الكاتب: روسيو رودارتي

A Tale of Two Recoveries

حكاية عمليتي تعافي: كيف نجت عائلات المهاجرين من COVID-19

في الآونة الأخيرة ، سمعنا في الأخبار كيف أكثر الأسر الأمريكية تعمل بشكل أفضل من الناحية المالية اليوم مما كانت عليه قبل جائحة COVID-19. من شيكات التحفيز والتأمين ضد البطالة إلى الائتمان الضريبي للأطفال الموسع ، لعبت الإغاثة الفيدرالية COVID-19 دورًا مهمًا في مساعدة العائلات على البقاء على قيد الحياة ، وحتى تحسين وضعها المالي.

لكن هذه الصورة تفتقد قصة أخرى أقل شهرة للتعافي: تجربة العائلات المهاجرة التي تم استبعادها من الإغاثة الفيدرالية للوباء. 

في 2 كانون الأول (ديسمبر) 2021 ، اجتمعنا لرفع مستوى قصص وتجارب العائلات المهاجرة التي تركناها وراءنا. فكرنا مع الشركاء وسألنا أنفسنا ، كيف يمكننا مساعدة عائلات المهاجرين على إعادة بناء حياتهم المالية؟ شاهد التسجيل أدناه.

تم حرمان 11.5 مليون مهاجر وعائلاتهم من الإغاثة الفيدرالية لـ COVID-19.

"بصفتي شخصًا غير مسجَّل قدم ضرائبي لمدة اثني عشر عامًا ، كان من الصعب قبول أنه في الأوقات التي نكافح فيها ، لا يمكننا استرداد أي شيء ". - خوان ، متلقي صندوق عائلات المهاجرين

لطالما تم استبعاد المهاجرين من شبكة الأمان الاجتماعي في هذا البلد. على الرغم من الدفع مليارات من الضرائب الفيدرالية كل عام ، يظل المهاجرون غير المسجلين غير مؤهلين لجميع أشكال الحماية الفيدرالية تقريبًا ، من التأمين الصحي إلى إعانات الغذاء والإسكان.

خلال الوباء ، شغل ثلاثة من كل أربعة مهاجرين غير شرعيين أدوارًا أساسية في الخطوط الأمامية ، مخاطرين بحياتهم للمساعدة في إطعامنا وأماننا وصحتنا. ومع ذلك ، حتى مع تقدمهم من أجل البلاد ، ظلوا مستبعدين من الإغاثة الفيدرالية. تشير التقديرات إلى أن عائلة مهاجرة من أربعة كانت رفض ما يزيد عن $11،400. بدون هذا الدعم المهم ، تعرضت حياة العائلات المهاجرة لضربة مدمرة. 

أساسي وغير مرئي ومستبعد. 

بالاعتماد على أعمالنا التي لا مثيل لها مسح أكثر من 11000 مهاجر بعد استبعادهم من الإغاثة الفيدرالية ، ألقينا نظرة صادقة ومؤلمة على كيفية نجاة أسر المهاجرين.  

بدون شبكة أمان اجتماعي يمكن الاعتماد عليها ، لم يكن أمام العديد من المهاجرين خيار سوى الحضور للعمل. كانت تكاليف العمال في الخطوط الأمامية هائلة: فلم يعرض العمال صحة أسرهم فقط للخطر ، ولكن أولئك الذين أصيبوا بالمرض واجهوا دوامة هبوط من الصعوبات المالية.

لم تكن العائلات التي أصيب فيها أحد أفرادها بفيروس COVID-19 أكثر عرضة لفقدان الدخل والتخلف عن الفواتير أكثر من الأسر التي لم يمرض فيها أحد ، بل كانوا أكثر عرضة للعقوبات وإغلاق مرافقهم وطردهم. .

دخلت العديد من عائلات المهاجرين في الأزمة مع محدودية الوصول وخيارات مالية قليلة. كانت العائلات التي كانت غير مرئية للنظام المالي الرسمي قبل COVID-19 - تفتقر إلى رقم الضمان الاجتماعي أو المعرف الضريبي - أقل عرضة لامتلاك حسابات جارية أو بطاقات ائتمان.

ومع وجود استراتيجيات مالية أقل ، كان لدى هذه العائلات خيارات أقل للاستفادة منها خلال COVID-19. في الواقع ، رأينا أن المهاجرين الذين لديهم معرّف ضريبي كانوا 451T1T أكثر عرضة لدفع فواتيرهم الشهرية بالكامل من المهاجرين الذين ليس لديهم معرّف ضريبي. 

فكيف عاشت العائلات في ظل نظام عاملهم على أنهم أساسيون وغير مرئيون؟ ذهب العديد من دون ، حيث أفادت 6 من كل 10 عائلات بأنها غير قادرة على تغطية احتياجاتها الأساسية. على الرغم من هذه التضحيات ، كان لا يزال يتعين على العديد من العائلات تحمل الديون. في أعماق الوباء ، أفادت العائلات التي تخلفت عن وجود فواتير غير مدفوعة بقيمة 1T2T2T2 ، مما يمثل ديون الزومبي التي ستحملها العائلات معهم حتى في فترة التعافي.

