作者: Rocio Rodarte

A Tale of Two Recoveries

两次康复的故事:移民家庭如何在 COVID-19 中幸存下来

最近,我们在新闻中听到最 美国家庭今天的财务状况要好得多 与 COVID-19 大流行之前相比。从刺激检查和失业保险到扩大的儿童税收抵免,联邦 COVID-19 救济在帮助家庭生存甚至改善他们的财务基础方面发挥了关键作用。

但这张照片错过了另一个鲜为人知的复苏故事:被排除在联邦大流行救济之外的移民家庭的经历。 

2021 年 12 月 2 日,我们齐聚一堂,讲述留守移民家庭的故事和经历。我们与合作伙伴一起反思并问自己, 我们如何帮助移民家庭重建他们的财务生活? 观看下面的录音.

1150 万移民及其家人被拒绝获得联邦 COVID-19 救济。

作为一个已经为我报税 12 年的无证人士,很难接受在我们挣扎的时候,我们无法收回任何东西。”——Juan,移民家庭基金接受者

长期以来,移民一直被排除在这个国家的社会安全网之外。尽管付出了 数十亿的联邦税 每年,无证移民仍然没有资格享受几乎所有的联邦保护,从健康保险到食品和住房补贴。

在大流行期间,四分之三的无证移民担任前线重要角色,冒着生命危险帮助我们保持食物、安全和健康。然而,即使他们为国家挺身而出,他们仍然被排除在联邦救济之外。据估计,一个移民四口之家是 拒绝 $11,400 以上.如果没有这种关键支持,移民家庭的生活就会遭受毁灭性打击。 

必不可少的、不可见的和被排除在外的。 

借鉴我们无与伦比的 对超过 11,000 名移民的调查 被排除在联邦救济之外,我们对移民家庭如何生存进行了诚实而痛苦的审视。  

没有社会安全网可以依靠,许多移民别无选择,只能出现在工作岗位上。前线工人的成本是巨大的:不仅工人将家人的健康置于危险之中,而且那些确实生病的人还面临着经济困难的螺旋式下降。

与没有人生病的家庭相比,成员感染 COVID-19 的家庭不仅更有可能失去收入和拖欠账单,而且他们也更有可能面临处罚、公用事业关闭和被驱逐.

许多移民家庭在进入危机时遇到了有限的机会和很少的财务选择。在 COVID-19 之前对正式金融系统不可见的家庭𑁋缺乏社会安全号码或税号𑁋,他们不太可能拥有支票账户或信用卡。

由于财务策略较少,这些家庭在 COVID-19 期间可利用的选择较少。事实上,我们看到有税号的移民比没有税号的移民更有可能全额支付每月的账单。 

那么,家庭是如何在一个将他们视为必不可少且不可见的系统中生存的呢?许多人没有,因为十分之六的家庭报告无法满足他们的基本需求。尽管做出了这些牺牲,许多家庭仍然不得不负债。在大流行最严重的时候,落后的家庭报告说有 $2,000 的未付账单,这代表着家庭即使进入复苏阶段也会随身携带的僵尸债务。

我们的行动呼吁.

那么,我们该何去何从?

我们邀请了倡导者和从业者谈论我们如何能够出现、做得更多、做得更好。总的来说,我们听说虽然正在采取措施帮助人们重建,但要实现真正公平和包容性的复苏,还需要做更多的事情。

A Tale of Two Recoveries, webinar panelists

展示:制定包含所有移民的政策。 联邦政府开创了将移民排除在关键社会安全网政策之外的破坏性先例。但是,我们可以在州和地方层面做出选择,以利用我们现在可用的资源提供救济。政策是一种选择,我们有能力为各级政府的所有移民倡导更具包容性的保护和服务。

做更多:消除结构障碍。 没有合法身份,移民继续被排除在可以帮助他们重建的关键资源之外。但可访问性甚至更深层次:从语言到技术障碍,我们需要确保以语言、文化以及帮助家庭在需要时使用资源的方式提供计划和服务。

