منحت MAF $45 مليون لدعم أسر المهاجرين خلال أزمة COVID-19. لا يزال الأمر غير كاف - يجب على الكونغرس التصرف.

بناءً على حملة الاستجابة السريعة لـ COVID-19 على مستوى البلاد ، منحت فاعلة الخير ماكنزي سكوت مليون MAF $45 لتوفير الإغاثة المباشرة لأولئك الأكثر تضررًا من الوباء. تتيح هدية ماكنزي سكوت السخية لـ MAF مواصلة تقديم الإغاثة المالية للعائلات المهاجرة المستبعدة من تلقي المساعدة. على مدار العام الماضي ، وزعت MAF بالفعل مساعدة نقدية مباشرة لأكثر من 48000 فرد لمساعدتهم على تجاوز الأزمة - واليوم تستعد المنظمة للقيام بالمزيد. 

على الرغم من هذه الجهود ، فإن مدى وصول منظمة واحدة مثل MAF ليس قريبًا بما يكفي لمواجهة الدمار المالي المذهل الذي يواجهه ملايين العائلات المهاجرة التي تُركت خارج الإغاثة الفيدرالية. نحن بحاجة إلى القيادة والعمل على المستوى الوطني لضمان أن يكون الأخير والأقل جزءًا من الانتعاش المستدام.

اتخذ الكونجرس خطوات هادفة في الأشهر الأخيرة لتوسيع شبكة الأمان عندما تكون العائلات في أمس الحاجة إليها.

فاتورة الإغاثة من COVID لشهر ديسمبر 2020 و 2021 خطة الإنقاذ الأمريكية مددت الجولات الأخيرة من الإغاثة المالية إلى أكثر من 3 ملايين شخص في الأسر ذات الوضع المختلط الذين تم استبعادهم من قانون CARES لعام 2020. ومع ذلك ، يقدر 11 مليون يستمر حرمان الأشخاص من عائلات المهاجرين من المساعدة حتى مع استمرار الاقتصاد في العمل الأساسي.

"بصفتي شخصًا غير موثق قدم ضرائبي لمدة اثني عشر عامًا ، كان من الصعب أن أقبل أنه في الأوقات التي نكافح فيها ، لا يمكننا استرداد أي شيء". 

خوان ، متلقي منحة الاستجابة السريعة

يأتي هذا الاستبعاد في وقت يعتمد فيه اقتصادنا على عاتق العمال الأساسيين الذين لا يستطيعون الحصول على الدعم لمواجهة الوباء حتى وهم يعانون معدلات أعلى من عدوى ووفيات COVID. العمال الأساسيون هم عمال مهاجرون والعديد منهم لا يحصلون على الإغاثة هم انهم بالجوع، هبوط خلف الايجار، مفقود الفواتير الشهرية بدون ذنب من جانبهم. 

يجب عمل المزيد. 

في مواجهة لحظة الأزمة هذه ، يجب على الكونجرس تقديم الإغاثة التي تمس الحاجة إليها وتضمين الجميع - بغض النظر عن وضع الهجرة. على مدار العام الماضي ، رأينا كيف انخفضت التكاليف الصحية والاقتصادية لوباء COVID-19 بشكل غير متناسب على عاتق المهمشين والمستبعدين وغير المرئيين. يجب على الكونجرس أن يوسع نطاق دعمه ليشمل جميع المهاجرين ، وأن يضع الإنصاف في المقدمة والمركز لتقديم الإغاثة على أقل تقدير وأخيراً. يقع هذا التركيز المتعمد على حقوق المساهمين في قلب صندوق الاستجابة السريعة التابع لـ MAF ، والوسائل التي قدمت المنظمة من خلالها ما يقرب من 1 تيرابايت 2 مليون تريليون دولار في شكل مساعدات نقدية مباشرة.

"لقد أمضينا 14 عامًا في بناء منصات قابلة للتطوير ، ومنتجات ذات صلة ، وشبكة وطنية من المنظمات المجتمعية لمساعدة الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين على تحسين أمنهم المالي. الآن ، نحن نستخدم منصتنا كأنابيب لتوزيع مياه الإغاثة بشكل فعال وبكرامة في أيدي أولئك الذين يعانون من الجفاف ، والذين تم حرمانهم ونسيانهم ".

الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة ماف خوسيه كوينونيز

إن قدرة MAF على العمل والتوسع بسرعة هي نتيجة مباشرة للشركاء الذين لديهم ولا يزالون يؤمنون برؤيتها للاستفادة من أفضل التقنيات والتمويل في خدمة أولئك الذين تركوا في الظل. لقد مكن دعمهم المستمر ماف من ريادة طرق جديدة للقاء الناس أينما كانوا ، في ملء تعقيدهم وإنسانيتهم. تعمل ماف الآن على توسيع نطاق عملها الذي يركز على الإنصاف لمساعدة الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين بشكل مباشر خلال هذه الأزمة غير المسبوقة. 

ماف تشيد بماكنزي سكوت لظهورها ، بإلحاح وقناعة ، لبذل المزيد من أجل العائلات التي هبطت إلى الظل. حان الوقت الآن لكي يفعل الكونغرس الشيء نفسه. 

المهاجرون ضروريون ، ويخاطرون بحياتهم لإبقاء بلدنا واقفاً على قدميه خلال هذا الوباء. 

لقد تقدموا من أجلنا ، والآن حان دورنا لنصعد من أجلهم. إذا كنا نريد حقًا مسارًا أكثر ديمومة وازدهارًا للتعافي ، فإن الكونجرس بحاجة إلى إزالة الحواجز الهيكلية التي طالما وقفت في طريق قدرات الناس للوصول إلى إمكاناتهم الاقتصادية الكاملة. 

