تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

الكاتب: توماس كوينونيز

5 مفاتيح للحملات ذات الصلة والمقصودة

"هل هناك تصويت لاتيني؟"

في أعقاب الحملة الانتخابية الرئاسية لعام 2020 ، يطرح هذا السؤال من قبل النقاد ومنظمي استطلاعات الرأي والسياسيين الذين يتصارعون لفهم نتائج الإقبال. كان هذا العام لحظة فاصلة بالنسبة للناخبين اللاتينيين ، حيث وصلوا تقريبًا ضعف المعدل مقارنة بعام 2016 في التصويت المبكر. يؤكد النمو الاستثنائي للناخبين اللاتينيين حقيقة أنه لا يوجد طريق إلى البيت الأبيض بدون تصويت لاتيني. هل هي موجودة بالفعل؟

ليس من المستغرب أن الإجابة هي نعم ولا. من المؤكد أن بعض التجارب المشتركة تجمع المجتمع اللاتيني معًا في مستوى ثقافي واسع. ومع ذلك ، فإن النطاق الواسع من الخبرات والخلفيات يكسر أي فكرة عن هوية لاتينية متجانسة ، حيث لا توجد قضية واحدة أو انتماء سياسي يوحد جميع الناخبين اللاتينيين. هذا التنوع داخل التنوع يعني أن الدعم اللاتيني لأي حزب أو سياسة لا يمكن اعتباره أمرًا مفروغًا منه. يتطلب استثمارًا مستمرًا في الوقت والموارد أثناء الانتخابات وأيضًا فيما بينها لبناء روابط دائمة وقوية. السياسة شخصية والمفتاح لتعبئة الناخبين اللاتينيين هو الرسائل التي تتحدث عن تجاربهم المعيشية.

هذا التركيز الإرشادي على مقابلة الناخبين في مكان وجودهم هو طبيعة ثانية لـ MAF. في الواقع ، النهج الذي يركز على العميل ضمن إطار عمل مجتمعي هو الطريقة التي أنشأنا بها جميع المنتجات والخدمات على مدار الـ 14 عامًا الماضية. لقد طبقنا مؤخرًا هذه الصرامة نفسها على حملات التعبئة الخاصة بنا وقمنا بالبناء على هذا النهج مؤخرًا في حملة GOTV الخاصة بنا إلى 105000 عميل. إليك ما تعلمناه هو المفاتيح الخمسة لإدارة حملة ناجحة لجمهور ناخب متنوع:

1. كل الأصوات ضرورية لثقافة الانتماء

تميل الحملات السياسية السائدة إلى التركيز فقط على الناخبين الأكثر احتمالا للتصويت. إنهم يتجاهلون أولئك الذين من غير المرجح أن يصوتوا. إنهم يتجاهلون تمامًا أولئك غير المؤهلين للتصويت. إن تجاهل غير المؤهلين للتصويت هو خطأ وفرصة ضائعة.

وبدلاً من ذلك ، ما نعرف أنه صحيح هو أن لكل صوت أهمية. أظهرت هذه الانتخابات الأخيرة فوز العديد من الولايات أو خسارتها أو إرسالها لإعادة فرز الأصوات على أساس هوامش صغيرة بشكل لا يصدق. في حين كان هناك إقبال قياسي للناخبين ، لا يزال من الممكن ويجب أن تكون المشاركة أعلى. نعتقد أن جميع الأشخاص ، بغض النظر عن وضعهم كمهاجرين ، يجب أن ينخرطوا في حملات ترسم مستقبلنا ليس فقط لأن أصواتهم يمكن أن تقلب ميزان الانتخابات الفردية ، ولكن لأنها تخلق ثقافة مشاركة أوسع. وستكون ثقافة المشاركة هذه هي المفتاح لحماية روح أمتنا ونحن نبني نحو مستقبل أكثر إنصافًا.

2. الانقسام يتطلب التواضع

بعد عام 2016 ، أدركت DNC أهمية تقسيم ملفات الناخبين لصياغة رسائل أكثر استهدافًا وذات صلة بـ "الناخبين دون العرقية.وبهذه الطريقة ، تمكنوا من التحديق تحت مظلة لاتينية واسعة واستهداف دومينيكانوس ومكسيكيوس وتيجانوس وكوبانوس برسائل أكثر صلة. في حين أن هذه خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح ، إلا أنها لا تزال تفترض الكثير عن التجارب الحية للناخبين من خلال جنسية أسرهم ببساطة.

يجب أن يكون لدى الأشخاص أيضًا وكالة في عملية التجزئة عن طريق الاختيار الذاتي بناءً على تجاربهم الحية. في حملة GOTV الخاصة بنا ، أرسلنا استطلاعًا أوليًا سمح للعملاء بالقيام بذلك. بعد تلقي ردودهم ، تمكنا من المتابعة مع كل شريحة جمهور اختاروها للتحدث معهم على مستوى أعمق.

