跳到主要内容

作者: Tomás Quiñonez

相关的、有目的的广告活动的5个关键因素

"有拉丁裔的选票吗?"

在2020年总统竞选之后,这是专家、民调专家和政治家们提出的一个问题,他们正在努力理解投票结果。今年對拉丁裔選民來說是一個分水嶺,投票率幾乎達到了100%。 与2016年相比增加了一倍 在提前投票中。拉丁裔选民的非凡增长凸显了一个事实,即没有拉丁裔的选票,就没有通往白宫的道路。那么它真的存在吗?

毫不奇怪,答案是 "是 "和 "不是"。某些共同的经历确实使拉美裔社区在广泛的文化层面上团结起来。然而,廣泛的經驗和背景打破了任何單一拉美裔身份的概念,因為沒有任何單一的問題或政治派別將所有拉美裔選民團結在一起。這種多樣性中的多樣性意味著拉美裔對任何政黨或政策的支持不能被視為理所當然。这需要在选举期间和选举之间不断地投入时间和资源,以建立持久、牢固的联系。政治是个人的,动员拉美裔选民的关键是传递符合他们生活经验的信息。

这种以满足选民为中心的指导思想是MAF的第二天性。事實上,在過去的14年中,我們以客戶為中心的方式,在社區框架內建立了所有的產品和服務。最近,我们将这种严谨的态度应用到我们的动员活动中,并在最近向105,000名客户进行的GOTV活动中,以这种方法为基础。以下是我們所學到的成功舉辦一場面向不同選民的競選活動的5個關鍵。

1.归属感文化需要所有的声音。

主流政治运动往往只关注最有可能投票的选民。他们忽视了那些不太可能投票的人。他们完全忽略了那些没有资格投票的人。忽视那些无资格投票的人,既是一个错误,也是错失良机。

相反,我们知道真实的情况是,每一个声音都很重要。最近的這次選舉表明,許多州的選舉結果是以令人難以置信的小幅度贏得、輸掉或重新計票。雖然投票率創下了紀錄,但參與率仍然可以而且應該更高。我們相信,所有的人,無論其移民身份如何,都應參與塑造我們未來的活動,因為他們的聲音不僅可以影響個別選舉的規模,而且可以創造更廣泛的參與文化。而正是这种参与文化,将是我们在建设一个更加公平的未来时捍卫国家灵魂的关键。

2.分段工作需要谦虚

2016年后,民主党全国委员会意识到对选民档案进行细分的重要性,以制作更有针对性的相关信息,以"次族裔选民;”通过这种方式,他们能够在广泛的拉丁裔伞下进行窥视,并以更相关的信息传递给多米尼加人、墨西哥人、泰雅诺人和古巴人。雖然這是朝著正確的方向邁進了一步,但它仍 然過於簡單地以家庭的國籍來假設選民的生活經驗。

人们也应该在细分过程中拥有代理权,根据自己的生活经验进行自我选择。在我们的GOTV活动中,我们发出了一个最初的调查,让客户可以这样做。在收到他们的回复后,我们能够跟进他们选择的每个受众群体,以便与他们进行更深层次的交流。

3.根据数值为每个段组创建信息传递。

比受众细分更进一步的是,向受众群体提供深思熟虑的、相关的信息是必不可少的。我们发现,围绕包容性、归属感和社区价值的文化相关、情感参与的信息传递,比标准的、交易性的修辞更有影响力,因为它直指人心。

比受众细分更进一步的是,向受众群体提供深思熟虑的、相关的信息是必不可少的。我们发现,围绕包容性、归属感和社区价值的文化相关、情感参与的信息传递,比标准的、交易性的修辞更有影响力,因为它直指人心。

4.测试你的假设和信息传递

作为一个学习型组织,我们始终严格测试我们的假设。在一个活动中,这种纪律转化为对客户的样本进行实验,以确定哪种信息最能引起每个群体的共鸣。作为 "学习型组织",我们始终坚持不懈地测试我们的假设。 经验法则我们将为每个受众群体创建3条信息,并在200个联系人中测试每条信息。这种在每次活动中学习的意愿使我们能够在以后的每次活动中改进我们的信息传递,因为我们将继续发展与客户的关系。