واليوم ، ليس لدينا اقتراح واحد بل خمسة مقترحات يمكن أن تساعدنا في تحقيق ذلك. لدينا مقترحات من شأنها توفير الوضع القانوني والحماية لملايين الحالمين وأصحاب الوضع المحمي المؤقت (TPS) وعمال المزارع والعاملين الأساسيين وأسرهم. في حين أن هذه الفواتير يمكن أن تكون اللبنات الأساسية للمضي قدمًا ، إلا أنها ليست الهدف النهائي. يجب على الكونجرس في نهاية المطاف المضي قدمًا في قانون المواطنة الأمريكية لعام 2021 ، والذي يقدم إصلاحًا شاملًا من شأنه أن يمنح 11 مليون مهاجر غير شرعي طريقًا للحصول على الجنسية. 

من خلال إزالة هذه الحواجز التي طال أمدها والتي دفعت الملايين إلى الظل لفترة طويلة ، يمكن للمهاجرين أن تتاح لهم الفرصة لإعادة بناء حياتهم المالية بشكل كامل وكرامة. يمكن أن يتمتعوا بالاستقرار المالي في حياتهم لإعادة بناء أمنهم المالي ، ولديهم فرصة قتالية في التعافي بعد الوباء. 

ما زال عملنا بعيد المنال - إنها مسؤوليتنا الجماعية أن نحث ممثلينا على اتخاذ إجراءات فورية. نحن بحاجة إلى تقديم الإغاثة والمواطنة للجميع إذا كنا نسعى حقًا إلى إعادة بناء عالم منصف يصلح للجميع.

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها بـ *

هذا الموقع يستخدم Akismet للحدّ من التعليقات المزعجة والغير مرغوبة. تعرّف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

MAF Awarded $45 Million To Support Immigrant Families During COVID-19 Crisis. It’s Still Not Enough – Congress Must Act.

Building on MAF’s nationwide COVID-19 Rapid Response campaign, philanthropist Mackenzie Scott awarded MAF $45 million to provide direct relief to those hit hardest by the pandemic. Mackenzie Scott’s generous gift enables MAF to continue providing financial relief to immigrant families excluded from receiving help. Over the past year, MAF has already distributed direct cash assistance to 48,000+ individuals to help them weather the crisis—and today the organization is poised to do even more. 

In spite of these efforts, the reach of a single organization like MAF is nowhere near enough to meet the staggering financial devastation faced by millions of immigrant families left out of federal relief. We need leadership and action at a national level to ensure the last and the least are a part of a sustainable recovery.

Congress has taken meaningful steps in recent months to expand the safety net when families needed it most.

The December 2020 COVID relief bill and 2021 American Rescue Plan extended the latest rounds of financial relief to more than 3 million people in mixed-status households left out of the 2020 CARES Act. Yet, an estimated 11 million people in immigrant families continue to be denied assistance even as they keep the economy afloat in essential work.

“As an undocumented person who has filed my taxes for twelve years, it has been hard to have to accept that in times when we struggle, we are unable to receive anything back.” 

Juan, Rapid Response grant recipient

This exclusion comes at a time when our economy rests on the shoulders of essential workers who cannot access support to weather the pandemic even as they are suffering higher rates of COVID infections and deaths. Essential workers are immigrant workers and many have no access to relief. They are going hungry, falling behind on rent, missing monthly bills for no fault of their own. 

More must be done. 

In meeting this moment of crisis, Congress must advance desperately needed relief and include everyone—regardless of immigration status. Over the last year, we have seen how the health and economic costs of the COVID-19 pandemic have fallen disproportionately on the marginalized, excluded, and invisible. Congress must expand support to all immigrants, putting equity front and center to deliver relief to the least and last. This intentional focus on equity is at the heart of MAF’s Rapid Response Fund, and the means by which the organization has provided nearly $30 million in direct cash assistance.

“We’ve spent 14 years building scalable platforms, relevant products, and a national network of community based organizations to help low-income and immigrant families improve their financial security. Now, we’re using our platform as pipes to effectively and with dignity distribute the crisp waters of relief into the hands of those most parched, those who have been denied and forgotten.”

MAF CEO José Quiñonez

MAF’s capacity to act and scale quickly is a direct result of the partners who have and continue to believe in its vision of leveraging the best of technology and finance in service of those left in the shadows.  Their sustained support has enabled MAF to pioneer new ways of meeting people where they are, in the fullness of their complexity and their humanity.  MAF is now expanding its equity-centered work helping low-income and immigrant families directly during this unprecedented crisis. 

MAF applauds Mackenzie Scott for showing up, with urgency and conviction, to do more for families relegated to the shadows. Now it’s time for Congress to do the same. 

Immigrants are essential, risking their lives to keep our country afloat during this pandemic. 

They have stepped up for us, and now it’s our turn to step up for them. If we really want a more permanent and prosperous path to recovery, Congress needs to eliminate the structural barriers that have long stood in the way of people’s abilities to reach their full economic potential. 

Today, we have not one but five proposals on the table that could help us get there. We have proposals that would provide legal status and protections to millions of Dreamers, Temporary Protected Status (TPS) holders, farmworkers, and essential workers and their families. While these bills can be the critical building blocks to move us forward, they are not the end goal. Congress must ultimately push forward with the U.S. Citizenship Act of 2021, which offers a sweeping reform that would grant 11 million undocumented immigrants a path to citizenship. 

By removing these long-standing barriers which have for so long pushed millions into the shadows, immigrants can have the opportunity to rebuild their financial lives more fully and with dignity. They can have financial stability in their lives to rebuild their financial security, and have a fighting chance in a post-pandemic recovery. 

Our work is far from done—it is our collective responsibility to urge our representatives to take immediate action. We need to offer relief and citizenship for all if we truly seek to rebuild an equitable world that works for all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English