تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

كافيسيتو كون ماف
الحلقة 5

ماذا بعد؟ ما وراء النقد؟

يوليو 2022

  • الحلقة 5

    بعد أكثر من عامين من الوباء ، يعود الأمر إلينا جميعًا للظهور ، والقيام بالمزيد ، والقيام بعمل أفضل للمجتمعات التي تُركت وراء الركب. بينما نفكر في صندوق الاستجابة السريعة ، ما التالي؟

    في الحلقة الأخيرة من موسمنا الأول ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة ماف خوسيه كوينونيز يجلس مع إفراين سيجوندو ، مدير التثقيف المالي والمشاركة في MAF. يتحدثون عن برنامج استعادة عائلات المهاجرين، برنامج UBI + التابع لـ MAF للأسر المهاجرة المستبعدة من إغاثة COVID-19 الفيدرالية. معًا ، يرسمون طريقة أفضل للمضي قدمًا تتجاوز النقود ، طريقة تعترف بالكرامة الإنسانية للناس وتسمح لهم بالدفاع عن أنفسهم في معركتهم القادمة - مهما كانت.

  • تم تحرير المحادثة التالية من أجل الطول والوضوح.

    روسيو: مرحبًا بكم في Cafecito con MAF. بودكاست حول الظهور ، والقيام بالمزيد ، وتحسين الأداء للناس. نحن في مهمة لمساعدة الناس ليكونوا مرئيين ونشطين وناجحين في حياتهم المالية. انضم إلينا!

    إفرين: مرحباً بالجميع ، ومرحباً بكم في خاتمة الموسم! اسمي Efrain Segundo ، وأنا مدير التعليم والمشاركة المالية في MAF و مضيف البودكاست الخاص بك لحلقة اليوم الخاصة جدًا. على مدار موسمنا الأول ، كنا نفكر في الماضي ، وتحدثنا كثيرًا عن كيفية تأثير جائحة COVID-19 على الطلاب والأسر والمهاجرين الذين تم استبعادهم من فحوصات التحفيز. 

    ديانا: استيقظت طوال ذلك الوقت ، وبدلاً من النظر إلى الخارج ، بدأت أنظر إلى الداخل. لذلك بدأت رحلة نمو شخصي بمفردي. أشعر وكأنني في مرحلة ما قبل الجائحة ، كان الكثير منا يخبر أنفسنا فقط أننا مشغولون ، وكأننا مشغولون جدًا في العمل - نحن مشغولون جدًا. أنت مثل ما بعد الجائحة ، أنا حقًا بحاجة إلى بناء هذه العلاقات لأنها مجتمعي. إنهم بحاجة إلي ، أنا بحاجة إليهم. وبناء المجتمع أمر حيوي.

    إفرين: لكن اليوم ، نود أن نتطلع إلى المستقبل ، ونفكر في المرونة المذهلة والمتأصلة التي أظهرها الناس خلال هذه الأوقات الصعبة. بالعودة إلى حلقتنا الأخيرة للحديث عن ذلك ، هو جوزيه كوينونيز ، الرئيس التنفيذي والمؤسس لشركة MAF. 

    إفرين: صباح الخير يا خوسيه! كيف هي احوالك؟

    جوزيه: صباح الخير! بحالة جيدة.

    رؤية UBI + لعائلات المهاجرين

    إفرين: رائع. أنا متحمس حقًا لوجودي هنا اليوم لإجراء هذه المحادثة معك حول كل العمل الذي قمنا به في MAF. وأردت أن أبدأ بسؤال البداية هذا ، لذلك: على مدار هذا البودكاست ، تحدثنا كثيرًا عن العامين الماضيين - تجارب الأشخاص الذين خدمناهم خلال COVID-19 ، وكيف أطلقنا صندوق الاستجابة السريعة وقدمت المساعدة النقدية الطارئة ، وكيف ظهرت ماف وشركاؤنا للناس. مع اقتراب انتهاء صندوق الاستجابة السريعة ، أطلقنا برنامجًا جديدًا - برنامج استعادة عائلات المهاجرين. هذا هو أول دخل مضمون مصمم خصيصًا لمساعدة العائلات المهاجرة المستبعدة من الإغاثة الفيدرالية لـ COVID-19 أثناء إعادة بناء حياتهم المالية. نحن نرسل $400 شهريًا إلى عائلات المهاجرين ذات الدخل المنخفض المقترنة بالخدمات المالية ذات الصلة.