دعواتنا إلى العمل.

إذن، أين نذهب من هنا؟

لقد قمنا بدعوة المدافعين والممارسين للتحدث عن كيفية الظهور ، والقيام بالمزيد ، والقيام بعمل أفضل. في جميع المجالات ، سمعنا أنه بينما يتم اتخاذ خطوات لمساعدة الناس على إعادة البناء ، يجب أن يحدث المزيد لتحقيق انتعاش عادل وشامل حقًا.

A Tale of Two Recoveries, webinar panelists

إظهار: اجعل السياسات شاملة لجميع المهاجرين. وضعت الحكومة الفيدرالية سابقة مدمرة لاستبعاد المهاجرين من سياسات شبكات الأمان الاجتماعي الهامة. ومع ذلك ، هناك خيارات يمكننا القيام بها على مستوى الولاية والمستوى المحلي للمساعدة في تقديم الإغاثة بالموارد المتاحة لدينا الآن. السياسة هي اختيار ، ومن قوتنا الدعوة إلى المزيد من الحماية والخدمات الشاملة لجميع المهاجرين عبر جميع مستويات الحكومة.

افعل المزيد: قم بإزالة الحواجز الهيكلية. بدون وضع قانوني ، يستمر إقصاء المهاجرين من الموارد الحيوية التي يمكن أن تساعدهم في إعادة البناء. لكن إمكانية الوصول أعمق من ذلك: من اللغة إلى الحواجز التكنولوجية ، نحتاج إلى ضمان تقديم البرامج والخدمات بلغة وثقافة وبطرق تساعد العائلات على استخدام الموارد عندما يحتاجون إليها.

افعل بشكل أفضل: غيّروا عقلياتهم معًا. من حزم الإغاثة من COVID-19 إلى الإدراك المتزايد بأن منح الأشخاص المال يعمل ، يشجعنا التقدم الذي تم إحرازه لدعم الأشخاص المهمشين بشكل أفضل. لكننا نحتاج إلى المزيد من الحلفاء في هذه المعركة حتى نتمكن من بناء أنظمة تخلق المزيد من الفرص العادلة. عندما نسخر قوتنا الجماعية ، يمكننا إحداث تغيير دائم.

نحن نعلم أن العمل لم ينته بعد.

لقد تم استبعاد المهاجرين من أنظمة الدعم في بلادنا لفترة طويلة جدًا ، ولم يؤد COVID-19 إلا إلى تفاقم العديد من حالات عدم المساواة الحالية. هذا هو السبب في أن عملنا أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى.

عندما نتطلع إلى الأمام ، نؤكد على تذكير خوسيه: "علينا الاعتماد على بعضنا البعض للحفاظ على أنفسنا كاملين والحفاظ على معنوياتنا مرتفعة. لا يمكننا أن ندع تدمير واقعنا يتجاوز أرواحنا ". معًا ، مع الاحترام والتبادلية ، يمكننا مساعدة العائلات المهاجرة على إعادة بناء حياتهم المالية بكرامة.

أصبح SB 1157 قانونًا: أول مشروع قانون للإبلاغ عن الإيجار في ولاية كاليفورنيا

في خريف هذا العام ، وقع الحاكم جافين نيوسوم مشروع قانون مجلس الشيوخ بكاليفورنيا (SB) 1157، وخلق طريق تاريخي جديد لفرص بناء الائتمان للأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض في الولاية. في الوقت الذي تكافح فيه العديد من الأسر لتغطية نفقاتها في خضم الوباء والركود ، يوفر هذا القانون شريان حياة لبناء الائتمان. وبتأليف ستيفن برانفورد (دي جاردينا) ، سيمنح القانون الجديد المستأجرين الذين يعيشون في مساكن مدعومة فرصة للإبلاغ عن مدفوعات الإيجار الخاصة بهم إلى مكاتب الائتمان الرئيسية ، مما يمكنهم من الاستمرار في بناء الائتمان بأمان حتى بعد هذه الأزمة.

قامت MAF برعاية SB 1157 ، بالشراكة مع Credit Builders Alliance و Prosperity Now ، لأننا نؤمن بالتأثير الدائم الذي يمكن أن تحدثه تقارير الإيجار في مساعدة العديد من سكان كاليفورنيا في إنشاء أو بناء درجاتهم الائتمانية. على مدار أكثر من 15 عامًا ، قادنا المهمة لإخراج المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين من الظل المالي من خلال تقديم مسارات غير تقليدية لفرص بناء الائتمان. من عند Lending Circles ل SB 896، سعت MAF باستمرار ليس فقط لمقابلة الأشخاص في أماكن تواجدهم في رحلاتهم المالية ، ولكن أيضًا للارتقاء بالاستراتيجيات التي تعترف بنقاط قوتهم وتساعدهم على المشاركة في الاتجاه المالي السائد بكرامة. من خلال SB 1157 ، نواصل العمل على رؤية تكريم الممارسات الجيدة التي تحدث بالفعل من خلال الاعتراف بها رسميًا والارتقاء بها إلى الاتجاه السائد.

