧金山圣何塞 已经联合起来,支持整个北加州和夏威夷州的墨西哥国民的经济赋权。这涵盖了整个北加州的个人,包括在圣克鲁斯、圣贝尼托、蒙特利等县和夏威夷的个人。仿照纽约市的 财务顾问办公室意思是 "金融赋权窗口"--该计划在两个领事馆提供定制的金融赋权服务和资源。

自2017年1月以来,MAF每月在每个地点向大约2000人提供财务介绍、研讨会和辅导课程。到第一年结束时 文塔尼利亚 在这个项目中,MAF为30,000名客户提供了服务--比我们的目标高出一倍多。

通过在非营利组织和公共部门建立伙伴关系,MAF已经扩展了各种金融教育服务,以满足我们社区的独特需求。

  • 我们每个月都有专门的工作人员进行移动领馆旅行--确保像夏威夷的科纳和加州的佩斯卡德罗这样难以到达的社区能够获得他们所需要的服务。
  • 我们提供现场访问 Lending Circles,一个0%的利息贷款计划,帮助人们建立他们的信用。
  • 我们邀请外部演讲者定期主持研讨会(高楼),主题是支持移民社区的创业,包括来自以下的组织 SFEDA.我们协调了3月和11月的两个金融教育周的内容和演讲。
  • 我们的合作伙伴是 金融赋权办公室(OFE 导致开发了一份英文和西班牙文的讲义,以帮助湾区的客户确定最佳的支票账户选择。在金融教育周期间, OFE请来了美国国税局的演讲者,与他们交谈。 文塔尼利亚 访客了解个人纳税人识别号码,即ITIN。OFE还帮助我们协调转介到 志愿者所得税援助(VITA) 整个湾区的供应商,这项服务为一般收入$54,000或以下的人、残疾人和英语水平有限的人提供免费的税务帮助。
  • 我们与圣何塞领事馆紧密合作,该领事馆已启动与 CONDUSEF 在墨西哥,他们提供了一个基于墨西哥的金融教育和产品的概述。这对我们帮助很大,因为每天都有家庭来找我们,询问他们在美国和墨西哥的财务管理情况。由于 文塔尼利亚 合作,我们能够通过我们的FEAPI、CONDUSEF和领事馆向客户提供信息。如果没有 文塔尼利亚这些家庭本来会努力从领事馆或墨西哥的金融供应商那里找到问题的答案。

在目前的政府下,许多移民处于紧急计划状态,因为他们担心被驱逐出境。亚马逊基金立即行动起来,创建了一个 移民金融应急行动计划 (FEAPI),以帮助移民在被拘留、被驱逐出境或家庭分离等紧急情况下保护他们的财务状况。

我们在湾区的领事馆提供这个工具包,并在加州和夏威夷各地的流动领事馆访问中提供。为了捕捉更广泛的帮助网,我们的团队目前正在将FEAPI建设成一个应用程序,以增加与我们社区的接触。

来拜访我们吧!我们在圣何塞和旧金山都有工作人员,从周一到周五。

MAF的成功之处在于 文塔尼利亚 这些项目帮助我们实现我们的承诺,即 "在客户所在的地方满足他们"。我们正计划超越我们自己的期望,因为我们希望在来年通过我们的领事馆站点为成千上万的低收入和移民个人提供财务教育、辅导、纳税时间储蓄和0%利息贷款。

Chinese

Author: Miguel de la Fuente Lau

What Resistance Looks Like: MAF’s DACA Campaign, a Year Later

The Trump administration blatantly targeted immigrants by rescinding the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program on September 5, 2017. Shocked and angered by his actions, we did not retreat. We stood up and fought back. With little time to waste, we quickly transformed ourselves into a rapid response grantmaker to help young immigrants through the uncertainty of the Trump-inflicted crisis.

We launched a campaign to enable eligible youth to renew their DACA status by offering grants of $495 to help cover application fees.

And when a federal judge in California issued an injunction that ruled the Trump administration’s decision unconstitutional months later, opening the door for more Dreamers to renew DACA, we kept on processing grants, giving young immigrants the support and love that this government was denying.

For college students making minimum wage, $495 can mean choosing between DACA or paying for rent. That’s a choice we didn’t want them to have to make.

That’s why we provided 7,600 fee assistance grants totaling $3.8 million to Dreamers across the country. This was a defining moment of resistance for DACA, and for ourselves.