    لبدء هذه المحادثة ، سيكون السؤال لك خوزيه ، بينما نجري هذا التحول الكبير ، ما الذي يخطر ببالك؟ وما هي رؤية البرنامج؟

    جوزيه: لقد كنت أفكر كثيرًا في ذلك من حيث كيف نحتاج إلى الظهور مرة أخرى للأشخاص الذين تجاوزوا الوباء ، لأنني أعتقد أننا بالتأكيد بحاجة إلى معرفة ما يلي: ما الذي سيكون ليس فقط حالات الطوارئ التالية ، ولكن كيف لمساعدة الناس على التعافي؟ 

    أعني ، بعد رؤية كيف تعرضوا للدمار المالي - فقدوا كل مدخراتهم ، وتراكموا الكثير من الديون لمجرد البقاء. لذا فإن أسئلة مثل: كيف نساعد الناس على التعافي من هذا الدمار؟ وهل تفعل ذلك حقًا بطريقة تساعدهم على الاستعداد للنجاح في المستقبل؟ لذلك أنا متحمس جدًا لذلك لأنني أعتقد أنه سيعطينا المزيد لنفعله. سوف يتحدانا أن نكون أكثر إبداعًا ، وأن نكون أكثر تفكيرًا ، وأن نكون أكثر تفاعلًا مع الناس لمعرفة: كيف يمكننا أن نظهر بطريقة أخرى؟ بينما نواصل عمل Lending Circles ، لتحسين قروضنا التجارية ، وحتى برنامج الدخل المضمون الجديد. 

    اذا، ماذا يمكننا ان نفعل ايضا؟ وأعتقد أن هذا سيأتي من التواجد في محادثة عميقة مع العملاء ومحاولة فهم كيفية تعافيهم.

    من بناء الائتمان إلى بناء عالم أفضل

    إفرين: هل كانت هناك أي دروس مدوية كبيرة تعلمتها من صندوق الاستجابة السريعة؟ سواء كان ذلك شيئًا تعلمناه ، أو شيئًا نود أن يعرفه الآخرون؟

    جوزيه: كان أحد الأشياء التي استخلصتها منه هو: كان من الرائع أن نتمكن من الظهور وتقديم هذا الراحة لمرة واحدة ، أليس كذلك؟ والآن بالطبع ، نحن نعمل مع أكثر من 3000 أسرة لنوفر لهم دخلًا مضمونًا لمدة تصل إلى عامين. لكن حتى هذا - إنه مثل ، حسنًا ، لقد مضى عامان ، أليس كذلك؟

    لكن الحقيقة هي أن عليهم أن يعيشوا مع أنفسهم إلى الأبد. يجب أن يكونوا هم العملاء بصفتهم أشخاصًا يدافعون عن أنفسهم حقًا. ليس فقط في السوق المالية ، ولكن في المجتمع بشكل عام. نحن نشهد تصاعد المشاعر المعادية للمهاجرين - رد الفعل العكسي هذا ضد التقدم للأشخاص الملونين. نحتاج إلى التأكد من أننا نفكر أيضًا في الدعوة الذاتية بعد مشاركتهم معنا - مع MAF على وجه التحديد. أفكر في ذلك لأنه يضع برامجنا على نطاق واسع. يضعها في نصابها. إنه لأمر رائع أننا تمكنا من الحصول على هذه المنحة لمرة واحدة ، إنه لأمر رائع أننا تمكنا من تزويدهم بفرصة بناء الائتمان هذه. 

    ولكن ماذا فعلنا في ذلك الوقت للمساعدة في تغيير طريقة تفكيرهم قليلاً؟ لمساعدتهم على الشعور بثقة أكبر في أنفسهم؟ ماذا نفعل لمساعدتهم على الشعور بأن بإمكانهم الحصول على تلك الوكالة لتكون قادرة على الاتصال بأعضاء الكونجرس والمطالبة بالتصويت على X؟ أو اتصل برئيس مجلس إدارة مدرستهم للتأكد من أنهم يجتازون سياسات معينة - أو أيا كان ، أليس كذلك؟ كيف نساعدهم على الشعور بأنهم قادرون أيضًا على فعل ذلك بالإضافة إلى بناء رصيدهم؟

    أنا أتصارع مع ذلك لأن المال والتمويل مهمان ، لكني أريد أن يكون شيئًا كطريقة لنا للمساعدة في تشكيل وتعليم وتدريب الناس للدفاع عن أنفسهم - بما يتجاوز مجرد بناء أمنهم المالي. وأعتقد أنه إذا تمكنا من القيام بذلك بشكل جيد ، في الأشهر والسنوات المقبلة ، أعتقد أننا سنكون قادرين على تسليط الضوء على نهج جديد تمامًا لإشراك الفقراء في هذا البلد بطريقة يمكن أن تكون مهمة حقًا. 

    وأريد حقًا أن أسألك: ماذا تعلمت؟ كيف تغير تفكيرك حول التدريب في العام الماضي ، عندما كنا نحاول القيام بهذه التدريبات الخاصة بالدفاع عن الذات من خلال التمكين المالي؟ 

    عمل الشعور

    إفرين: البقاء وفيا لقيم ماف والحفاظ على العميل في المقام الأول. اعتادت أمي أن تقول دائمًا: La misma llave no abre todas las puertas. نفس المفتاح لا يفتح كل الأبواب. كل مفتاح له باب فردي خاص به يفتح. أعتقد أن هذه هي أفضل طريقة أفكر بها في تنفيذ العمل ، أو المساهمة في العمل الذي يقوم به فريق البرنامج ، فريق المشاركة. 