做得更好:一起改变思维方式。 从 COVID-19 救济计划到人们越来越认识到为人们提供现金工作,我们为更好地支持边缘人群而取得的进展感到鼓舞。但在这场斗争中,我们需要更多的盟友,这样我们才能建立系统,创造更公平的机会途径。当我们利用我们的集体力量时,我们可以创造持久的变化。

我们知道这项工作远未结束。

移民被排除在我们国家的支持系统之外太久了,而 COVID-19 只会加剧其中许多现有的不平等。这就是为什么我们的工作比以往任何时候都更重要。

当我们展望未来时,我们被何塞的提醒所锚定:“我们必须相互依赖才能保持完整并保持精神振奋。我们不能让现实的毁灭压倒我们的精神。”在相互尊重和相互尊重的情况下,我们可以一起帮助移民家庭有尊严地重建他们的财务生活。

SB 1157成为法律。加利福尼亚州的第一个全国性的租金报告法案。

今年秋天,加文-纽森州长签署了。 加州参议院法案(SB)1157该法为该州的低收入家庭创造了一条历史性的新的建立信贷的机会。当许多家庭在流行病和经济衰退中挣扎着维持生计时,这项法律提供了一条建立信用的生命线。由Steven Branford(D-Gardena)撰写的新法律将使居住在补贴住房中的租户有机会向主要信用机构报告他们的租金支付情况,使他们能够在这场危机之后继续安全地建立信用。

MAF与信用建设者联盟(Credit Builders Alliance)和 "现在就繁荣"(Prosperity Now)合作发起了SB 1157法案,因为我们相信租金报告在帮助许多加州人建立或提高信用分数方面的持久影响。在过去的15年里,我们通过提供非传统的信用建设机会,带领低收入和移民社区走出财务阴影。来自 Lending CirclesSB 896我們一直在努力,不僅要滿足人們在他們的財務旅程中的需求,而且要提升策略,承認他們的優勢,並幫助他們有尊嚴地參與財務主流。通过SB 1157号法案,我们将继续按照这样的愿景采取行动,即通过正式承认已经发生的良好做法并将其提升为主流做法。

完毕 45%的加州人租房居住与房主可以通过支付抵押贷款建立信用不同,租房者即使按时付款也不能做到这一点。

然而,不支付房租会对租房者的信用评分产生负面影响。如果没有良好的信用分数,租房者就会被排除在基本服务之外,如贷款买房、获得基本的公用事业服务或手机计划,以及获得信用卡。由于目前不平衡的信用报告做法,与房主相比,租房者的最低信用记录被信用局认为无法评分的可能性要高出七倍。与报告要求相关的金钱和后勤障碍往往使房东不愿向信用局提交完整的租金支付记录。然而。 租金报告数据的证据 显示了明确而一致的结果:全面的租金报告在帮助没有信用分数的人建立信用分数和帮助分数低的人提高信用分数方面发挥了关键作用。

向主要的信用机构报告租金情况,将为低收入租房者提供建立信用的机会,将其作为一种金融资产,同时帮助他们为大流行病后的世界进行重建。

SB 1157专门针对最有可能从建立或提高信用分数中获得最大利益的租户。它为租金报告中的信用差异提供了第一个解决方案,为居住在补贴住房中的租户开辟了建立信用的渠道,并使他们有机会在这一流行病期间进入或留在金融主流中。根据我们的价值观,该法案满足了人们的需求,为租户提供了他们在自己的时间和范围内行使所需的金融工具。

拥有良好的信用是一种需要培养和维持的资产,特别是在突如其来的金融冲击中,低收入家庭最有可能受到最严重的打击。

人们的金融生活已经被COVID-19所瓦解。在一个国家,已经有一个 廉租房严重短缺 越来越多的租户在这里 迫迁风险 由于经济衰退,加州的低收入家庭不应该再承受这一流行病的冲击。人们的生计仍然岌岌可危,SB 1157可以给低收入租房者提供一个机会,让他们在继续解决资产建设障碍的同时,也能保持一定的财务基础。这部新法律将使低收入的加州人不会让他们的信用记录漏掉,使他们在这一流行病的恢复过程中获得一个战斗的机会。

