跳到主要内容

MAF的金融股权框架:植根于社区的解决方案

MAF 的金融公平框架:

一个植根于社区的解决方案

面对 2020 年的毁灭性大流行,MAF 加紧满足低收入和移民社区的需求,提供他们在这场危机中最需要的东西:不受限制的现金援助。在我们以社区为中心的方法的指导下,我们启动了 COVID-19 快速反应基金,为在大流行期间失去收入的低工资工人、移民和大学生提供即时救济。

在基金开放的那天,我们被需求量压得喘不过气来。有超过 250,000 份赠款申请,但资金仅够支持 70,000 人,因此我们在资金分配中选择更加有意。我们决定不采用“先到先得”的方法或抽奖系统,这种方法可以使具有访问权限、信息和运气的人受益。相反,我们利用多年来为低收入和移民家庭服务的经验来创建金融公平框架。在这个框架下,我们优先考虑从救济中受益最多的人:面临结构性障碍、收入流最少、财务压力最大的人。值得注意的是,在不考虑种族或民族的情况下,MAF 的金融公平方法为有色人种提供了 93% 的紧急补助金。

多年来,MAF 一直在挑战与贫困作斗争的可能性,创新植根于社区的解决方案,将贫困人口置于首位。我们的金融公平框架是我们继续为社会正义而斗争的另一种方式:通过提供一个清晰、相关且可操作的工具,可以帮助在财务生活中面临多重不平等的人们。通过关注金融公平,我们可以更接近种族公平,并释放长期生活在社会边缘的人们的全部潜力。

下载报告

本研究得到了大学未来基金会的支持。

继续阅读

被排除在联邦救济之外的移民家庭的教训

快速反应见解系列

被排除在联邦救济之外的移民家庭的教训

几乎在一夜之间,COVID-19 大流行摧毁了移民家庭的财务生活。由于他们自己的过错,数百万移民失去了他们赖以养家糊口的工作和收入,迫使他们耗尽他们仅有的一点点积蓄或扩大信贷以求生存。在他们最需要的时候,国会将超过 1100 万移民及其家人排除在紧急刺激检查和急需的金融生命线之外。

为了帮助那些留守者,MAF 启动了移民家庭基金 (IFF),向被排除在联邦救济之外的人提供不受限制的现金补助。自 2020 年 4 月启动 IFF 以来,MAF 已收到超过 200,000 份支持申请。不堪重负的求助请求,我们设计了一个 金融公平框架 确定谁可以从一次性赠款中受益最大,优先考虑收入来源最少和财务压力最大的申请人。通过将金融股权放在首位和中心,MAF 已向最需要的家庭提供了 55,000 笔赠款。

2020年10月,MAF进行了一项调查,以了解大流行病和经济危机对留守儿童的影响,收集了11677名资助者的详细信息。现在,根据对被排除在联邦救济之外的移民进行的最大规模的全国性调查,我们报告了移民所面临的深刻的经济痛苦,他们用来抵御危机的策略,以及被排除在安全网之外的代价,这将继续使人们落在后面。

11.5M

移民和家庭成员除外

55,000

移民补助金

11,677

调查回复

“作为一个已经为我报税 12 年的无证人士,很难接受在我们挣扎的时候,我们无法收回任何东西。” ——胡安

移民家庭基金见解

移民家庭的财务灾难

虽然国会通过三轮刺激检查为陷入困境的家庭提供了财务生命线,但仍有超过 1100 万移民及其家人无法获得急需的支持。在这份见解简报中,我们看到了移民面临的深刻经济痛苦以及被排除在并非为所有人设计的安全网之外的成本。

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #1

  • 移民家庭的经济损失1

  • 移民家庭的经济损失2

  • 移民家庭的经济损失3

政策问题:加利福尼亚对德克萨斯

虽然加利福尼亚州颁布了住房和公用事业禁令以帮助因 COVID-19 而面临经济困难的人们,但德克萨斯州未能颁布类似的州级大流行支持。在这份简报中,我们看到了消费者保护如何帮助家庭避免更急剧的财务螺旋式下降,而保守的国家政策使家庭容易受到更大的财务影响。