5.接触到客户,他们在哪里

当最终要启动实际活动的时候,最后关键的一步就是设计多渠道的活动,满足人们的需求。虽然对于活动组织者来说,可能更多的是举手之劳,但如此周密准备的信息最终还是要以有意义、有影响的方式传递出去。

出于这个原因,我们设计的GOTV活动包括电子邮件和自动短信,因为我们之前了解到英语和西班牙语客户有不同的沟通偏好。短信的行业标准响应率是令人印象深刻的22%。我们的GOTV活动的西班牙语客户的回复率是这一数字的两倍,对我们精心设计的、有针对性的信息的回复率达到了44%。

尽管这场运动立即取得了成功,展示了向基本上被遗忘的社区进行宣传的影响,但我们努力的主要胜利是对更广泛的参与文化的贡献。这不可能在一夜之间发生,也不可能通过事务性的活动发生,因为文化不会轻易发生。它必须建立起来。 我们 必须建设它、颂扬它和喂养它。归属感文化是一个持续不断的过程,不断地使历史的道德弧线向正义弯曲。

在我们加大对动员工作的投入时,这些见解将继续指导我们的工作。我们希望你们和我们一起,为建立一个人人享有的更加公正和公平的世界而奋斗。

普查外联活动的启示

移民与其他边缘化社区一样,被美国人口普查局贴上 "难以统计 "的标签。这意味着移民在某种程度上是缺乏信息或兴趣的。我们的工作则不然.

今年春天,MAF领导了一个深思熟虑、有针对性的人口普查外展活动。通过精心设计富有感情的、与文化相关的信息,并建立在信任的基础上,将非营利组织与我们所服务的客户联系起来,MAF推动了这一活动。人口普查局估计2020年人口普查的响应率为60%,是几十年来最低的。在我们为期一周的数字优先外展活动之后,我们看到MAF的客户将这一数字提高到83%。这在很大程度上是由移民客户推动的,他们的参与度最高,对短信外展的回复率达到了惊人的54%,是行业标准的两倍多。我们发现,移民其实是最容易被统计的。

我们向该领域提供这种见解,以便为努力争取在人口普查中提高边缘化社区的声音的广泛组织联盟的工作提供信息。MAF相信,非营利组织在这一努力中的独特作用植根于长期培养的信任关系。作为当今错误信息战争中的一盏明灯,非营利组织是关键和可靠信息的重要使者。

在9月30日的截止日期之前,时间已经不多了,所以我们已经汇编了可操作的见解,以告知MAF网络内外的合作伙伴所需的关键努力。以下是我们的普查活动的故事,详细介绍了我们所做的工作和学到的经验教训。我们希望您能发现这些经验教训是有用的,并将其应用到您自己的工作中,并且您会考虑加入我们,因为我们将继续提升我们每天服务的令人难以置信的人的声音。

MAF从我们客户的生活经验开始。

在人口普查外联活动中,我们使用的信息必须既及时又相关。不过,很快就发现 标准报文 从人口普查局得到的信息都不是。我们从人口普查局发现的两个最常见的信息是从权力(国会代表权)或金钱(联邦预算拨款)的角度来描述人口普查的重要性。对于那些被告知他们在民主进程中根本没有地位,并且经常被剥夺社会服务的人来说,这些观点充其量是毫无意义的,或者在最坏的情况下是侮辱性的。

基于我们对客户生活的丰富了解,我们知道改进信息传递是很简单的。关键是要以归属感和社区为中心,制作出具有情感吸引力和文化相关性的语言。

为了测试我们的直觉,我们设计了一个活动,将2个标准人口普查信息的结果与我们内部创建的2个信息进行比较。另一个非营利组织,即移民宣传组织。 一个美国人。 加入了我们的活动。我们一起通过电子邮件和短信相结合的方式,将这些信息传递给英语和西班牙语社区的4200名客户。

结果出来了:在我们的活动中,最有效的一个宣传角度不是权力和金钱,而是归属感。

这一结果意味着,提升真正被接受的体验的信息是强有力的。也许是因为它与国家主流话语背道而驰,这种话语积极否认人性,拒绝移民社区作为美国生活的充分参与者的有效性。作为一个组织,MAF从来没有回避过以下问题 推回 在主流话语权上,这次运动的结果表明了原因。