来自 直接救济 我们继续将客户置于我们所倡导的产品和政策的最前沿。随着SB 1157的通过,我们向我们所服务的低收入和移民社区提供所需的工具以提高他们的财务福利又迈进了一步。

Taryn的故事。在不确定中寻找转变

泰伦-威廉姆斯(Taryn Williams)富有磁性的个性和富有感染力的笑声轻松地克服了对我们许多人来说已变得非常熟悉的典型视频会议电话的单调性。作为加州州立大学长滩分校的全职学生和五岁的双胞胎兄弟Isaiah和McKayla的母亲,泰伦对在艰难环境下的重任挑战并不陌生。在我们的视频对话中,她一边吃着午餐,一边兴奋地谈论着她今年夏天在塔吉特的行政实习。她向后靠了靠,向我展示了她装满彩色编码的日历,上面写满了论文作业、GRE模拟考试和申请截止日期。"这绝对是疯狂的,"她笑着说。 

像许多大学生一样,泰伦经历了COVID-19给繁华的大学校园的日常社会交往带来的巨大破坏。失去了热情的思想交流,失去了学习的空间,作为两个孩子的母亲,泰伦还失去了获得托儿所和免费膳食的机会。对泰伦来说,大学不仅是她学术和个人成长的地方,而且也是她的社会安全网。"对我来说,经济上的安全与在学校的学习紧密相连。当COVID发生时,我没有得到我的刺激性支票,我丈夫的工作时间被削减,我失去了政府援助。" 作为MAF加州大学生资助计划的受益者,泰伦能够为她的家庭购买食物和基本需求。然而,失去了关键的收入和食物支持,她的家庭面临新的挑战。但是对泰伦来说,这是一个漫长的坚持和希望的故事中的另一个章节。 

灵感和希望在不可能的时刻出现

"我的孩子是我做一切事情的动力。我在他们15个月大的时候就回到了学校,那是相当疯狂的。"

在31岁的时候,泰伦决定她想拥有一张自己和她的孩子们穿着大学毕业典礼礼服的照片。而她选择了人生中一个特别意外的时间来做这件事。

"当我回到学校时,我没有托儿所,我的车刚被撞坏,由于城市化,我们被迫离开了我们的住房。所以,我没有地方住,没有银行账户,没有工作,没有车,有两个新生儿。我真的想告诉自己,现在不是回学校的时候。但我只是继续前进。"

十多年前,泰伦已经开始上大学,但最终不得不永久休学。泰伦描述了多年来上学的痛苦,并试图在处理一个又一个曲线球时保持专注。在寄养系统中长大的泰伦,在成长过程中上过十几所小学。她经常搬家,她担心自己不知道如何正确阅读和书写。在她19岁时,她的父亲失去了工作,离开了小镇。她无家可归。她经历了药物滥用和抑郁症。"由于无法提供基本的食物、住所和衣服,学校对我来说不再是一个优先事项。"在离开大学近十年后,泰伦进入长滩城市学院攻读她的副学士学位。她回到学校的目标是:向她的孩子们展示一个可供选择的未来。时机--她在生活中的位置和她身边的人--是这个新起点的一切。

被看到和听到的力量。在社区和接受中寻找声音

化学课上的一个 "A "彻底改变了泰伦的学业轨迹。随后,她被推荐到荣誉课程。泰伦并不觉得那是她的位置。 根本她带着难以置信的笑声回忆道。 

"加入那个荣誉项目,让那里的人完全接受我这个人--并且真正满足我在学术旅程中的那个部分--真的是强化了我。" 

走出她的舒适区,在她心中点燃了继续前进的火焰。人们的鼓励助长了她的动力和对自己的信心。然后,事情发生了:她第一次获得了4.0的GPA。"获得4.0分使我认识到我不应该根据我以前的经验来判断自己。 她现在知道她必须走得更远。  

2018年,泰伦以总统奖学金转入加州州立大学长滩分校,这是该校颁发的最著名的基于成绩的奖学金。

"那些奖学金是给18岁的人,刚从高中毕业的学生,他们的GPA超过4.0。我已经30多岁了,家里有孩子,我的GPA没有累积到4.0。我想,他们想从我身上得到什么?"

