تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

الوسم: داكا

مرحبًا بك كارمن تشان ، زميل DREAMSF!


تشارك كارمن ، الحالم من فنزويلا ، قصتها وتحلم بمساعدة الشباب غير المسجلين.

انضمت كارمن تشان مؤخرًا إلى فريق ماف كزميل توعية من خلال مكتب سان فرانسيسكو للمشاركة المدنية وشؤون المهاجرين " زمالة دريمسف. زمالة DREAMSF هي فرصة للشباب المعتمدين من DACA لخدمة مجتمعات المهاجرين في سان فرانسيسكو مع اكتساب خبرة مهنية قيمة وتدريب. نحن متحمسون لعمل كارمن معنا ونريد مشاركة القليل عنها من خلال مقابلة!

1- ما الذي ألهمك للتقدم إلى Dream SF Fellowship؟

كنت أبحث عن شيء أقوم به خلال فصل الصيف ، ثم أرسل لي مستشاري الأكاديمي بريدًا إلكترونيًا حول زمالة Dream SF. أردت أيضًا أن أفعل شيئًا للمجتمع غير الموثق لأنني أردت معرفة أي نوع من القادة يمكنني أن أكون. تقدمت بطلب وتم قبولي!

2. أخبرنا قليلاً عن نفسك.

ولدت ونشأت في فنزويلا. لقد تخرجت للتو من جامعة ولاية سان فرانسيسكو تخصص مزدوج في التاريخ والإسبانية. التحقت بمدرسة Everett Middle School ومدرسة Galileo الثانوية في سان فرانسيسكو. أتيت إلى سان فرانسيسكو عندما كان عمري 12 عامًا مع والدي. مكث والداي لمدة أسبوع وقرروا أن يتركوني أنا وأختي في رعاية عمي. كان الأمر صعبًا بالنسبة لي ، لأنه كان عليّ أن أبدأ من جديد. كنت أرغب في البقاء في بلدي لأن غالبية أفراد عائلتي وأصدقائي يعيشون هناك.

اعتبرت نفسي شخصًا من عالمين لأن نشأة الثقافة الصينية كانت في محيطي ، وبمجرد ذهابي إلى المدرسة ، كانت الثقافة الفنزويلية بارزة للغاية. في المنزل ، تحدث والداي إلي اللغة الصينية وكانت العادات والدين في غاية الأهمية في النمو. على سبيل المثال ، في السنة الصينية الجديدة ، كانت أمي تستيقظ مبكرًا وتبدأ في إعداد الطعام. كان الشيء المفضل لدي هو الاستيقاظ وشم رائحة طبخ أمي والمغلفات الحمراء والألعاب النارية. أيضًا ، كانت الثقافة الفنزويلية بارزة جدًا لأنني أقضي الكثير من الوقت في منازل جيراني. تذكرت أكل Arepas و Cachapas و Sancocho. في المدرسة ، لعبت مع أطفال من الباريو. كما تعلمت الكثير من اللغة العامية في الشوارع الفنزويلية.

فنزويلا دائما في حالة اضطراب. ولا تزال بلادي منقسمة حتى اليوم. أتذكر عندما كنت طفلاً فاتني المدرسة كثيرًا بسبب الاحتجاجات والمواجهات بين حزب هوغو شافيز والمعارضة. اعتقد والداي أن الخيار الأفضل هو المجيء إلى أمريكا ودراسة وتحسين تعليمي. الوضع السياسي الآن أسوأ مما كان عليه عندما غادرت. والداي لا يملكان حتى ورق التواليت لاستخدامهما أو أكل الدجاج. أشعر بالسوء حقًا بشأن الوضع الحالي للبلد.

3. ما هي بعض الأنشطة أو المشاريع التي شاركت فيها والتي تفتخر بها حقًا؟

عندما كنت متدربًا في ميثاق ، وشركة ، لقد ساعدت طالبة آسيوية بمساعدتها المالية. من خلال القيام بذلك ، اكتشفت أنها كانت AB540 وكانت مندهشة جدًا لأن والديها لم يخبراها عن وضعها. كان AB540 عبارة عن مشروع قانون تجميع تم تمريره في عام 2001 ، والذي يسمح للطلاب غير المسجلين بدفع الرسوم الدراسية داخل الدولة. يشير العديد من الطلاب غير المسجلين إلى أنفسهم باسم AB540 لتحديد حالتهم.