    لأننا نحاول معرفة: ما هو المفتاح للجميع؟ نفعل ذلك من خلال التجارب والمحن ، في محاولة لمعرفة: ما هي الطريقة الأفضل والأكثر سهولة للناس للمشاركة في هذا؟ ما هو أفضل شيء يمكننا تقديمه لهم أو مساعدتهم في العثور عليه في تلك اللحظة والذي سيكون له أكبر التموجات؟ وهذه إحدى طرق التفكير المفضلة لدي. ما هو الحجر الذي يمكن أن يرميه ماف في تلك البركة التي سيكون لها أفضل التموجات الأبدية؟ أفضل الآثار عليه. لأنك على حق. يمكن أن تكون مجرد منحة لمرة واحدة. قد يكون هذا قادرًا على دفع فاتورة أو اثنتين هذا الشهر. لكن ماذا بعد ذلك؟ ونريد أن نتحدث عن "وماذا بعد ذلك". نحن نحاول معرفة ذلك.

    أتذكر عندما كنت أتدرب أثناء الوباء. كان الأمر صعبًا بعض الشيء لأنك سمعت بالتأكيد عن الأوقات الصعبة التي يمر بها الناس ، لكنه نوع من الألم لأنك تريد أن تفعل كل ما في وسعك لمساعدة هذا الشخص - لكن هناك قيودًا على ذلك. 

    من خلال تشجيع الدفاع عن الذات - من خلال تعليم الناس مهارات ، وتعليم الناس الشعور بالمشاعر. لأنني أفكر فيما وراء المنح ، وما وراء البرامج ، وما وراء كل ما تقدمه MAF ، أعتقد أننا نعمل في مجال الشعور. نحن نعمل على مساعدة الناس على إدراك أن القوة كانت معهم طوال الوقت. لقد احتاجوا فقط إلى شخص ما ليوضح لهم ذلك ، "مرحبًا ، هذه هي الطريقة التي تقومون بها. يمكنك أن تفعل هذا بنفسك ". سنكون معك إذا كانت لديك أسئلة ، لذلك تشعر بالراحة وتواصل القيام بذلك. ستُترجم هذه المهارات بمرور الوقت وفي مجالات مختلفة. 

    جوزيه: فكرة أننا نعمل في مجال المشاعر - أعتقد أن هذا صحيح في الهدف. ليست الحقائق والأرقام التي ننقلها هي المهمة لعملائنا. يتعلق الأمر بما نشعر به بعد ذلك. عندما نعامل الناس بكرامة ، باحترام ، بشرف - هذا هو الشعور الذي ينتابهم في معركتهم التالية. لمشكلتهم القادمة. لمشاركتهم المقبلة. 

    وبالطبع ، على طول الطريق ، نقدم لهم الحيل حول كيفية القيام بذلك - كيفية المشاركة. لكن الأمر يتعلق ببناء تلك الثقة التي تأتي من ذلك - الشعور بأنهم يستحقون ، وبأنهم بشر مملوءون بالكرامة ، وأنهم أناس يستحقون مثلنا جميعًا أن يُرى ويُسمع في هذا العالم. 

    أنت وفريقك ، ما تفعله ، جزء لا يتجزأ من تحقيق ذلك. لأنك مثل القابض ، أليس كذلك؟ أنت من تتفاعل مع الناس بشكل يومي. أنت الشخص الذي يتفاعل مع الناس بشكل يومي. وكما تعلم ، من الصعب في الواقع الاستماع فقط وسماع كل الألم الذي يتعين على الناس تحمله. بصراحة ، يتطلب الأمر إنسانًا مميزًا. لهذا السبب أحترمك وأحترم العمل الذي تقوم به أنت وفريقك لأنه يتطلب الكثير من العمل.

    15 عاما من éxito

    إفرين: نعم على الاطلاق. صيحة كبيرة للفريق لأنني أعتقد أنك على حق تمامًا. إنه يضعنا في وضع يمكننا من خلاله التواصل بصدق مع الناس. وهذا بالتأكيد نعمة. لأنه في حين أنه قد يكون من الصعب أحيانًا أن تسمع عن الأوقات الصعبة التي يمر بها الأشخاص ، إلا أنه أمر مجزٍ للغاية ، خوسيه ، عندما نكون في جلسة مع عميل وترى "نجاح باهر" على وجوههم عندما يكتشفون معلومة لم يعرفوها من قبل أو مهارة. وهم إما أن يدركوا ، واحدًا ، أنه أسهل مما اعتقدوا ، أو اثنان ، ينطبق مباشرة على حياتهم ، وثلاثة ، يبدو أنهم يعرفون أنهم يستطيعون فعل ذلك بصدق.