但泰伦在校园里找到了自己的声音。她来到这里后得到的支持是如此之多,她终于感觉到可以分享她一直以来比较沉默的生活的一部分:她以前曾被监禁过。泰伦在她的双胞胎出生前就被监禁了。她以前从未想过要提起这件事,因为她觉得她会被认为是不值得信任的。她不认为人们会真的相信她是一个 "改变了的女人"。 

她在敞开心扉的过程中找到了治愈的方法。"这是自由的,谦卑的,而且因为我天生就很吵闹和自由奔放,我只是利用了这一点。这给了我很大的自尊。"她从有她这样背景的学生那里听到,她的开放性也在帮助他们愈合。泰伦在她的支持群体中找到了力量,并利用这种力量来激发她继续前进的动力。

作为一个学者和倡导者,改变叙述。超越COVID的视野-19

就在COVID袭击之前,泰伦刚刚发表了一个关于偏见和判断的TEDx演讲,特别是围绕以前被监禁的人和人们对他们的负面成见。"我穿着西装外套上台,人们用某种尊重的眼光看着我。然后,过了一会儿,我脱下西装外套,露出一堆纹身,人们就会更加注意到我的穿孔。然后他们看我的眼神就不一样了。他们评判我,我可以感觉到。"

泰伦正在寻求改变以前被监禁和被寄养的青年获得更高教育水平的机会。

她想申请博士课程,有一天成为大学的教职员工,这样她就可以为她的社区进行宣传和支持。 Taryn计划于今年12月毕业,获得管理和运营供应链管理的双学士学位。 

是的,她深为担心COVID的影响,以及今年秋天她将如何管理她孩子的学校日程,因为他们要开始上幼儿园了。

"在大流行期间在大学里做父母可能是我所经历的最困难的事情之一"。

当她完成她的论文,完成她的实习,申请博士课程,并积极兼顾她的家庭需求时,泰伦正把一只脚放在另一只脚前面,继续她的前行。她自豪地给我看她和孩子们的副学士学位毕业照的画布--全套礼服和所有东西。她迫不及待地要收集更多的照片。  

"我最大的希望是,人们会明白,你真的,真的可以做任何你想做的事情。你必须寻找你的社区。你必须愿意说出你的需求是什么,然后在你的需求没有得到满足时说出来。最重要的是,你必须愿意要求更多--你必须知道,你值得要求更多。而且,一切皆有可能." 

"有什么遗言吗?""我问道,仍然沉浸在泰伦对生活教训的随意总结的深度中。"是的,戴上面具!"她笑着感叹道。 

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2022 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Author: Rocio Rodarte

A Tale of Two Recoveries

A Tale of Two Recoveries: How Immigrant Families Survived COVID-19

Lately, we’ve been hearing in the news how most American households are doing much better financially today than they were before the COVID-19 pandemic. From stimulus checks and unemployment insurance to the expanded Child Tax Credit, federal COVID-19 relief played a critical role in helping families survive, and even improve their financial footing.

But this picture misses another lesser-known story of recovery: the experience of immigrant families who were excluded from federal pandemic relief. 

On December 2, 2021, we came together to uplift the stories and experiences of immigrant families left behind. We reflected with partners and asked ourselves, how can we help immigrant families rebuild their financial lives? Watch the recording below.

11.5 million immigrants and their families were denied federal COVID-19 relief.

As an undocumented person who has filed my taxes for twelve years, it has been hard to have to accept that in times when we struggle, we are unable to receive anything back.”—Juan, Immigrant Families Fund recipient

Immigrants have long been excluded from this country’s social safety net. Despite paying billions in federal taxes every year, undocumented immigrants remain ineligible for nearly all federal protections, from health insurance to food and housing subsidies.

During the pandemic, three in four undocumented immigrants filled frontline essential roles, risking their own lives to help keep us fed, safe, and healthy. Yet, even as they stepped up for the country, they remained excluded from federal relief. It’s estimated that an immigrant family of four was denied upward of $11,400. Without this critical support, immigrant families’ lives took a devastating hit. 

Essential, invisible, and excluded. 