3. قم بإنشاء رسائل لكل مجموعة قطاعية بناءً على القيم

أبعد من تقسيم الجمهور ، فإن الرسائل المدروسة وذات الصلة لمجموعات الجمهور أمر حتمي. وجدنا أن الرسائل ذات الصلة بالثقافة والمشاركة العاطفية حول قيم الإدماج والانتماء والمجتمع كانت أكثر تأثيرًا من الخطاب القياسي والمعاملات لأنها تتحدث إلى القلب.

أبعد من تقسيم الجمهور ، فإن الرسائل المدروسة وذات الصلة لمجموعات الجمهور أمر حتمي. وجدنا أن الرسائل ذات الصلة بالثقافة والمشاركة العاطفية حول قيم الإدماج والانتماء والمجتمع كانت أكثر تأثيرًا من الخطاب القياسي والمعاملات لأنها تتحدث إلى القلب.

4. اختبر افتراضاتك ورسائلك

كمؤسسة تعليمية ، نظل منضبطين في اختبار افتراضاتنا دائمًا. في سياق حملة ما ، تُرجم هذا النظام إلى تجارب جارية مع عينات من العملاء لتحديد الرسالة الأكثر تأثيرًا في كل شريحة. مثل قاعدة عامة، سننشئ 3 رسائل لكل شريحة جمهور ، ونختبر كل رسالة مع 200 جهة اتصال. أنتج هذا الاستعداد للتعلم خلال كل حملة رؤى تمكننا من تحسين رسائلنا مع كل حملة لاحقة بينما نواصل تطوير علاقتنا مع العملاء.

5. الوصول إلى العملاء أينما كانوا

عندما يحين وقت إطلاق الحملة الفعلية أخيرًا ، فإن الخطوة الحاسمة الأخيرة هي تصميم حملات متعددة القنوات تلتقي بالأشخاص في أماكن تواجدهم. في حين أنه قد يكون أكثر من عامل مساعد لمنظم الحملة ، فمن الضروري أن يتم تسليم الرسائل التي تم إعدادها بشكل كامل في نهاية المطاف بطريقة هادفة ومؤثرة.

لهذا السبب ، قمنا بتصميم حملة GOTV الخاصة بنا لتشمل كلاً من البريد الإلكتروني والرسائل القصيرة الآلية لأننا علمنا سابقًا أن العملاء الناطقين باللغة الإنجليزية والإسبانية لديهم تفضيلات اتصال مختلفة. معدلات الاستجابة القياسية في الصناعة للرسائل القصيرة هي 22%. ضاعف العملاء الناطقون بالإسبانية في حملتنا GOTV هذا العدد ، استجابةً لرسائلنا المصممة والمستهدفة بمعدل 44%.

على الرغم من النجاحات الفورية لهذه الحملة لإظهار تأثير التواصل مع المجتمعات التي تُركت إلى حد كبير في الظل ، كان الانتصار الكبير لجهودنا هو مساهمتها في ثقافة المشاركة الأوسع. لا يمكن أن يحدث هذا بين عشية وضحاها ، ولا من خلال أنشطة المعاملات ، لأن الثقافة لا تحدث فقط. يجب أن تُبنى ، نحن يجب أن تبنيها وتحتفل بها وتطعمها. ثقافة الانتماء هي عملية مستمرة ، تنحني دائمًا القوس الأخلاقي للتاريخ نحو العدالة.

ستستمر هذه الأفكار في توجيه عملنا بينما نستثمر بشكل أكبر في التعبئة للمضي قدمًا. ونأمل أن تنضم إلينا في هذه الرحلة للنضال من أجل عالم أكثر عدلاً وإنصافًا للجميع.

رؤى من حملة التوعية التعداد

المهاجرون ، مثل المجتمعات المهمشة الأخرى ، وصفهم مكتب الإحصاء بالولايات المتحدة بأنهم "يصعب حصرهم". المعنى الضمني هو أن المهاجرين يفتقرون إلى حد ما ، سواء في المعلومات أو الفائدة. عملنا يقول خلاف ذلك.

في ربيع هذا العام ، قادت ماف حملة توعية مدروسة ومستهدفة للتعداد. من خلال صياغة رسائل جذابة من الناحية العاطفية وذات صلة بالثقافة والبناء على أساس الثقة التي تربط المؤسسات غير الربحية بالعملاء الذين نخدمهم ، تحركت MAF. قدر مكتب التعداد معدل استجابة 60% لتعداد 2020 ، وهو الأدنى منذ عقود. بعد حملة التوعية الرقمية الأولى التي استمرت لمدة أسبوع ، رأينا عملاء MAF يجلبون هذا الرقم إلى 83%. كان الدافع وراء ذلك في جزء كبير منه هو العملاء المهاجرون الذين تبين أنهم أكثر تفاعلًا ، واستجابوا لتوعية الرسائل القصيرة بمعدل مذهل يبلغ 541 تيرابايت ، أي أكثر من ضعف معيار الصناعة. وجدنا أن المهاجرين كانوا في الواقع أسهل من حيث العد.