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #2

  • 暂停驱逐帮助移民留在家里

  • 国家公用事业公司暂停运营以避免停电

  • mafinsights-a-look-at-policy-impacts-in-ca-and-tx (3)

  • mafinsights-a-look-at-policy-impacts-in-ca-and-tx (4)

  • mafinsights-a-look-at-policy-impacts-in-ca-and-tx (5)

COVID-19 对移民家庭的持久影响

面对收入损失和联邦大流行救济被排除在外的情况,移民家庭不得不采取紧急财务策略来度过新的一天。在这份简报中,我们阐明了 COVID-19 的财务影响将如何对不得不深入研究财富积累策略以维持生计的移民家庭产生长期影响。

下载见解简介 #3

  • 第1页

  • 第2页

  • 第3页

必不可少但不可见和被排除在外

大流行两年后,我们听到了有关复苏的故事,大多数美国人的经济状况比以前更强大。这些叙述中缺少数百万移民家庭的经历,他们被排除在救济之外,其中许多人出现了重要角色,但被视为隐形人。移民家庭如何在大流行中幸存下来?我们如何帮助他们重建财务生活?

下载IGHTS报告

  • 移民家庭受到 COVID-191 的影响尤为严重

  • 移民家庭受到 COVID-192 的影响尤为严重

  • COVID-19 导致家庭经济困难加剧1

  • COVID-19 导致家庭经济困难加剧2

  • COVID-19 导致家庭经济困难加剧3

  • 移民家庭耗尽了未来的资源

“我在租金和账单上落后了。我是一个单身母亲,抚养三个孩子。这笔赠款对我很重要,因为我知道我有一些钱可以为孩子们买食物,而且我可以用很少的钱开始支付我欠的账单,因此我将获得某种形式的救济。” – 德尔西斯

社区聚光灯

圣马刁县移民救济基金

通过提供以股权为中心的救济,MAF 最终覆盖了圣马特奥县二分之一的无证移民家庭,提供了超过 16,000 笔赠款。在这篇简报中,我们看到了大流行病对圣马特奥移民家庭生活造成的严重经济破坏𑁋,这种破坏有可能使重建经济生活成为通往复苏的艰难道路。

下载圣马特奥简介

  • 第1页

  • 第2页

  • 圣马特奥市感染 COVID-19 的家庭受到的打击更严重1

  • mafinsights-covid-19s-对圣马特奥县移民家庭的影响

  • mafinsights-covid-19s-对圣马特奥县移民家庭的影响 (1)

旧金山的移民家庭

对于一些在 COVID-19 期间失去稳定工作的移民来说,零工工作提供了一个度过金融动荡的机会之窗。 MAF 的资助后调查记录了 COVID-19 如何改变旧金山移民家庭的就业市场𑁋,以及向零工的转变如何未能帮助家庭满足其基本需求。

下载旧金山简介

  • 旧金山的移民转向零工工作

  • 零工工人经历了更多的粮食不安全

  • 转向零工的家庭面临更高的成本1

  • 转向零工的家庭面临更高的成本2

  • 转向零工的家庭面临更高的成本3

“我从来没有迟到或欠过任何人任何东西,所以在这种情况下让我觉得好像有人在控制我生活的结果。” –茉莉

探索更多

观看我们的网络研讨会:排除和隐形

在大流行期间,数百万基本工人被排除在联邦救济之外。虽然媒体报道了 COVID-19 的一线希望,但我们从留下的家庭那里听到了不同的故事。

观看记录

阅读弗朗西斯科的故事:COVID-19 期间的力量

弗朗西斯科一直努力工作并做出牺牲,以确保家人的安全和财务稳定。但当就地庇护令颁布后,他的世界发生了天翻地覆的变化。

阅读更多

了解我们的合作伙伴关系

当邻居以相互信任和尊重的有意义的方式出现时,社区处于最佳状态。了解集体行动在实践中的力量。

阅读更多

继续阅读

快速反应洞察系列:COVID-19 对加州大学生的影响

快速反应见解系列

COVID-19对加州公立大学学生的影响

在短短几天内,COVID-19大流行病改变了数百万人的生活。随着大专院校关闭校园,学生们突然面临岌岌可危的未来:许多人发现自己失去了工作和稳定的住房,面临着意想不到的费用,而且往往没有继续攻读学位的技术或用品。

