تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

إطار العدالة المالية لـ MAF: حل متجذر في المجتمع

إطار العدالة المالية لشركة MAF:

حل متجذر في المجتمع

في مواجهة وباء مدمر في عام 2020 ، صعدت ماف لتلبية احتياجات المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين بأكثر ما يحتاجون إليه في هذه الأزمة: المساعدة النقدية غير المقيدة. مسترشدين بنهجنا المرتكز على المجتمع ، أطلقنا صندوق الاستجابة السريعة COVID-19 لتوفير الإغاثة الفورية للعمال ذوي الأجور المنخفضة والمهاجرين وطلاب الجامعات الذين فقدوا الدخل أثناء الوباء.

في يوم افتتاح الصندوق ، غمرتنا كمية الحاجة. مع وجود أكثر من 250.000 طلب منح ولكن التمويل الكافي فقط لدعم 70.000 شخص ، اخترنا أن نكون أكثر إصرارًا في توزيع التمويل لدينا. لقد قررنا عدم اتباع نهج "من يأتي أولاً يخدم أولاً" أو نظام اليانصيب ، وهو نهج يستفيد منه الأشخاص الذين لديهم إمكانية الوصول والمعلومات والحظ. بدلاً من ذلك ، أخذنا ما تعلمناه على مر السنين من خدمة الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجر لإنشاء إطار عمل للمساواة المالية. ضمن هذا الإطار ، أعطينا الأولوية للأشخاص الذين استفادوا أكثر من الإغاثة: الأشخاص الذين يواجهون حواجز هيكلية ذات تدفقات دخل قليلة ومعظم الضغوط المالية. والجدير بالذكر ، دون النظر إلى العرق أو العرق ، قدم نهج العدالة المالية لشركة MAF 93% من المنح الطارئة للأشخاص الملونين.

لسنوات ، تحدى ماف ما هو ممكن في مكافحة الفقر ، وابتكار حلول متجذرة في المجتمع تضع الفقراء في المقدمة وفي المركز. إطار العدالة المالية الخاص بنا هو طريقة أخرى لمواصلة نضالنا من أجل العدالة الاجتماعية: من خلال تقديم أداة واضحة وذات صلة وقابلة للتنفيذ يمكن أن تصل إلى الأشخاص الذين يواجهون العديد من أوجه عدم المساواة في حياتهم المالية. من خلال التركيز على العدالة المالية ، يمكننا الاقتراب أكثر من المساواة العرقية ، وإطلاق العنان للإمكانات الكاملة للأشخاص الذين يعيشون على هامش المجتمع لفترة طويلة جدًا.

قم بتنزيل التقرير

تم تقديم الدعم لهذا البحث من قبل مؤسسة College Futures Foundation.

أكمل القراءة

الدروس المستفادة من عائلات المهاجرين المتروكة من الإغاثة الفيدرالية

سلسلة إحصاءات الاستجابة السريعة

الدروس المستفادة من عائلات المهاجرين المتروكة من الإغاثة الفيدرالية

بين عشية وضحاها تقريبًا ، قضى جائحة COVID-19 على الحياة المالية للعائلات المهاجرة. بدون أي خطأ من جانبهم ، فقد ملايين المهاجرين الوظائف والدخل الذي اعتمدوا عليه لإعالة أسرهم ، مما أجبرهم على استنفاد ما لديهم من مدخرات قليلة أو تقديم الائتمان لمجرد البقاء على قيد الحياة. في وقت هم في أمس الحاجة إليه ، استبعد الكونجرس أكثر من 11 مليون مهاجر وعائلاتهم من فحوصات التحفيز الطارئة وشريان الحياة المالي الذي تمس الحاجة إليه.