نقدم هذه الرؤية للميدان لإثراء عمل التحالف الواسع للمنظمات التي تكافح بجد لرفع أصوات المجتمعات المهمشة في التعداد. تعتقد ماف أن الدور الفريد للمنظمات غير الربحية في هذا الجهد متجذر في علاقات الثقة التي تزرع بمرور الوقت. باعتبارها منارة للضوء في ضباب حرب المعلومات المضللة اليوم ، فإن المنظمات غير الربحية هي رسل مهم للمعلومات الحاسمة والموثوقة.

الوقت ينفد قبل الموعد النهائي في 30 سبتمبر ، لذلك قمنا بتجميع رؤى قابلة للتنفيذ لإبلاغ الجهود الضرورية والحاسمة للشركاء في شبكة MAF وما بعدها. ما يلي هو قصة حملة التعداد لدينا ، والتي توضح بالتفصيل ما فعلناه والدروس التي تعلمناها. نأمل أن تجد هذه التعلم مفيدة ، وأن تطبقها على عملك الخاص ، وأن تفكر في الانضمام إلينا ونحن نواصل رفع أصوات الأشخاص الرائعين الذين نخدمهم كل يوم.

تبدأ ماف بالتجارب الحية لعملائنا.

في سياق حملة التوعية الخاصة بالتعداد ، يجب أن تكون الرسائل التي استخدمناها في الوقت المناسب وذات صلة. سرعان ما أصبح واضحًا ذلك المراسلة القياسية من مكتب الإحصاء لم يكن أي منهما. وصفت الرسالتان الأكثر شيوعًا اللتان وجدناهما من مكتب الإحصاء أهمية التعداد السكاني من حيث السلطة (تمثيل الكونغرس) أو المال (مخصصات الميزانية الفيدرالية). بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يتم إخبارهم بأنه لا مكان لهم في العملية الديمقراطية في المقام الأول ، والذين يُحرمون بشكل روتيني من الخدمات الاجتماعية ، فإن هذه النقاط ، في أحسن الأحوال ، لا معنى لها أو في أسوأ الأحوال ، مهينة.

استنادًا إلى فهمنا الغني لحياة عملائنا ، عرفنا أن تحسين الرسائل سيكون أمرًا بسيطًا. كان المفتاح هو صياغة لغة جذابة من الناحية العاطفية وذات صلة ثقافية تتمحور حول موضوعات الانتماء والمجتمع.

لاختبار حدسنا ، قمنا بتصميم حملة لمقارنة نتائج رسالتين قياسيتين للتعداد مقابل رسالتين أنشأناهما داخليًا. منظمة أخرى غير ربحية ، منظمة الدفاع عن المهاجرين OneAmerica ، انضم إلى حملتنا. قمنا معًا بتسليم هذه الرسائل إلى 4200 عميل عبر المجتمعات الناطقة باللغة الإنجليزية والإسبانية باستخدام مزيج من البريد الإلكتروني والرسائل النصية القصيرة.

جاءت النتائج: كانت زاوية المراسلة الأكثر فاعلية في حملتنا هي القوة أو المال ، ولكن الانتماء.

تشير هذه النتيجة إلى أن المراسلة لرفع تجربة القبول حقًا أمر قوي. ربما لأنه يتعارض مع الخطاب القومي المهيمن الذي ينكر الإنسانية ويرفض شرعية المجتمعات المهاجرة كمشاركين كاملين في الحياة الأمريكية. كمنظمة ، ماف لم تتخلى عن رجوع للخلف على الخطاب السائد ونتائج هذه الحملة توضح السبب.

إن صياغة الرسائل في ماف ليست مجرد مسألة نشر المعلومات ، بل هي محاولة للتحدث إلى الروح. نحافظ على أن الرسائل يجب أن تتحدث إلى جوهر عملائنا لأن كل ما نقوم به ، من الإعلانات إلى الخدمات الجديدة ، يبدأ بافتراض أن عملائنا هم بشر معقدون وفريدون هم أكثر بكثير مما يمكن لنقطة بيانات التقاطه. عندما نعبّر عن الرسائل التي تتحدث إلى تجارب عملائنا المعيشية والعاطفية ، فإننا نصل إلى قلوبهم وليس عقولهم. تظهر نتائج الحملة أن هذه استراتيجية أساسية للنجاح.

