快速反应见解系列

被排除在联邦救济之外的移民家庭的教训

几乎在一夜之间,COVID-19大流行病摧毁了移民家庭的经济生活。在没有任何过错的情况下,数以百万计的移民失去了他们赖以养家糊口的工作和收入,迫使他们耗尽仅有的一点储蓄,或者为了生存而扩大信贷。在他们最需要的时候,国会将1100万移民和他们的家庭排除在紧急刺激支票和急需的金融生命线之外。

为了帮助那些被遗弃的人,MAF启动了移民家庭基金(IFF),为被排除在联邦救济之外的人提供无限制的现金资助。自2020年4月启动IFF以来,MAF已收到超过196,000份支持申请。面对铺天盖地的帮助请求,我们设计了一个财务公平框架,以确定谁能从一次性赠款中受益最多,优先考虑收入来源最少、财务压力最大的申请人。通过将财务公平放在前面和中心位置,MAF已经向有最大需求的家庭提供了39,000笔资助。

2020年10月,MAF进行了一项调查,以了解大流行病和经济危机对留守儿童的影响,收集了11677名资助者的详细信息。现在,根据对被排除在联邦救济之外的移民进行的最大规模的全国性调查,我们报告了移民所面临的深刻的经济痛苦,他们用来抵御危机的策略,以及被排除在安全网之外的代价,这将继续使人们落在后面。

*MAF继续以滚动方式向移民家庭发放补助金。您可以跟踪申请和发放的补助金 此处.

“由于电晕,我的收入减少了 100%,并且不知道如何支付房租或账单,尤其是现在居家避难令又增加了一个月。这个[补助金]对我来说非常重要。它不仅会在经济上帮助我,而且会帮助我的情绪健康,因为我知道无论我的法律地位如何,我都会被考虑在内。我也受到这种病毒的影响,非常需要一些援助来支付食品账单租金或可能的医疗费用,因为我没有帮助,找工作的必要性已成为现实,这使我处于弱势反对 COVID 19 的立场。” – 法蒂玛

可分享的见解

网络研讨会。 COVID时代移民家庭的财务灾难-19
见解 #1:COVID-19 对移民家庭的影响
洞察 #2:政策很重要——看看加州和德克萨斯州的移民
来自圣马特奥县移民救济基金的见解

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

RAPID RESPONSE INSIGHTS SERIES

Lessons from Immigrant Families Left out of Federal Relief

Almost overnight, the COVID-19 pandemic decimated the financial lives of immigrant families. Through no fault of their own, millions of immigrants lost jobs and income they relied on to support their families, forcing them to deplete what little savings they had or extend credit just to survive. In their time of greatest need, Congress excluded 11 million immigrants and their families from emergency stimulus checks and a desperately-needed financial lifeline.

In an effort to help those left behind, MAF launched the Immigrant Families Fund (IFF) to provide unrestricted cash grants to people excluded from federal relief. Since launching the IFF in April 2020, MAF has received over 196,000 applications for support. Overwhelmed with requests for help, we designed a financial equity framework to determine who could benefit the most from a one-time grant, prioritizing applicants with the fewest income sources and most financial strains. By placing financial equity front and center, MAF has provided 39,000 grants to families with the greatest need.*

In October 2020, MAF conducted a survey to learn how the pandemic and economic crisis impacted those left behind, collecting detailed information from 11,677 grant recipients. Now, drawing on what is the largest national survey of immigrants left out of federal relief, we report on the deep financial pain immigrants are facing, the strategies they are using to weather the crisis, and the cost of exclusion from a safety net that continues to leave people behind.

*MAF continues to disburse grants to immigrant families on a rolling basis. You can track applications and grants awarded here.

“Due to corona I have lost 100% of my income and have no idea how I’ll pay for my rent or bills especially now that another month was added to the shelter-at-home order. This [grant] is very important to me. Not only will it help me financially but also helps my emotional health as I know I’m being taken into consideration and no matter my legal status. I’m also being affected by this virus and some aid is very much needed to pay food bills rent or possible medical bills since I’m having no help the necessity of looking for a job has become a reality and that puts me in a vulnerable position against COVID 19.” – Fatima

Shareable Insights

Webinar: The Financial Devastation of Immigrant Families in the Age of COVID-19
Insights #1: COVID-19’s Impact on Immigrant Families
Insights #2: Policies Matter – A Look at Immigrants in CA and TX
INSIGHTS FROM THE SAN MATEO COUNTY IMMIGRANT RELIEF FUND

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English