على 45% من سكان كاليفورنيا يؤجرون مساكنهم، وعلى عكس مالكي المنازل الذين يمكنهم بناء ائتمان من خلال مدفوعات الرهن العقاري الخاصة بهم ، لا يستطيع المستأجرون فعل الشيء نفسه حتى عند إجراء الدفعات في الوقت المحدد.

ومع ذلك ، فإن عدم دفع الإيجار له تأثير سلبي على درجة ائتمان المستأجر. بدون درجة ائتمانية مناسبة ، سيتم استبعاد المستأجرين من الخدمات الأساسية ، مثل قروض شراء منزل ، والحصول على خدمات المرافق الأساسية أو خطط الهاتف الخليوي ، والحصول على بطاقات الائتمان. نتيجة لممارسات إعداد التقارير الائتمانية غير المتكافئة الحالية ، من المرجح أن يكون لدى المستأجرين سبعة أضعاف الحد الأدنى من السجل الائتماني الذي تعتبره مكاتب الائتمان غير قابل للرقابة مقارنة بمالكي المنازل. غالبًا ما تثبط الحواجز المالية واللوجستية المرتبطة بمتطلبات الإبلاغ أصحاب العقارات عن تقديم سجلات مدفوعات الإيجار الكاملة إلى مكاتب الائتمان. حتى الآن دليل على بيانات الإبلاغ عن الإيجار يُظهر نتائج واضحة ومتسقة: يلعب تقرير الإيجار الكامل دورًا مهمًا في مساعدة الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم درجات ائتمانية على إنشاء واحدة ويساعد أصحاب الدرجات المنخفضة على تحسين نتائجهم.

ستوفر تقارير الإيجار إلى مكاتب الائتمان الكبرى للمستأجرين ذوي الدخل المنخفض فرصة لبناء الائتمان كأصل مالي مع مساعدتهم في إعادة البناء لعالم ما بعد الوباء.

تم تصميم SB 1157 للمستأجرين الذين من المرجح أن يحصلوا على أكبر فائدة من إنشاء أو تحسين درجاتهم الائتمانية. إنه يقدم أول حل من نوعه لإبلاغ الإيجارات عن التناقضات الائتمانية ، وفتح خطوط للوصول إلى بناء الائتمان للمستأجرين الذين يعيشون في مساكن مدعومة ومنحهم الفرصة للدخول أو البقاء في التيار المالي السائد خلال هذا الوباء. تمشيا مع قيمنا ، يلتقي مشروع القانون هذا بالناس أينما كانوا من خلال منح المستأجرين الأدوات المالية التي يحتاجون إليها لممارستها في وقتهم الخاص وفي سياقهم الخاص.

إن الحصول على ائتمان جيد هو أحد الأصول التي يجب صقلها واستدامتها ، لا سيما أثناء الصدمات المالية غير المتوقعة حيث من المرجح أن تتضرر الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض بشدة.

لقد تفككت الحياة المالية للناس بسبب COVID-19. في حالة يوجد فيها بالفعل ملف النقص الهائل في المساكن المؤجرة بأسعار معقولة وحيث يوجد عدد متزايد من المستأجرين خطر الإخلاء بسبب الانكماش الاقتصادي ، لا ينبغي أن تتحمل الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض في كاليفورنيا وطأة هذا الوباء أكثر من ذلك. لا تزال سبل عيش الناس على المحك ، ويمكن أن يمنح SB 1157 المستأجرين ذوي الدخل المنخفض فرصة للحفاظ على بعض مظاهر الأساس المالي مع استمرارهم في معالجة حواجز بناء الأصول. سيسمح هذا القانون الجديد لسكان كاليفورنيا ذوي الدخل المنخفض بعدم السماح لتاريخهم الائتماني بالسقوط من خلال الفجوات ، مما يمنحهم فرصة قتالية في انتعاش هذا الوباء.

من عند الإغاثة المباشرة للتغييرات المنهجية على مستوى الولاية ، نواصل وضع العملاء في طليعة المنتجات والسياسات التي ندعو إليها. مع SB 1157 ، نقترب خطوة أخرى من تزويد المجتمعات منخفضة الدخل والمهاجرين التي نخدمها بإمكانية الوصول إلى الأدوات التي يحتاجونها لزيادة رفاهيتهم المالية.