在MAF,制作信息不是简单的传播信息,而是努力与客户的灵魂对话。我们坚持认为,信息传递必须与客户的核心对话,因为我们所做的一切,从公告到新服务,都是基于这样一个假设:我们的客户是复杂的、独特的人,他们远比一个数据点能够捕捉到的更多。当我们根据客户的生活和情感体验来表达信息时,我们是在触及他们的心灵,而不是头脑。活动结果表明,这是成功的基本策略。

短信是最有效的沟通方式,特别是对于讲西班牙语的客户来说。

该活动的第二个见解是围绕方法。选择英语作为首选语言的客户比选择西班牙语的客户更有可能回复电子邮件。然而对于短信来说,情况恰恰相反。英语客户的回复率为41%,而西班牙语客户对我们的短信回复率高达52%。

这些结果推翻了西班牙语社区难以接触或 "难以计算 "的普遍说法。我们发现的情况正好相反。如果信息正确,并通过正确的媒介有针对性地进行宣传,讲西班牙语的客户远远没有脱离,事实上他们的参与度最高。因此,外展经理的责任是用这些见解为他们的活动提供信息,以便最有效地满足我们社区的需求。

有了这些结果,我们开始与其他非营利组织交流,了解他们的公民参与策略。

我们发现,大家都对公民行动的重要性有共同的认识。然而,对于工作过度和资金不足的组织来说,没有多余的能力来开展多渠道的活动,特别是短信工具要么太贵,要么太费时,难以管理。简而言之,市场上现有的工具不是为非营利组织设计的。

我们决定改变这种状况。与软件工作室的技术专家组成的高技能团队合作。 超{集}我们建立了自己的数字工具,使非营利组织能够轻松有效地动员他们的社区。结果是惊人的。

我们向4200名客户开展的三步走活动,获得了令人印象深刻的36%的响应率,据我们估计,为应得的社区争取到了$600万美元的资金。所有这些都是在一周内完成的,并且由一名工作人员管理。我们建立的技术可以让非营利组织在不需要全职活动经理或破费的情况下开展有效的活动。

MAF邀请合作伙伴

在早期与其他非营利组织的交谈中,我们发现大多数人都是依靠80-90%的亲自宣传来开展普查活动。随着COVID的到来,这些计划已经失去了意义。现在,白宫已经将人口普查的时间表缩短了宝贵的一个月,时间正在流逝。

MAF正在利用我们经过测试的信息和开发的技术来扩大人口普查的外展工作。在Grove基金会的支持下,我们正在进行最后的努力,以确保MAF网络中所有辛勤工作的客户都被计算在内,被看到,并得到他们应得的资源。

在这一势头的基础上,我们正在计划开展 "走出去投票"(GOTV)运动,并将从人口普查工作中获得的见解纳入其中。繼續發展MAF的動員工作是一個必要的步驟,因為我們正在注視我們生命中最具歷史性的選舉。這個時刻正呼喚我們所有人站出來,超越我們的標準孤島,提升我們所服務的社區的聲音。

如果您想加入我们不断壮大的合作伙伴社区,分享经验教训,塑造我们新的Beacon平台的未来,请您 给我们发电子邮件.我们的目标是确保一个非营利组织所做的技术对其他非营利组织保持及时性和相关性。你可以在以下网站了解更多关于MAF对公民行动的关注。 这个 首席执行官José Quiñonez和动员主任Joanna Cortez的对话。


PS我们将以我们的教训为例,从以下几个方面为大家介绍一下 历史,以确保不重蹈覆辙。

他们首先是为了移民而来

而我选择了大声说话

因为我们是一家人

然后他们来找穷人

而我选择了大声说话

因为我们是一家人

然后他们来找我

还有其他的

其他很多人

在#2020人口普查中,让我们的生活更有价值

"原来是这样啊。"我的舍友在用餐巾纸擦鼻涕和眼泪的间隙说。"我今天和酒吧的全体员工一起下岗了。我不知道自己该怎么办。"