كانت الرسائل القصيرة هي أكثر وسائل الاتصال فعالية ، خاصة للعملاء الذين يتحدثون الإسبانية.

كانت البصيرة الثانية للحملة حول الأساليب. كان العملاء الذين اختاروا اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة مفضلة لديهم أكثر عرضة للرد على البريد الإلكتروني من أولئك الذين فضلوا الإسبانية. لكن بالنسبة إلى الرسائل القصيرة ، كان العكس صحيحًا. استجاب العملاء الناطقون باللغة الإنجليزية بمعدل 41% بينما استجاب العملاء الناطقون بالإسبانية إلى رسائل SMS الخاصة بنا بمعدل مذهل 52%

تتعارض هذه النتائج مع الرواية السائدة بأن المجتمعات الناطقة بالإسبانية يصعب الوصول إليها أو "يصعب حصرها". ما وجدناه كان عكس ذلك تمامًا. من خلال الرسالة الصحيحة والاستهداف من خلال الوسيط الصحيح ، فإن العملاء الناطقين بالإسبانية بعيدون كل البعد عن الانفصال ، ولكن في الواقع هم الأكثر تفاعلًا. تقع المسؤولية إذن على مديري التوعية لإبلاغ حملاتهم بهذه الأفكار من أجل تلبية مجتمعاتنا بشكل أكثر فاعلية في أماكن تواجدهم.

مع وجود هذه النتائج في متناول اليد ، بدأنا التحدث مع منظمات غير ربحية أخرى حول استراتيجيات المشاركة المدنية الخاصة بهم.

ما وجدناه في جميع المجالات كان فهمًا مشتركًا لأهمية العمل المدني. ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للمنظمات التي تعاني من كثرة العمل ونقص التمويل ، لم تكن هناك قدرة زائدة على تشغيل حملات متعددة القنوات نظرًا لأن أدوات الرسائل القصيرة على وجه الخصوص كانت إما مكلفة للغاية أو تستغرق وقتًا طويلاً لإدارتها. ببساطة ، الأدوات الموجودة في السوق لم يتم إنشاؤها لمؤسسات غير ربحية.

قررنا تغيير ذلك. بالشراكة مع فريق من التقنيين ذوي المهارات العالية في استوديو البرمجيات سوبر {مجموعة}، قمنا ببناء أداتنا الرقمية الخاصة التي تسهل على المنظمات غير الربحية تعبئة مجتمعاتها بفعالية. كانت النتائج مذهلة.

أدت حملتنا المكونة من 3 خطوات إلى 4200 عميل إلى معدل استجابة مذهل يبلغ 361 تيرا بايت 1 تي ، ووفقًا لتقديراتنا ، فقد ضمنت تمويلًا بقيمة 1 تيرابايت 2 تيرابايت للمجتمعات التي تستحق ذلك. كل ذلك في غضون أسبوع واحد ويديره موظف واحد. يمكن أن تسمح التكنولوجيا التي أنشأناها للمنظمات غير الربحية بقيادة حملات فعالة دون مدير حملة بدوام كامل أو كسر البنك

دعوة ماف للشركاء

في المحادثات المبكرة مع المنظمات غير الربحية الأخرى ، وجدنا أن معظمهم كانوا يعتمدون على 80-90% في التواصل الشخصي لحملات التعداد الخاصة بهم. مع بداية COVID ، خرجت هذه الخطط من النافذة. الآن وبعد أن قطع البيت الأبيض شهرًا ثمينًا من الجدول الزمني للتعداد ، فإن عقارب الساعة تدق.

تظهر MAF من خلال استخدام رسائلنا المختبرة والتكنولوجيا المتقدمة لتوسيع نطاق جهود التوعية بالتعداد. بدعم من The Grove Foundation ، نقوم بالدفع النهائي لضمان احتساب جميع العملاء الذين يعملون بجد في شبكة MAF ومشاهدتهم وتلقيهم الموارد التي يستحقونها.

بناءً على هذا الزخم ، نخطط لحملة Get Out The Vote (GOTV) بناءً على الأفكار المكتسبة من عمل التعداد. يعد الاستمرار في تطوير جهود تعبئة MAF خطوة ضرورية لأننا نحدق في أكثر انتخابات تاريخية في حياتنا. هذه اللحظة تدعونا جميعًا لنصعد ونضرب فوق صوامعنا القياسية ونرفع أصوات المجتمعات التي نخدمها.

إذا كنت ترغب في الانضمام إلى مجتمعنا المتنامي من الشركاء لمشاركة الدروس المستفادة وتشكيل مستقبل نظامنا الأساسي الجديد منارة ، من فضلك ارسل لنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني. هدفنا هو التأكد من أن التكنولوجيا التي صنعتها منظمة غير ربحية تظل في الوقت المناسب وذات صلة بالمنظمات غير الربحية الأخرى. يمكنك معرفة المزيد عن تركيز ماف على العمل المدني في هذا محادثة بين الرئيس التنفيذي خوسيه كينيونيز ومديرة التعبئة جوانا كورتيز.


