跳到主要内容

标签: 幕后花絮

用GoogleServe拧灯泡


拧上一个灯泡需要多少 Google 员工?

我们不知道。但我们确实知道需要多少 Google 员工来提升我们新的在线社交贷款平台的用户体验:5 名。

我们最初是如何让五名 Google 员工入住我们的办公室的?不,我们并没有通过引诱他们上 MAF 巴士来欺骗他们。 (我们没有时间制定这样的计划。)相反,我们有幸为 2014 年的 GoogleServe 活动举办了五位出色的员工。

Google 鼓励员工在他们生活和工作的社区内建立关系并产生积极影响。Google 为员工提供的众多选择之一是称为 GoogleServe 的服务日。

作为有幸被选为湾区 GoogleServe 地点之一的组织之一,我们开始编制一份与技术相关的需求清单。意识到五个人无法为我们的所有请求提供解决方案,我们将其缩减为一个——帮助我们为新的需求创造更好的流程 Lending Circles报名流程.

这是我们已经研究了一段时间的问题,我们觉得一些新鲜的眼睛和高度分析的头脑会给我们一些明确的答案方向。

那个星期四早上,我们的员工在办公室里闲逛,热切期待着我们的到来。当志愿者开始过滤时,我们遇到了热情友好的人,他们很高兴见到我们并开始手头的项目。 Axel、文哲、Dan、Chris 和 Sudarshan 带着一盒来自 Google 办公室的三明治来到这里,很高兴加入了一个创业环境。

当我们的会员和合作伙伴加入我们的计划时,我们一起着手为他们创造更好的体验,我们希望志愿者使这个过程更加直观。对我们来说,展示我们的计划从头到尾的易用性很重要,注册过程是每个人与 MAF 的第一次互动。

他们对我们流程的各个方面、会员需求、合作伙伴需求、访问新平台的方式、甚至我们期望合作伙伴和会员尝试访问注册流程的时间都感兴趣。一旦他们收集了重要信息,他们就开始工作。中午时分,MAF工作人员坐下来与志愿者共进午餐,感谢他们的辛勤工作。我们都讨论了是什么让我们对各自的工作充满热情。

像志愿者一样,我们渴望知识,渴望通过技术创造更美好的世界。

志愿者们讲述了他们作为特派团居民的经历,他们对当地社区的钦佩,以及他们对组成社区的充满活力的文化和特色的热爱。对他们来说,信贷不是他们经常考虑的事情,所以他们惊讶地听到缺乏信贷和无法进入公平的金融市场如何对特派团家庭的繁荣发展产生负面影响。

一位志愿者讲述了他从另一个国家搬到美国的经历,以及他建立信用的难度。我们还收到了一份 关于如何快速折叠 T 恤的教程,对于多丽丝来说,这是一次改变人生的经历。

随着时间的推移,我们敬畏地看着白板逐渐被文字、线条、数字和随意的涂鸦覆盖。

几个小时后,Google 员工确定了我们为新注册流程制定的目标,并制定了一个简单可行的计划来实现这些目标。我们能够找到对增加对我们 Lending Circles 计划的访问以及创建创新解决方案的新方法至关重要的问题的解决方案。

通过 Google 团队,我们学到了一些用于查看问题和创建创新解决方案的创造性新策略。我们谈到了信贷和金融稳定对我们社区健康的重要性。最重要的是,我们有时间坐下来结识和我们一样热爱旧金山及其居民的志同道合的人。此外,一些员工甚至学会了一种独特的折叠 T 恤的方法。这是一次有趣且令人大开眼界的体验,我们很快就会再做一次!


Jonathan D'Souza 是 Mission Asset Fund 的营销经理,他喜欢与人们谈论信用建设的重要性,同时向他们展示他的狗 Phoenix 的太多照片。你可以联系他 jonathan@missioanssetfund.org.

Lending Circles son bienvenidos a Miami!


了解 MAF 如何在迈阿密掀起波澜!