Drawing on our unparalleled survey of more than 11,000 immigrants excluded from federal relief, we got an honest and painful look at how immigrant families survived.  

Without a social safety net to fall back on, many immigrants had no choice but to show up for work. The costs for workers on the frontlines was immense: not only did workers put their families’ health at risk, but those who did get sick faced a downward spiral of financial hardship.

Families where a member got sick with COVID-19 were not only more likely to lose income and fall behind on bills than households where no one got sick, but they were also more likely to face penalties, have their utilities shut off, and be evicted.

Many immigrant families walked into the crisis with limited access and few financial options. Families who were invisible to the formal financial system prior to COVID-19𑁋lacking a Social Security Number or Tax ID𑁋were less likely to have checking accounts or credit cards.

And with fewer financial strategies, these families had fewer options to draw on during COVID-19. Indeed, we saw that immigrants who had a Tax ID were 45% more likely to pay their monthly bills in full than immigrants without a Tax ID. 

So how did families survive in a system that treated them as essential and invisible? Many went without, as 6 in 10 families reported being unable to cover their basic needs. Despite these sacrifices, many families still had to take on debt. In the depth of the pandemic, families who had fallen behind reported having $2,000 in unpaid bills, representing zombie debt that families will carry with them even into the recovery.

Our calls to action.

So, where do we go from here?

We invited advocates and practitioners to talk about how we can show up, do more, and do better. Across the board, we heard that while steps are being taken to help people rebuild, more needs to happen for a truly equitable and inclusive recovery.

A Tale of Two Recoveries, webinar panelists

SHOW UP: Make policies inclusive of all immigrants. The federal government has set a damaging precedent of excluding immigrants from critical social safety net policies. However, there are choices we can make at the state and local levels to help offer relief with the resources we have available now. Policy is a choice, and it’s in our power to advocate for more inclusive protections and services for all immigrants across all levels of government.

DO MORE: Remove structural barriers. Without legal status, immigrants continue to be left out of critical resources that could help them rebuild. But accessibility runs even deeper: from language to technology barriers, we need to ensure programs and services are delivered in-language, in-culture, and in ways that help families use resources when they need them.

DO BETTER: Change mindsets together. From COVID-19 relief packages to the growing recognition that giving people cash works, we’re encouraged by the progress that has been made to better support people at the margins. But we need more allies in this fight so that we can build systems that create more equitable pathways of opportunity. When we harness our collective power, we can create lasting change.

We know the work is far from over.

Immigrants have been excluded from our nation’s support systems for too long, and COVID-19 has only exacerbated many of these existing inequities. This is why our work is more important than ever.

When we look ahead, we’re anchored by José’s reminder: “We have to rely on one another to keep ourselves whole and keep our spirits up. We can’t let the devastation of our reality overtake our spirits.” Together, with respect and mutuality, we can help immigrant families rebuild their financial lives with dignity.

SB 1157 Becomes Law: California’s First-in-the-Nation Rent Reporting Bill

This fall, Governor Gavin Newsom signed California Senate Bill (SB) 1157, creating a historic new avenue of credit-building opportunities for low-income families in the state. At a time when so many households are struggling to make ends meet in the midst of a pandemic and recession, this law offers a credit-building lifeline. Authored by Steven Branford (D-Gardena), the new law will give tenants living in subsidized housing an opportunity to have their rent payments reported to major credit bureaus, enabling them to continue safely building credit even after this crisis.

MAF sponsored SB 1157, in partnership with the Credit Builders Alliance and Prosperity Now, because we believe in the lasting impact that rent reporting can have in helping many Californians establish or build their credit scores. For over 15 years, we’ve led the charge to bring low-income and immigrant communities out of the financial shadows by offering non-traditional paths to credit-building opportunities. From Lending Circles to SB 896, MAF has continuously strived to not only meet people where they are in their financial journeys, but uplift the strategies that recognize their strengths and help them participate in the financial mainstream with dignity. Through SB 1157, we continue to act on a vision of honoring good practices already taking place by formally recognizing them and elevating them to the mainstream.