    لنفترض أن شخصًا ما جديد تمامًا على MAF ، شخص ما جديد تمامًا في هذا العالم غير الربحي الذي نحن جميعًا جزء منه ... كيف يمكنك وصف نهج MAF القائم على نقاط القوة لشخص جديد تمامًا في عملنا؟ أو جديد تمامًا في عالم بناء الأصول ، والنهج الذي يركز على العملاء؟ كيف تصفها لهم؟ وكيف يمكن وصف هذا التطور من عام ماف الأول إلى الآن؟ 

    جوزيه: يبدو أنه سؤال كبير ، لكن لأكون صادقًا معك: إنه أحد أبسط الأسئلة التي سمعتها على الإطلاق. وما أعنيه بهذا هو: إنه سؤال لطالما كان لدي نفس الإجابة على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية. إنه نفس السؤال ونفس الإجابة. ما الذي نحاول فعله؟ 

    وفي النهاية يتعلق الأمر بالتأكد من حصول الناس على فرصة لتحقيق نجاح حقيقي. أننا أردنا لعملائنا تجربة النجاح. أن يكون لديهم éxito في حياتهم. هذا يعني أنهم يجب أن يكونوا في مركز تفكيرنا ، مركز تصميمنا ، مركز كل شيء. ثم كان السؤال: حسنًا ، ماذا تفعل بعد ذلك؟ عليك بعد ذلك تطبيق قيم المشاركة لدينا. هذا ما فعلناه منذ اليوم الأول ، وهو فكرة لقاء الناس أينما كانوا.

    تنظر إلى الناس على أنهم أناس كاملون. ليس كشيء ما أو صورة نمطية عنهم أو نسخة محبوبة منهم. لا. عليك أن ترى الناس ، وترى المجتمعات ، والشعور الكامل بمن هم. كلاهما جيد وسيئ. عليك أن تعترف بالألم - تعترف بالحواجز والمزالق التي يقع فيها الناس في الحياة. لكن عليك أيضًا أن تعترف بالأشياء الجيدة التي يفعلها الناس. عليك أن تقر وتعرف متى لم يقعوا في تلك الحفرة ، عندما تمكنوا من التغلب على الحواجز. عليك أن تعترف بالاستراتيجيات الجيدة التي لديهم من أجل البقاء في الحياة. 

    إفرين: قطعاً. يا رجل ، هذا هو الحال. أعتقد أنه إذا كان بإمكان الناس تطبيق هذا النهج على أي نوع من المهنة ، فسيظل ثابتًا. وسيحقق النجاح. لأنه في نهاية اليوم ، يتم وضع الشخص الذي تريد تقديم منتجك للخدمة فيه ، وتركيز أفكارك عليه - إنه عليه. لأنهم سادة حياتهم. هم يعرفون ذلك بشكل أفضل. في نهاية اليوم ، ليس علينا أن نذهب ونقول ، "هذا ما يجب أن تكون عليه حياتك." بدلاً من ذلك ، تسأل ، "ماذا تريد أن تكون حياتك ، وكيف يمكننا دعمك للوصول إلى هناك؟" وأعتقد أن هذه واحدة من أكبر الأفكار التي تعلمتها خلال تجربتي مع تشارلاس ، في كل هذه الأحداث النهائية والتدريب.

    الأول ، خوسيه ، هو أن الناس مرنون بشكل لا يصدق ، مرنون بشكل لا يصدق. سواء كنا هناك أم لا ، سيبذل الكثير من الناس قصارى جهدهم للنضال والبقاء والازدهار في حياتهم. لكن من المدهش أن تأثير الدعم من منظمات مثل ماف ، مثل العديد من شركائنا ، مثل العديد من المنظمات المجتمعية ، يمكن أن يكون لهذا الشعور الذي يمكن أن يدفع الناس للذهاب أكثر. 

    أحاول أن أضع أمي في مقدمة اهتماماتي لأنني أرى أمي في الكثير من أعضاء مجتمعي والأشخاص الذين نخدمهم ، لأنني نشأت معها. لذلك يسعدني حقًا رؤية تأثير المنتجات والخدمات. لكن أكثر من أي شيء آخر ، خوسيه ، على ما أعتقد ، نجلب الأصالة إلى اللعبة. وأعتقد أنه إذا كنت صادقًا في أي مجال أو مهنتك ، فسترى النجاح وسترى التأثير. 

    لأن الأصالة نفسها تتحدث عن نفسها. ترى الأصالة في خدماتنا ومنتجاتنا ، سواء كان ذلك تدريبنا أو Charlas أو Talleres أو كونفيرساسيونز Comunitarias أو MyMAF. يذهب الناس إلى منتجاتنا وخدماتنا ، وهم بالتأكيد يشعرون بالطاقة الأصيلة ، مما يجعلها تنجذب إلينا أكثر. 

    لذلك أنا سعيد حقًا لأن هذا كان نهجنا على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية. أنا سعيد لأنها تطورت وتحسنت كما مررنا بها. وأنا متحمس حقًا لمعرفة ما ستجلبه هذه الطاقة إلى المستقبل.

