الكاتب: ميغيل دي لا فوينتي لاو

كيف تبدو المقاومة: حملة DACA التابعة لـ MAF ، بعد عام

استهدفت إدارة ترامب المهاجرين بشكل صارخ من خلال إلغاء برنامج العمل المؤجل للقادمين من الأطفال (DACA) في 5 سبتمبر 2017. لقد صدمنا وغضبنا من أفعاله ، ولم نتراجع. وقفنا وقاومنا. مع القليل من الوقت لنضيعه ، سرعان ما حولنا أنفسنا إلى مانح استجابة سريع لمساعدة المهاجرين الشباب من خلال حالة عدم اليقين من الأزمة التي أحدثها ترامب.

نحن أطلقت حملة لتمكين الشباب المؤهلين من تجديد حالة DACA الخاصة بهم من خلال تقديم منح بقيمة $495 للمساعدة في تغطية رسوم الطلب.

وعندما أصدر قاضٍ فيدرالي في كاليفورنيا أمرًا قضائيًا قضى بأن قرار إدارة ترامب غير دستوري بعد أشهر ، مما فتح الباب لمزيد من الحالمين لتجديد DACA ، واصلنا معالجة المنح ، ومنح المهاجرين الشباب الدعم والحب الذي كانت هذه الحكومة تنكره.

بالنسبة لطلاب الجامعات الذين يحصلون على الحد الأدنى للأجور ، يمكن أن يعني $495 الاختيار بين DACA أو دفع الإيجار. هذا خيار لم نرغب في أن يتخذهوا.

لهذا السبب قدمناها 7,600 منح مساعدة رسوم مجموعها $3.8 مليون للحالمين في جميع أنحاء البلاد. كانت هذه لحظة حاسمة في مقاومة DACA ولأنفسنا.

كما تستمر المحاكم الفيدرالية في القتال على مستقبل DACA، نبقى يقظين. في قمة هذا العام، سوف يجتمع النشطاء والدعاة والحلفاء في جميع أنحاء البلاد لاستكشاف كيف يمكن لمجتمعاتنا أن تزدهر في أمريكا ترامب. نعتقد أن الحالمين سيساعدون في قيادة الطريق. نحن ندعوهم لمشاركة قصصهم عن المرونة ، والقصص التي يمكن أن تلهمنا وتنشطنا جميعًا على المدى الطويل.

اليوم نتذكر العمل من خلال تسليط الضوء على قصص من متلقي منح DACA لدينا والتي ستحفزنا لسنوات قادمة.

[معرف مخطط المعلومات = "daca-1-year-later-1h984w80npgg4p3 ″ بادئة =" Y0E "]

الترحيل والتوتر والخوف

على مدار الشهرين الماضيين ، سمعنا أن العديد من عملائنا يعبّرون عن مخاوفهم ومخاوفهم بشأن مستقبلهم. إن تهديد الترحيل يلوح في الأفق بالنسبة للعديد من عائلات المهاجرين ، مما يتسبب في قلق حقيقي وتوتر ليس فقط على الآباء ، ولكن على أطفالهم.

مقال بحثي جديد صادر عن كلية سوزان دوراك بيك للخدمة الاجتماعية بجامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا ، "مواجهة الخوف من الإبعاد"، يلتقط بصريًا التأثير الصادم الذي يحدثه هذا على العائلات.

في المناخ السياسي اليوم ، تشعر مجتمعات المهاجرين غير الموثقين بأنهم مستهدفون وضعفاء ، ويخشون أن تتمزق عائلاتهم. التوتر والقلق اللذين يخلقهما هذا الأمر لأطفال المهاجرين مرتفع بشكل خاص.

كما قمنا بالتفصيل في سلسلة منشوراتنا التي تفريغ البيانات التي جمعناها عن عملاء DACA لدينا ، العبء كبير بالفعل للعديد من العائلات التي تشعر بالقلق بشأن تلبية الاحتياجات المالية الأساسية اليومية.