قصة تارين: إيجاد التحول في عدم اليقين

تتغلب شخصية تارين ويليامز المغناطيسية والضحك المعدي بسهولة على رتابة مكالمة الفيديو الجماعية النموذجية التي أصبحت مألوفة للغاية بالنسبة للكثيرين منا. طالبة بدوام كامل في جامعة ولاية كاليفورنيا لونج بيتش وأم لتوأم يبلغ من العمر خمس سنوات أشعيا وماكايلا ، تارين ليست غريبة عن تحديات الحمل الثقيل في ظل الظروف الصعبة. أثناء تناولها غداءها أثناء محادثة الفيديو ، تحدثت بحماس عن تدريبها التنفيذي في Target هذا الصيف. تميل إلى الوراء لتظهر لي تقويمها المليء بالألوان المليء بمهام الأطروحة ، واختبارات ممارسة GRE ، والمواعيد النهائية لتقديم الطلبات. وعلقت بابتسامة عريضة: "إنه جنون مطلق". 

مثل العديد من طلاب الجامعات ، عانى تارين من الاضطراب الكبير الذي أحدثه COVID-19 في التفاعلات الاجتماعية اليومية في حرم الجامعات الصاخبة. فقدت تارين التبادل العاطفي للأفكار ، وفقدان مساحة الدراسة ، وباعتبارها أم لطفلين صغيرين ، فقد الوصول إلى رعاية الأطفال والوجبات المجانية. بالنسبة إلى تارين ، لم تكن الكلية مكان نموها الأكاديمي والشخصي فحسب ، بل كانت أيضًا شبكة أمانها الاجتماعي. "كان الأمن المالي بالنسبة لي مرتبطًا بشدة بالتواجد في المدرسة. عندما حدث COVID ، لم أحصل على فحص التحفيز ، وانقطعت ساعات عمل زوجي ، وفقدت المساعدة الحكومية ". بصفتها حاصلة على منحة دعم طلاب كلية CA من MAF ، تمكنت تارين من شراء الطعام والاحتياجات الأساسية لعائلتها. مع ذلك ، أدى فقدان الدخل الأساسي والدعم الغذائي لأسرتها إلى خلق مجموعات جديدة من التحديات. لكن بالنسبة لتارين ، كان هذا فصلًا آخر في قصة طويلة من المثابرة والأمل. 

ينبثق الإلهام والأمل في لحظات غير محتملة

"أطفالي هم القوة الدافعة لكل ما أفعله. عدت إلى المدرسة عندما كان عمرهم خمسة عشر شهرًا ، وكان ذلك جنونًا جدًا ".

قررت تارين ، البالغة من العمر 31 عامًا ، أنها تريد الحصول على صورة لها في حفل التخرج من الكلية مع أطفالها. وقد اختارت وقتًا غير متوقع بشكل خاص في حياتها للقيام بذلك.

"عندما عدت إلى المدرسة ، لم يكن لدي رعاية أطفال ، كنت قد جمعت سيارتي للتو ، وأجبرنا على ترك مسكننا بسبب التحسين. لذلك ، لم يكن لدي مكان للعيش فيه ، ولم يكن لدي حساب مصرفي ، ولم يكن لدي عمل ، ولم يكن لدي سيارة ، وكان لدي هذان المولودان الجديدان. أردت حقًا أن أقول لنفسي إن هذا لم يكن وقت العودة إلى المدرسة. لكنني واصلت المضي قدمًا ".

قبل أكثر من عشر سنوات ، كان تارين قد بدأ دراسته الجامعية ولكن في النهاية كان عليه أن يأخذ استراحة دائمة. يصف تارين معاناة الذهاب إلى المدرسة لسنوات ومحاولة الحفاظ على التركيز أثناء التعامل مع كرة المنحنى واحدة تلو الأخرى. نشأ تارين في نظام الرعاية بالتبني ، وقد التحق بأكثر من اثنتي عشرة مدرسة ابتدائية أثناء نشأته. كانت تتنقل كثيرًا لدرجة أنها كانت تخشى ألا تعرف القراءة والكتابة بشكل صحيح. عندما كانت في التاسعة عشرة من عمرها ، فقد والدها وظيفته وغادر المدينة. لقد تركت بلا مأوى. لقد عانت من تعاطي المخدرات والاكتئاب. "غير قادر على توفير الغذاء الأساسي والمأوى والملابس ، لم تعد المدرسة مجرد أولوية بالنسبة لي." بعد ما يقرب من عشر سنوات من أخذ إجازة من الكلية ، التحقت تارين في كلية لونج بيتش سيتي لمتابعة درجة الزمالة. هدفها في العودة إلى المدرسة: أن تظهر لأطفالها ما يمكن أن يحمله المستقبل البديل. كان التوقيت - حيث كانت في حياتها ومن كانت معها - هو كل شيء لهذه البداية الجديدة.