    عندما تنظر إلى المستقبل ، بعد 15 عامًا من الآن ، عندما تنظر إلى الخمسة عشر عامًا القادمة ، ما هو شعورك؟

    المرونة جزء من حالة الإنسان

    جوزيه: عندما كنت في الكلية أتذكر قراءة / دراسة هذا الكتاب المسمى بيداغوجيا المستضعفين بواسطة باولو فريري. أحد الأشياء التي أتذكره ذكرها في الكتاب - وهذا النوع يشرح فكرة أن المرونة جزء من حالتنا البشرية. إنه ليس شيئًا نحن عليه فقط لأننا نعمل ونكافح فقط. لا ، هو أن البشر بالتعريف مرنون. هكذا نجونا عبر آلاف السنين. 

    تم إعداد نظامنا التعليمي بالكامل بطريقة تفترض أن عقولنا مثل الحسابات المصرفية الفارغة. نظرًا لكونها حسابات بنكية فارغة ، فإنها تفترض أن المعلم هو الذي يودع المعرفة في حساباتنا المصرفية الفارغة. 

    نظامنا التعليمي ككل مبني على هذه الفكرة. وبالطبع فهو ينتقدها بشدة. إنه مثل ، لا ، هذا ليس صحيحًا. لا يوجد عقل بشري هو حساب مصرفي فارغ. لا يوجد عقل بشري فارغ على الإطلاق. لأن لدينا جميعًا تجارب ، لدينا جميعًا أحلام وتطلعات. هناك الكثير من الحكمة في تلك الحقائق. فقط بهذا القياس البسيط ، كان قادرًا على إيصال هذه الفكرة عن القيمة المتأصلة لوجودنا البشري كأشخاص. هذا ، إلى حد ما ، ما نحاول القيام به بعملنا ، نوع من اتباع هذا التقليد ، أو تلك الفكرة التي طرحها باولو فريري في ذلك الكتاب ، بيداغوجيا المستضعفين.

    لكنني أعتقد أن السنوات الخمس عشرة القادمة ، بصراحة ، جيدة ، وإلا كيف يمكننا إظهار وإظهار المزيد من ذلك؟ وكيف يمكننا الاستفادة من ما تعلمناه ، وما نعرضه للعمل ، وكيف يمكننا إثبات أنه يمكن تطبيقه في حالات أخرى؟ كيف يمكن أن يقودنا هذا إلى تطوير أجندة السياسة؟ يتعلق الأمر بإقناع الآخرين خارج MAF بقيمة هذه العقلية. قيمة أن هذا نهج جيد ، نهج أفضل ، لأنه أكثر طبيعية للناس.

    ولذا أعتقد أنه عمل يستمر مدى الحياة وسيحدث على مدى سنوات عديدة.

    إفرين: رائع ، شكرًا جزيلاً لك على مشاركة ذلك يا خوسيه. في نهاية المطاف ، يتعلق الأمر بتزويد المزيد من الأشخاص بإحساس بالوصول إلى - النتائج ، لبعضهم البعض ، إلى تلك الطاقة - ولكن الأهم من ذلك ، الشعور بالانتماء للمجتمع. حق؟ وأعتقد أن الأشخاص عندما يتواصلون مع ماف ، يكون شعورًا تلقائيًا بالمجتمع لأنه أصيل كما يحصل. 

    إذا كان بإمكانك تقديم عبارة تحث على اتخاذ إجراء ، للأشخاص الذين يستمعون إلى بودكاست اليوم - أعلم أن شركائنا يستمعون ، وأعلم أن أعضاء المجتمع يستمعون ، أو أي شخص مهتم فقط بالعمل الذي نقوم به ... هل هناك عبارة واحدة تحث المستخدم على اتخاذ إجراء والتي ترغب في تركها جميعًا للموسم الأول من هذا البودكاست؟

    جوزيه: أنا أشجع الناس على الظهور. لتظهر ، لتظهر ، لتظهر. ويفعلون المزيد في مجتمعاتهم. كل ما يفعلونه. سواء كانوا يعملون في مؤسسة غير ربحية أو في مؤسسة أو في الحكومة ، مهما كان ما تفعله ، افعل المزيد منه للفقراء لأنهم بحاجة إلى المزيد. وأيضًا ، نحن بحاجة إلى القيام بالأشياء بشكل أفضل ، أليس كذلك؟ لذا مهما كان ما نقوم به: التعلم منه ، وتحسينه ، وزيادة الكفاءة. كن أفضل ، افعل ما هو أفضل.

    إفرين: احضر بالتأكيد ، افعل ما تستطيع ، افعل ما هو أفضل. وأعتقد أنه سيكون من السهل العثور على العالم سيكون مكانًا أفضل نتيجة لذلك. شكرا جزيلا لك يا خوسيه. أنا حقا أقدر محادثة اليوم.

