跳到主要内容

MAF 拨款 $45 百万,用于在 COVID-19 危机期间支持移民家庭。仍然不够——国会必须采取行动。

在 MAF 在全国范围内开展的 COVID-19 快速响应活动的基础上,慈善家 MacKenzie Scott 授予 MAF $4500 万美元,用于为受疫情影响最严重的人提供直接救济。 MacKenzie Scott 的慷慨捐赠使 MAF 能够继续为无法获得帮助的移民家庭提供经济救济。在过去的一年中,MAF 已经向 48,000 多名个人分发了直接现金援助,以帮助他们度过危机——今天,该组织准备做更多的事情。 

尽管有这些努力,像MAF这样的单一组织的影响力远远不足以满足数百万被排除在联邦救济之外的移民家庭所面临的惊人的经济破坏力。我们需要国家层面的领导和行动,以确保最后和最低的人成为可持续复苏的一部分。

国会在最近几个月采取了有意义的步骤,在家庭最需要的时候扩大安全网.

2020年12月的COVID救济法案和2021年的 美国救援计划 将最新几轮的财政救济扩大到被排除在2020年CARES法案之外的300多万混合身份家庭的人。 然而,估计有 1,100万 移民家庭中的人们继续被拒绝援助,即使他们以必要的工作来维持经济的发展。

"作为一个十二年来一直报税的无证者,不得不接受在我们挣扎的时候,我们无法得到任何回报的事实,这很难。" 

胡安,快速反应补助金获得者

这种排斥是在我们的经济依赖于基本工人的时候发生的,他们无法获得支持以抵御大流行病,即使他们正在遭受痛苦。 更高的费率 的COVID感染和死亡。基本工人是移民工人,许多人无法获得救济。他们是 挨饿坠落 拖欠租金,失踪 每月账单 不是因为他们自己的过错。 

必须做更多工作。 

在应对这一危机时刻,国会必须推进急需的救济,并包括每一个人,无论其移民身份如何。在过去的一年里,我们已经看到了COVID-19大流行病的健康和经济成本是如何不成比例地落在被边缘化、被排斥和被忽视的人群身上。国会必须扩大对所有移民的支持,把公平放在前面和中心位置,为最少和最后的人提供救济。这种对公平的有意关注是MAF快速反应基金的核心,也是该组织提供近$3000万直接现金援助的手段。

"我们花了14年时间建立了可扩展的平台、相关产品和基于社区组织的全国网络,以帮助低收入和移民家庭改善他们的财务安全。现在,我们以我们的平台为管道,有效地、有尊严地将清脆的救济之水分配到那些最干涸的人、那些被拒绝和遗忘的人手中。"

MAF首席执行官José Quiñonez

MAF之所以能够迅速采取行动和扩大规模,直接归功于那些曾经并继续相信其愿景的合作伙伴,即利用最好的技术和资金来为那些被遗弃在阴影中的人服务。 他们的持续支持使MAF能够开拓新的方式,在人们所处的地方,在他们的复杂性和人性中,满足他们。 在这场史无前例的危机中,MAF现在正在扩大其以公平为中心的工作,直接帮助低收入和移民家庭。 

MAF 赞扬 MacKenzie Scott 以紧迫感和信念出现,为退居幕后的家庭做更多的事情。现在是国会做同样事情的时候了。 

移民是必不可少的,他们冒着生命危险,在这场大流行中保持我们国家的稳定。 

他们已经为我们站出来了,现在轮到我们为他们站出来了。如果我们真的想要一条更持久和繁荣的复苏之路,国会需要消除长期以来阻碍人们充分发挥经济潜力的结构性障碍。 

今天,我们提出的不是一个而是五个提案,可以帮助我们实现这一目标。我们的提案将为数百万梦想者、临时保护身份(TPS)持有者、农场工人和基本工人及其家人提供合法地位和保护。虽然这些法案可以成为推动我们前进的关键基石,但它们并不是最终目标。国会最终必须推动《2021年美国公民法》,该法提供了一个全面的改革,将给予1100万无证移民一个获得公民身份的途径。 

通过消除这些长期以来将数百万人推入阴影中的长期障碍,移民可以有机会更全面和有尊严地重建他们的经济生活。他们可以在生活中拥有稳定的经济,以重建他们的财务安全,并在大流行病后的恢复中拥有一个战斗的机会。 

我们的工作远未完成--敦促我们的代表立即采取行动是我们的集体责任。如果我们真正寻求重建一个为所有人服务的公平的世界,我们需要为所有人提供救济和公民权。

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

此站点使用Akismet来减少垃圾评论。了解我们如何处理您的评论数据

MAF Awarded $45 Million To Support Immigrant Families During COVID-19 Crisis. It’s Still Not Enough – Congress Must Act.