何塞、丹妮拉和我出发前往一个有前途的新社区,以带来 Lending Circles 计划,迈阿密!自从加入MAF,我就一直在等待这一天。现在这一天到了,它落在了 Cinco de Mayo!在去酒店的路上,我决定绕道迈阿密社区的主干道之一弗拉格勒街,这条繁忙的街道穿过小哈瓦那,直接通往迈阿密市中心。

看到这条充满活力的街道与 MAF 在旧金山历史悠久的 Mission 区的家有许多相似之处,我并不感到惊讶。

不幸的是,其中一个相似之处是它充斥着支票兑现和发薪日贷款机构。这是我们为什么在那里的视觉提醒,它让我更好地了解我们努力在该地区创造的非营利组织的机会。毋庸置疑,我很乐意在第二天发表演讲。

整个迈阿密人们都在为 Cinco de Mayo 做准备,我正准备就 Lending Circles 如何改变社区进行演讲。我们进入了迈阿密 JP Morgan Chase 的总部,人们开始从温暖的迈阿密街道走出来。 Rosa Mexicano 的香味充满了房间,而我不得不说旧金山有一些很棒的墨西哥食物,我会说这是紧随其后的。

起初,随着每个人都进入并联网,很难判断听到 MAF Lending Circles 的人数。

随着演讲的开始,我注意到越来越多的人进来了!到演讲结束时,人们已经排在房间的边缘。感受到每个人的活力并从观众那里听到他们通过 Lending Circles 为当地社区服务所看到的机会,这令人振奋。

第二天,我有幸与当地非营利组织之一 Catalyst 进行了实地考察,他们前来了解与 MAF 的合作可以为他们及其社区带来什么。他们是戴德县的一个非营利组织,作为一种多元化的资源,帮助家庭和社区成员迈向成功之路,真正的催化剂。

Catalyst 团队(Terry 和 Gretchen)热烈欢迎我,并带我参观了他们的网站。我忍不住欣赏他们的艺术作品,有些非常个人化,有些是他们自己的成员创作的,当然还有一些非常棒。

总的来说,这是一次了不起的经历。很高兴见到 JP Morgan Chase 团队和所有正在努力使他们的社区成为更适合家庭居住的地方的非营利组织。

换个新标志就像换个新制服一样吗?

当一个新的非营利组织成立时,通常是某人的堂兄或朋友负责设计新标志。他们尽其所能,组织急切地吃掉它,感谢又完成了一件事情。即使他们没有意识到,工作人员也会很快采用围绕该徽标创建的品牌标识。传单、网站和演示文稿都使用相同的字体和配色方案,他们努力使一切看起来都具有归属感。但过了一段时间,这个组织通常会形成自己的形象,那种老样子就跟不上。组织现在的身份不再与其向世界展示自己所需的颜色、字体和视觉风格相匹配。

我在旧金山工作的非营利组织 MAF 也不例外。大约七年前,我们由一群了不起的社区倡导者创立。当长期的邻里雇主 Levi Strauss 公司关闭了最后一家 工厂 在旧金山,社区领袖和公司携手共创未来。用收益 通过出售,他们将创建一个新的非营利组织,以帮助 Mission 区的低收入居民。于是Mission Asset Fund就形成了。其中一位社区领袖的配偶创建了我们的第一个标志。当我看到第一个标志时,我想象我们的成员看着他们的银行账户随着时间的推移而增长,在此过程中遇到了各种里程碑。

我们 2007 年的标志

但那是七年前,当时这家非营利组织有两名员工、几十个客户和全新的项目。 现在已经七年了 奖项 后来,我们的社会贷款仍然可以在 Mission District 找到,而且在美国其他六个州也可以找到。 具有刚性构建块的旧外观已扩展为更大范围的人员、社区和非营利组织,共同致力于建立一个公平的金融市场。

您的组织穿什么颜色很有意义。

粉色的据我 5 岁的儿子说,这种颜色在 19 世纪只用于年轻男孩的衣服,但现在“仅适用于女孩”。 Pink 现在还与一个全国性的乳腺癌宣传网络有关。对于 MAF,我们第一个徽标的深蓝色表示知识、力量、正直和严肃。但作为认识我们的任何人,我们也很敏捷,以社区为基础,并且不怕改变对话。

如果品牌是某人所说或了解的关于您的组织的一切,那么徽标就像团队制服。

所以年复一年,即使你的身体在成长,你的思想也在成熟,你仍然可能穿着 2007 年黑道家族褪色为黑色时缝在一起的制服。这一次,我们知道我们要去哪里,我们知道如何到达那里。因此,我们与极具创意的团队合作 数字心灵感应 想出适合我们现在的制服。

我们的新标志

我们将僵硬的形状和深蓝色换成了大小不一的充满活力的潘通色、充满活力的水蓝色、明亮的草绿色、浓郁的紫色。

我们认为我们的新面貌在向世界展示我们的变革愿景方面做得更好。

它对你说什么?

