سلسلة إحصاءات الاستجابة السريعة

الدروس المستفادة من عائلات المهاجرين المتروكة من الإغاثة الفيدرالية

بين عشية وضحاها تقريبًا ، قضى جائحة COVID-19 على الحياة المالية للعائلات المهاجرة. بدون أي خطأ من جانبهم ، فقد ملايين المهاجرين الوظائف والدخل الذي اعتمدوا عليه لإعالة أسرهم ، مما أجبرهم على استنفاد ما لديهم من مدخرات قليلة أو تقديم الائتمان لمجرد البقاء على قيد الحياة. في وقت هم في أمس الحاجة إليه ، استبعد الكونجرس أكثر من 11 مليون مهاجر وعائلاتهم من فحوصات التحفيز الطارئة وشريان الحياة المالي الذي تمس الحاجة إليه.

في محاولة لمساعدة أولئك الذين تركوا وراءهم ، أطلقت MAF صندوق عائلات المهاجرين (IFF) لتقديم منح نقدية غير مقيدة للأشخاص المستبعدين من الإغاثة الفيدرالية. منذ إطلاق IFF في أبريل 2020 ، تلقت MAF أكثر من 200000 طلب للحصول على الدعم. غمرنا طلبات المساعدة ، صممنا ملف إطار العدالة المالية لتحديد من يمكن أن يستفيد أكثر من منحة لمرة واحدة ، مع إعطاء الأولوية للمتقدمين الذين لديهم أقل مصادر الدخل ومعظم الضغوط المالية. من خلال وضع العدالة المالية في المقدمة والمركز ، قدمت MAF 55000 منحة للأسر الأكثر احتياجًا.

في أكتوبر 2020 ، أجرت ماف دراسة استقصائية لمعرفة كيف أثر الوباء والأزمة الاقتصادية على أولئك الذين تخلفوا عن الركب ، وجمعت معلومات مفصلة من 11677 من متلقي المنح. الآن ، بالاعتماد على أكبر مسح وطني للمهاجرين الذين تم استبعادهم من الإغاثة الفيدرالية ، فإننا نبلغ عن الألم المالي العميق الذي يواجهه المهاجرون ، والاستراتيجيات التي يستخدمونها للتغلب على الأزمة ، وتكلفة الاستبعاد من شبكة الأمان المستمرة لترك الناس وراءهم.

11.5 م

المهاجرين وأفراد الأسرة مستبعدين

55,000

يمنح للمهاجرين

11,677

استجابات المسح

"بصفتي شخصًا غير موثق قدم ضرائبي لمدة اثني عشر عامًا ، كان من الصعب أن أقبل أنه في الأوقات التي نكافح فيها ، لا يمكننا استرداد أي شيء". - خوان

رؤى صندوق عائلات المهاجرين

الدمار المالي لعائلات المهاجرين

بينما مد الكونجرس شريان الحياة المالي للأسر المتعثرة من خلال ثلاث جولات من فحوصات التحفيز ، تم استبعاد أكثر من 11 مليون مهاجر وعائلاتهم من الدعم الذي تمس الحاجة إليه. في موجز الرؤى هذا ، نرى الآلام المالية العميقة التي يواجهها المهاجرون وتكلفة الاستبعاد من شبكة أمان غير مصممة للجميع.

مسألة السياسات: كاليفورنيا ضد تكساس

في حين أن ولاية كاليفورنيا سنت وقفًا اختياريًا للإسكان والمرافق لمساعدة الأشخاص الذين يواجهون صعوبات مالية بسبب COVID-19 ، فشلت تكساس في سن دعم مماثل للوباء على مستوى الولاية. في هذا الموجز ، نرى كيف ساعدت حماية المستهلك العائلات على تجنب التدهور المالي الحاد ، بينما تركت سياسات الدولة المحافظة الأسر عرضة لتداعيات مالية أكبر.