في محاولة لمساعدة أولئك الذين تركوا وراءهم ، أطلقت MAF صندوق عائلات المهاجرين (IFF) لتقديم منح نقدية غير مقيدة للأشخاص المستبعدين من الإغاثة الفيدرالية. منذ إطلاق IFF في أبريل 2020 ، تلقت MAF أكثر من 200000 طلب للحصول على الدعم. غمرنا طلبات المساعدة ، صممنا ملف إطار العدالة المالية لتحديد من يمكن أن يستفيد أكثر من منحة لمرة واحدة ، مع إعطاء الأولوية للمتقدمين الذين لديهم أقل مصادر الدخل ومعظم الضغوط المالية. من خلال وضع العدالة المالية في المقدمة والمركز ، قدمت MAF 55000 منحة للأسر الأكثر احتياجًا.

في أكتوبر 2020 ، أجرت ماف دراسة استقصائية لمعرفة كيف أثر الوباء والأزمة الاقتصادية على أولئك الذين تخلفوا عن الركب ، وجمعت معلومات مفصلة من 11677 من متلقي المنح. الآن ، بالاعتماد على أكبر مسح وطني للمهاجرين الذين تم استبعادهم من الإغاثة الفيدرالية ، فإننا نبلغ عن الألم المالي العميق الذي يواجهه المهاجرون ، والاستراتيجيات التي يستخدمونها للتغلب على الأزمة ، وتكلفة الاستبعاد من شبكة الأمان المستمرة لترك الناس وراءهم.

11.5 م

المهاجرين وأفراد الأسرة مستبعدين

55,000

يمنح للمهاجرين

11,677

استجابات المسح

"بصفتي شخصًا غير موثق قدم ضرائبي لمدة اثني عشر عامًا ، كان من الصعب أن أقبل أنه في الأوقات التي نكافح فيها ، لا يمكننا استرداد أي شيء". - خوان

رؤى صندوق عائلات المهاجرين

الدمار المالي لعائلات المهاجرين

بينما مد الكونجرس شريان الحياة المالي للأسر المتعثرة من خلال ثلاث جولات من فحوصات التحفيز ، تم استبعاد أكثر من 11 مليون مهاجر وعائلاتهم من الدعم الذي تمس الحاجة إليه. في موجز الرؤى هذا ، نرى الآلام المالية العميقة التي يواجهها المهاجرون وتكلفة الاستبعاد من شبكة أمان غير مصممة للجميع.

قم بتنزيل موجز الإحصاءات #1

  • THE FINANCIAL DEVASTATION OF IMMIGRANT FAMILIES1

  • THE FINANCIAL DEVASTATION OF IMMIGRANT FAMILIES2

  • THE FINANCIAL DEVASTATION OF IMMIGRANT FAMILIES3

مسألة السياسات: كاليفورنيا ضد تكساس

في حين أن ولاية كاليفورنيا سنت وقفًا اختياريًا للإسكان والمرافق لمساعدة الأشخاص الذين يواجهون صعوبات مالية بسبب COVID-19 ، فشلت تكساس في سن دعم مماثل للوباء على مستوى الولاية. في هذا الموجز ، نرى كيف ساعدت حماية المستهلك العائلات على تجنب التدهور المالي الحاد ، بينما تركت سياسات الدولة المحافظة الأسر عرضة لتداعيات مالية أكبر.

قم بتنزيل موجز الإحصاءات #2

  • Eviction Moratoriums Helped Immigrants Stay in Homes

  • State Utility Moratoriums Averted Shutoffs

  • mafinsights-a-look-at-policy-impacts-in-ca-and-tx (3)

  • mafinsights-a-look-at-policy-impacts-in-ca-and-tx (4)

  • mafinsights-a-look-at-policy-impacts-in-ca-and-tx (5)

تأثير COVID-19 الدائم على أسر المهاجرين

في مواجهة فقدان الدخل وتركها خارج نطاق الإغاثة الفيدرالية للوباء ، اضطرت العائلات المهاجرة إلى اللجوء إلى استراتيجيات مالية طارئة للبقاء على قيد الحياة في يوم آخر. في هذا الموجز ، نسلط الضوء على كيفية تأثير التداعيات المالية لفيروس كوفيد -19 على المدى الطويل على العائلات المهاجرة التي اضطرت إلى البحث في استراتيجيات بناء ثرواتها لتغطية نفقاتها.