虽然我很想在现场参加这次谈话,但我无法停止查看手机。一股寒意笼罩着我,如冰块打在肠胃上,我眼睁睁地看着我的退休储蓄从不多的地方暴跌到碎屑,我只能眼睁睁地看着。

对我们许多人来说,看到我们的地方经济和全球基础设施同时崩溃的恐怖感实在太强烈了。

当我们从众所周知的东方看向我们当选的领导人时,援助却迟迟没有到来。在写这篇文章的时候 国会正陷入党派之争 争夺一个$2万亿的经济刺激计划 这很可能是复苏我们国家经济流血的心脏所需的除颤器。即使它确实设法获得通过,不过,我们已经知道谁将是最后一个复苏的人。

我们每天在MAF服务的边缘化社区和辛勤工作的移民家庭,充其量只能得到所需的每一分钱,因为他们是看不见的。鉴于几十年来移民一直被认为是 "难以统计 "的人群之一,人口普查在正式登记他们不存在方面起着核心作用。这意味着多年来政府的每一项资金措施,从学校午餐到(潜在的)COVID-19刺激支票,都保证不足以满足那些最需要的人。

2020年的人口普查预计将进一步加剧这种情况。白宫一直在通过ICE突袭、边境社区军事化等暴力政策,以及最近试图增加移民问题的失败,积极播撒恐惧的种子。人们被任何敲门声吓坏了,因为它可能给他们的生活带来破坏。再加上目前的COVID-19流行病,这一现实使情况变得更加严峻。

在MAF,我们正在尽我们所能挺身而出。在眼前,我们正在通过我们的快速救济基金向那些需要帮助的人提供几百万美元的紧急支持。从长远来看,我们正在努力使下一个万亿美元的政府援助计划(如果未来十年有的话)能够落到正确的人手中。迅速的行动需要结构性的改变,如果它是持久的。对我们来说,人口普查是我们在日常工作之外有所作为的机会。

我们的目标是确保100%的客户都被计算在内。

为此,我们与技术工作室super{set}合作,打造了一款工具,帮助我们更快、更智能地与更多客户沟通。我们利用自动化和分析技术,能够确认我们3,000多名客户都参与了影响我们生活方方面面的公民时刻。我们已经与我们最初的值得信赖的合作伙伴联盟学习了关于信息传递的最佳实践,这些合作伙伴正在利用我们的工具通过电子邮件、短信和电话与他们自己的客户社区互动。

有了这些资产,我们正在继续快速行动,以确保每一个移民都被计算在内,并知道他们的归属。我们无法单独做到这一点。每个非营利组织都存在于自己的影响范围内,只有团结起来,我们才能盖好我们国家充满活力的多样性的拼布被子。

我们正生活在一个历史性的时刻,我们都可以做得更多,而不仅仅是袖手旁观。如果我们所服务的社区不仅要准备好生存,而且要茁壮成长,我们必须:

让我们让我们的生活变得更有意义。

Skip to main content

Author: Tomás Quiñonez

5 Keys To Relevant, Intentional Campaigns

“Is there a Latino vote?”

In the wake of the 2020 presidential campaign, this is a question being posed by pundits, pollsters, and politicians grappling to make sense of the turnout results. This year was a watershed moment for the Latino electorate, turning out at nearly twice the rate as compared to 2016 in early voting. The extraordinary growth of Latino voters underscores the truth that there is no path to the White House without the Latino vote. So does it actually exist?

The answer, not surprisingly, is both yes and no. Certain shared experiences do certainly bring the Latino community together in a broad cultural plane. Yet the expansive range of experiences and backgrounds breaks down any notion of a monolithic Latino identity, as no single issue nor political affiliation unites all Latino voters. This diversity within diversity means that Latino support of any party or policy cannot be taken for granted. It requires a constant investment in time and resources during and also between elections to build lasting, strong connections. Politics is personal and the key to mobilizing Latino voters is messaging that speaks to their lived experiences.

