أصبح SB 1157 قانونًا: أول مشروع قانون للإبلاغ عن الإيجار في ولاية كاليفورنيا

في خريف هذا العام ، وقع الحاكم جافين نيوسوم مشروع قانون مجلس الشيوخ بكاليفورنيا (SB) 1157، وخلق طريق تاريخي جديد لفرص بناء الائتمان للأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض في الولاية. في الوقت الذي تكافح فيه العديد من الأسر لتغطية نفقاتها في خضم الوباء والركود ، يوفر هذا القانون شريان حياة لبناء الائتمان. وبتأليف ستيفن برانفورد (دي جاردينا) ، سيمنح القانون الجديد المستأجرين الذين يعيشون في مساكن مدعومة فرصة للإبلاغ عن مدفوعات الإيجار الخاصة بهم إلى مكاتب الائتمان الرئيسية ، مما يمكنهم من الاستمرار في بناء الائتمان بأمان حتى بعد هذه الأزمة.

قامت MAF برعاية SB 1157 ، بالشراكة مع Credit Builders Alliance و Prosperity Now ، لأننا نؤمن بالتأثير الدائم الذي يمكن أن تحدثه تقارير الإيجار في مساعدة العديد من سكان كاليفورنيا في إنشاء أو بناء درجاتهم الائتمانية. على مدار أكثر من 15 عامًا ، قادنا المهمة لإخراج المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين من الظل المالي من خلال تقديم مسارات غير تقليدية لفرص بناء الائتمان. من عند Lending Circles ل SB 896، سعت MAF باستمرار ليس فقط لمقابلة الأشخاص في أماكن تواجدهم في رحلاتهم المالية ، ولكن أيضًا للارتقاء بالاستراتيجيات التي تعترف بنقاط قوتهم وتساعدهم على المشاركة في الاتجاه المالي السائد بكرامة. من خلال SB 1157 ، نواصل العمل على رؤية تكريم الممارسات الجيدة التي تحدث بالفعل من خلال الاعتراف بها رسميًا والارتقاء بها إلى الاتجاه السائد.

على 45% من سكان كاليفورنيا يؤجرون مساكنهم، وعلى عكس مالكي المنازل الذين يمكنهم بناء ائتمان من خلال مدفوعات الرهن العقاري الخاصة بهم ، لا يستطيع المستأجرون فعل الشيء نفسه حتى عند إجراء الدفعات في الوقت المحدد.

ومع ذلك ، فإن عدم دفع الإيجار له تأثير سلبي على درجة ائتمان المستأجر. بدون درجة ائتمانية مناسبة ، سيتم استبعاد المستأجرين من الخدمات الأساسية ، مثل قروض شراء منزل ، والحصول على خدمات المرافق الأساسية أو خطط الهاتف الخليوي ، والحصول على بطاقات الائتمان. نتيجة لممارسات إعداد التقارير الائتمانية غير المتكافئة الحالية ، من المرجح أن يكون لدى المستأجرين سبعة أضعاف الحد الأدنى من السجل الائتماني الذي تعتبره مكاتب الائتمان غير قابل للرقابة مقارنة بمالكي المنازل. غالبًا ما تثبط الحواجز المالية واللوجستية المرتبطة بمتطلبات الإبلاغ أصحاب العقارات عن تقديم سجلات مدفوعات الإيجار الكاملة إلى مكاتب الائتمان. حتى الآن دليل على بيانات الإبلاغ عن الإيجار يُظهر نتائج واضحة ومتسقة: يلعب تقرير الإيجار الكامل دورًا مهمًا في مساعدة الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم درجات ائتمانية على إنشاء واحدة ويساعد أصحاب الدرجات المنخفضة على تحسين نتائجهم.

ستوفر تقارير الإيجار إلى مكاتب الائتمان الكبرى للمستأجرين ذوي الدخل المنخفض فرصة لبناء الائتمان كأصل مالي مع مساعدتهم في إعادة البناء لعالم ما بعد الوباء.

تم تصميم SB 1157 للمستأجرين الذين من المرجح أن يحصلوا على أكبر فائدة من إنشاء أو تحسين درجاتهم الائتمانية. إنه يقدم أول حل من نوعه لإبلاغ الإيجارات عن التناقضات الائتمانية ، وفتح خطوط للوصول إلى بناء الائتمان للمستأجرين الذين يعيشون في مساكن مدعومة ومنحهم الفرصة للدخول أو البقاء في التيار المالي السائد خلال هذا الوباء. تمشيا مع قيمنا ، يلتقي مشروع القانون هذا بالناس أينما كانوا من خلال منح المستأجرين الأدوات المالية التي يحتاجون إليها لممارستها في وقتهم الخاص وفي سياقهم الخاص.

إن الحصول على ائتمان جيد هو أحد الأصول التي يجب صقلها واستدامتها ، لا سيما أثناء الصدمات المالية غير المتوقعة حيث من المرجح أن تتضرر الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض بشدة.