ذكّرني الطالب كثيرًا بنفسي لأن والديّ أيضًا لم يخبراني أنني لا أملك وثائق. لقد اكتشفت وضعي في المدرسة الثانوية ، عندما أخبرني مستشار المدرسة الثانوية أنني غير مؤهل للحصول على FAFSA. لم تعرف مستشاري ماذا أفعل في وضعي لأنني ربما كنت أول طالبة لا تحمل وثائق تعرفها في ذلك الوقت.

في اليوم التالي ، جاءت الطالبة وأخبرتني أنها لا تريد الالتحاق بالكلية لأنها باهظة الثمن. أخبرتها أن هناك طرقًا عديدة للحصول على المساعدة مثل المنح الدراسية. ظللت أشجعها على التقدم لجميع المنح الدراسية المتاحة وفعلت ذلك. عندما اكتشفت أنها حصلت على منحة دراسية لمدة أربع سنوات للالتحاق بـ City College ، كنت سعيدًا جدًا لها. ما زلت على تواصل معها على Facebook.

4. لماذا كنت مهتمًا بالعمل في MAF كزميل توعية؟

كان الحصول على تصريح العمل تجربة رائعة بالنسبة لي. لقد ارتكبت أخطاء وتعلمت بعض الدروس المهمة. على سبيل المثال ، كان تقديم الضرائب محيرًا للغاية وقد ارتكبت بعض الأخطاء في W-4 الخاص بي. لم أكن أعرف لماذا احتاجت مصلحة الضرائب إلى أخذ نقود من راتبي. بدأ بعض أصدقائي الذين لا يحملون وثائق في التحدث معي حول التسجيل للحصول على بطاقات الائتمان ، لأنه كان من المهم البدء في تكوين درجة ائتمان. كنت ضائعة ومرتبكة قليلاً. سبب رغبتي في الانضمام إلى MAF هو أنني أريد تقديم هذا الدعم والتوجيه للعديد من الشباب غير المسجلين حول مواردهم المالية.

5. ما الذي تتطلع إلى القيام به خلال فترة الزمالة؟

إنني أتطلع إلى تعلم العديد من المهارات ، لا سيما في مجال التوعية ، لأنني أعتقد أن التوعية أداة قوية يمكنها التأثير على المجتمع الذي نخدمه وتمكينه. أيضا ، الشبكات وبناء الاتصالات.

6. ما هي بعض أهدافك في السنوات الخمس المقبلة؟

آمل خلال 5 سنوات أن أحصل على وظيفة أستمتع بها ، خاصة العمل مع الشباب أو المجتمعات ذات الدخل المنخفض في منطقة الخليج. آمل خلال 5 سنوات أن يكون لدي إمكانية إحضار والدي للعيش معي هنا. لم أر والدتي منذ حوالي 10 سنوات وأنا أفتقدها حقًا.

7. ما هي آمالك بالنسبة لمجتمع الحالمين والأميركيين غير المسجلين؟

آمل أن يكون لدينا قريبًا إصلاح الهجرة الذي سيعود بالفائدة على الجميع على قدم المساواة ، إصلاح لن يفيد الشباب فحسب ، بل الآباء المجتهدين. ال العمل المؤجل للقادمين في مرحلة الطفولة هناك الكثير من القيود ، مثل أن تكون قد أتيت إلى الولايات المتحدة قبل سن 16 عامًا ويجب أن يكون عمرك أقل من 31 عامًا اعتبارًا من 15 يونيو 2012 ، لذلك لا يفيد كل حالم. لم تتمكن إحدى صديقاتي المقربات من التقدم بطلب للحصول على إجراءات مؤجلة لأنها أتت إلى هنا في يوليو من عام 2007 ولكن للتأهل يجب أن تكون مقيمًا في الولايات المتحدة منذ يونيو 2007. بسبب اختلاف شهر واحد ، لم تتمكن من التقدم بطلب للحصول على الإجراء المؤجل.