قوة أن تُرى وتُسمع: إيجاد صوت في المجتمع والقبول

استغرق الأمر "أ" واحدًا في فصل الكيمياء لتغيير المسار الأكاديمي لتارين تمامًا. ثم تم ترشيحها لبرنامج الشرف. لم تشعر تارين أن هذا هو المكان الذي كانت فيه على الاطلاقتذكرت بضحكة لا تصدق. 

"الانضمام إلى برنامج الشرف هذا ووجود الناس هناك يقبلونني تمامًا لما أنا عليه - ومقابلتي حقًا حيث كنت في ذلك الجزء من رحلتي الأكاديمية - كان أمرًا يعزز حقًا." 

أدى الخروج من منطقة الراحة الخاصة بها إلى إشعال النار فيها للاستمرار. لقد غذى تشجيع الناس دوافعها وإيمانها بنفسها. ثم حدث ذلك: حصلت على أول 4.0 معدل تراكمي لها. "الحصول على هذا الإصدار 4.0 جعلني أدرك أنه لا ينبغي أن أحكم على نفسي بناءً على تجاربي السابقة." هي تعلم الآن أن عليها أن تذهب أبعد من ذلك.  

في عام 2018 ، انتقل تارين إلى جامعة ولاية كاليفورنيا لونج بيتش بمنحة الرئيس ، وهي أرقى المنح الدراسية القائمة على الجدارة التي تمنحها الجامعة.

"هذه المنح الدراسية للطلاب البالغين من العمر 18 عامًا ، والمتفوقين حديثي التخرج من المدرسة الثانوية ، والذين لديهم أكثر من 4.0 GPA. أنا في الثلاثينيات من عمري ، ولدي أطفال في المنزل ، ولم يكن لدي معدل تراكمي 4.0. فكرت ماذا كانوا يريدون مني؟ "

لكن تارين وجدت صوتها في الحرم الجامعي. كان الدعم الذي تلقته عندما وصلت ساحقًا للغاية ، وشعرت أخيرًا بالراحة في مشاركة جزء من حياتها كانت دائمًا أكثر هدوءًا: لقد كانت مسجونة سابقًا. كانت تارين مسجونة قبل ولادة توأمها. لم ترغب أبدًا في طرح ذلك من قبل ، لأنها شعرت أنها ستُعتبر غير جديرة بالثقة. لم تكن تعتقد أن الناس سيصدقون حقًا أنها "امرأة متغيرة". 

وجدت الشفاء في الانفتاح. "لقد كان يتحرر ، ومتواضع ، ولأنني بطبيعة الحال بصوت عالٍ للغاية ومتحرر ، فقد استفدت من ذلك. لقد منحتني الكثير من احترام الذات ". كانت تسمع من الطلاب بخلفيتها أن انفتاحها يساعدهم على الشفاء أيضًا. وجدت تارين القوة في مجتمعاتها الداعمة ، وتستخدم هذه القوة لتغذية دافعها للاستمرار.

تغيير السرد كعالم ومناصرة: النظر إلى ما بعد COVID-19

قبل ظهور COVID مباشرة ، كان تارين قد ألقى حديثًا TEDx حول التحيز والحكم ، لا سيما حول الأشخاص المسجونين سابقًا والصور النمطية السلبية التي يحملها الناس عنهم. "جئت إلى المسرح مرتدية سترة ، وينظر إلي الناس بنوع معين من الاحترام. ثم ، بعد فترة ، خلعت سترتي ، وأظهر مجموعة من الأوشام ، ثم أصبح الناس أكثر وعيًا بثقبي. ثم ينظرون إلي بشكل مختلف. إنهم يحكمون علي ويمكنني أن أشعر بذلك ".

يسعى تارين لتغيير الرواية حول المسجونين سابقًا وتعزيز فرص الشباب في مستويات التحصيل العلمي العالي.

إنها تريد التقدم إلى برامج الدكتوراه وأن تصبح عضوًا في هيئة التدريس في إحدى الجامعات يومًا ما حتى تتمكن من الدفاع عن مجتمعاتها ودعمها. يخطط تارين للتخرج في شهر ديسمبر مع بكالوريوس مزدوج في الإدارة وإدارة سلسلة التوريد التشغيلية. 

نعم ، إنها قلقة للغاية بشأن تداعيات COVID وكيف ستدير جداول مدارس أطفالها هذا الخريف الآن بعد أن بدأوا روضة الأطفال.

"كوني والدًا في الكلية أثناء الوباء قد يكون من أصعب الأمور التي مررت بها."

عندما تنهي أطروحتها ، وتكمل فترة تدريبها ، وتتقدم إلى برامج الدكتوراه ، وتوفق بنشاط بين احتياجات أسرتها ، تضع تارين قدمًا أمام الأخرى ، وتواصل رحلتها إلى الأمام. لقد أطلعتني بفخر على لوحة من صورة تخرج درجة مشاركتها مع أطفالها - شعارات كاملة وكل شيء. لا يمكنها الانتظار لجمع المزيد من الصور.  