This guiding focus on meeting voters where they’re at is second-nature to MAF. In fact, a client-centered approach within a community framework is how we’ve built all products and services over the past 14 years. We’ve recently applied this same rigor to our mobilizing campaigns and have been building on this approach most recently in our GOTV campaign to 105,000 clients. Here’s what we’ve learned are the 5 keys to running a successful campaign for a diverse electorate:

1. All voices are needed for a culture of belonging

Mainstream political campaigns tend to only focus on voters most likely to vote. They disregard those unlikely to vote. They ignore entirely those ineligible to vote. Ignoring those ineligible to vote is both a mistake and a missed opportunity.

What, instead, we know to be true is that every voice counts. This recent election demonstrated many states won, lost, or were sent to recount based on incredibly small margins. While there was a record voter turnout, participation still could have and should have been higher. We believe that all people, regardless of their immigration status, should be engaged in campaigns that shape our future because not only can their voices tip the scale of individual elections, but because it creates a broader culture of engagement. And it is this culture of engagement that will be the key to safeguard the soul of our nation as we build toward a more equitable future.

2. Segmentation requires humility

After 2016, the DNC realized the importance of segmenting their voter files to craft more targeted, relevant messaging to “sub-ethnicity voters.” In this way they were able to peer under the broad Latino umbrella and target Dominicanos, Mexicanos, Tejanos, and Cubanos with more relevant messaging. While this is a step in the right direction, it still assumes too much about the lived experiences of voters simply by their family’s nationality.

People should also have agency in the segmentation process by self-selecting based on their lived experiences. In our GOTV campaign, we sent out an initial survey that allowed clients to do just that. After receiving their responses, we were able to follow up with each audience segment that they opted into in order to speak to them at a deeper level.

3. Create messaging for each segment group based on values

Even further than audience segmentation, thoughtful, relevant messaging to audience groups is imperative. We found that culturally relevant, emotionally engaging messaging around values of inclusion, belonging, and community was more impactful than standard, transactional rhetoric because it speaks to the heart.

Even further than audience segmentation, thoughtful, relevant messaging to audience groups is imperative. We found that culturally relevant, emotionally engaging messaging around values of inclusion, belonging, and community was more impactful than standard, transactional rhetoric because it speaks to the heart.

4. Test your assumptions and messaging

As a learning organization, we remain disciplined in always testing our assumptions. In the context of a campaign this discipline translated to running experiments with samples of clients to determine which message most resonated with each segment. As a rule of thumb, we would create 3 messages for each audience segment, and test each message with 200 contacts. This willingness to learn during each campaign produced insights that enable us to improve our messaging with each subsequent campaign as we continue developing our relationship with clients.

5. Reach clients where they’re at

When it’s finally time to launch the actual campaign, the last crucial step is to design multi-channel campaigns that meet people where they are at. While it may be more of a lift for the campaign organizer, it is imperative that the messages that have been so thoroughly prepared are ultimately delivered in a meaningful and impactful way.

For this reason, we designed our GOTV campaign to include both email and automated SMS because we learned previously that English and Spanish-speaking clients have different communication preferences. The industry standard response rates for SMS are an impressive 22%. The Spanish-speaking clients of our GOTV campaign doubled that number, responding to our crafted, targeted messaging at a rate of 44%.

Despite the immediate successes of this campaign to demonstrate the impact of outreach to communities largely left in the shadows, the major victory of our effort was its contribution to a broader culture of engagement. This cannot happen overnight, nor through transactional activities, because culture doesn’t just happen. It has to be built, we have to build it, celebrate it, and feed it. A culture of belonging is an ongoing process, ever bending the moral arc of history towards justice.

These insights will continue guiding our work as we invest more heavily in mobilization moving forward. And we hope you join us on this journey to fight for a more just and equitable world for all.

Insights from Census Outreach Campaign

Immigrants, like other marginalized communities, are labeled as “hard-to-count” by the United States Census Bureau. The implication is that immigrants are in some way lacking, whether in information or interest. Our work says otherwise.