لقد تفككت الحياة المالية للناس بسبب COVID-19. في حالة يوجد فيها بالفعل ملف النقص الهائل في المساكن المؤجرة بأسعار معقولة وحيث يوجد عدد متزايد من المستأجرين خطر الإخلاء بسبب الانكماش الاقتصادي ، لا ينبغي أن تتحمل الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض في كاليفورنيا وطأة هذا الوباء أكثر من ذلك. لا تزال سبل عيش الناس على المحك ، ويمكن أن يمنح SB 1157 المستأجرين ذوي الدخل المنخفض فرصة للحفاظ على بعض مظاهر الأساس المالي مع استمرارهم في معالجة حواجز بناء الأصول. سيسمح هذا القانون الجديد لسكان كاليفورنيا ذوي الدخل المنخفض بعدم السماح لتاريخهم الائتماني بالسقوط من خلال الفجوات ، مما يمنحهم فرصة قتالية في انتعاش هذا الوباء.

من عند الإغاثة المباشرة للتغييرات المنهجية على مستوى الولاية ، نواصل وضع العملاء في طليعة المنتجات والسياسات التي ندعو إليها. مع SB 1157 ، نقترب خطوة أخرى من تزويد المجتمعات منخفضة الدخل والمهاجرين التي نخدمها بإمكانية الوصول إلى الأدوات التي يحتاجونها لزيادة رفاهيتهم المالية.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

SB 1157 Becomes Law: California’s First-in-the-Nation Rent Reporting Bill

This fall, Governor Gavin Newsom signed California Senate Bill (SB) 1157, creating a historic new avenue of credit-building opportunities for low-income families in the state. At a time when so many households are struggling to make ends meet in the midst of a pandemic and recession, this law offers a credit-building lifeline. Authored by Steven Branford (D-Gardena), the new law will give tenants living in subsidized housing an opportunity to have their rent payments reported to major credit bureaus, enabling them to continue safely building credit even after this crisis.

MAF sponsored SB 1157, in partnership with the Credit Builders Alliance and Prosperity Now, because we believe in the lasting impact that rent reporting can have in helping many Californians establish or build their credit scores. For over 15 years, we’ve led the charge to bring low-income and immigrant communities out of the financial shadows by offering non-traditional paths to credit-building opportunities. From Lending Circles to SB 896, MAF has continuously strived to not only meet people where they are in their financial journeys, but uplift the strategies that recognize their strengths and help them participate in the financial mainstream with dignity. Through SB 1157, we continue to act on a vision of honoring good practices already taking place by formally recognizing them and elevating them to the mainstream.

Over 45% of Californians rent their housing, and unlike homeowners who can build credit through their mortgage payments, renters cannot do the same even when making on-time payments.

Failure to pay rent, however, has a negative impact on a renter’s credit score. Without a decent credit score, renters stand to be left out of essential services, such as loans for buying a house, obtaining basic utility services or cell phone plans, and getting credit cards. As a result of current uneven credit reporting practices, renters are seven times more likely to have a minimal credit history deemed unscorable by credit bureaus compared to homeowners. The monetary and logistical barriers associated with reporting requirements often discourage landlords from submitting full rental payment histories to credit bureaus. Yet, the evidence on rent reporting data shows clear and consistent results: full rent reporting plays a critical role in helping people without credit scores establish one and helps those with low scores improve theirs.

Rent reporting to major credit bureaus will offer low-income renters an opportunity to build credit as a financial asset while helping them rebuild for a post-pandemic world.

SB 1157 is tailored to tenants most likely to receive the greatest benefit from establishing or improving their credit scores. It offers a first of its kind solution to rent reporting credit discrepancies, opening up lines of credit-building access for tenants living in subsidized housing and giving them the opportunity to enter or stay in the financial mainstream during this pandemic. In keeping with our values, this bill meets people where they are by giving tenants the financial tools they need to exercise them at their own time and within their own context.

Having good credit is an asset that needs to be cultivated and sustained, especially during unexpected financial shocks where low-income families are most likely to be hit hardest.

People’s financial lives have been unraveled by COVID-19. In a state where there is already a massive shortage of affordable rental homes and where an increasing number of tenants are at risk of eviction due to the economic downturn, California’s low-income families should not have to bear the brunt of this pandemic any further. People’s livelihoods continue to be on the line, and SB 1157 can give low-income renters an opportunity to maintain some semblance of a financial footing as they continue to tackle asset-building barriers. This new law will allow low-income Californians to not let their credit histories fall through the cracks, giving them a fighting chance in the recovery of this pandemic.

From direct relief to state-wide systemic changes, we continue to put clients at the forefront of the products and policies we advocate for. With SB 1157, we’re another step closer to providing the low-income and immigrant communities we serve with access to the tools they need to increase their financial well-being.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English