"أملي الأكبر هو أن يفهم الناس أنك حقًا ، حقًا يمكنك فعل ما تريد. عليك أن تبحث عن مجتمعك. يجب أن تكون على استعداد للتحدث عن احتياجاتك ، ثم تقول متى لا يتم تلبية احتياجاتك. الأهم من ذلك ، عليك أن تكون على استعداد لطلب المزيد - عليك أن تعرف أنك تستحق أن تطلب المزيد. وكل شيء ممكن. " 

سألته ، "أي كلمات أخيرة؟" ، وأنا لا أزال غارقًا في عمق ملخص تارين العابر لدروس الحياة. "نعم ، ارتدي قناعًا!" تصرخ من الضحك. 

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Author: Rocio Rodarte

A Tale of Two Recoveries

A Tale of Two Recoveries: How Immigrant Families Survived COVID-19

Lately, we’ve been hearing in the news how most American households are doing much better financially today than they were before the COVID-19 pandemic. From stimulus checks and unemployment insurance to the expanded Child Tax Credit, federal COVID-19 relief played a critical role in helping families survive, and even improve their financial footing.

But this picture misses another lesser-known story of recovery: the experience of immigrant families who were excluded from federal pandemic relief. 

On December 2, 2021, we came together to uplift the stories and experiences of immigrant families left behind. We reflected with partners and asked ourselves, how can we help immigrant families rebuild their financial lives? Watch the recording below.

11.5 million immigrants and their families were denied federal COVID-19 relief.

As an undocumented person who has filed my taxes for twelve years, it has been hard to have to accept that in times when we struggle, we are unable to receive anything back.”—Juan, Immigrant Families Fund recipient

Immigrants have long been excluded from this country’s social safety net. Despite paying billions in federal taxes every year, undocumented immigrants remain ineligible for nearly all federal protections, from health insurance to food and housing subsidies.

During the pandemic, three in four undocumented immigrants filled frontline essential roles, risking their own lives to help keep us fed, safe, and healthy. Yet, even as they stepped up for the country, they remained excluded from federal relief. It’s estimated that an immigrant family of four was denied upward of $11,400. Without this critical support, immigrant families’ lives took a devastating hit. 

Essential, invisible, and excluded. 

Drawing on our unparalleled survey of more than 11,000 immigrants excluded from federal relief, we got an honest and painful look at how immigrant families survived.  

Without a social safety net to fall back on, many immigrants had no choice but to show up for work. The costs for workers on the frontlines was immense: not only did workers put their families’ health at risk, but those who did get sick faced a downward spiral of financial hardship.

Families where a member got sick with COVID-19 were not only more likely to lose income and fall behind on bills than households where no one got sick, but they were also more likely to face penalties, have their utilities shut off, and be evicted.

Many immigrant families walked into the crisis with limited access and few financial options. Families who were invisible to the formal financial system prior to COVID-19𑁋lacking a Social Security Number or Tax ID𑁋were less likely to have checking accounts or credit cards.

And with fewer financial strategies, these families had fewer options to draw on during COVID-19. Indeed, we saw that immigrants who had a Tax ID were 45% more likely to pay their monthly bills in full than immigrants without a Tax ID. 

So how did families survive in a system that treated them as essential and invisible? Many went without, as 6 in 10 families reported being unable to cover their basic needs. Despite these sacrifices, many families still had to take on debt. In the depth of the pandemic, families who had fallen behind reported having $2,000 in unpaid bills, representing zombie debt that families will carry with them even into the recovery.

Our calls to action.

So, where do we go from here?

We invited advocates and practitioners to talk about how we can show up, do more, and do better. Across the board, we heard that while steps are being taken to help people rebuild, more needs to happen for a truly equitable and inclusive recovery.

A Tale of Two Recoveries, webinar panelists

SHOW UP: Make policies inclusive of all immigrants. The federal government has set a damaging precedent of excluding immigrants from critical social safety net policies. However, there are choices we can make at the state and local levels to help offer relief with the resources we have available now. Policy is a choice, and it’s in our power to advocate for more inclusive protections and services for all immigrants across all levels of government.

DO MORE: Remove structural barriers. Without legal status, immigrants continue to be left out of critical resources that could help them rebuild. But accessibility runs even deeper: from language to technology barriers, we need to ensure programs and services are delivered in-language, in-culture, and in ways that help families use resources when they need them.

DO BETTER: Change mindsets together. From COVID-19 relief packages to the growing recognition that giving people cash works, we’re encouraged by the progress that has been made to better support people at the margins. But we need more allies in this fight so that we can build systems that create more equitable pathways of opportunity. When we harness our collective power, we can create lasting change.

We know the work is far from over.

Immigrants have been excluded from our nation’s support systems for too long, and COVID-19 has only exacerbated many of these existing inequities. This is why our work is more important than ever.