تأثير COVID-19 الدائم على أسر المهاجرين

في مواجهة فقدان الدخل وتركها خارج نطاق الإغاثة الفيدرالية للوباء ، اضطرت العائلات المهاجرة إلى اللجوء إلى استراتيجيات مالية طارئة للبقاء على قيد الحياة في يوم آخر. في هذا الموجز ، نسلط الضوء على كيفية تأثير التداعيات المالية لفيروس كوفيد -19 على المدى الطويل على العائلات المهاجرة التي اضطرت إلى البحث في استراتيجيات بناء ثرواتها لتغطية نفقاتها.

أساسية ولكنها غير مرئية ومستبعدة

بعد مرور عامين على الوباء ، نسمع قصصًا عن التعافي حيث يخرج معظم الأمريكيين أقوى ماليًا من ذي قبل. غابت عن هذه الروايات تجارب ملايين العائلات المهاجرة التي استُبعدت من الإغاثة ، وكثير منها ظهر لأدوار أساسية ، لكن تم التعامل معه على أنه غير مرئي. كيف نجت العائلات المهاجرة من الوباء؟ كيف يمكننا مساعدتهم في إعادة بناء حياتهم المالية؟

"أنا متأخر في الإيجار والفواتير. أنا أم عزباء تربي ثلاثة أطفال. هذه المنحة مهمة بالنسبة لي لأنني سأحصل على شكل من أشكال الراحة لعلمي أن لدي بعض المال لشراء طعام أطفالي وأنه بقليل من المال يمكنني البدء في دفع الفواتير التي أدين بها ". - ديلسيس

أضواء المجتمع

صندوق إعانة المهاجرين في مقاطعة سان ماتيو

من خلال تقديم الإغاثة التي تركز على العدالة ، وصلت MAF في النهاية إلى 1 من كل 2 من عائلات المهاجرين غير المسجلين في مقاطعة سان ماتيو ، بتمويل أكثر من 16000 منحة. في هذا الموجز ، نرى الدمار المالي العميق للوباء على حياة العائلات المهاجرة في سان ماتيو - وهو دمار يهدد بجعل إعادة بناء الحياة المالية طريقًا شاقًا شاقًا للتعافي.

عائلات المهاجرين في سان فرانسيسكو

بالنسبة لبعض المهاجرين الذين فقدوا وظائفهم المستقرة خلال COVID-19 ، أتاح العمل المؤقت فرصة للتغلب على الاضطرابات المالية. يوضح استطلاع ما بعد المنحة الذي أجرته MAF كيف حول COVID-19 سوق العمل للعائلات المهاجرة في سان فرانسيسكو - وكيف فشل التحول إلى العمل المؤقت في مساعدة العائلات على تلبية احتياجاتهم الأساسية.

"لم أتأخر أبدًا أو أدين لأي شخص بأي شيء ، لذا فإن التواجد في هذا الموقف يجعلني أشعر كما لو أن شخصًا آخر يتحكم في نتائج حياتي." -ياسمين

استكشاف المزيد

شاهد برنامجنا التعليمي على الويب: مستبعد وغير مرئي

في خضم الوباء ، تم استبعاد ملايين العمال الأساسيين من الإغاثة الفيدرالية. بينما تتحدث وسائل الإعلام عن الجوانب الفضية لـ COVID-19 ، نسمع قصة مختلفة من العائلات التي تركناها وراءنا.

اقرأ قصة فرانسيسكو: القوة أثناء COVID-19

لطالما جاهد فرانسيسكو وقدم التضحيات للحفاظ على عائلته آمنة ومستقرة ماليًا. ولكن عندما تم وضع نظام المأوى في المكان ، انقلب عالمه رأسًا على عقب.

تعرف على شراكاتنا

يكون المجتمع في أفضل حالاته عندما يظهر الجيران بطرق هادفة مع الثقة والاحترام لبعضهم البعض. تعرف على قوة العمل الجماعي في الممارسة.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

RAPID RESPONSE INSIGHTS SERIES

Lessons from Immigrant Families Left out of Federal Relief

Almost overnight, the COVID-19 pandemic decimated the financial lives of immigrant families. Through no fault of their own, millions of immigrants lost jobs and income they relied on to support their families, forcing them to deplete what little savings they had or extend credit just to survive. In their time of greatest need, Congress excluded more than 11 million immigrants and their families from emergency stimulus checks and a desperately-needed financial lifeline.