通过与大学期货基金会合作,我们决定加大力度,为加州的低收入大学生提供他们最需要的东西:直接现金援助。在 4 月至 6 月期间,加州大学生紧急支持基金向加州公立高等教育系统的 6,000 多名低收入大学生提供了直接现金援助。该基金以公平的视角分配救济,优先考虑没有收入或获得救济的学生,以及依赖他们的儿童。 7 月,MAF 与赠款接受者进行了跟进,以了解危机如何影响学生的生活。在两周内,3,193 名学生对拨款后调查做出了回应,分享了他们如何维持生计以及 MAF 的拨款如何影响他们的学业和财务之旅。

在这个快速反应的洞察系列中,我们拉开了大学生经济生活的帷幕。我们探讨在成千上万的学生中,财务策略和资源如何与家庭责任交织在一起。当我们展望未来时,我们的应对措施需要遵循一个基本的认识:如果我们真正想帮助人们实现他们的目标,我们必须关注基础性的东西--财务安全。我们邀请您走进加州低收入公立大学学生的财务生活,探索完整的洞察系列。

可分享的见解

  • 第1页

  • 第2页

  • 第3页


  • 经济援助失败的社区学院学生1

  • 经济援助失败了社区学院的学生2

  • 经济援助失败的社区学院学生3

  • 社区学院学生最有可能获得发薪日贷款

  • 有家属的学生更有可能工作1

  • 有家属的学生更有可能工作2

  • 有家属的学生更有可能工作3

网络研讨会。通过以公平为中心的救济确保大学生的成功

观看记录

洞察力#1:COVID-19对加州大学学生的影响

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #1

洞察力#2:大学生的经济生活在加州的高等教育系统中各不相同。

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #2

洞察报告。定向现金补助金有效支持学生的大学成就

下载IGHTS报告

本研究得到了大学未来基金会的支持。

继续阅读

隐形的障碍。用ITIN导航金融服务

隐形的障碍。用ITIN导航金融服务

下载

美国的金融环境中到处都是无形的障碍。这些障碍有多种形式,包括信用评分、银行账户和身份识别要求。对于这个国家的数百万人来说,这个无形的障碍就是个人纳税人识别号或ITIN。ITIN是发给纳税人的九位数号码,但他们没有资格获得社会安全号(SSN)。ITIN发给各种人,包括国际投资者、学生和持签证在美国的配偶,以及移民。在过去十年中,美国财政部已经发放了超过2300万个ITIN。仅在2015年,就有超过430万人使用ITIN缴税--总金额超过$137亿。

许多金融服务提供者将社会安全号作为唯一可接受的身份识别形式。没有任何银行条例规定社会安全号是必要的或唯一可接受的身份证明形式。但这些默认的要求,实际上成为了获得金融服务的障碍,向社会发出了明确的信息。如果你没有社会安全号,请不要申请。

在MAF,我们为许多主流金融机构所忽视的人提供服务,包括使用ITIN申请金融服务的人。在这份试点报告中,我们深入到我们丰富的客户数据集中,了解我们的ITIN客户是如何引导他们的金融生活的。虽然不是全国性的样本,但我们的分析为提供者、倡导者和政策制定者提供了重要的见解。

下载

继续阅读

MAF’s Financial Equity Framework: A Solution Rooted in Community

MAF’s Financial Equity Framework:

A Solution Rooted in Community

Faced with a devastating pandemic in 2020, MAF stepped up to meet the needs of low-income and immigrant communities with what they needed most in this crisis: unrestricted cash assistance. Guided by our community-centered approach, we launched a COVID-19 Rapid Response Fund to provide immediate relief to low-wage workers, immigrants, and college students who lost income during the pandemic.

On the day the fund opened, we were overwhelmed by the amount of need. With more than 250,000 grant applications but only enough funding to support 70,000 people, we chose to be more intentional in our funding distribution. We decided against a ‘first-come, first-served” approach or lottery system, approaches that benefit people with access, information, and luck. Instead, we took what we’ve learned over the years from serving low-income and immigrant families to create a Financial Equity Framework. Under this framework, we prioritized people who stood to benefit the most from relief: people facing structural barriers with the fewest income streams and most financial strains. Notably, without considering race or ethnicity, MAF’s financial equity approach delivered 93% of emergency grants to people of color.