ملاحظة: سنترك لك درسًا من التاريخلضمان عدم تكرار أخطائه.

جاءوا أولاً من أجل المهاجرين

واخترت أن أتحدث

لأننا عائلة

ثم جاءوا للفقراء

واخترت أن أتحدث

لأننا عائلة

ثم جاؤوا من أجلي

وكان هناك آخرون

الكثير من الآخرين

جعل حياتنا مهمة في التعداد #2020

قالت زميلتي في المنزل بين استخدام المناديل في أنفها ودموعها: "نعم ،". "لقد تم تسريحي مع جميع الموظفين في البار اليوم. لا أعرف ماذا سأفعل ".

بقدر ما أردت أن أكون حاضرًا لهذه المحادثة ، لم أستطع التوقف عن التحقق من هاتفي. استحوذت على قشعريرة ، وكمة جليدية في القناة الهضمية ، بينما كنت أشاهد مدخرات التقاعد الخاصة بي تنخفض من متواضعة إلى أشلاء ، حيث لم يكن بوسعي فعل أي شيء سوى النظر.

إن الرعب المتمثل في رؤية اقتصاداتنا المحلية والبنية التحتية العالمية تنهار في نفس الوقت ، بالنسبة للكثيرين منا ، أمر مبالغ فيه.

عندما ننظر إلى الشرق الذي يضرب به المثل تجاه قادتنا المنتخبين ، فالمساعدات بطيئة. حتى كتابة هذه السطور ، يخوض الكونجرس معركة حزبية حول حزمة تحفيز تبلغ $2 تريليون والتي قد تكون أداة إزالة الرجفان اللازمة لإنعاش القلب النازف لاقتصادنا الوطني. حتى لو تم تجاوزه ، فنحن نعرف بالفعل من سيكون آخر من يتعافى.

ستتلقى المجتمعات المهمشة وعائلات المهاجرين الذين يعملون بجد والتي نخدمها كل يوم في MAF ، في أحسن الأحوال ، بنسات مقابل كل دولار مطلوب لأنهم غير مرئيين. يلعب الإحصاء دورًا مركزيًا في تسجيلهم رسميًا غير موجود نظرًا لأن المهاجرين اعتُبروا من بين السكان "الذين يصعب حصرهم" لعقود. هذا يعني أن كل تدبير تمويل حكومي لسنوات ، بدءًا من وجبات الغداء المدرسية وحتى فحوصات تحفيز COVID-19 (المحتملة) ، تم ضمانها لتكون غير كافية لأولئك الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إليها.

من المتوقع أن يؤدي تعداد 2020 إلى تفاقم هذا الأمر أكثر. يعمل البيت الأبيض بنشاط على زرع بذور الخوف من خلال سياسات عنيفة مثل غارات ICE وعسكرة المجتمع الحدودي والمحاولة الأخيرة الفاشلة لإضافة سؤال حول الهجرة. يخاف الناس من أي طرق على الباب الأمامي للدمار الذي يمكن أن يسببه لحياتهم. أضف إلى هذا الواقع وباء COVID-19 الحالي وتتحول الصورة إلى عدة نغمات أكثر قتامة.

في ماف ، نبذل قصارى جهدنا للتقدم. على الفور ، نقدم عدة ملايين من الدولارات من الدعم الطارئ من خلال صندوق الإغاثة السريعة لدينا للمحتاجين. على المدى الطويل ، نحن نكافح من أجل أن تذهب حزمة المساعدة الحكومية التالية البالغة تريليون دولار ، إذا كانت هناك واحدة في العقد التالي ، لملء الأيدي اليمنى. يحتاج الإجراء السريع إلى تغيير هيكلي في ترادف ، إذا كان سيستمر. بالنسبة لنا ، التعداد هو فرصتنا لإحداث فرق يتجاوز الحياة اليومية.

هدفنا هو ضمان احتساب 100% من عملائنا.

للقيام بذلك ، دخلنا في شراكة مع استوديو التكنولوجيا ، super {set} ، لبناء أداة يمكن أن تساعدنا في التواصل مع المزيد من عملائنا ، بشكل أسرع وأكثر ذكاءً. لقد استفدنا من الأتمتة والتحليلات لنكون قادرين على تأكيد مشاركة جميع عملائنا الذين يزيد عددهم عن 3000 عميل في اللحظة المدنية التي تشكل كل جانب من جوانب حياتنا. لقد تعلمنا أفضل الممارسات في المراسلة مع تحالفنا الأولي من الشركاء الموثوق بهم الذين يتفاعلون مع مجتمعاتهم الخاصة من العملاء باستخدام أداتنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني والرسائل النصية القصيرة والهاتف.