Over 45% of Californians rent their housing, and unlike homeowners who can build credit through their mortgage payments, renters cannot do the same even when making on-time payments.

Failure to pay rent, however, has a negative impact on a renter’s credit score. Without a decent credit score, renters stand to be left out of essential services, such as loans for buying a house, obtaining basic utility services or cell phone plans, and getting credit cards. As a result of current uneven credit reporting practices, renters are seven times more likely to have a minimal credit history deemed unscorable by credit bureaus compared to homeowners. The monetary and logistical barriers associated with reporting requirements often discourage landlords from submitting full rental payment histories to credit bureaus. Yet, the evidence on rent reporting data shows clear and consistent results: full rent reporting plays a critical role in helping people without credit scores establish one and helps those with low scores improve theirs.

Rent reporting to major credit bureaus will offer low-income renters an opportunity to build credit as a financial asset while helping them rebuild for a post-pandemic world.

SB 1157 is tailored to tenants most likely to receive the greatest benefit from establishing or improving their credit scores. It offers a first of its kind solution to rent reporting credit discrepancies, opening up lines of credit-building access for tenants living in subsidized housing and giving them the opportunity to enter or stay in the financial mainstream during this pandemic. In keeping with our values, this bill meets people where they are by giving tenants the financial tools they need to exercise them at their own time and within their own context.

Having good credit is an asset that needs to be cultivated and sustained, especially during unexpected financial shocks where low-income families are most likely to be hit hardest.

People’s financial lives have been unraveled by COVID-19. In a state where there is already a massive shortage of affordable rental homes and where an increasing number of tenants are at risk of eviction due to the economic downturn, California’s low-income families should not have to bear the brunt of this pandemic any further. People’s livelihoods continue to be on the line, and SB 1157 can give low-income renters an opportunity to maintain some semblance of a financial footing as they continue to tackle asset-building barriers. This new law will allow low-income Californians to not let their credit histories fall through the cracks, giving them a fighting chance in the recovery of this pandemic.

From direct relief to state-wide systemic changes, we continue to put clients at the forefront of the products and policies we advocate for. With SB 1157, we’re another step closer to providing the low-income and immigrant communities we serve with access to the tools they need to increase their financial well-being.

Taryn’s Story: Finding Transformation in the Uncertainty

Taryn Williams’ magnetic personality and infectious laugh easily overcome the monotony of the typical video conference call that’s become all too familiar for many of us. A full-time student at the California State University Long Beach and mother of five-year-old twins Isaiah and McKayla, Taryn is no stranger to the challenges of a heavy load under trying circumstances. As she eats her lunch during our video conversation, she excitedly talks about her Executive internship at Target this summer. She leans back to show me her packed color-coded calendar filled with thesis assignments, GRE practice tests, and application deadlines. “It’s absolute madness,” she comments with a wide smile. 

Like many college students, Taryn has experienced the significant disruption that COVID-19 has brought upon the day-to-day social interactions on bustling college campuses. Loss of a passionate exchange of ideas, loss of a study space, and, as a mother of two young children, Taryn has also lost access to childcare and free meals. For Taryn, college was not only her place of academic and personal growth, but it was also her social safety net. “Financial security for me was strongly tied to being in school. When COVID happened, I didn’t get my stimulus check, my husband’s work hours were cut, I lost my government assistance.” As a recipient of MAF’s CA College Student Support Grant, Taryn was able to buy food and basic needs for her family. Losing critical income and food support for her family created new sets of challenges nonetheless. But for Taryn, this was another chapter in a long story of perseverance and hope. 

Inspiration and Hope Emerge in Unlikely Moments

“My children are my driving force for everything I do. I went back to school when they were fifteen months, and that was pretty crazy.”

At 31 years old, Taryn decided she wanted to have a picture of herself in college graduation regalia with her children. And she picked a particularly unexpected time in her life to do that.

“When I went back to school, I didn’t have childcare, I had just totaled my car, we had been forced out of our housing due to gentrification. So, I had no place to live, didn’t have a bank account, didn’t have a job, didn’t have a car, had these two newborns. I really wanted to tell myself that this wasn’t the time to go back to school. But I just kept going.”