In an effort to help those left behind, MAF launched the Immigrant Families Fund (IFF) to provide unrestricted cash grants to people excluded from federal relief. Since launching the IFF in April 2020, MAF has received over 200,000 applications for support. Overwhelmed with requests for help, we designed a financial equity framework to determine who could benefit the most from a one-time grant, prioritizing applicants with the fewest income sources and most financial strains. By placing financial equity front and center, MAF has provided 55,000 grants to families with the greatest need.

In October 2020, MAF conducted a survey to learn how the pandemic and economic crisis impacted those left behind, collecting detailed information from 11,677 grant recipients. Now, drawing on what is the largest national survey of immigrants left out of federal relief, we report on the deep financial pain immigrants are facing, the strategies they are using to weather the crisis, and the cost of exclusion from a safety net that continues to leave people behind.

11.5M

immigrant & family members excluded

55,000

grants to immigrants

11,677

survey responses

“As an undocumented person who has filed my taxes for twelve years, it has been hard to have to accept that in times when we struggle, we are unable to receive anything back.” –Juan

Immigrant Families Fund Insights

The Financial Devastation of Immigrant Families

While Congress extended a financial lifeline to struggling families through three rounds of stimulus checks, over 11 million immigrants and their families were excluded from desperately-needed support. In this insights brief, we see the deep financial pain immigrants are facing and the cost of exclusion from a safety net that was not designed for everyone.

Policies Matter: California v Texas

While California enacted housing and utilities moratoriums to help people facing financial hardship due to COVID-19, Texas failed to enact similar state level pandemic supports. In this brief, we see how consumer protections helped families avoid a steeper downward financial spiral, while conservative state policies have left households vulnerable to greater financial fallout.

COVID-19’s Lasting Impact on Immigrant Families

Facing income loss and left out of federal pandemic relief, immigrant families had to resort to emergency financial strategies to survive another day. In this brief, we shine a light on how the financial fallout from COVID-19 will have a long-lasting impact on immigrant families who’ve had to dig into their wealth building strategies to make ends meet.

“I am behind on rent and bills. I am a single mother raising three children. This grant is important to me because I am going to have a form of relief knowing that I have some money to buy my children food and that with little money I can start paying the bills I owe.” – Delsis

Community Spotlights

San Mateo County Immigrant Relief Fund

By offering equity-centered relief, MAF ultimately reached 1 in 2 undocumented immigrant families in San Mateo County, funding more than 16,000 grants. In this brief, we see the deep financial devastation of the pandemic on the lives of immigrant families in San Mateo𑁋a devastation that threatens to make rebuilding financial lives a steep uphill road to recovery.

Immigrant Families in San Francisco

For some immigrants who lost their stable jobs during COVID-19, gig work offered a window of opportunity to navigate the financial upheaval. MAF’s post grant survey captures how COVID-19 transformed the job market for immigrant families in San Francisco𑁋and how the shift to gig work fell short in helping families meet their basic needs.

“I have never been late or owed anyone anything so being in this situation makes me feel as if somebody else is controlling the outcome of my life.” –Jasmin

Explore More

Watch our Webinar: Excluded & Invisible

In the midst of a pandemic, millions of essential workers were excluded from federal relief. While media outlets report on the silver linings of COVID-19, we hear a different story from the families left behind.

Read Francisco’s Story: Strength During COVID-19

Francisco has always hustled and made sacrifices to keep his family safe and financially stable. But when the shelter-in-place order was instituted, his world turned upside down.

Learn about our partnerships

A community is at its best when neighbors show up in meaningful ways with trust and respect for one another. Learn about the power of collective action in practice.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English