مسلحين بهذه الأصول ، نواصل التحرك بسرعة لضمان أن كل مهاجر محسوب ويعرف أنه ينتمي. لا يمكننا أن نفعل ذلك بمفردنا. توجد كل منظمة غير ربحية داخل عالم التأثير الخاص بها ، ويمكننا ، معًا فقط ، تغطية اللحاف المرقع الذي يمثل التنوع الحيوي لأمتنا.

نحن نعيش في لحظة تاريخية ويمكننا جميعًا أن نفعل أكثر من مجرد إلقاء نظرة عليها. إذا كانت المجتمعات التي نخدمها ستظهر ليس فقط مستعدة للبقاء ، ولكن للازدهار ، فيجب علينا.

دعونا نجعل حياتنا مهمة.

Skip to main content

Author: Tomás Quiñonez

5 Keys To Relevant, Intentional Campaigns

“Is there a Latino vote?”

In the wake of the 2020 presidential campaign, this is a question being posed by pundits, pollsters, and politicians grappling to make sense of the turnout results. This year was a watershed moment for the Latino electorate, turning out at nearly twice the rate as compared to 2016 in early voting. The extraordinary growth of Latino voters underscores the truth that there is no path to the White House without the Latino vote. So does it actually exist?

The answer, not surprisingly, is both yes and no. Certain shared experiences do certainly bring the Latino community together in a broad cultural plane. Yet the expansive range of experiences and backgrounds breaks down any notion of a monolithic Latino identity, as no single issue nor political affiliation unites all Latino voters. This diversity within diversity means that Latino support of any party or policy cannot be taken for granted. It requires a constant investment in time and resources during and also between elections to build lasting, strong connections. Politics is personal and the key to mobilizing Latino voters is messaging that speaks to their lived experiences.

This guiding focus on meeting voters where they’re at is second-nature to MAF. In fact, a client-centered approach within a community framework is how we’ve built all products and services over the past 14 years. We’ve recently applied this same rigor to our mobilizing campaigns and have been building on this approach most recently in our GOTV campaign to 105,000 clients. Here’s what we’ve learned are the 5 keys to running a successful campaign for a diverse electorate:

1. All voices are needed for a culture of belonging

Mainstream political campaigns tend to only focus on voters most likely to vote. They disregard those unlikely to vote. They ignore entirely those ineligible to vote. Ignoring those ineligible to vote is both a mistake and a missed opportunity.

What, instead, we know to be true is that every voice counts. This recent election demonstrated many states won, lost, or were sent to recount based on incredibly small margins. While there was a record voter turnout, participation still could have and should have been higher. We believe that all people, regardless of their immigration status, should be engaged in campaigns that shape our future because not only can their voices tip the scale of individual elections, but because it creates a broader culture of engagement. And it is this culture of engagement that will be the key to safeguard the soul of our nation as we build toward a more equitable future.

2. Segmentation requires humility

After 2016, the DNC realized the importance of segmenting their voter files to craft more targeted, relevant messaging to “sub-ethnicity voters.” In this way they were able to peer under the broad Latino umbrella and target Dominicanos, Mexicanos, Tejanos, and Cubanos with more relevant messaging. While this is a step in the right direction, it still assumes too much about the lived experiences of voters simply by their family’s nationality.

People should also have agency in the segmentation process by self-selecting based on their lived experiences. In our GOTV campaign, we sent out an initial survey that allowed clients to do just that. After receiving their responses, we were able to follow up with each audience segment that they opted into in order to speak to them at a deeper level.

3. Create messaging for each segment group based on values

Even further than audience segmentation, thoughtful, relevant messaging to audience groups is imperative. We found that culturally relevant, emotionally engaging messaging around values of inclusion, belonging, and community was more impactful than standard, transactional rhetoric because it speaks to the heart.

Even further than audience segmentation, thoughtful, relevant messaging to audience groups is imperative. We found that culturally relevant, emotionally engaging messaging around values of inclusion, belonging, and community was more impactful than standard, transactional rhetoric because it speaks to the heart.

4. Test your assumptions and messaging

As a learning organization, we remain disciplined in always testing our assumptions. In the context of a campaign this discipline translated to running experiments with samples of clients to determine which message most resonated with each segment. As a rule of thumb, we would create 3 messages for each audience segment, and test each message with 200 contacts. This willingness to learn during each campaign produced insights that enable us to improve our messaging with each subsequent campaign as we continue developing our relationship with clients.

5. Reach clients where they’re at

When it’s finally time to launch the actual campaign, the last crucial step is to design multi-channel campaigns that meet people where they are at. While it may be more of a lift for the campaign organizer, it is imperative that the messages that have been so thoroughly prepared are ultimately delivered in a meaningful and impactful way.