    جوزيه: نعم شكرا لك! 

    روسيو: شكرا على الاستماع إلى Cafecito con MAF!

    تأكد من الاشتراك في البودكاست الخاص بنا على Spotify أو Apple أو في أي مكان تستمع فيه إلى البودكاست ، حتى تتمكن من مشاهدة الحلقة التالية بمجرد نشرها.

    وتأكد من متابعتنا عبر الإنترنت إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد عن عملنا ، أو الانضمام إلى فصل تعليمي مالي مجاني ، أو الحصول على المزيد من الأخبار والتحديثات على Cafecito con MAF. نحن في Missionassetfund.org وعلى Twitter و Instagram و Facebook.

CAFECITO CON MAF
EPISODE 5

What’s Next? Beyond Cash?

JULY 2022

Spotify
  • EPISODE 5

    After more than two years of the pandemic, it’s up to all of us to show up, do more, and do better for communities who have been left behind. As we reflect on the Rapid Response Fund, what’s next?

    In the final episode of our first season, MAF CEO José Quiñonez sits down with Efrain Segundo, MAF Financial Education and Engagement Manager. They chat about the Immigrant Families Recovery Program, MAF’s UBI+ program for immigrant families excluded from federal COVID-19 relief. Together, they outline a better way forward beyond cash, one that recognizes people’s human dignity and allows them to advocate for themselves in their next fight — whatever it may be.

  • The following conversation has been edited for length and clarity.

    ROCIO: Welcome to Cafecito con MAF. A podcast about showing up, doing more, and doing better for people. We’re on a mission to help people become visible, active, and successful in their financial lives. Join us!

    EFRAIN: Hi everyone, and welcome to our season finale! My name is Efrain Segundo, and I’m the financial education and engagement manager at MAF and your podcast host for today’s very special episode. Over the course of our first season, we’ve been reflecting on the past, talking a lot about how the COVID-19 pandemic impacted students, families, and immigrants who were excluded from stimulus checks. 

    DIANA: I had an awakening throughout that time, and instead of looking outwards, I started looking inwards. So I started a personal growth journey on my own. I feel like pre-pandemic, many of us were just telling ourselves we’re just busy, like we’re so busy working — we’re so busy. Post-pandemic you’re like, I really need to build these relationships because they’re my community. They need me, I need them. And community-building is vital.

    EFRAIN: But today, we’d like to look to the future, and think about the incredible, inherent resilience people have demonstrated through these difficult times. Returning to our final episode to talk about just that is José Quiñonez, MAF CEO & founder. 

    EFRAIN: Good morning, José! How are you doing?

    JOSÉ: Good morning! Doing well.

    The vision for UBI+ for immigrant families

    EFRAIN: Awesome. I’m really psyched to be here today to have this conversation with you about all the work we’ve done at MAF. And I wanted to start with this kickoff question, so: Over the course of this podcast, we’ve talked a lot about the last two years — the experiences of the people we’ve served during COVID-19, how we launched the Rapid Response Fund and provided emergency cash assistance, and how MAF and our partners showed up for people. As our Rapid Response Fund winds down, we’ve launched a new program — the Immigrant Families Recovery Program. This is the first guaranteed income designed specifically to help immigrant families excluded from federal COVID-19 relief as they rebuild their financial lives. We’re sending $400 per month to low-income immigrant families paired with relevant financial services.

    So to kick off this conversation, the question for you José would be, as we make this big shift, what’s top of mind for you? And what is the vision for the program?

    JOSÉ: I’ve been thinking a lot about that in terms of how we need to show up again for people past the pandemic, because I think we definitely need to sort of figure out: What are going to be not just the next emergencies, but how to help people recuperate? 

    I mean, after seeing how they were devastated financially — losing all of their savings, racking up a lot of debt just to survive. So questions like: How do we help people recover from that devastation? And really do it in a way to help them set up for future success? So I’m really excited by that because I think it’s going to give us more to do. It’s going to challenge us to be more creative, be more thoughtful, and really be more engaged with people to figure out: how else could we show up? While we continue to do our Lending Circles, to improve our business loans, and even this new guaranteed income program. 

    So what else can we do? And I think that’s going to come from being in deep conversation with clients and trying to understand how they’re going to recover.

    From building credit to building a better world

    EFRAIN: Have there been any big resounding lessons that you’ve learned from the Rapid Response Fund? Whether it’s something that we learned, or something that we’d like others to know about?

    JOSÉ: One of the things I did take away from it was: it was great that we were able to show up and provide this one-time relief, right? And now of course, we’re working with over 3,000 families to provide them a guaranteed income for up to two years. But even that — it’s like, well, it’s two years, right?

    But the reality is that they have to live with themselves forever. They have to be the ones as clients, as people to really advocate for themselves. Not just in the financial marketplace, but in society in general. We’re seeing the rise of anti-immigrant sentiment — this backlash against progress for people of color. We need to make sure we also think about self-advocacy past their engagement with us — with MAF specifically. I think about that because it puts our programs at scale. It puts it in perspective. It’s great we were able to show up for this one-time grant, it’s great that we were able to provide them with this credit-building opportunity. 