لكن بالنسبة للعديد من الآباء المهاجرين ، فإن الحصول على دعم الصحة العقلية لأطفالهم يمكن أن يمثل تحديًا بنفس القدر. قد يؤدي البحث عن النوع المناسب من خدمات الصحة العقلية إلى زيادة الشعور بالتوتر والقلق لجميع أفراد الأسرة.

نحن نفعل ما في وسعنا في MAF لضمان أن الأسر لديها القدرة على الصحة المالية والاستقرار من خلال خلق الوصول إلى المنتجات والخدمات المالية. لكننا بحاجة إلى الاستمرار في بناء قاعدة عريضة من الشراكات حتى لا توجد حواجز أمام العائلات المهاجرة في تلقي الدعم منها المنظمات والوكالات المجتمعية مع القدرة على تقديم خدمات الصحة النفسية الهامة.

 

* جميع الرسوم البيانية التي تم إنشاؤها ونشرها بواسطة برنامج MSW عبر الإنترنت في جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا.

Ventanilla: فرصة سانحة

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) والقنصليات المكسيكية في سان فرانسيسكو و سان خوسيه تضافرت جهودهم لدعم التمكين الاقتصادي للمواطنين المكسيكيين عبر شمال كاليفورنيا وولاية هاواي. يغطي هذا الأفراد في جميع أنحاء شمال كاليفورنيا ، بما في ذلك في مقاطعات سانتا كروز وسان بينيتو ومونتيري وهاواي. على غرار مدينة نيويورك Ventanilla de Asesoría Financiera—معنى "نافذة التمكين المالي" —يوفر البرنامج خدمات وموارد التمكين المالي المخصصة في القنصليتين.

منذ يناير 2017 ، قدمت MAF عروضًا مالية وورش عمل وجلسات تدريب لحوالي 2000 فرد شهريًا في كل موقع. بحلول نهاية العام الأول من فينتانيلا البرنامج ، خدم MAF 30000 عميل - أكثر من مضاعفة هدفنا.

من خلال إقامة شراكات في كل من القطاعين العام وغير الربحي ، وسعت MAF مجموعة متنوعة من خدمات التعليم المالي لتلبية الاحتياجات الفريدة لمجتمعاتنا.

  • نحن نخصص موظفين لرحلات القنصلية المتنقلة مرة واحدة في الشهر - للتأكد من أن المجتمعات التي يصعب الوصول إليها مثل كونا وهاواي وبيسكاديرو ، كاليفورنيا تحصل على الخدمات التي تحتاجها.
  • نحن نقدم الوصول في الموقع إلى Lending Circles، وهو برنامج قرض بفائدة 0% ، يساعد الأشخاص في تكوين ائتماناتهم.
  • ندعو مقدمي العروض الخارجيين لقيادة ورش العمل بانتظام (طولا) في موضوعات تدعم ريادة الأعمال في مجتمعات المهاجرين ، بما في ذلك المنظمات من SFEDA. قمنا بتنسيق المحتوى والعروض التقديمية لمدة أسبوعين من التعليم المالي في مارس ونوفمبر.
  • شراكتنا مع مكتب التمكين المالي (OFE) أدى إلى تطوير نشرة باللغتين الإنجليزية والإسبانية لمساعدة العملاء في منطقة الخليج على تحديد أفضل خيارات الحسابات الجارية لفتحها. خلال أسبوع التعليم المالي ، أحضر OFE متحدثين من مصلحة الضرائب للتحدث معهم فينتانيلا الزائرون حول أرقام تعريف دافع الضرائب الفردي أو ITINs. ساعدنا OFE أيضًا في تنسيق الإحالات إلى مساعدة ضريبة الدخل للمتطوعين (VITA) مقدمي الخدمات عبر منطقة الخليج ، وهي خدمة تقدم مساعدة ضريبية مجانية للأشخاص الذين يحصلون عمومًا على $54000 أو أقل ، والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة وذوي الكفاءة المحدودة في اللغة الإنجليزية.
  • لقد عملنا عن كثب مع قنصلية سان خوسيه ، التي أطلقت تعاونًا معها الوخز في المكسيك لتقديم لمحة عامة عن التعليم المالي والمنتجات الموجودة في المكسيك. كان هذا مفيدًا للغاية لأن لدينا كل يوم عائلات تأتي إلينا بأسئلة حول إدارة شؤونها المالية في كل من الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك. بسبب ال فينتانيلا بالتعاون ، تمكنا من تزويد العملاء بالمعلومات من خلال FEAPI و CONDUSEF والقنصلية. بدون ال فينتانيلا، فإن هذه العائلات كانت ستكافح للعثور على إجابات لأسئلتهم من القنصليات وحدها أو من مقدمي الخدمات المالية في المكسيك.