For this reason, we designed our GOTV campaign to include both email and automated SMS because we learned previously that English and Spanish-speaking clients have different communication preferences. The industry standard response rates for SMS are an impressive 22%. The Spanish-speaking clients of our GOTV campaign doubled that number, responding to our crafted, targeted messaging at a rate of 44%.

Despite the immediate successes of this campaign to demonstrate the impact of outreach to communities largely left in the shadows, the major victory of our effort was its contribution to a broader culture of engagement. This cannot happen overnight, nor through transactional activities, because culture doesn’t just happen. It has to be built, we have to build it, celebrate it, and feed it. A culture of belonging is an ongoing process, ever bending the moral arc of history towards justice.

These insights will continue guiding our work as we invest more heavily in mobilization moving forward. And we hope you join us on this journey to fight for a more just and equitable world for all.

Insights from Census Outreach Campaign

Immigrants, like other marginalized communities, are labeled as “hard-to-count” by the United States Census Bureau. The implication is that immigrants are in some way lacking, whether in information or interest. Our work says otherwise.

This spring, MAF lead a thoughtful, targeted census outreach campaign. By crafting emotionally engaging, culturally relevant messaging and building on the foundation of trust that connects non-profits to the clients we serve, MAF moved the needle. The Census Bureau estimated a 60% response rate for the 2020 census, the lowest in decades. After our week-long, digital-first outreach campaign, we saw MAF clients bring that number up to 83%. This was driven in large part by immigrant clients who turned out to be most engaged, responding to SMS outreach at an incredible rate of 54%, more than twice the industry standard. Immigrants, we found, were in fact the easiest-to-count.

We offer this insight to the field to inform the work of the wide coalition of organizations fighting hard to lift up the voices of marginalized communities in the census. MAF believes that the unique role of non-profits in this effort is rooted in the relationships of trust cultivated over time. As a beacon of light in the fog of today’s misinformation war, non-profits are critical messengers of crucial and reliable information.

Time is running out before the deadline of September 30th so we’ve compiled actionable insights to inform the needed and critical efforts of partners in the MAF network and beyond. What follows is the story of our census campaign, detailing what we did and the lessons we learned. We hope you find these learnings useful, apply them to your own work, and that you’ll consider joining us as we continue to lift up the voices of the incredible people we serve every day.

MAF begins with the lived experiences of our clients.

In the context of a census outreach campaign, the messaging we used had to be both timely and relevant. It quickly became clear, though, that standard messaging from the Census Bureau was neither. The two most common messages we found from the Census Bureau described the importance of the census in terms of power (congressional representation) or money (federal budget allocations). For people who are being told that they have no place in the democratic process in the first place, and who are routinely denied social services, these points are, at best, meaningless or at worst, insulting.

Based on our rich understanding of the lives of our clients, we knew improving the messaging would be simple. The key was to craft emotionally engaging and culturally relevant language centered on themes of belonging and community.

To test our intuition, we designed a campaign to compare the results of 2 standard census messages against 2 messages we created in-house. Another non-profit, the immigrant advocacy organization OneAmerica, joined in our campaign. Together, we delivered these messages to 4,200 clients across English and Spanish-speaking communities using a combination of email and SMS.

The results came in: the single most effective messaging angle in our campaign was not power or money, but belonging.

This result implies that messaging to lift up the experience of truly being accepted is powerful. Perhaps its because it runs counter to a dominant national discourse that actively denies the humanity and rejects the validity of immigrant communities as full participants in American life. As an organization, MAF has never shied away from pushing back on dominant discourse and the results of this campaign demonstrate why.

To craft messaging at MAF is not simply a matter of disseminating information but, rather, is an effort to speak to the soul. We maintain that messaging must speak to the core of our clients because everything we do, from announcements to new services, starts with the assumption that our clients are complex, unique human beings who are far more than a data point can ever capture. When we articulate messaging that speaks to our clients’ lived, emotional experiences, we are reaching for their hearts, not minds. The campaign results show that this is a fundamental strategy for success.

SMS was the most effective method of communication, especially for clients who speak Spanish.

The second insight of the campaign was around methods. Clients who selected English as their preferred language were more likely to respond to an email than those who preferred Spanish. Yet for SMS, the reverse was true. English-speaking clients responded at a rate of 41% while Spanish-speaking clients responded to our SMS at a staggering 52%

These results push back against the prevailing narrative that Spanish-speaking communities are difficult to reach or “hard to count.” What we found was the exact opposite. With the right message and targeted through the right medium, Spanish-speaking clients are far from disengaged, but in fact the most engaged. The responsibility, then, is on outreach managers to inform their campaigns with these insights in order to most effectively meet our communities where they’re at.

With these results in hand, we began speaking with other non-profits about their civic engagement strategies.