لا يمكننا الاستسلام الآن. ما زال هناك أمل. لم يفت الأوان بعد للقتال من أجل أحلامنا. نحن لسنا وحدنا في هذه المعركة. كفاحنا يجعلنا أقوى ويجعلنا ما نحن عليه.

داعيا كل الحالمين


يشارك جيسوس كاسترو قصته الخاصة ويأمل أن تلهم الآخرين للتقدم بطلب للحصول على DACA.

أحد الأشياء التي أجدها ممكّنة للغاية بشأن عملنا في MAF هو رؤية القادة الشباب يتابعون شغفهم ويعيدون الجميل للمجتمع. جيسوس كاسترو هو أحد هؤلاء القادة الذين انضموا إلى Lending Circle for Dreamers واستمر في الدفاع عن الشباب المهاجرين. لقد أجريت مقابلة معه حول أمر مثير إعلان الخدمة العامة لقد طور مع مكتب SF للمشاركة المدنية وشؤون المهاجرين لرفع مستوى الوعي حول الإجراء المؤجل للقادمين في مرحلة الطفولة (DACA).

كيف اشتركت في مكتب SF للانخراط المدني وشؤون المهاجرين؟

في المرة الأولى التي تواصلت فيها مع مكتب المشاركة المدنية وشؤون المهاجرين (OCEIA) ، أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا مديرة OCEIA ، Adrienne Pon ، كانت في حفل غداء Coro السنوي. بعد القاء كلمة عن الكيفية برنامج القيادة الاستكشافية Coro غيرت حياتي ، جاءني العديد من الأشخاص لتهنئتي ومناقشة مسيرتي المهنية ، لقد تشرفت حقًا. بعد دقيقتين من اقترب المديرة Pon مني وأعتقد أنها كانت أكثر ما يميزني بسبب اسم مكتبها. أنا متحمس جدًا للنضال من أجل المهاجرين ، واسمهم مكتب المشاركة المدنية وشؤون المهاجرين لفت انتباهي على الفور ، وذلك عندما علمت أنني أريد الحصول على هذا التدريب أكثر من أي شيء آخر.

ما هو الغرض من فيديو PSA؟

كان الغرض من PSA هو إنشاء أداة توعية مفيدة لتثقيف الناس حول DACA وتشجيعهم على التقدم والتقديم. كنا نأمل أيضًا في دمجها في حدث DACA لمدة عام واحد ، وذلك احتفالًا بالذكرى السنوية الأولى لـ DACA ، لذلك رداً على ذلك ، تم تشغيل فيديو PSA هذا. أثناء العملية ، كان هناك بعض السقطات وتأخر الفيديو ولكن بمساعدة صديق رائع ، وحبتي الصغيرة من الرمل ، اكتمل الفيديو أخيرًا وهو الآن قيد التشغيل موقع YouTube. تم نشر الفيديو أيضا على موقعنا موقع DreamSF.

كيف شعرت بمشاركة قصتك الشخصية في الفيديو؟

إن مشاركة قصتي أمر أستمتع به حقًا ، ليس فقط لأنه يمكّن الآخرين من مشاركة قصصهم ، ولكن أيضًا لأنه يمنحني القوة والشجاعة لمواصلة مشاركة قصتي. إنه تأثير الدومينو الذي يحتاجون إليه بعض الشجاعة من الآخرين لمشاركة قصصهم ، وتعطي ردود الفعل الإيجابية لهؤلاء الأشخاص الشخص الذي يروي قصتهم الشجاعة لمواصلة المشاركة.

ما هي بعض الأسباب التي جعلت الشباب المؤهل DACA لم يتقدم بعد؟

لا أستطيع أن أعرف على وجه اليقين ولا يمكنني التحدث نيابة عن أولئك الذين لم يتقدموا بعد بطلب للحصول على DACA ، ولكن إذا كنت سأخمن لماذا لم يتقدموا بطلب ، فسأقول إنه بسبب حقيقة أنهم لم يفعلوا ذلك. ر لديها المال للقيام بذلك. تكلفة التقدم بطلب للحصول على DACA هي $465 وهو استثمار ضخم والعديد من الأشخاص ليسوا على دراية بعملية التقديم وما يتطلبه التجديد ، لذلك نحن بحاجة إلى توفير الموارد التعليمية والمالية المناسبة.