    But what did we do in that time to help change their mindsets a little bit? To help them feel a little more confident in themselves? What do we do to help them feel like they can have that agency to be able to call their member of Congress and demand that they vote on X? Or call their school board president to make sure that they pass particular policies — or whatever, right? How are we helping them have a sense that they too can do that as well as building their credit?

    I’m grappling with that because money and finance is important, but I want it to be something as a way for us to help shape and educate and train people to advocate for themselves — beyond just building their financial security. And I think if we’re able to do that well, in the next coming months and years, I think we’ll be able to highlight a completely new approach of engaging poor people in this country in a way that could be really significant. 

    And I really want to ask you: What have you learned? How has your thinking about coaching changed in the past year, when we’re trying to do these self-advocacy trainings through financial empowerment? 

    The business of feeling

    EFRAIN: Staying true to MAF’s values and keeping the client first. My mom used to always say: La misma llave no abre todas las puertas. The same key doesn’t open up all the doors. Every key has its own individual door that it opens. I think that’s the best way that I like to think about carrying out the work, or contributing to the work that the program team does, the engagement team does. 

    Because we’re trying to figure out: What is the key for everybody? We do that through trials and tribulations, trying to figure out: What is the best, most accessible way for people to participate with this? What is the best thing that we can give them or help them find in that moment that will have the biggest ripples? And that’s one of my favorite ways of thinking about it. What stone can MAF throw in that pond that will have the best, everlasting ripples? The best effects over it. Because you’re right. It could just be a one-time grant. That might be able to pay a bill or two this month. But then what? And we want to address the “and then what.” We’re trying to figure that out.

    I remember when I was coaching during the pandemic. It was a bit tough because you definitely heard about people’s tough times, but it kind of hurts because you want to do everything you can to help that person — but there are limitations to it. 

    By encouraging self-advocacy — by teaching people skills, teaching people a sense of feeling. Because I think beyond the grants, beyond the programs, beyond everything that MAF offers, I think we’re in the business of feeling. We’re in the business of helping people have realizations that the power has been with them the entire time. They just needed someone to show them that, “Hey, this is how you do it. That you can do this for yourself.” We’ll be right there with you if you have questions, so you feel comfortable and continue doing so. These skills will translate over time and over different fields. 

    JOSÉ: The idea that we’re in the business of feelings — I think that’s right on target. It’s not the facts and figures that we convey that are important to our clients. It’s about how we make them feel afterwards. When we treat people with dignity, with respect, with honor — that’s the feeling that they take to their next battle. To their next problem. To their next engagement. 

    And of course, along the way, we give them tricks on how to do that — how to engage. But it is about building that confidence that comes from that — feeling like they are worthy, that they’re humans full of dignity, that they are people just as deserving as all of us to be seen and heard in this world. 

    You and your team, what you do, is so integral to making that happen. Because you’re like the clutch, right? You’re the ones interfacing with people on a daily basis. You’re the one interfacing with people on a daily basis. And as you know, it’s actually harder to just listen and hear all of the pain that people are having to go through. It takes a special human being to do that, frankly. That’s why I respect you and the work that you and your team does because it’s a lot to take on.

    15 years of éxito

    EFRAIN: Yeah, absolutely. Big shoutout to the team because I think you’re absolutely right. It puts us in a position where we get to genuinely connect with people. And that’s definitely a blessing. Because while it might be difficult at times to hear about the difficult times that people are experiencing, it’s extremely rewarding, José, when we’re in a session with a client and you see the “wow” on their face when they find out a piece of information that they didn’t know befor or a skill. And they either realize that, one, it’s easier than they thought, or two, it applies directly to their life, and three, it’s like they know they can genuinely do it.

    Let’s say somebody is completely brand new to MAF, somebody is brand new to this nonprofit world that we’re all a part of… how would you describe MAF’s strengths-based approach to someone completely new to our work? Or completely new to the world of asset-building, of clients-centered approach? How would you describe it to them? And how would describe this evolution from MAF’s first year to now? 

    JOSÉ: It sounds like a big question, but to be honest with you: It’s one of the most simplistic questions I’ve ever heard. And what I mean by that is this: It’s a question I’ve always had the same answer to for the past 15 years. It’s the same question, same answer. What is it that we’re trying to do? 

    And ultimately it’s about making sure people have an opportunity for real success. That we wanted for our clients to experience success.  To have éxito in their lives. That meant they had to be at the center of our thinking, the center of our design, the center of everything. The question then was: Well, what do you do after that? You have to then apply our values of engagement. That’s what we’ve done since day one, which is about the idea of meeting people where they are.