将重点转移到社会借贷上

扬·斯图曼来自旧金山的摄像师制作了四个精彩的新视频,重点介绍了 MAF 的计划以及社会贷款如何真正改变人们的生活。他很亲切地与我分享他对捕捉我们的故事以及他从这次经历中学到的东西的想法。

当您开始一个新的视频/讲故事项目时,您的流程是怎样的?

第一部分是试图了解客户试图讲述的故事(真实的故事往往只出现在编辑过程中。)然后是确定可以讲述这个故事的关键人物。在面试之前,我试着让我的好奇心成为我生成要问的问题清单的指南。我发现编写脚本通常不是很有帮助。正是通过进行对话,同时试图忽略相机,才会出现令人惊讶的细节。接受采访后,我将其转录并从那里构建初稿。然后,理想情况下,我回去拍摄 b-roll 镜头,这就是我在采访中所做的。

社区和关系是 Mission Asset Fund 的两个重要价值。你是如何尝试在视频中捕捉这些概念的?

我尽量不引人注目地工作,通常是独自一人,这样任何互动都可以尽可能自然地发生。我的方向永远不会像一些自发发生的惊喜那么好。我的工作就是关注那些时刻。

有没有让你最愉快或最有趣的经历组合在一起的特定视频?

被邀请进入我不熟悉的世界并被人们信任,这总是一种荣幸。从表面上看,像金钱和信用这样的话题似乎很无聊。但诚实谈论金钱是我们文化中最后的禁忌之一。我个人对我们如何与金钱互动非常感兴趣。因此,能够专业地沉迷于这种兴趣对我来说非常令人满意。

您是否发现很难以引人入胜的方式将信贷和贷款等金融概念形象化?

进入这个项目我不想做的是创建一个充满大量图表的无聊视频。诀窍是弄清楚如何找到图形和图表背后的故事。我们每天都在以不同程度的意识与金钱作斗争。

您可以通过以下链接观看视频以探索 MAF 参与的社区和项目: 机会的力量每个人都值得一试成功, 创建公平的金融市场, 一种nd  建立信用,建设社区

Tag: Behind the Scenes

Screwing in the light bulb with GoogleServe


How many Google employees does it take to screw in a light bulb?

We don’t know. But we do know how many Google employees it takes to elevate the user experience for our new online social loan platform: five.

How did we get five Google employees in our office in the first place? No, we didn’t trick them by luring them onto a MAF bus. (We didn’t have time to pull off a plan like that.) Instead, we had the honor of hosting five amazing employees for the 2014 GoogleServe event.

Google encourages their employees to build relationships and create positive impact within the communities that they live and work in. One of the many options Google provides to employees is a day of service known as GoogleServe.

As one of the organizations lucky enough to be chosen as one of the GoogleServe locations in the Bay Area, we began to compile a laundry list of tech-related needs. Realizing that five people weren’t going to be able to provide solutions to all of our requests we whittled it down to one – helping us create a better flow for our new Lending Circles enrollment process.

It had been an issue we had been working on for a little while, and we felt that some fresh eyes and highly analytical minds would give us some clear direction towards an answer.

That Thursday morning our staff puttered around the office in hot anticipation of our incoming visitors. As the volunteers began to filter in, we were met with warm, friendly people who were excited to meet us and get started on the project at hand. Arriving with a box full of sandwiches from the Google office, Axel, Wenzhe, Dan, Chris and Sudarshan were happy to join a startup environment.

Together, we set out to create a better experience for our members and partners when they enroll in our program and we wanted the volunteers to make that process even more intuitive. It is important for us to show the ease of our program from start to finish, and the enrollment process is the first interaction that everyone has with MAF.