كيف عرفت عن ماف؟

لعبت Mission Asset Fund (MAF) دورًا كبيرًا بالتأكيد في حياتي. كانت المرة الأولى التي سمعت فيها عنهم من خلال الخدمات القانونية للأطفال ، وهي المنظمة التي ساعدتني في عملية طلب DACA الخاصة بي. لقد اقترحوا أن أذهب إلى MAF للحصول على مساعدة مالية لأنهم في ذلك الوقت كانوا يقدمون منحة $155 لمقدمي طلبات DACA بالإضافة إلى خدمات الإقراض الخاصة بهم لدفع رسوم طلب DACA. انضممت إلى ما يسمونه Lending Circles للحالمين هل حصلت على خطوة بخطوة في ملء الطلب من أجل استلام الشيك الذي سيدفع مقابل طلبي. الآن ، يقدم البرنامج للمشاركين فرصة للحصول على قرض جماعي والادخار حتى تتمكن من دفع رسوم طلبك.

ما هي بعض الطرق الأخرى التي تحاول المدينة من خلالها مساعدة المهاجرين؟

على وجه التحديد، مكتبنا يساعد المهاجرين في الوصول إلى اللغة وخدمات التجنس وفيما يتعلق بالمهاجرين الشباب / البالغين من DACA ، فإننا نطلق برنامج الزملاء Dreamf هذا مخصص للأشخاص المعتمدين من DACA ولدينا ملف مبادرة مسارات المواطنة.

ما هي آمالك في الإصلاح الشامل للهجرة؟

سيكون الإصلاح الشامل للهجرة استثنائيًا لجميع المهاجرين الذين يقيمون حاليًا في الولايات المتحدة ، وأنا متأكد من أن هذا الإصلاح الشامل قاب قوسين أو أدنى ، لكن علينا جميعًا بذل جهد في هذه العملية وإبداء الاهتمام بها. لدينا حاليًا DACA ولكن ماذا عن آبائنا وأولئك الذين لا يستوفون متطلبات DACA؟ ليس كل شخص غير موثق مؤهلاً للحصول على DACA ، حيث يتم تفريق العديد من العائلات بينما إصلاحات الهجرة متوقفة. نحن بحاجة إلى المضي قدمًا وإلا ستعاني مجتمعاتنا.

ماذا تعني المشاركة المدنية بالنسبة لك وما مدى أهميتها في حياتك؟

بالنسبة لي ، هذا هو الفصل الثاني من قصتي. لقد كنت مع OCEIA منذ عامين وهو حقًا منزل بعيد عن المنزل. لا يمكنني أن أشكر المخرجة Pon بما يكفي لإعطائي الفرصة لأكون جزءًا من فريقها. منذ بداية تدريبي ، كان العمل شاقًا ، وأعني ذلك بأكبر قدر من الامتنان. شاكرة لأنني أعلم أنه من خلال كل العمل الذي قمت به أشعر أنني أفضل استعدادًا لأي وظيفة أخرى تأتي في طريقي. أود أيضًا أن أشكر ريتشارد ويبل لأنه كان هناك في كل خطوة على الطريق. إنه لا يرشدني فقط من خلال تحديات العمل ولكن أيضًا من خلال تحديات الحياة. على الرغم من أنني فعلت الكثير مع OCEIA ، إلا أن هذه ليست سوى البداية. ما زلت أتطلع إلى سنوات عديدة معهم ، ومع نمو OCEIA ، سأفعل ذلك أيضًا.


نسيمة أبرا هو مساعد تسويق وزميل قطاع جديد في Mission Asset Fund. تحب رواية القصص والصالح الاجتماعي وفنجان شاي جيد. يمكنك الوصول إليها على nesima@missionassetfund.org.