قم بتنزيل موجز الإحصاءات #3

  • صفحة 1

  • page-2

  • page-3

أساسية ولكنها غير مرئية ومستبعدة

بعد مرور عامين على الوباء ، نسمع قصصًا عن التعافي حيث يخرج معظم الأمريكيين أقوى ماليًا من ذي قبل. غابت عن هذه الروايات تجارب ملايين العائلات المهاجرة التي استُبعدت من الإغاثة ، وكثير منها ظهر لأدوار أساسية ، لكن تم التعامل معه على أنه غير مرئي. كيف نجت العائلات المهاجرة من الوباء؟ كيف يمكننا مساعدتهم في إعادة بناء حياتهم المالية؟

قم بتنزيل تقرير الإحصاءات

  • Immigrant Families Disproportionately Hit by COVID-191

  • Immigrant Families Disproportionately Hit by COVID-192

  • COVID-19 in Household Worsened Financial Hardship1

  • COVID-19 in Household Worsened Financial Hardship2

  • COVID-19 in Household Worsened Financial Hardship3

  • Immigrant Families Depleted Resources for the Future

"أنا متأخر في الإيجار والفواتير. أنا أم عزباء تربي ثلاثة أطفال. هذه المنحة مهمة بالنسبة لي لأنني سأحصل على شكل من أشكال الراحة لعلمي أن لدي بعض المال لشراء طعام أطفالي وأنه بقليل من المال يمكنني البدء في دفع الفواتير التي أدين بها ". - ديلسيس

أضواء المجتمع

صندوق إعانة المهاجرين في مقاطعة سان ماتيو

من خلال تقديم الإغاثة التي تركز على الإنصاف ، وصلت MAF في النهاية إلى 1 من كل 2 من عائلات المهاجرين غير المسجلين في مقاطعة سان ماتيو ، بتمويل أكثر من 16000 منحة. في هذا الموجز ، نرى الدمار المالي العميق للوباء على حياة العائلات المهاجرة في سان ماتيو - وهو دمار يهدد بجعل إعادة بناء الحياة المالية طريقًا شاقًا شاقًا للتعافي.

قم بتنزيل موجز SAN MATEO

  • صفحة 1

  • page-2

  • San Mateo Families With COVID-19 Got Hit Harder1

  • mafinsights-covid-19s-impact-on-immigrant-families-in-san-mateo-county

  • mafinsights-covid-19s-impact-on-immigrant-families-in-san-mateo-county (1)

عائلات المهاجرين في سان فرانسيسكو

بالنسبة لبعض المهاجرين الذين فقدوا وظائفهم المستقرة خلال COVID-19 ، أتاح العمل المؤقت فرصة للتغلب على الاضطرابات المالية. يوضح استطلاع ما بعد المنحة الذي أجرته MAF كيف حول COVID-19 سوق العمل للعائلات المهاجرة في سان فرانسيسكو - وكيف فشل التحول إلى العمل المؤقت في مساعدة العائلات على تلبية احتياجاتهم الأساسية.

تنزيل موجز سان فرانسيسكو

  • Immigrants in San Francisco Turned to Gig Work

  • Gig Workers Experienced More Food Insecurity

  • Families Who Transitioned to Gig Work Faced Higher Costs1

  • Families Who Transitioned to Gig Work Faced Higher Costs2

  • Families Who Transitioned to Gig Work Faced Higher Costs3

"لم أتأخر أبدًا أو أدين لأي شخص بأي شيء ، لذا فإن التواجد في هذا الموقف يجعلني أشعر كما لو أن شخصًا آخر يتحكم في نتائج حياتي." -ياسمين

استكشاف المزيد

شاهد برنامجنا التعليمي على الويب: مستبعد وغير مرئي

في خضم الوباء ، تم استبعاد ملايين العمال الأساسيين من الإغاثة الفيدرالية. بينما تتحدث وسائل الإعلام عن الجوانب الفضية لـ COVID-19 ، نسمع قصة مختلفة من العائلات التي تركناها وراءنا.

