跳到主要内容
Immigrant Families Recovery Program blog banner

不仅仅是一张支票:MAF 为全国最大的移民家庭提供 UBI+

你最近看到汽油的价格了吗?当我看到它爬过 $6 并停留在那里时,我的下巴差点掉下来。

汽油、食品、住房——一切——今年都变得越来越贵。通货膨胀正以最快的速度上升 40 年.每个人都感到压力,但承受通胀压力最大的人是那些总是被排除在外的人,比如那些被排除在刺激检查和扩大的儿童税收抵免之外的人。 

无证家庭经常被排除在社会安全网计划之外,尽管他们可能正在经历当下的危机或个人困难。

数以百万计的移民家庭只能自谋生路。没有收入的人 陷入债务漩涡 在大流行期间,现在通货膨胀正威胁着他们岌岌可危的经济复苏。

“我们真的需要帮助,” 罗莎,一位母亲和 MAF 的客户,告诉我们。 “我丈夫大约 4 个月前心脏病发作。他仍在康复中,我是唯一一个兼职工作的人。我有一个 3 岁的儿子,他需要一些东西:衣服、鞋子、食物。” 像罗莎这样的家庭需要一点帮助来度过这些风暴,特别是如果他们可能正在从以前的风暴中重建,在下一次袭击之前几乎无法从一场危机中恢复过来。

在 MAF,我们启动了全国最大的移民 UBI+ 计划,以帮助家庭更快地康复。

我们正在与全国 3,000 个移民家庭合作,帮助他们在大流行之后重建财务生活。我们一起学习如何帮助人们更快地康复并为接下来的事情做好准备。 

ǞǞǞ 移民家庭康复计划 正在提供 移民家庭每月$400 被排除在联邦 COVID-19 救济之外长达两年。这个 $30 百万的计划旨在加深与我们在大流行期间支持的家庭的接触。为了更快地重建,我们正在为参与者提供自我宣传培训,以帮助他们应对接下来可能发生的事情。而且,我们正在投资研究,与一个由 1,750 个家庭组成的对照组进行接触,以帮助我们了解现金援助和金融教育的真正影响。跟随我们一起分享研究见解,为未来的变革铺平道路。

超过 1,600 个家庭注册并领取每月付款。我们有望在夏末完成入学。加利福尼亚州、德克萨斯州、纽约州及其他地区的全国家庭都参加了该计划,每月收到现金付款和相关的金融服务。我们正在与一个联盟合作 圣马刁县团体、戴利市和其他地方,以帮助他们所在社区的移民家庭。

每月现金支付可以 变革性的 为家庭。

“很长一段时间以来,我们都推迟了很多必需品,只为了照顾基本的东西。我们努力不让我们的孩子感到负担或他们错过了,但这是一场斗争,” 塞尔吉奥说。 “我希望能够为他们买音乐课,为自己支付私人治疗师的费用,投资大学基金并开设一个紧急储蓄账户。” 

MAF 针对移民家庭的 UBI+ 计划不仅仅是一张支票——它是对他们的人格尊严的认可,这是一个信息,即他们很重要,也应该得到安全和在这个世界上茁壮成长的机会。

Immigrant Families Recovery Program blog banner

More than a check: MAF provides UBI+ for immigrant families, largest in nation

Have you seen the price of gas lately? My jaw almost dropped when I saw it climb past $6 and stay there.

Gas, food, housing — everything — is getting more expensive this year. Inflation is rising at its fastest rate in 40 years. Everyone is feeling the strain, but the people who are feeling the greatest pressure from inflation are the same people who always get left out, like the ones who were excluded from stimulus checks and the expanded Child Tax Credit. 

Undocumented families are routinely excluded from social safety net programs, despite the crisis of the moment or personal hardships they may be living through.

Millions of immigrant families are simply left to fend for themselves. Without income, people spiraled into debt during the pandemic, and now inflation is threatening their precarious economic recovery.

“We really need the help,” Rosa, a mother and MAF client, told us. “My husband had a heart attack about 4 months ago. He is still recovering and I am the only one who works part time. I have a 3 year old son and he needs things: clothes, shoes, food.” Families like Rosa’s need a little help to weather these storms, especially if they may be rebuilding from prior ones, barely recovering from one crisis before the next hits.

At MAF, we launched the nation’s largest UBI+ program for immigrants to help families recover faster.

We’re partnering with 3,000 immigrant families across the country as they rebuild their financial lives in the wake of the pandemic. Together, we’re learning what it will take to help people recover faster and prepare for what comes next. 

The Immigrant Families Recovery Program is providing $400 a month to immigrant families left out of federal COVID-19 relief for up to two years. This $30 million program is designed to deepen engagement with families we supported during the pandemic. To build back faster, we are providing participants with self-advocacy training to help them weather what may come next. And, we’re investing in research, engaging with a comparison group of 1,750 families to help us understand the true impact of cash aid and financial education. Follow along with us as we share research insights to pave the way for future change.

More than 1,600 families are enrolled and receiving their monthly payments. We are on track to complete enrollment by the end of summer. Families throughout the country in California, Texas, New York, and beyond have enrolled in the program, receiving monthly cash payments and relevant financial services. And we’re partnering with a coalition of San Mateo County groups, Daly City, and other localities to reach immigrant families in their communities.

Monthly cash payments can be transformational for families.

“We have put off a lot of necessities for a very long time in order to just take care of the basics. We try hard to not have our kids feel burdened or that they’re missing out, but it’s a struggle,” Sergio says. “I would love to be able to buy them music lessons, pay for a personal therapist for myself, invest in a college fund and start an emergency savings account too.” 

MAF’s UBI+ program for immigrant families is more than a check — it’s a recognition of their human dignity, a message that they matter and deserve security and opportunity to thrive in this world too.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English