أوليفيا: الطبخ من القلب


بدأ مالكا الأعمال الصغيرة أوليفيا وخافيير شركة Eleganza Catering ولكنهما احتاجا إلى Lending Circles لتقليل الديون الطبية وبناء أعمالهما

أوليفيا فيلاسكيز وزوجها خافيير ديلغاديلو من المكسيك ويشتركان في شغف الطبخ وتدليل الناس من حولهم. يتمتعون معًا بـ 42 عامًا من الخبرة في خدمة العملاء وإعداد الطعام من فترة عملهم في مكان غداء شهير في وسط مدينة سان فرانسيسكو.

في عام 2010 ، أمضت أوليفيا وخافيير ساعات طويلة في وحدة العناية المركزة للأطفال في مستشفى UCSF ، في انتظار تعافي ابنهما الأصغر من جراحة المخ والأعصاب.

لشكر موظفي المستشفى على تفانيهم ، بدأ أوليفيا وخافيير في إحضار السندويشات والسلطات والفواكه. من هناك ، بدأت طلبات تقديم الطعام في الظهور - أولاً للمناسبات الخاصة للموظفين ، ولاحقًا للمناسبات الخاصة الأكبر على مستوى المؤسسة. وهكذا بدأ إليجانزا للتموين.

بنات أوليفيا

انخفضت درجة ائتمان أوليفيا بما يقرب من 200 نقطة من الديون الطبية المتراكمة بينما كان ابنها يخضع للعلاج. بعد أن تعافى ، حان الوقت للعائلة للتركيز على التخلص من الديون الطبية وتحسين سجلها الائتماني حتى يتمكنوا من بناء أعمالهم التجارية. تعرفت على Lending Circles من صديقاتها ، برونو وميكايلا ، اللذين كانا أيضًا من أصحاب الأعمال الصغيرة والذين استخدموا البرنامج بنجاح لإصلاح رصيدهم. انضمت أوليفيا وزوجها إلى دائرة الإقراض في عام 2012 واستخدموا قروضهم للمساعدة في سداد ديونهم الحالية.

صوفي كوينتون من المجلة الوطنية التقارير ، "بعد 11 شهرًا فقط من المشاركة في برنامج الإقراض من نظير إلى نظير ، ارتفعت درجة ائتمان أوليفيا من أقل من 500 إلى حوالي 670."

تحقق من أوليفيا اعمال

Skip to main content

Tag: DACA

Welcome Carmen Chan, DREAMSF Fellow!


Carmen, a Dreamer from Venezuela, shares her story and dream to help undocumented youth.

Carmen Chan recently joined the MAF team as an Outreach Fellow through the San Francisco Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs’ DREAMSF Fellowship. The DREAMSF Fellowship is an opportunity for DACA-approved youth to serve San Francisco’s immigrant communities while gaining valuable professional experience and training. We’re excited to have Carmen work with us and want to share a little bit about her through an interview!

1.What inspired you to apply to the Dream SF Fellowship?

I was looking for something to do over the summer and then my academic adviser send me an email about the Dream SF Fellowship. I also wanted to do something for the undocumented community because I wanted to find out what kind of a leader I can be. I applied and I was accepted!

2. Tell us a little about yourself.

I was born and raised in Venezuela. I just graduated from San Francisco State University double majoring in History and Spanish. I attended Everett Middle School and Galileo High School in San Francisco. I came to San Francisco when I was 12 years old with my parents. My parents stayed for one week and they decided to leave me and my sister in the care of my uncle.  It was difficult for me, because I had to start over again. I wanted to stay in my country, because the majority of my family members and friends lived there.

I considered myself a person of two worlds because growing up the Chinese culture was in my surroundings and once I went to school, the Venezuelan culture was very prominent.  At home, my parents spoke Chinese to me and the customs and religion were very important growing. For example, on Chinese New Year my mom would wake up early and start preparing food. My favorite thing was waking up and smelling my mom’s cooking, the red envelopes, and the fireworks. Also, the Venezuelan culture was very prominent because I spend a lot of time in my neighbors’ houses. I remembered eating Arepas, Cachapas, and Sancocho. At school, I played with kids from the barrio. I also learned a lot of Venezuelan street slang.

Venezuela is always in turmoil. My country is divided still even today.  I remember when I was a kid I missed school a lot due to protests and confrontations between the Hugo Chavez party and the opposition. My parents thought that the best option was to come to America, study and improve my education. The political situation right now is worse than when I left. My parents do not even have toilet paper to use or chicken to eat. I feel really bad about how the country is right now.