تسجيل الساعة

اقرأ قصة فرانسيسكو: القوة أثناء COVID-19

لطالما جاهد فرانسيسكو وقدم التضحيات للحفاظ على عائلته آمنة ومستقرة ماليًا. ولكن عندما تم وضع نظام المأوى في المكان ، انقلب عالمه رأسًا على عقب.

اقرأ أكثر

تعرف على شراكاتنا

يكون المجتمع في أفضل حالاته عندما يظهر الجيران بطرق هادفة مع الثقة والاحترام لبعضهم البعض. تعرف على قوة العمل الجماعي في الممارسة.

اقرأ أكثر

أكمل القراءة

سلسلة رؤى الاستجابة السريعة: تأثير COVID-19 على طلاب كلية كاليفورنيا

سلسلة إحصاءات الاستجابة السريعة

تأثير COVID-19 على طلاب الكلية العامة في كاليفورنيا

في غضون أيام ، قلب جائحة COVID-19 حياة الملايين رأساً على عقب. عندما أغلقت الكليات والجامعات حرمًا جامعيًا ، واجه الطلاب فجأة مستقبلًا غير مستقر: وجد الكثير منهم أنفسهم عاطلين عن العمل ومساكن مستقرة ، ويواجهون تكاليف غير متوقعة ، وغالبًا ما يكونون بدون التكنولوجيا أو الإمدادات لمواصلة العمل للحصول على شهادتهم.

بالشراكة مع College Futures Foundation ، اتخذنا قرارًا بالتصعيد ومنح طلاب الجامعات من ذوي الدخل المنخفض في كاليفورنيا أكثر ما يحتاجون إليه: المساعدة النقدية المباشرة. بين أبريل ويونيو ، قدم صندوق الدعم الطارئ لطلاب كلية كاليفورنيا مساعدة نقدية مباشرة لأكثر من 6000 طالب جامعي من ذوي الدخل المنخفض في نظام التعليم العالي العام في كاليفورنيا. قام الصندوق بتوزيع الإغاثة بعدسة الإنصاف ، مع إعطاء الأولوية للطلاب الذين ليس لديهم دخل أو الحصول على الإغاثة ، ومع اعتماد الأطفال عليهم. في يوليو ، تابعت MAF مع متلقي المنح لفهم كيف أثرت الأزمة على حياة الطلاب. على مدار أسبوعين ، استجاب 3،193 طالبًا لاستطلاع ما بعد المنحة ، وتحدثوا عن كيفية تغطية نفقاتهم وكيف أثرت منحة MAF على رحلتهم الأكاديمية والمالية.

في سلسلة رؤى الاستجابة السريعة هذه ، نسحب الستار عن الحياة المالية لطلاب الجامعات. نستكشف كيف تتشابك الاستراتيجيات والموارد المالية مع المسؤوليات الأسرية عبر آلاف الطلاب. عندما نتطلع إلى الأمام ، يجب أن تسترشد استجابتنا بفهم أساسي واحد: إذا كنا نريد حقًا مساعدة الناس على تحقيق أهدافهم ، فعلينا التركيز على ما هو أساسي - وهو الأمن المالي. ندعوك للدخول في الحياة المالية لطلاب الجامعات العامة ذوي الدخل المنخفض في CA واستكشاف سلسلة الأفكار الكاملة.

رؤى قابلة للمشاركة

  • صفحة 1

  • page-2

  • page-3


  • Financial Aid Fails Community College Students1

  • Financial Aid Fails Community College Students2

  • Financial Aid Fails Community College Students3

  • Community College Students Most At Risk Of Payday Loans

  • Students with Dependents More Likely To Work1

  • Students with Dependents More Likely To Work2

  • Students with Dependents More Likely To Work3

ندوة عبر الإنترنت: ضمان نجاح الطلاب الجامعيين من خلال الإغاثة المرتكزة على الإنصاف

تسجيل الساعة

رؤى #1: تأثير COVID-19 على طلاب كلية كاليفورنيا

قم بتنزيل موجز الإحصاءات #1

الرؤى #2: تختلف الحياة المالية لطلاب الجامعات عبر أنظمة التعليم العالي في كاليفورنيا

قم بتنزيل موجز الإحصاءات #2

تقرير الرؤى: المنح النقدية المستهدفة تدعم نجاح الكلية للطلاب بشكل فعال

قم بتنزيل تقرير الإحصاءات

تم تقديم الدعم لهذا البحث من قبل مؤسسة College Futures Foundation.