For years, MAF has challenged what is possible in the fight against poverty, innovating solutions rooted in community that put poor people front and center. Our Financial Equity Framework is yet another way we are continuing our fight for social justice: by offering a clear, relevant, and actionable tool that can reach people facing multiple inequities in their financial lives. By focusing on financial equity, we can move closer to racial equity, and unleash the full potential of people who have been living at the margins of society for too long.

DOWNLOAD REPORT

Support for this research was provided by the College Futures Foundation.

Continue reading

Lessons from Immigrant Families Left out of Federal Relief

RAPID RESPONSE INSIGHTS SERIES

Lessons from Immigrant Families Left out of Federal Relief

Almost overnight, the COVID-19 pandemic decimated the financial lives of immigrant families. Through no fault of their own, millions of immigrants lost jobs and income they relied on to support their families, forcing them to deplete what little savings they had or extend credit just to survive. In their time of greatest need, Congress excluded more than 11 million immigrants and their families from emergency stimulus checks and a desperately-needed financial lifeline.

In an effort to help those left behind, MAF launched the Immigrant Families Fund (IFF) to provide unrestricted cash grants to people excluded from federal relief. Since launching the IFF in April 2020, MAF has received over 200,000 applications for support. Overwhelmed with requests for help, we designed a financial equity framework to determine who could benefit the most from a one-time grant, prioritizing applicants with the fewest income sources and most financial strains. By placing financial equity front and center, MAF has provided 55,000 grants to families with the greatest need.

In October 2020, MAF conducted a survey to learn how the pandemic and economic crisis impacted those left behind, collecting detailed information from 11,677 grant recipients. Now, drawing on what is the largest national survey of immigrants left out of federal relief, we report on the deep financial pain immigrants are facing, the strategies they are using to weather the crisis, and the cost of exclusion from a safety net that continues to leave people behind.

11.5M

immigrant & family members excluded

55,000

grants to immigrants

11,677

survey responses

“As an undocumented person who has filed my taxes for twelve years, it has been hard to have to accept that in times when we struggle, we are unable to receive anything back.” –Juan

Immigrant Families Fund Insights

The Financial Devastation of Immigrant Families

While Congress extended a financial lifeline to struggling families through three rounds of stimulus checks, over 11 million immigrants and their families were excluded from desperately-needed support. In this insights brief, we see the deep financial pain immigrants are facing and the cost of exclusion from a safety net that was not designed for everyone.

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #1

Policies Matter: California v Texas

While California enacted housing and utilities moratoriums to help people facing financial hardship due to COVID-19, Texas failed to enact similar state level pandemic supports. In this brief, we see how consumer protections helped families avoid a steeper downward financial spiral, while conservative state policies have left households vulnerable to greater financial fallout.

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #2

COVID-19’s Lasting Impact on Immigrant Families

Facing income loss and left out of federal pandemic relief, immigrant families had to resort to emergency financial strategies to survive another day. In this brief, we shine a light on how the financial fallout from COVID-19 will have a long-lasting impact on immigrant families who’ve had to dig into their wealth building strategies to make ends meet.

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #3

Essential But Invisible and Excluded

Two years into the pandemic, we hear stories about a recovery where most Americans are coming out financially stronger than before. Missing from these narratives are the experiences of the millions of immigrant families who were excluded from relief, many whom showed up for essential roles, but were treated as invisible. How did immigrant families survive the pandemic? How can we help them rebuild their financial lives?

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS REPORT

“I am behind on rent and bills. I am a single mother raising three children. This grant is important to me because I am going to have a form of relief knowing that I have some money to buy my children food and that with little money I can start paying the bills I owe.” – Delsis

Community Spotlights

San Mateo County Immigrant Relief Fund

By offering equity-centered relief, MAF ultimately reached 1 in 2 undocumented immigrant families in San Mateo County, funding more than 16,000 grants. In this brief, we see the deep financial devastation of the pandemic on the lives of immigrant families in San Mateo𑁋a devastation that threatens to make rebuilding financial lives a steep uphill road to recovery.