3. What are some activities or projects you’ve been involved with that you are really proud of?

When I was an intern at Pact, Inc, I helped an Asian student with her financial aid. By doing that I found out that she was AB540 and she was so surprised because her parents did not tell her about her status.  AB540 was an assembly bill that was passed in 2001, which allows undocumented students to pay in-state tuition fees. Many undocumented students refer themselves as AB540 to specify their status.

The student reminded me a lot of myself because my parents also didn’t tell me that I was undocumented. I found out about my status in high school, when my high school counselor told me that I did not qualify for FAFSA. My counselor did not know what to do with my situation because I was probably the first undocumented student she knew at that time.

The next day, the student came and told me that she didn’t want to attend to college because it was too expensive. I told her that there were many ways to get help like through scholarships. I kept encouraging her to apply for all the scholarships available and she did. When I found out that she got a four year scholarship to attend City College, I was so happy for her. I still keep in touch with her on Facebook.

4. Why were you interested in working at MAF as an Outreach Fellow?

Having the work permit has been an eye opening experience for me. I made mistakes and I learned some important big lessons. For example, filing taxes was so confusing and I made some mistakes in my W-4. I didn’t know why the IRS needed to take money out of my paycheck.  Some of my undocumented friends started to talk to me about signing up for credit cards, because it was important to start building a credit score. I was lost and little confused. The reason I wanted to join MAF is because I want to provide that support and guidance for many undocumented youth about their finances.

5. What are you looking forward to doing during your fellowship?

I am looking forward to learning many skills, especially in outreach, because I believe outreach is a powerful tool that can influence and empower the community that we serve. Also, networking and building connections.

6. What are some of your goals in the next five years?

I hope in 5 years to have a job that I enjoy, especially working with youth or the low-income communities in the Bay Area. I hope in 5 years I have the possibility to bring my parents to live here with me. I haven’t see my mother for about 10 years and I really miss her.

7. What are your hopes for the Dreamer community and undocumented Americans?

I hope that soon we have immigration reform that will benefit everyone equally, a reform that will benefit not only the youth, but the hardworking parents. The Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals has so many limitations, such as you have to have come to the US before age 16 and you have to be under 31 as of June 15, 2012, so it does not benefit every Dreamer. One of my closest friends could not apply for Deferred Action because she came here in July of 2007 but to qualify you must have been residing in the U.S since June 2007. Because of one month difference, she couldn’t apply for the Deferred Action.

We can’t give up now. There is still hope. It is never too late to fight for our dreams. We are not alone in this fight. Our struggles make us stronger and make us who we are.

Calling all Dreamers


Jesus Castro shares his own story and hopes it inspires others to apply for DACA.

One of the things I find so empowering about our work at MAF is seeing young leaders follow their passion and give back to the community. Jesus Castro is one of those leaders who joined Lending Circle for Dreamers and has gone on to advocate for immigrant youth. I interviewed him about an exciting public service announcement he has developed with the SF Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs to raise awareness about Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA).

How did you get involved with the SF Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs?

The first time I came in contact with the Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant Affairs (OCEIA), or more specifically OCEIA’s director, Adrienne Pon, was at the Coro Annual Luncheon. After giving a speech on how Coro’s Exploring Leadership Program changed my life, several people came up to me to congratulate me, and discuss my career path, I was really honored. A couple minutes after Director Pon approached me and I think she stood out to me the most because of her offices name. I am very passionate about the fight for immigrants and, their name being The Office of Civic Engagement and Immigrant affairs just caught my eye right away that’s when I knew that I wanted to get that internship more than anything.

What was the purpose of the PSA video?

The PSA’s purpose was to create a useful outreach tool to educate people about DACA and encourage them to come forward and apply. We were also hoping to incorporate it in our one year of DACA event this in celebration of DACA’s one year anniversary, so in response this PSA video came into play. During the process there were some hiccups and the video was delayed but with help from an awesome friend, and my own little grain of sand the video was finally completed and it’s now on YouTube. The video is also posted on our dreamSF website.