This spring, MAF lead a thoughtful, targeted census outreach campaign. By crafting emotionally engaging, culturally relevant messaging and building on the foundation of trust that connects non-profits to the clients we serve, MAF moved the needle. The Census Bureau estimated a 60% response rate for the 2020 census, the lowest in decades. After our week-long, digital-first outreach campaign, we saw MAF clients bring that number up to 83%. This was driven in large part by immigrant clients who turned out to be most engaged, responding to SMS outreach at an incredible rate of 54%, more than twice the industry standard. Immigrants, we found, were in fact the easiest-to-count.

We offer this insight to the field to inform the work of the wide coalition of organizations fighting hard to lift up the voices of marginalized communities in the census. MAF believes that the unique role of non-profits in this effort is rooted in the relationships of trust cultivated over time. As a beacon of light in the fog of today’s misinformation war, non-profits are critical messengers of crucial and reliable information.

Time is running out before the deadline of September 30th so we’ve compiled actionable insights to inform the needed and critical efforts of partners in the MAF network and beyond. What follows is the story of our census campaign, detailing what we did and the lessons we learned. We hope you find these learnings useful, apply them to your own work, and that you’ll consider joining us as we continue to lift up the voices of the incredible people we serve every day.

MAF begins with the lived experiences of our clients.

In the context of a census outreach campaign, the messaging we used had to be both timely and relevant. It quickly became clear, though, that standard messaging from the Census Bureau was neither. The two most common messages we found from the Census Bureau described the importance of the census in terms of power (congressional representation) or money (federal budget allocations). For people who are being told that they have no place in the democratic process in the first place, and who are routinely denied social services, these points are, at best, meaningless or at worst, insulting.

Based on our rich understanding of the lives of our clients, we knew improving the messaging would be simple. The key was to craft emotionally engaging and culturally relevant language centered on themes of belonging and community.

To test our intuition, we designed a campaign to compare the results of 2 standard census messages against 2 messages we created in-house. Another non-profit, the immigrant advocacy organization OneAmerica, joined in our campaign. Together, we delivered these messages to 4,200 clients across English and Spanish-speaking communities using a combination of email and SMS.

The results came in: the single most effective messaging angle in our campaign was not power or money, but belonging.

This result implies that messaging to lift up the experience of truly being accepted is powerful. Perhaps its because it runs counter to a dominant national discourse that actively denies the humanity and rejects the validity of immigrant communities as full participants in American life. As an organization, MAF has never shied away from pushing back on dominant discourse and the results of this campaign demonstrate why.

To craft messaging at MAF is not simply a matter of disseminating information but, rather, is an effort to speak to the soul. We maintain that messaging must speak to the core of our clients because everything we do, from announcements to new services, starts with the assumption that our clients are complex, unique human beings who are far more than a data point can ever capture. When we articulate messaging that speaks to our clients’ lived, emotional experiences, we are reaching for their hearts, not minds. The campaign results show that this is a fundamental strategy for success.

SMS was the most effective method of communication, especially for clients who speak Spanish.

The second insight of the campaign was around methods. Clients who selected English as their preferred language were more likely to respond to an email than those who preferred Spanish. Yet for SMS, the reverse was true. English-speaking clients responded at a rate of 41% while Spanish-speaking clients responded to our SMS at a staggering 52%

These results push back against the prevailing narrative that Spanish-speaking communities are difficult to reach or “hard to count.” What we found was the exact opposite. With the right message and targeted through the right medium, Spanish-speaking clients are far from disengaged, but in fact the most engaged. The responsibility, then, is on outreach managers to inform their campaigns with these insights in order to most effectively meet our communities where they’re at.

With these results in hand, we began speaking with other non-profits about their civic engagement strategies.

What we found across the board was a shared understanding of the importance of civic action. Yet for overworked and underfunded organizations, there was no excess capacity to run multi-channel campaigns given that SMS tools in particular were either too expensive or time-consuming to manage. Simply put, the existing tools on the market were not built for non-profits.

We decided to change that. In partnership with a highly skilled team of technologists at the software studio super{set}, we built our own digital tool that makes it easy for nonprofits to effectively mobilize their communities. The results were striking.