More than ten years earlier, Taryn had started college but ultimately had to take a permanent break. Taryn describes the agony of attending school for years and trying to stay focused while dealing with one curveball after another. Raised in the foster care system, Taryn had attended over a dozen elementary schools growing up. She moved so often she worried she didn’t know how to properly read and write. When she was 19, her dad lost his job and left town. She was left homeless. She experienced substance abuse and depression. “Unable to provide basic food, shelter, and clothing, school was just no longer a priority for me.” Nearly ten years after taking a leave from college, Taryn enrolled in Long Beach City College to pursue her associate’s degree. Her goal in coming back to school: show her kids what an alternative future could hold. Timing – where she was in her life and who she had with her – was everything for this new beginning.

The Power of Being Seen and Heard: Finding a Voice in Community and Acceptance

It took that one “A” in her chemistry class to completely change Taryn’s academic trajectory. She was then recommended to the Honors Program. Taryn didn’t feel like that was where she was at all, she recalled with an incredulous laugh. 

“Joining that honors program and having people there totally accept me for who I am – and really meeting me where I was in that part of my academic journey – was really reinforcing.” 

Stepping out of her comfort zone lit a fire in her to keep going. People’s encouragement fueled her motivation and her belief in herself. And then it happened: she got her first 4.0 GPA. “Getting that 4.0 made me realize that I shouldn’t judge myself based on my prior experiences.” She now knew she had to go even further.  

In 2018, Taryn transferred to Cal State University Long Beach with the President’s Scholarship, the most prestigious merit-based scholarships awarded by the university.

“Those scholarships are for 18-year-olds, fresh-out-of-high school valedictorians, who have over a 4.0 GPA. I’m in my 30’s, I have kids at home, I didn’t have a cumulative 4.0 GPA. What did they want with me, I thought?”

But Taryn found her voice on campus. The support she received when she arrived was so overwhelming, she finally felt comfortable sharing a part of her life she had always been quieter about: she had previously been incarcerated. Taryn had been incarcerated right before her twins were born. She never wanted to bring that up before, because she felt she’d be deemed untrustworthy. She didn’t think people would really believe she was a “changed woman.” 

She found healing in opening up. “It was freeing, humbling, and because I’m naturally so loud and free-spirited, I just tapped into that. It gave me so much self-esteem.” She was hearing from students with her background that her openness was helping them heal as well. Taryn found strength in her communities of support, and uses this strength to fuel her motivation to keep going.

Changing the Narrative as a Scholar and Advocate: Looking Beyond COVID-19

Right before COVID hit, Taryn had just given a TEDx talk on bias and judgement, particularly around previously incarcerated people and the negative stereotypes people hold about them. “I come to the stage with a blazer on, and people look at me with a certain type of respect. Then, after a while, I take off my blazer, showing a bunch of tattoos, and people then become more aware of my piercings. Then they look at me differently. They judge me and I can feel it.”

Taryn is on a quest to change the narrative around previously incarcerated and foster youth’s chances at higher education attainment levels.

She wants to apply to PhD programs and become a faculty member at a university one day so she can advocate for and support her communities. Taryn plans to graduate this December with a double bachelor’s in management and operations supply chain management. 

Yes, she deeply worries about COVID’s implications and how she’ll manage her kids’ school schedules this fall now that they’re starting kindergarten.

“Being a parent in college during a pandemic might be one of the harder things I’ve gone through.”

As she finishes her thesis, completes her internship, applies to PhD programs, and actively juggles the needs of her family, Taryn is putting one foot in front of the other, and continuing her journey ahead. She proudly shows me a canvas of her associate’s degree graduation photo with her kids – full regalia and all. She can’t wait to collect more pictures.  

“My biggest hope is that people will understand that you really, truly can do whatever you want. You have to seek out your community. You have to be willing to speak up for what your needs are, and then say when your needs are not being met. Most importantly, you have to be willing to ask for more –you have to know that you’re worth asking for more. And, anything is possible.” 

“Any last words?”” I ask, still soaking in the depth of Taryn’s casual summary of life lessons. “Yes, wear a mask!” she exclaims with laughter. 

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English