How did you feel sharing your personal story in the video?

Sharing my story is something that I really enjoy doing not only because it empowers others to share their stories, but also because it also gives me the strength and courage to keep sharing my story.  It’s a domino effect they need a little courage from others to share their stories, and these people’s positive feedback gives the person telling their story the courage to keep doing sharing.

What are some reasons DACA eligible youth have not applied yet?

I can’t know for sure and I can’t speak on behalf of those who haven’t yet applied for DACA, but if I were to guess why they haven’t applied I would say it’s because of the fact that they don’t have the money to do so. The cost to apply for DACA is $465 which is a huge investment and many people are also unfamiliar with the application process and what it takes to renew, so we need to provide the right educational and financial resources.

How did you find out about MAF?

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) has definitely played a huge role in my life. The first time I heard about them was through Legal Services for Children, the organization that helped me with my DACA application process. They suggested that I go to MAF for financial assistance because at the time they were offering a $155 scholarship for DACA applicants on top of their lending services to pay for the DACA application. I joined what they call Lending Circles for Dreamers were I got a step by step on filling in the application in order to receive the check that would pay for my application. Now, the program offers participants an opportunity to get a group loan and save so you can pay for your application.

What are some other ways the city is trying to assist immigrants?

Specifically, our office is assisting immigrants with language access, naturalization services and in terms of DACA youth/adult immigrants, we are launching a dreamsf fellows program that is specifically for DACA approved people and we have a Pathways to Citizenship initiative.

What are your hopes for comprehensive immigration reform?

A comprehensive immigration reform would be exceptional for all immigrants that currently reside in the U.S. I’m sure this comprehensive reform is around the corner but we just all have to make an effort in the process and show an interest in it. We currently have DACA but what about our parents and those who don’t meet the requirements for DACA? Not every undocumented person qualifies for DACA so many families are being broken up while immigration reforms is at a standstill. We need to move forward or our communities suffer.

What does civic engagement mean to you and how it is important in your life?

To me, it’s the 2nd chapter to my story. I have been with OCEIA for 2 years now and it’s really a home away from home. I can’t thank Director Pon enough for giving me the opportunity to be part of her team. Since the beginning of my internship the work has been tough, and I mean that in the most thankful way. Thankful because from all the work that I have done I know feel better prepared me for whatever other job comes my way. I also want to thank Richard Whipple he has been there every step of the way. He not only guides me through work challenges but also through life’s challenges. Although I have done a lot with OCEIA, this is only the beginning.  I am still looking forward to many years with them, and as OCEIA grows, I will as well.


Nesima Aberra is the Marketing Associate and New Sector Fellow at Mission Asset Fund. She loves storytelling, social good and a good cup of tea. You can reach her at nesima@missionassetfund.org.

Olivia: cooking from the heart


Small business owners Olivia and Javier started Eleganza Catering but needed Lending Circles to reduce medical debt & build their business

Olivia Velazquez and her husband, Javier Delgadillo are originally from Mexico and share a passion for cooking and for pampering the people around them. Together, they have 42 years of experience in customer service and food preparation from their tenure at a popular downtown San Francisco lunch spot.

In 2010, Olivia and Javier spent long hours at the Pediatrics Intensive Care Unit at UCSF Hospital, waiting for their youngest son’s recovery from neurosurgery.

To thank the hospital staff for their dedication, Olivia and Javier started to bring in sandwiches, salads, and fruits. From there, catering requests started to come in – first for private events of the staff members, and later for larger organization-wide special occasions. And so began Eleganza Catering.

Olivia’s daughters

Olivia’s credit score plummeted nearly 200 points from the medical debt accrued while her son was going through treatment. After he recovered, it was time for the family to focus on getting rid of the medical debt and improving their credit histories so they could build their business. She learned about Lending Circles from her friends, Bruno and Micaela, who were also small business owners and who had successfully used the program to repair their credit. Olivia and her husband joined a Lending Circle in 2012 and used their loans to help pay down their existing debt.

Sophie Quinton from the National Journal reports, “After just 11 months of participating in the peer-to-peer lending program, Olivia’s credit score went from below 500 to about 670.”

Check out Olivia’s business