When we look ahead, we’re anchored by José’s reminder: “We have to rely on one another to keep ourselves whole and keep our spirits up. We can’t let the devastation of our reality overtake our spirits.” Together, with respect and mutuality, we can help immigrant families rebuild their financial lives with dignity.

SB 1157 Becomes Law: California’s First-in-the-Nation Rent Reporting Bill

This fall, Governor Gavin Newsom signed California Senate Bill (SB) 1157, creating a historic new avenue of credit-building opportunities for low-income families in the state. At a time when so many households are struggling to make ends meet in the midst of a pandemic and recession, this law offers a credit-building lifeline. Authored by Steven Branford (D-Gardena), the new law will give tenants living in subsidized housing an opportunity to have their rent payments reported to major credit bureaus, enabling them to continue safely building credit even after this crisis.

MAF sponsored SB 1157, in partnership with the Credit Builders Alliance and Prosperity Now, because we believe in the lasting impact that rent reporting can have in helping many Californians establish or build their credit scores. For over 15 years, we’ve led the charge to bring low-income and immigrant communities out of the financial shadows by offering non-traditional paths to credit-building opportunities. From Lending Circles to SB 896, MAF has continuously strived to not only meet people where they are in their financial journeys, but uplift the strategies that recognize their strengths and help them participate in the financial mainstream with dignity. Through SB 1157, we continue to act on a vision of honoring good practices already taking place by formally recognizing them and elevating them to the mainstream.

Over 45% of Californians rent their housing, and unlike homeowners who can build credit through their mortgage payments, renters cannot do the same even when making on-time payments.

Failure to pay rent, however, has a negative impact on a renter’s credit score. Without a decent credit score, renters stand to be left out of essential services, such as loans for buying a house, obtaining basic utility services or cell phone plans, and getting credit cards. As a result of current uneven credit reporting practices, renters are seven times more likely to have a minimal credit history deemed unscorable by credit bureaus compared to homeowners. The monetary and logistical barriers associated with reporting requirements often discourage landlords from submitting full rental payment histories to credit bureaus. Yet, the evidence on rent reporting data shows clear and consistent results: full rent reporting plays a critical role in helping people without credit scores establish one and helps those with low scores improve theirs.

Rent reporting to major credit bureaus will offer low-income renters an opportunity to build credit as a financial asset while helping them rebuild for a post-pandemic world.

SB 1157 is tailored to tenants most likely to receive the greatest benefit from establishing or improving their credit scores. It offers a first of its kind solution to rent reporting credit discrepancies, opening up lines of credit-building access for tenants living in subsidized housing and giving them the opportunity to enter or stay in the financial mainstream during this pandemic. In keeping with our values, this bill meets people where they are by giving tenants the financial tools they need to exercise them at their own time and within their own context.

Having good credit is an asset that needs to be cultivated and sustained, especially during unexpected financial shocks where low-income families are most likely to be hit hardest.

People’s financial lives have been unraveled by COVID-19. In a state where there is already a massive shortage of affordable rental homes and where an increasing number of tenants are at risk of eviction due to the economic downturn, California’s low-income families should not have to bear the brunt of this pandemic any further. People’s livelihoods continue to be on the line, and SB 1157 can give low-income renters an opportunity to maintain some semblance of a financial footing as they continue to tackle asset-building barriers. This new law will allow low-income Californians to not let their credit histories fall through the cracks, giving them a fighting chance in the recovery of this pandemic.

From direct relief to state-wide systemic changes, we continue to put clients at the forefront of the products and policies we advocate for. With SB 1157, we’re another step closer to providing the low-income and immigrant communities we serve with access to the tools they need to increase their financial well-being.

Taryn’s Story: Finding Transformation in the Uncertainty

Taryn Williams’ magnetic personality and infectious laugh easily overcome the monotony of the typical video conference call that’s become all too familiar for many of us. A full-time student at the California State University Long Beach and mother of five-year-old twins Isaiah and McKayla, Taryn is no stranger to the challenges of a heavy load under trying circumstances. As she eats her lunch during our video conversation, she excitedly talks about her Executive internship at Target this summer. She leans back to show me her packed color-coded calendar filled with thesis assignments, GRE practice tests, and application deadlines. “It’s absolute madness,” she comments with a wide smile. 

Like many college students, Taryn has experienced the significant disruption that COVID-19 has brought upon the day-to-day social interactions on bustling college campuses. Loss of a passionate exchange of ideas, loss of a study space, and, as a mother of two young children, Taryn has also lost access to childcare and free meals. For Taryn, college was not only her place of academic and personal growth, but it was also her social safety net. “Financial security for me was strongly tied to being in school. When COVID happened, I didn’t get my stimulus check, my husband’s work hours were cut, I lost my government assistance.” As a recipient of MAF’s CA College Student Support Grant, Taryn was able to buy food and basic needs for her family. Losing critical income and food support for her family created new sets of challenges nonetheless. But for Taryn, this was another chapter in a long story of perseverance and hope. 