أكمل القراءة

العوائق غير المرئية: التنقل في الخدمات المالية باستخدام ITIN

العوائق غير المرئية: التنقل في الخدمات المالية باستخدام ITIN

تحميل

المشهد المالي في أمريكا مليء بالحواجز غير المرئية. تتخذ هذه الحواجز عدة أشكال ، بما في ذلك درجات الائتمان والحسابات المصرفية ومتطلبات تحديد الهوية. بالنسبة لملايين الأشخاص في هذا البلد ، فإن هذا الحاجز غير المرئي هو رقم تعريف دافع الضرائب الفردي أو ITIN. أرقام التعريف الشخصية ITINs هي أرقام مكونة من تسعة أرقام يتم إصدارها للأشخاص الذين يدفعون ضرائبهم ولكنهم غير مؤهلين للحصول على رقم الضمان الاجتماعي (SSN). يتم إصدارها لمجموعة متنوعة من الأشخاص ، بما في ذلك المستثمرين الدوليين والطلاب والأزواج في الولايات المتحدة على التأشيرات والمهاجرين. أصدرت وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية أكثر من 23 مليون ITINs خلال العقد الماضي. في عام 2015 وحده ، دفع أكثر من 4.3 مليون شخص الضرائب باستخدام ITIN - بلغ إجماليه أكثر من $13.7 مليار.

يستشهد العديد من مزودي الخدمات المالية بشبكات الضمان الاجتماعي باعتبارها الشكل الوحيد المقبول لتحديد الهوية. لا توجد لائحة بنكية تنص على أن رقم الضمان الاجتماعي ضروري أو نموذج التعريف الوحيد المقبول. لكن هذه المتطلبات الافتراضية ، في الواقع ، تصبح عوائق أمام الوصول إلى الخدمات المالية ، وإرسال رسالة واضحة إلى المجتمع: إذا لم يكن لديك SSN ، فالرجاء عدم التقديم.

هنا في MAF ، نخدم العديد من الأشخاص الذين تتجاهلهم المؤسسات المالية السائدة ، بما في ذلك الأشخاص الذين يتقدمون للحصول على الخدمات المالية باستخدام ITIN. في هذا التقرير التجريبي ، نصل إلى مجموعة بيانات العملاء الغنية الخاصة بنا لفهم كيف يتنقل عملاؤنا الذين لديهم ITINs في حياتهم المالية. على الرغم من أن تحليلنا ليس عينة وطنية ، إلا أنه يسلط الضوء على رؤى مهمة لمقدمي الخدمات والدعاة وواضعي السياسات.

تحميل

أكمل القراءة

MAF’s Financial Equity Framework: A Solution Rooted in Community

MAF’s Financial Equity Framework:

A Solution Rooted in Community

Faced with a devastating pandemic in 2020, MAF stepped up to meet the needs of low-income and immigrant communities with what they needed most in this crisis: unrestricted cash assistance. Guided by our community-centered approach, we launched a COVID-19 Rapid Response Fund to provide immediate relief to low-wage workers, immigrants, and college students who lost income during the pandemic.

On the day the fund opened, we were overwhelmed by the amount of need. With more than 250,000 grant applications but only enough funding to support 70,000 people, we chose to be more intentional in our funding distribution. We decided against a ‘first-come, first-served” approach or lottery system, approaches that benefit people with access, information, and luck. Instead, we took what we’ve learned over the years from serving low-income and immigrant families to create a Financial Equity Framework. Under this framework, we prioritized people who stood to benefit the most from relief: people facing structural barriers with the fewest income streams and most financial strains. Notably, without considering race or ethnicity, MAF’s financial equity approach delivered 93% of emergency grants to people of color.