They were interested in every angle of our process, the members needs, the partners needs, the ways to access the new platform, even the times of day we expected our partners and members would be trying to access the enrollment process. Once they had gathered the important information, they set to work. By noon, the MAF staff sat down to have lunch with the volunteers and thank them for all their hard work. We all discussed what it was that made us so passionate about our respective work.

Like the volunteers, we had a thirst for knowledge and a drive to create a better world through technology.

The volunteers talked about their experience as residents of the Mission, their admiration for the local communities, and the love they felt for the vibrant cultures and characters that make up the neighborhood. For them, credit was not something they thought about often, so they were surprised to hear how the lack of credit and access to a fair financial marketplace was negatively impacting the ability for families in the Mission to thrive.

One volunteer offered his own experience moving to the states from another country and how difficult it was for him to build credit. We also received a tutorial on how to quickly fold t-shirts, for Doris this was a life changing experience.

As the day progressed, we watched in awe as the whiteboard became progressively covered in words, lines, numbers, and random scribbles.

After a few hours, the Google employees had taken our goals for the new enrollment process and laid out a simple, workable plan to achieve them. We were able to find a solution to an issue critical to increasing access to our Lending Circles program as well as a new approach to creating innovative solutions.

Through the Google team we learned some creative new strategies for viewing a question, and creating innovative solutions. We talked about the importance of credit and financial stability for the health of our communities. Most importantly, we had time to sit down and meet like minded people who love San Francisco and its residents as much as we do. Plus, a few staff members even learned a unique way to fold a t-shirt. It was an interesting and eye opening experience, and we would do it again in a heartbeat!


Jonathan D’Souza is the Marketing Manager at Mission Asset Fund and he loves to talk to talk to people about the importance of credit building while showing them too many photos of his dog Phoenix. You can reach him at [email protected].

Lending Circles son bienvenidos a Miami!


Find out how MAF is making waves in Miami!

Jose, Daniela, and I set off to visit a promising new community to bring the Lending Circles program, Miami! I had been waiting for this day ever since I joined MAF. Now the day was here and it fell on Cinco de Mayo! On my way to the hotel, I decided to take a detour down Flagler Street, one of the main arteries of Miami community, the busy street runs right through little Havana and leads directly to downtown Miami.

I was not surprised to see that this vibrant street was share many similarities with MAF’s home in the historic Mission District of San Francisco.

Unfortunately one of the similarities was that it was riddled with check cashing and payday lenders. It was a visual reminder of why we were there and it gave me a better sense of what opportunities the nonprofits in the area we striving to create. Needless to say, I felt amped to deliver the presentation the next day.

Throughout Miami folks were preparing for Cinco de Mayo, I was preparing to give a presentation on how Lending Circles can transform communities. We entered the Miami JP Morgan Chase headquarters, as people began filtering in off of the warm Miami streets.  The sweet smell of Rosa Mexicano filled the room, while I have to say San Francisco has some amazing Mexican food, I will say that this was a close second.

At first with everyone entering and networking it was hard to judge the amount of people coming to hear about MAF’s Lending Circles.

As the the presentation started, I noticed that more people were coming in! By the time the presentation had ended people were lining the edges of the room. It was invigorating to feel everyone’s energy and to hear from the audience themselves the opportunities they saw by having Lending Circles serve their local community.

The next day I had the pleasure of doing a site visit with one of the local nonprofits, Catalyst, who had come to hear about what a partnership with MAF could do for them and their communities. They are a nonprofit in Dade County that acts as a diverse resource to jump start families and community members in a path towards success, a true catalyst.

The Catalyst team (Terry and Gretchen) gave me a warm welcome and gave me a wonderful tour of their site. I couldn’t help but admire their art work, some very personal, some that their own members had created, and of course some just completely awesome.

Overall it was an amazing experience. It was truly great to meet the JP Morgan Chase team and all the nonprofits that are working hard to make their communities a better place for families.

Is a new logo like getting a new uniform?