Inspiration and Hope Emerge in Unlikely Moments

“My children are my driving force for everything I do. I went back to school when they were fifteen months, and that was pretty crazy.”

At 31 years old, Taryn decided she wanted to have a picture of herself in college graduation regalia with her children. And she picked a particularly unexpected time in her life to do that.

“When I went back to school, I didn’t have childcare, I had just totaled my car, we had been forced out of our housing due to gentrification. So, I had no place to live, didn’t have a bank account, didn’t have a job, didn’t have a car, had these two newborns. I really wanted to tell myself that this wasn’t the time to go back to school. But I just kept going.”

More than ten years earlier, Taryn had started college but ultimately had to take a permanent break. Taryn describes the agony of attending school for years and trying to stay focused while dealing with one curveball after another. Raised in the foster care system, Taryn had attended over a dozen elementary schools growing up. She moved so often she worried she didn’t know how to properly read and write. When she was 19, her dad lost his job and left town. She was left homeless. She experienced substance abuse and depression. “Unable to provide basic food, shelter, and clothing, school was just no longer a priority for me.” Nearly ten years after taking a leave from college, Taryn enrolled in Long Beach City College to pursue her associate’s degree. Her goal in coming back to school: show her kids what an alternative future could hold. Timing – where she was in her life and who she had with her – was everything for this new beginning.

The Power of Being Seen and Heard: Finding a Voice in Community and Acceptance

It took that one “A” in her chemistry class to completely change Taryn’s academic trajectory. She was then recommended to the Honors Program. Taryn didn’t feel like that was where she was at all, she recalled with an incredulous laugh. 

“Joining that honors program and having people there totally accept me for who I am – and really meeting me where I was in that part of my academic journey – was really reinforcing.” 

Stepping out of her comfort zone lit a fire in her to keep going. People’s encouragement fueled her motivation and her belief in herself. And then it happened: she got her first 4.0 GPA. “Getting that 4.0 made me realize that I shouldn’t judge myself based on my prior experiences.” She now knew she had to go even further.  

In 2018, Taryn transferred to Cal State University Long Beach with the President’s Scholarship, the most prestigious merit-based scholarships awarded by the university.

“Those scholarships are for 18-year-olds, fresh-out-of-high school valedictorians, who have over a 4.0 GPA. I’m in my 30’s, I have kids at home, I didn’t have a cumulative 4.0 GPA. What did they want with me, I thought?”

But Taryn found her voice on campus. The support she received when she arrived was so overwhelming, she finally felt comfortable sharing a part of her life she had always been quieter about: she had previously been incarcerated. Taryn had been incarcerated right before her twins were born. She never wanted to bring that up before, because she felt she’d be deemed untrustworthy. She didn’t think people would really believe she was a “changed woman.” 

She found healing in opening up. “It was freeing, humbling, and because I’m naturally so loud and free-spirited, I just tapped into that. It gave me so much self-esteem.” She was hearing from students with her background that her openness was helping them heal as well. Taryn found strength in her communities of support, and uses this strength to fuel her motivation to keep going.

Changing the Narrative as a Scholar and Advocate: Looking Beyond COVID-19

Right before COVID hit, Taryn had just given a TEDx talk on bias and judgement, particularly around previously incarcerated people and the negative stereotypes people hold about them. “I come to the stage with a blazer on, and people look at me with a certain type of respect. Then, after a while, I take off my blazer, showing a bunch of tattoos, and people then become more aware of my piercings. Then they look at me differently. They judge me and I can feel it.”

Taryn is on a quest to change the narrative around previously incarcerated and foster youth’s chances at higher education attainment levels.

She wants to apply to PhD programs and become a faculty member at a university one day so she can advocate for and support her communities. Taryn plans to graduate this December with a double bachelor’s in management and operations supply chain management. 

Yes, she deeply worries about COVID’s implications and how she’ll manage her kids’ school schedules this fall now that they’re starting kindergarten.

“Being a parent in college during a pandemic might be one of the harder things I’ve gone through.”

As she finishes her thesis, completes her internship, applies to PhD programs, and actively juggles the needs of her family, Taryn is putting one foot in front of the other, and continuing her journey ahead. She proudly shows me a canvas of her associate’s degree graduation photo with her kids – full regalia and all. She can’t wait to collect more pictures.  

“My biggest hope is that people will understand that you really, truly can do whatever you want. You have to seek out your community. You have to be willing to speak up for what your needs are, and then say when your needs are not being met. Most importantly, you have to be willing to ask for more –you have to know that you’re worth asking for more. And, anything is possible.” 

“Any last words?”” I ask, still soaking in the depth of Taryn’s casual summary of life lessons. “Yes, wear a mask!” she exclaims with laughter. 

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English