For years, MAF has challenged what is possible in the fight against poverty, innovating solutions rooted in community that put poor people front and center. Our Financial Equity Framework is yet another way we are continuing our fight for social justice: by offering a clear, relevant, and actionable tool that can reach people facing multiple inequities in their financial lives. By focusing on financial equity, we can move closer to racial equity, and unleash the full potential of people who have been living at the margins of society for too long.

DOWNLOAD REPORT

Support for this research was provided by the College Futures Foundation.

Continue reading

Lessons from Immigrant Families Left out of Federal Relief

RAPID RESPONSE INSIGHTS SERIES

Lessons from Immigrant Families Left out of Federal Relief

Almost overnight, the COVID-19 pandemic decimated the financial lives of immigrant families. Through no fault of their own, millions of immigrants lost jobs and income they relied on to support their families, forcing them to deplete what little savings they had or extend credit just to survive. In their time of greatest need, Congress excluded more than 11 million immigrants and their families from emergency stimulus checks and a desperately-needed financial lifeline.

In an effort to help those left behind, MAF launched the Immigrant Families Fund (IFF) to provide unrestricted cash grants to people excluded from federal relief. Since launching the IFF in April 2020, MAF has received over 200,000 applications for support. Overwhelmed with requests for help, we designed a financial equity framework to determine who could benefit the most from a one-time grant, prioritizing applicants with the fewest income sources and most financial strains. By placing financial equity front and center, MAF has provided 55,000 grants to families with the greatest need.

In October 2020, MAF conducted a survey to learn how the pandemic and economic crisis impacted those left behind, collecting detailed information from 11,677 grant recipients. Now, drawing on what is the largest national survey of immigrants left out of federal relief, we report on the deep financial pain immigrants are facing, the strategies they are using to weather the crisis, and the cost of exclusion from a safety net that continues to leave people behind.

11.5M

immigrant & family members excluded

55,000

grants to immigrants

11,677

survey responses

“As an undocumented person who has filed my taxes for twelve years, it has been hard to have to accept that in times when we struggle, we are unable to receive anything back.” –Juan

Immigrant Families Fund Insights

The Financial Devastation of Immigrant Families

While Congress extended a financial lifeline to struggling families through three rounds of stimulus checks, over 11 million immigrants and their families were excluded from desperately-needed support. In this insights brief, we see the deep financial pain immigrants are facing and the cost of exclusion from a safety net that was not designed for everyone.

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #1

Policies Matter: California v Texas

While California enacted housing and utilities moratoriums to help people facing financial hardship due to COVID-19, Texas failed to enact similar state level pandemic supports. In this brief, we see how consumer protections helped families avoid a steeper downward financial spiral, while conservative state policies have left households vulnerable to greater financial fallout.

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #2

COVID-19’s Lasting Impact on Immigrant Families

Facing income loss and left out of federal pandemic relief, immigrant families had to resort to emergency financial strategies to survive another day. In this brief, we shine a light on how the financial fallout from COVID-19 will have a long-lasting impact on immigrant families who’ve had to dig into their wealth building strategies to make ends meet.

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #3

Essential But Invisible and Excluded

Two years into the pandemic, we hear stories about a recovery where most Americans are coming out financially stronger than before. Missing from these narratives are the experiences of the millions of immigrant families who were excluded from relief, many whom showed up for essential roles, but were treated as invisible. How did immigrant families survive the pandemic? How can we help them rebuild their financial lives?

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS REPORT

“I am behind on rent and bills. I am a single mother raising three children. This grant is important to me because I am going to have a form of relief knowing that I have some money to buy my children food and that with little money I can start paying the bills I owe.” – Delsis

Community Spotlights

San Mateo County Immigrant Relief Fund

By offering equity-centered relief, MAF ultimately reached 1 in 2 undocumented immigrant families in San Mateo County, funding more than 16,000 grants. In this brief, we see the deep financial devastation of the pandemic on the lives of immigrant families in San Mateo𑁋a devastation that threatens to make rebuilding financial lives a steep uphill road to recovery.

DOWNLOAD SAN MATEO BRIEF

Immigrant Families in San Francisco

For some immigrants who lost their stable jobs during COVID-19, gig work offered a window of opportunity to navigate the financial upheaval. MAF’s post grant survey captures how COVID-19 transformed the job market for immigrant families in San Francisco𑁋and how the shift to gig work fell short in helping families meet their basic needs.