When a new nonprofit is founded, it’s usually someone’s cousin or friend who gets the task of designing the new logo. They do the best job they can and the organization eagerly eats it up, grateful that one more thing is done. Even if they don’t realize it, the staff quickly adopts a brand identity created around that logo. With flyers and websites and presentations all using the same fonts and color schemes, they strive for making everything look like it has a sense of belonging. But after a while, the organization usually comes into its own and that old look just can’t keep up. Who the organization is now no longer matches the colors, fonts and visual style that it needs to represent itself to the world.

MAF, the nonprofit in San Francisco where I work, is no exception. About seven years ago, we were started by an amazing group of community advocates. When the Levi Strauss Company, a long-time neighborhood employer, closed its last factory in San Francisco, community leaders and the company forged together to imagine a new kind of future. With proceeds from the sale, they would create a new nonprofit to help low-income residents of the Mission District. And so Mission Asset Fund was formed. And a spouse of one of those community leaders created our first logo. When I look at the first logo, I imagine our members looking at the growth of their bank accounts over time, meeting various milestones along the way.

Our 2007 logo

But that was seven years ago, when the nonprofit had two employees, a few dozen clients and brand new programs. Now it’s seven years and several awards later and our social loans can still be found in the Mission District, but also in six other U.S. states. The old look with rigid building blocks has broadened into a larger tapestry of people, communities and nonprofits working to build a fair financial marketplace, together.

What colors your organization wears are meaningful.

Pink, a color that in the 19th century was reserved for the clothing of young boys, is now “only for girls,” according to my five-year-old son. Pink is also now associated with a nationwide network of breast cancer advocacy. For MAF, the dark blues of our first logo indicate knowledge, power, integrity and seriousness. But as anyone who knows us, we’re also agile, community-based and not afraid to change the conversation.

If a brand is everything someone says or knows about your organization, a logo is like a team uniform.

So year after year, even as your body grows and your mind matures, you can still be stuck wearing a uniform stitched together in 2007 back when the Sopranos faded to black. This time, we know where we’re going and we know how to get there. So we worked with the amazingly creative team at Digital Telepathy to come up with a uniform that fits who we are now.

Our new logo

We’ve traded the rigid shapes and dark blues for vibrant Pantone colors of varying sizes, energetic aqua blues, bright grass greens, rich purples.

We think our new look does a better job of showing the world what our vision for change is all about.

What does it say to you?

Shifting the focus on social lending

Jan Stürmann, a videographer based out of San Francisco, produced four awesome new videos highlighting MAF’s programs and how social lending really transforms people’s lives. He was gracious enough to share his thoughts with me on capturing our story and what he learned from the experience.

What is your process like when you begin a new video/storytelling project?

The first part is trying to get some sense of the story the client is trying to tell (which the real story is often only emerges in the editing process.) Then it’s identifying the key people who can tell this story. Before an interview I try to let my curiosity be my guide in generating a list of questions to ask. I find writing a script is generally not very helpful. It’s by engaging in a conversation, whilst trying to ignore the camera, that the surprising details emerge. Once I have the interview, I get it transcribed and from there build a first draft script. Then, ideally, I go back and shoot b-roll footage, which is what I lay over the interview.

Community and relationships are two important values for Mission Asset Fund. How did you try to capture those concepts in the videos?

I try to work as unobtrusively as I can, normally alone, so what ever interaction can happen as naturally as possible. My direction is never going to be as good as some surprise happening spontaneously. My job is to be attentive to those moments.

Was there a particular video you had the most enjoyable or interesting experience putting together?

It’s always a privilege to be invited into a world I’m unfamiliar with and to be trusted with people’s stories. On the surface a topic like money and credit seems boring. But talking honestly about money is one of the last taboos in our culture. Personally I’m very interested about how we interact with money. So being able to indulge that interest professionally was very gratifying for me.

Did you find it difficult to visualize financial concepts like credit and loans in an engaging way?

What I did not want to do going into this project was create a boring video filled with a lot of graphs and charts. The trick was to figure out how to find the stories behind the graphs and charts. We all grapple with money daily with varying degrees of awareness.

You can view the videos to explore the communities and projects that MAF is involved with at following links: The Power of OpportunityEveryone Deserves a Shot at Success, Creating a Fair Financial Marketplace, and  Building Credit, Building Communities

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English