في ظل الإدارة الحالية ، يكون العديد من المهاجرين في وضع التخطيط للطوارئ لأنهم قلقون بشأن الترحيل. انتشرت MAF للعمل وأنشأت ملف خطة العمل المالية الطارئة للمهاجرين (FEAPI) لمساعدة المهاجرين على حماية مواردهم المالية في حالة الطوارئ مثل الاحتجاز أو الترحيل أو الانفصال عن الأسرة.

قدمنا مجموعة الأدوات هذه في منطقة الخليج في القنصليات وفي زيارات القنصلية المتنقلة في جميع أنحاء كاليفورنيا وهاواي. لالتقاط شبكة أوسع من الأشخاص للمساعدة ، يقوم فريقنا حاليًا ببناء FEAPI في تطبيق لزيادة المشاركة مع مجتمعنا.

تعال وقم بزيارتنا! لدينا موظفون في الموقع في سان خوسيه وسان فرانسيسكو ، من الاثنين إلى الجمعة:

نجاح ماف فينتانيلا تساعدنا البرامج على الوفاء بوعدنا "بمقابلة العملاء أينما كانوا." نحن نخطط لتجاوز توقعاتنا الخاصة ، حيث نتطلع إلى خدمة الآلاف من الأفراد ذوي الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين من خلال مواقع قنصليتنا في العام المقبل من خلال التعليم المالي والتدريب والمدخرات الضريبية وقروض الفائدة 0%.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Author: Miguel de la Fuente Lau

What Resistance Looks Like: MAF’s DACA Campaign, a Year Later

The Trump administration blatantly targeted immigrants by rescinding the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program on September 5, 2017. Shocked and angered by his actions, we did not retreat. We stood up and fought back. With little time to waste, we quickly transformed ourselves into a rapid response grantmaker to help young immigrants through the uncertainty of the Trump-inflicted crisis.

We launched a campaign to enable eligible youth to renew their DACA status by offering grants of $495 to help cover application fees.

And when a federal judge in California issued an injunction that ruled the Trump administration’s decision unconstitutional months later, opening the door for more Dreamers to renew DACA, we kept on processing grants, giving young immigrants the support and love that this government was denying.

For college students making minimum wage, $495 can mean choosing between DACA or paying for rent. That’s a choice we didn’t want them to have to make.

That’s why we provided 7,600 fee assistance grants totaling $3.8 million to Dreamers across the country. This was a defining moment of resistance for DACA, and for ourselves.

As the federal courts continue to fight over the future of DACA, we stay vigilant. At this year’s Summit, activists, advocates, and allies across the country will come together to explore how our communities can thrive in Trump’s America. We believe Dreamers will help lead the way. We’re inviting them to share with us their stories of resilience, stories that can inspire and energize us all for the long haul.

Today we remember the work by highlighting stories from our DACA grant recipients that will motivate us for years to come.

[infogram id=”daca-1-year-later-1h984w80npgg4p3″ prefix=”Y0E”]

Deportation, Stress, and Fear

Over the past couple months, we’ve heard many of our clients pour out their fears and concerns over their future. The threat of deportation looms large for so many immigrant families, causing real anxiety and stress not only on parents, but their children.