DOWNLOAD SAN FRANCISCO BRIEF

“I have never been late or owed anyone anything so being in this situation makes me feel as if somebody else is controlling the outcome of my life.” –Jasmin

Explore More

Watch our Webinar: Excluded & Invisible

In the midst of a pandemic, millions of essential workers were excluded from federal relief. While media outlets report on the silver linings of COVID-19, we hear a different story from the families left behind.

WATCH RECORDING

Read Francisco’s Story: Strength During COVID-19

Francisco has always hustled and made sacrifices to keep his family safe and financially stable. But when the shelter-in-place order was instituted, his world turned upside down.

Read more

Learn about our partnerships

A community is at its best when neighbors show up in meaningful ways with trust and respect for one another. Learn about the power of collective action in practice.

Read more

Continue reading

Rapid Response Insights Series: COVID-19’s Impact on CA College Students

RAPID RESPONSE INSIGHTS SERIES

COVID-19’s Impact on CA Public College Students

In a matter of days, the COVID-19 pandemic upended the lives of millions. As colleges and universities closed campuses, students were suddenly faced with a precarious future: many found themselves out of work and stable housing, facing unexpected costs, and often without the technology or supplies to continue working toward their degree.

In partnership with the College Futures Foundation, we made a decision to step up and give California’s low-income college students what they needed most: direct cash assistance. Between April and June, the CA College Student Emergency Support Fund provided direct cash assistance to more than 6,000low-income college students in California’s public higher education system. The Fund distributed relief with an equity lens, prioritizing students without income or access to relief, and with children relying on them. In July, MAF followed up with grant recipients to understand how the crisis was impacting students’ lives. Over two weeks, 3,193 students responded to the post-grant survey, sharing how they were making ends meet and how MAF’s grant had impacted their academic and financial journey.

In this Rapid Response Insights Series, we pull back the curtain on the financial lives of college students. We explore how, across thousands of students, financial strategies and resources are interwoven with family responsibilities. When we look ahead, our response needs to be guided by one fundamental understanding: if we truly want to help people reach their goals, we have to focus on what’s foundational—financial security. We invite you to step into the financial lives of CA’s low-income public college students and explore the full insights series.

Shareable Insights


Webinar: Ensuring College Student Success Through Equity-Centered Relief

WATCH RECORDING

Insights #1: COVID-19’s Impact on CA College Students

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #1

Insights #2: College Students’ Financial Lives Differ Across CA’s Higher Ed Systems

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #2

Insights Report: Targeted Cash Grants Effectively Support Students’ College Success

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS REPORT

Support for this research was provided by the College Futures Foundation.

Invisible Barriers: Navigating Financial Services with an ITIN

Invisible Barriers: Navigating Financial Services with an ITIN

DOWNLOAD

America’s financial landscape is littered with invisible barriers. These barriers take many forms, including credit scores, bank accounts, and identification requirements. For millions of people in this country, that invisible barrier is an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number or an ITIN. ITINs are nine-digit numbers issued to people paying their taxes but who are not eligible for a Social Security Number (SSN). They are issued to a variety of people, including international investors, students and spouses in the U.S. on visas, and immigrants. The U.S. Treasury has issued over 23 million ITINs over the last decade. In 2015 alone, over 4.3 million people paid taxes with an ITIN -totaling over $13.7 billion.

Many financial services providers cite SSNs as the only acceptable form of identification. There is no banking regulation that says an SSN is necessary or the only acceptable identification form. But these default requirements, in effect, become barriers to accessing financial services, sending a clear message to the community: If you don’t have an SSN, please don’t apply.

Here at MAF, we serve many people that mainstream financial institutions overlook, including people who apply for financial services with an ITIN. In this pilot report, we are reaching into our rich client dataset to understand how our clients with ITINs navigate their financial lives. While not a national sample, our analysis lifts up important insights for providers, advocates, and policymakers.

DOWNLOAD

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English