    You look at people as whole people. Not as some notion or some stereotype of them or some idolized version of them. No. You have to see people, see communities, and the whole sense of who they are. Both good and bad. You have to acknowledge the pain — acknowledge the barriers, the pitfalls that people fall into in life. But you also have to acknowledge the good things that people are doing. You have to acknowledge and recognize when they did not fall into that pit, when they were able to overcome the barriers. You have to acknowledge the good strategies that they have in order to survive in life. 

    EFRAIN: Absolutely. Man, that is spot-on. I think if people could apply this approach to any sort of profession, it would stick. And it would bring success. Because at the end of the day, it’s putting the person who you want your product to service, your thoughts to focus on — it’s on them. Because they are the masters of their own lives. They know it best. At the end of the day, it’s not up to us to go and say, “This is what your life should be.” It’s instead to ask, “What would you like your life to be, and how can we support you in getting there?” And I think that’s one of the biggest insights that I’ve learned throughout my experience in these Charlas, in all these fin-ed events and coaching.

    One, José, is that people are incredibly resilient, incredibly resilient. Whether we are there or not, a lot of people are going to do their absolute best to strive, and to survive, and to thrive in their life. But it’s amazing the impact support from organizations like MAF, like many of our partners, like many community-based organizations, can have in that feeling that can push people to go even more. 

    I try to keep my mom top of mind because I see my mom in a lot of my community members and the people that we serve, because I grew up with it. So it makes me really happy to see the impact of the products and the services. But more than anything, José, I think, we bring authenticity to the game. And I think if you are authentic in no matter what your field or your profession is, you will see success and you will see impact. 

    Because authenticity itself speaks for itself. You see authenticity in our services and products, whether it be our coaching or Charlas or Talleres or Conversaciones Comunitarias or MyMAF. People go into our products and services, and they definitely feel authentic energy, which makes it gravitate even more to us. 

    So I’m really happy that this has been our approach for the last 15 years. I’m happy that it’s evolved and gotten better as we’ve gone through it. And I’m really excited to see what this energy will bring into the future.

    When you look into the future, 15 years from now, when you look into the next 15, what are you feeling?

    Resilience is part of the human condition

    JOSÉ: When I was in college I remember reading/studying this book called Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire. One of the things that I remember him mentioning in the book — and this kind of explains the idea that being resilient is part of our human condition. It’s not something that we are just because we’re just working and struggling. No, it’s that human beings by definition are resilient. That’s how we’ve survived through millennia. 

    Our whole educational system is set up in a way that presumes that our minds are like empty bank accounts. Them being empty bank accounts, it presumes that the teacher is the one that is depositing knowledge into our empty bank accounts. 

    Our whole educational system as a whole is built on that idea. And of course he’s very critical of it. He’s like, no, that’s not correct. No human mind is an empty bank account; no human mind is empty at all. Because we all have experiences, we all have dreams, aspirations. There’s a lot of wisdom in those truths. Just with that simple analogy, he was able to communicate this idea of the inherent value of our human existence as people. That’s, in a sense, what we’re trying to do with our work, sort of following with that tradition, or that idea that Paulo Freire set forth in that book, Pedagogy of the Oppressed.

    But I think that the next 15 years, frankly, is well, how else can we show and demonstrate more of that? And how can we take our learnings, what we’re demonstrating to be working, and how can we show that it can be applicable in other cases? How can this lead us to developing a policy agenda? It’s about persuading others outside of MAF of the value of this mindset. The value that this is a good approach, a better approach, because it’s more natural to people.

    And so I think it’s lifelong work that’s going to happen over many, many years.

    EFRAIN: Awesome, thank you so much for sharing that, José. At the end of the day, it’s about providing more people with a sense of access to — to findings, to one another, to that energy — but most importantly, a sense of community. Right? And I think that people when they connect with MAF, it’s an automatic sense of community because it’s as authentic as it gets. 

    If you could provide a call-to-action, for the people who are listening to today’s podcast — I know that our partners are listening, I know that community members are listening, or someone who’s just interested in the work we do… Is there one call-to-action that you would like to leave them all with for the first season of this podcast?

    JOSÉ: I encourage people to show up. To show up, to show up, to show up. And do more in their communities. Whatever it is that they’re doing. Whether they’re working at a nonprofit or at a foundation or in government, whatever it is that you’re doing, do more of it for poor people because they need more. And also, we need to do things better, right? So whatever it is that we’re doing: learn from it, improve it, be more efficient. Be better, do better.

    EFRAIN: Definitely show up, do what you can, do better. And I think it’ll be easy to find that the world will be a better place as a result of it. Thank you so much, José. I really appreciated today’s conversation.

    JOSÉ: Yeah, thank you! 

    ROCIO: Thanks for listening to Cafecito con MAF!

    Be sure to subscribe to our podcast on Spotify, Apple, or wherever you listen to podcasts, so you can catch the next episode as soon as it’s posted.

    And be sure to follow us online if you want to learn more about our work, join a free financial education class, or get more news and updates on Cafecito con MAF. We’re at missionassetfund.org and on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English