A new research article released by the University of Southern California’s Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, “Facing the Fear of Deportation“, visually captures the traumatic impact this has on families.

In today’s political climate, undocumented immigrant communities feel targeted and vulnerable, afraid that their families will get torn apart. The stress and anxiety this creates for the children of immigrants is especially high.

As we detailed in our series of posts unpacking data we collected on our DACA clients, the burden is already great for many families who are worried about meeting basic, daily financial needs.

But for many immigrant parents, getting mental health support for their children can be equally challenging. The search to receive the right kind of mental health services might only increase the feeling of stress and anxiety for the entire family.

We’re doing what we can at MAF to ensure that families have the potential for financial health and stability by creating access to financial products and services. But we need to keep building a broad base of partnerships so there are no barriers for immigrant families in receiving support from community-based organizations and agencies with the capacity to provide critical mental health services.

 

*All infographics created and published by the online MSW program at the University of Southern California.

Ventanilla: A Window of Opportunity

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) and the Mexican Consulates of San Francisco and San Jose have joined forces to support the economic empowerment of Mexican nationals across northern California and the State of Hawaii. This covers individuals across Northern California, including those in the Counties of Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey and in Hawaii. Modeled after New York City’s Ventanilla de Asesoría Financiera—meaning “Financial Empowerment Window”—the program provides customized financial empowerment services and resources at the two Consulates.

Since January of 2017, MAF has provided financial presentations, workshops, and coaching sessions to approximately 2,000 individuals per month at each site. By the end of the first year of the Ventanilla program, MAF served 30,000 clients —more than doubling our goal.

By establishing partnerships in both the nonprofit and public sectors, MAF has extended a variety of financial education services to meet our communities’ unique needs.

  • We dedicate staff for mobile consulate trips once a month – making sure that hard-to-reach communities like Kona, Hawaii and Pescadero, CA are getting access to the services they need.
  • We provide on-site access to Lending Circles, a 0% interest loan program, that helps people build their credit.
  • We invite outside presenters to regularly lead workshops (talleres) on topics supporting entrepreneurship in immigrant communities, including organizations from SFEDA. We coordinated content and presentations for two Financial Education weeks in March and November.
  • Our partnership with the Office of Financial Empowerment (OFE) led to the development of a handout in both English and Spanish to help clients in the Bay Area determine the best checking account options to open. During Financial Education Week, OFE brought in speakers from the IRS to talk to Ventanilla visitors about Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers, or ITINs. OFE also helped us coordinate referrals to Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) providers across the Bay Area, a service that offers free tax help to people who generally make $54,000 or less, persons with disabilities and those with limited English proficiency.
  • We worked closely with the San Jose Consulate, which has launched a collaboration with CONDUSEF in Mexico to provide an overview of financial education and products based in Mexico. This was immensely helpful because everyday we have families that come to us with questions about managing their finances in both the U.S. and Mexico. Because of the Ventanilla collaboration, we were able to provide clients with information through our FEAPI, CONDUSEF, and the Consulate. Without the Ventanilla, these families would have struggled to find the answers to their questions from the Consulates alone or from financial providers in Mexico.

Under the current administration, many immigrants are in emergency planning mode because they are concerned about deportation. MAF sprung to action and created a Financial Emergency Action Plan for Immigrants (FEAPI) to help immigrants protect their finances in the case of an emergency like detention, deportation, or family separation.

We provided this toolkit in the Bay Area at the Consulates, and at mobile consulate visits throughout California and Hawaii. To capture an even wider net of people to help, our team is currently building the FEAPI into an app to increase engagement with our community.

Come by and visit us! We have staff on-site in San Jose and San Francisco, Monday through Friday:

The success of MAF’s Ventanilla programs help us deliver on our promise to “meet clients where they are.” We’re planning on exceeding our own expectations, as we look to serve thousands of low-income and immigrant individuals through our Consulate sites in the upcoming year with financial education, coaching, tax-time savings, and 0% interest loans.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English