DOWNLOAD SAN MATEO BRIEF

Immigrant Families in San Francisco

For some immigrants who lost their stable jobs during COVID-19, gig work offered a window of opportunity to navigate the financial upheaval. MAF’s post grant survey captures how COVID-19 transformed the job market for immigrant families in San Francisco𑁋and how the shift to gig work fell short in helping families meet their basic needs.

DOWNLOAD SAN FRANCISCO BRIEF

“I have never been late or owed anyone anything so being in this situation makes me feel as if somebody else is controlling the outcome of my life.” –Jasmin

Explore More

Watch our Webinar: Excluded & Invisible

In the midst of a pandemic, millions of essential workers were excluded from federal relief. While media outlets report on the silver linings of COVID-19, we hear a different story from the families left behind.

WATCH RECORDING

Read Francisco’s Story: Strength During COVID-19

Francisco has always hustled and made sacrifices to keep his family safe and financially stable. But when the shelter-in-place order was instituted, his world turned upside down.

Read more

Learn about our partnerships

A community is at its best when neighbors show up in meaningful ways with trust and respect for one another. Learn about the power of collective action in practice.

Read more

Continue reading

Rapid Response Insights Series: COVID-19’s Impact on CA College Students

RAPID RESPONSE INSIGHTS SERIES

COVID-19’s Impact on CA Public College Students

In a matter of days, the COVID-19 pandemic upended the lives of millions. As colleges and universities closed campuses, students were suddenly faced with a precarious future: many found themselves out of work and stable housing, facing unexpected costs, and often without the technology or supplies to continue working toward their degree.

In partnership with the College Futures Foundation, we made a decision to step up and give California’s low-income college students what they needed most: direct cash assistance. Between April and June, the CA College Student Emergency Support Fund provided direct cash assistance to more than 6,000low-income college students in California’s public higher education system. The Fund distributed relief with an equity lens, prioritizing students without income or access to relief, and with children relying on them. In July, MAF followed up with grant recipients to understand how the crisis was impacting students’ lives. Over two weeks, 3,193 students responded to the post-grant survey, sharing how they were making ends meet and how MAF’s grant had impacted their academic and financial journey.

In this Rapid Response Insights Series, we pull back the curtain on the financial lives of college students. We explore how, across thousands of students, financial strategies and resources are interwoven with family responsibilities. When we look ahead, our response needs to be guided by one fundamental understanding: if we truly want to help people reach their goals, we have to focus on what’s foundational—financial security. We invite you to step into the financial lives of CA’s low-income public college students and explore the full insights series.

Shareable Insights


Webinar: Ensuring College Student Success Through Equity-Centered Relief

WATCH RECORDING

Insights #1: COVID-19’s Impact on CA College Students

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #1

Insights #2: College Students’ Financial Lives Differ Across CA’s Higher Ed Systems

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS BRIEF #2

Insights Report: Targeted Cash Grants Effectively Support Students’ College Success

DOWNLOAD INSIGHTS REPORT

Support for this research was provided by the College Futures Foundation.

Invisible Barriers: Navigating Financial Services with an ITIN

Invisible Barriers: Navigating Financial Services with an ITIN

DOWNLOAD

America’s financial landscape is littered with invisible barriers. These barriers take many forms, including credit scores, bank accounts, and identification requirements. For millions of people in this country, that invisible barrier is an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number or an ITIN. ITINs are nine-digit numbers issued to people paying their taxes but who are not eligible for a Social Security Number (SSN). They are issued to a variety of people, including international investors, students and spouses in the U.S. on visas, and immigrants. The U.S. Treasury has issued over 23 million ITINs over the last decade. In 2015 alone, over 4.3 million people paid taxes with an ITIN -totaling over $13.7 billion.

Many financial services providers cite SSNs as the only acceptable form of identification. There is no banking regulation that says an SSN is necessary or the only acceptable identification form. But these default requirements, in effect, become barriers to accessing financial services, sending a clear message to the community: If you don’t have an SSN, please don’t apply.

Here at MAF, we serve many people that mainstream financial institutions overlook, including people who apply for financial services with an ITIN. In this pilot report, we are reaching into our rich client dataset to understand how our clients with ITINs navigate their financial lives. While not a national sample, our analysis lifts up important insights for providers, advocates, and policymakers.

DOWNLOAD

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English