What we found across the board was a shared understanding of the importance of civic action. Yet for overworked and underfunded organizations, there was no excess capacity to run multi-channel campaigns given that SMS tools in particular were either too expensive or time-consuming to manage. Simply put, the existing tools on the market were not built for non-profits.

We decided to change that. In partnership with a highly skilled team of technologists at the software studio super{set}, we built our own digital tool that makes it easy for nonprofits to effectively mobilize their communities. The results were striking.

Our 3-step campaign to 4,200 clients lead to an impressive 36% response rate and, by our estimates, secured $6 million in funding for communities that deserve it. All within one week and managed by one staff member. The technology we built can allow non-profits to lead effective campaigns without a full-time campaign manager or breaking the bank

MAF’s Invitation To Partners

In early conversations with other non-profits, we found that most were relying 80-90% on in-person outreach for their census campaigns. With the onset of COVID, those plans have gone out the window. Now that the White House has cut a precious month off of the census timeline, the clock is ticking.

MAF is showing up by utilizing our tested messaging and developed technology to scale up census outreach efforts. With the support of The Grove Foundation, we’re making final push to ensure that all of hard-working clients in the MAF network are counted, seen and receive the resources they deserve.

Building on this momentum, we’re planning a Get Out The Vote (GOTV) campaign informed by the insights gained from the census work. Continuing to develop MAF’s mobilization efforts is a necessary step because we are staring down the most historic election of our lives. The moment is calling us all to step up, punch above our standard silos and lift up the voices of the communities we serve.

If you’d like to join our growing community of partners sharing lessons learned and shaping the future of our new Beacon platform, please email us. Our goal is to ensure that the technology made by a non—profit remains timely and relevant for other non-profits. You can learn more about MAF’s focus on civic action in this conversation between CEO, José Quiñonez and Director of Mobilization, Joanna Cortez.


PS We’ll leave you with our take on a lesson from history, to ensure it’s mistakes are not repeated.

First they came for the immigrants

And I chose to speak out

Because we are family

Then they came for the poor

And I chose to speak out

Because we are family

Then they came for me

And there were others

So many others

Making Our Lives Count In The #2020Census

“So yeah,” my housemate said between using napkins for her nose and her tears. “I got laid off with the entire staff at the bar today. I don’t know what I’m going to do.”

As much as I wanted to be present for this conversation, I couldn’t stop checking my phone. A chill gripped me, an ice-punch to the gut, as I watched my retirement savings plummet from modest to shreds, as I could do nothing but look on.

The terror of seeing our local economies and global infrastructure collapsing at the same time is, for many of us, all too much.

When we look to the proverbial East toward our elected leaders, aid is slow to come. As of this writing, Congress is locked in a partisan fight over a $2 trillion stimulus package that may very well be the defibrillator needed to resuscitate the bleeding heart of our national economy. Even if it does manage to get passed, though, we already know who will be the last to recover.

The marginalized communities and hard-working immigrant families that we serve every day at MAF will receive, at best, pennies for each dollar needed because they are invisible. The census plays a central role in officially registering them nonexistent given that immigrants have been deemed among the “hard-to-count” populations for decades. This means that every government funding measure for years, from school lunches to (potential) COVID-19 stimulus checks have been guaranteed to be inadequate for those who needed it most.

The 2020 census is expected to exacerbate this even further. The White House has been actively sowing the seeds of fear through violent policies like ICE raids, border community militarization, and the recent, failed attempt to add an immigration question. People are frightened by any knock on the front door for the devastation it could bring to their lives. Add to this reality the current COVID-19 epidemic and the picture turns several tones grimmer.

At MAF, we are doing what we can to step up. In the immediate, we are delivering several million dollars of emergency support through our Rapid Relief Fund to those in need. In the long-term, we are fighting so that the next trillion-dollar government aid package, if there is one in the following decade, goes to fill the right hands. Quick action needs structural change in tandem, if it’s to last. For us, the census is our chance to make a difference beyond the day-to-day.

Our goal is to ensure that 100% of our clients are counted.

To do this, we’ve partnered with a technology studio, super{set}, to build a tool that can help us communicate with more of our clients, faster and smarter. We’ve leveraged automation and analytics to be able to confirm that all of our 3,000+ clients participate in the civic moment that shapes every aspect of our lives. We’ve learned best practices on messaging with our initial coalition of trusted partners who are engaging their own communities of clients with our tool across email, SMS and phone.

Armed with these assets, we’re continuing to move fast in ensuring that every immigrant is counted and knows they belong. We can’t do it alone. Each non-profit organization exists within its own world of influence and, only together, can we cover the patchwork quilt that is the vibrant diversity of our nation.

We are living in an historical moment and can all do more than simply look on. If the communities we serve are to emerge not just ready to survive, but to thrive, we must.

Let’s make our lives count.