Building on MAF’s nationwide COVID-19 Rapid Response campaign, philanthropist Mackenzie Scott awarded MAF $45 million to provide direct relief to those hit hardest by the pandemic. Mackenzie Scott’s generous gift enables MAF to continue providing financial relief to immigrant families excluded from receiving help. Over the past year, MAF has already distributed direct cash assistance to 48,000+ individuals to help them weather the crisis—and today the organization is poised to do even more. 

In spite of these efforts, the reach of a single organization like MAF is nowhere near enough to meet the staggering financial devastation faced by millions of immigrant families left out of federal relief. We need leadership and action at a national level to ensure the last and the least are a part of a sustainable recovery.

Congress has taken meaningful steps in recent months to expand the safety net when families needed it most.

The December 2020 COVID relief bill and 2021 American Rescue Plan extended the latest rounds of financial relief to more than 3 million people in mixed-status households left out of the 2020 CARES Act. Yet, an estimated 11 million people in immigrant families continue to be denied assistance even as they keep the economy afloat in essential work.

“As an undocumented person who has filed my taxes for twelve years, it has been hard to have to accept that in times when we struggle, we are unable to receive anything back.” 

Juan, Rapid Response grant recipient

This exclusion comes at a time when our economy rests on the shoulders of essential workers who cannot access support to weather the pandemic even as they are suffering higher rates of COVID infections and deaths. Essential workers are immigrant workers and many have no access to relief. They are going hungry, falling behind on rent, missing monthly bills for no fault of their own. 

More must be done. 

In meeting this moment of crisis, Congress must advance desperately needed relief and include everyone—regardless of immigration status. Over the last year, we have seen how the health and economic costs of the COVID-19 pandemic have fallen disproportionately on the marginalized, excluded, and invisible. Congress must expand support to all immigrants, putting equity front and center to deliver relief to the least and last. This intentional focus on equity is at the heart of MAF’s Rapid Response Fund, and the means by which the organization has provided nearly $30 million in direct cash assistance.

“We’ve spent 14 years building scalable platforms, relevant products, and a national network of community based organizations to help low-income and immigrant families improve their financial security. Now, we’re using our platform as pipes to effectively and with dignity distribute the crisp waters of relief into the hands of those most parched, those who have been denied and forgotten.”

MAF CEO José Quiñonez

MAF’s capacity to act and scale quickly is a direct result of the partners who have and continue to believe in its vision of leveraging the best of technology and finance in service of those left in the shadows.  Their sustained support has enabled MAF to pioneer new ways of meeting people where they are, in the fullness of their complexity and their humanity.  MAF is now expanding its equity-centered work helping low-income and immigrant families directly during this unprecedented crisis. 

MAF applauds Mackenzie Scott for showing up, with urgency and conviction, to do more for families relegated to the shadows. Now it’s time for Congress to do the same. 

Immigrants are essential, risking their lives to keep our country afloat during this pandemic. 

They have stepped up for us, and now it’s our turn to step up for them. If we really want a more permanent and prosperous path to recovery, Congress needs to eliminate the structural barriers that have long stood in the way of people’s abilities to reach their full economic potential. 

Today, we have not one but five proposals on the table that could help us get there. We have proposals that would provide legal status and protections to millions of Dreamers, Temporary Protected Status (TPS) holders, farmworkers, and essential workers and their families. While these bills can be the critical building blocks to move us forward, they are not the end goal. Congress must ultimately push forward with the U.S. Citizenship Act of 2021, which offers a sweeping reform that would grant 11 million undocumented immigrants a path to citizenship. 

By removing these long-standing barriers which have for so long pushed millions into the shadows, immigrants can have the opportunity to rebuild their financial lives more fully and with dignity. They can have financial stability in their lives to rebuild their financial security, and have a fighting chance in a post-pandemic recovery. 

Our work is far from done—it is our collective responsibility to urge our representatives to take immediate action. We need to offer relief and citizenship for all if we truly seek to rebuild an equitable world that works for all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English