Our 3-step campaign to 4,200 clients lead to an impressive 36% response rate and, by our estimates, secured $6 million in funding for communities that deserve it. All within one week and managed by one staff member. The technology we built can allow non-profits to lead effective campaigns without a full-time campaign manager or breaking the bank

MAF’s Invitation To Partners

In early conversations with other non-profits, we found that most were relying 80-90% on in-person outreach for their census campaigns. With the onset of COVID, those plans have gone out the window. Now that the White House has cut a precious month off of the census timeline, the clock is ticking.

MAF is showing up by utilizing our tested messaging and developed technology to scale up census outreach efforts. With the support of The Grove Foundation, we’re making final push to ensure that all of hard-working clients in the MAF network are counted, seen and receive the resources they deserve.

Building on this momentum, we’re planning a Get Out The Vote (GOTV) campaign informed by the insights gained from the census work. Continuing to develop MAF’s mobilization efforts is a necessary step because we are staring down the most historic election of our lives. The moment is calling us all to step up, punch above our standard silos and lift up the voices of the communities we serve.

If you’d like to join our growing community of partners sharing lessons learned and shaping the future of our new Beacon platform, please email us. Our goal is to ensure that the technology made by a non—profit remains timely and relevant for other non-profits. You can learn more about MAF’s focus on civic action in this conversation between CEO, José Quiñonez and Director of Mobilization, Joanna Cortez.


PS We’ll leave you with our take on a lesson from history, to ensure it’s mistakes are not repeated.

First they came for the immigrants

And I chose to speak out

Because we are family

Then they came for the poor

And I chose to speak out

Because we are family

Then they came for me

And there were others

So many others

Making Our Lives Count In The #2020Census

“So yeah,” my housemate said between using napkins for her nose and her tears. “I got laid off with the entire staff at the bar today. I don’t know what I’m going to do.”

As much as I wanted to be present for this conversation, I couldn’t stop checking my phone. A chill gripped me, an ice-punch to the gut, as I watched my retirement savings plummet from modest to shreds, as I could do nothing but look on.

The terror of seeing our local economies and global infrastructure collapsing at the same time is, for many of us, all too much.

When we look to the proverbial East toward our elected leaders, aid is slow to come. As of this writing, Congress is locked in a partisan fight over a $2 trillion stimulus package that may very well be the defibrillator needed to resuscitate the bleeding heart of our national economy. Even if it does manage to get passed, though, we already know who will be the last to recover.

The marginalized communities and hard-working immigrant families that we serve every day at MAF will receive, at best, pennies for each dollar needed because they are invisible. The census plays a central role in officially registering them nonexistent given that immigrants have been deemed among the “hard-to-count” populations for decades. This means that every government funding measure for years, from school lunches to (potential) COVID-19 stimulus checks have been guaranteed to be inadequate for those who needed it most.

The 2020 census is expected to exacerbate this even further. The White House has been actively sowing the seeds of fear through violent policies like ICE raids, border community militarization, and the recent, failed attempt to add an immigration question. People are frightened by any knock on the front door for the devastation it could bring to their lives. Add to this reality the current COVID-19 epidemic and the picture turns several tones grimmer.

At MAF, we are doing what we can to step up. In the immediate, we are delivering several million dollars of emergency support through our Rapid Relief Fund to those in need. In the long-term, we are fighting so that the next trillion-dollar government aid package, if there is one in the following decade, goes to fill the right hands. Quick action needs structural change in tandem, if it’s to last. For us, the census is our chance to make a difference beyond the day-to-day.

Our goal is to ensure that 100% of our clients are counted.

To do this, we’ve partnered with a technology studio, super{set}, to build a tool that can help us communicate with more of our clients, faster and smarter. We’ve leveraged automation and analytics to be able to confirm that all of our 3,000+ clients participate in the civic moment that shapes every aspect of our lives. We’ve learned best practices on messaging with our initial coalition of trusted partners who are engaging their own communities of clients with our tool across email, SMS and phone.

Armed with these assets, we’re continuing to move fast in ensuring that every immigrant is counted and knows they belong. We can’t do it alone. Each non-profit organization exists within its own world of influence and, only together, can we cover the patchwork quilt that is the vibrant diversity of our nation.

We are living in an historical moment and can all do more than simply look on. If the communities we serve are to emerge not just ready to survive, but to thrive, we must.

Let’s make our lives count.