As the federal courts continue to fight over the future of DACA, we stay vigilant. At this year’s Summit, activists, advocates, and allies across the country will come together to explore how our communities can thrive in Trump’s America. We believe Dreamers will help lead the way. We’re inviting them to share with us their stories of resilience, stories that can inspire and energize us all for the long haul.

Today we remember the work by highlighting stories from our DACA grant recipients that will motivate us for years to come.

[infogram id=”daca-1-year-later-1h984w80npgg4p3″ prefix=”Y0E”]

Deportation, Stress, and Fear

Over the past couple months, we’ve heard many of our clients pour out their fears and concerns over their future. The threat of deportation looms large for so many immigrant families, causing real anxiety and stress not only on parents, but their children.

A new research article released by the University of Southern California’s Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, “Facing the Fear of Deportation“, visually captures the traumatic impact this has on families.

In today’s political climate, undocumented immigrant communities feel targeted and vulnerable, afraid that their families will get torn apart. The stress and anxiety this creates for the children of immigrants is especially high.

As we detailed in our series of posts unpacking data we collected on our DACA clients, the burden is already great for many families who are worried about meeting basic, daily financial needs.

But for many immigrant parents, getting mental health support for their children can be equally challenging. The search to receive the right kind of mental health services might only increase the feeling of stress and anxiety for the entire family.

We’re doing what we can at MAF to ensure that families have the potential for financial health and stability by creating access to financial products and services. But we need to keep building a broad base of partnerships so there are no barriers for immigrant families in receiving support from community-based organizations and agencies with the capacity to provide critical mental health services.

 

*All infographics created and published by the online MSW program at the University of Southern California.

Ventanilla: A Window of Opportunity

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) and the Mexican Consulates of San Francisco and San Jose have joined forces to support the economic empowerment of Mexican nationals across northern California and the State of Hawaii. This covers individuals across Northern California, including those in the Counties of Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey and in Hawaii. Modeled after New York City’s Ventanilla de Asesoría Financiera—meaning “Financial Empowerment Window”—the program provides customized financial empowerment services and resources at the two Consulates.

Since January of 2017, MAF has provided financial presentations, workshops, and coaching sessions to approximately 2,000 individuals per month at each site. By the end of the first year of the Ventanilla program, MAF served 30,000 clients —more than doubling our goal.

By establishing partnerships in both the nonprofit and public sectors, MAF has extended a variety of financial education services to meet our communities’ unique needs.

  • We dedicate staff for mobile consulate trips once a month – making sure that hard-to-reach communities like Kona, Hawaii and Pescadero, CA are getting access to the services they need.
  • We provide on-site access to Lending Circles, a 0% interest loan program, that helps people build their credit.
  • We invite outside presenters to regularly lead workshops (talleres) on topics supporting entrepreneurship in immigrant communities, including organizations from SFEDA. We coordinated content and presentations for two Financial Education weeks in March and November.
  • Our partnership with the Office of Financial Empowerment (OFE) led to the development of a handout in both English and Spanish to help clients in the Bay Area determine the best checking account options to open. During Financial Education Week, OFE brought in speakers from the IRS to talk to Ventanilla visitors about Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers, or ITINs. OFE also helped us coordinate referrals to Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) providers across the Bay Area, a service that offers free tax help to people who generally make $54,000 or less, persons with disabilities and those with limited English proficiency.
  • We worked closely with the San Jose Consulate, which has launched a collaboration with CONDUSEF in Mexico to provide an overview of financial education and products based in Mexico. This was immensely helpful because everyday we have families that come to us with questions about managing their finances in both the U.S. and Mexico. Because of the Ventanilla collaboration, we were able to provide clients with information through our FEAPI, CONDUSEF, and the Consulate. Without the Ventanilla, these families would have struggled to find the answers to their questions from the Consulates alone or from financial providers in Mexico.

Under the current administration, many immigrants are in emergency planning mode because they are concerned about deportation. MAF sprung to action and created a Financial Emergency Action Plan for Immigrants (FEAPI) to help immigrants protect their finances in the case of an emergency like detention, deportation, or family separation.

We provided this toolkit in the Bay Area at the Consulates, and at mobile consulate visits throughout California and Hawaii. To capture an even wider net of people to help, our team is currently building the FEAPI into an app to increase engagement with our community.

Come by and visit us! We have staff on-site in San Jose and San Francisco, Monday through Friday:

The success of MAF’s Ventanilla programs help us deliver on our promise to “meet clients where they are.” We’re planning on exceeding our own expectations, as we look to serve thousands of low-income and immigrant individuals through our Consulate sites in the upcoming year with financial education, coaching, tax-time savings, and 0% interest loans.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English