标签: entrepreneur

哈维尔:通过建立信用来淘金


一位企业家找到了提升业务的秘诀

Javier 在美国以地毯生意开始了他的创业生涯。现在,作为有执照的承包商,他翻新旧出租物业以进行管理或转售。在花了将近一年的时间在他购买的第一处房产上工作后,当他以盈利的方式出售时,他非常激动。他找到了他的美国梦。 Javier 认为“翻转房屋”将是他迄今为止最赚钱的商业策略。但当市场出现最坏的情况时,他从朋友和家人那里借了尽可能多的钱来支付抵押贷款,但最终失去了他的两处财产并申请破产。

哈维尔突然发现自己身处一个坑底,银行和律师都无法帮助他走出去。

他之前开了一张信用卡,但在失去财产后,他的分数直线下降。他试图申请贷款,但银行不理他。没有信用对哈维尔来说特别困难,因为这意味着他甚至无法从 Home Depot 租用工具。

哈维尔不知道接下来要做什么。他听说过 Lending Circles 并且熟悉这个概念,因为他在墨西哥长大。他的妈妈会经常参加tandas,为他和他的五个兄弟姐妹买东西。现在,作为三个孩子的父亲和唯一的收入来源,哈维尔偿还债务并照顾自己的家人至关重要。他决定加入一个借贷圈来建立他的信用并学习更多关于财务管理的知识。

“现金好买,但在美国,信贷让这一切变得容易。信用是金。你没有信用,你什么都没有,”哈维尔说。

在他的破产计划还剩三年的时候,哈维尔平衡了经营剩余的财产和建筑业务以及偿还债务。

完成他的 Lending Circle 后,Javier 现在有了一个修复的信用评分,这让他对去银行和申请信用卡更有信心。他很高兴自己迈出了改善财务状况和改变生活的第一步。哈维尔甚至出现在 MAF 的视频中 2014 社区领袖奖,在那里他分享了他的故事,以及他的家人为他的成就感到多么自豪。

努力工作后,他的目标是带家人去巴亚尔塔港和坎昆度过一个当之无愧的假期,庆祝克服困难的挑战并积极展望未来。

小额贷款聚焦。Elvia Buendia,Cupcake老板


Elvia喜欢甜品,所以她跟随自己的心,开了自己的纸杯蛋糕店!

Elvia Buendia 在墨西哥城郊区的一个小镇长大。作为 6 个孩子中最小的一个,她在一个受保护、充满爱心的中等收入家庭中长大。她对甜点充满热情,这源于她和母亲一起在厨房里度过的时光,她会用农场新鲜的食材制作美味的自制糕点和蛋糕。

Elvia学习了三年的计算机编程,然后结婚了。几年后,她和丈夫决定希望他们的家人有更多机会并搬到旧金山。

Elvia 认为她可以留在家里和她的孩子们一起在家工作,成为一名计算机程序员。她发现很难找到稳定的工作,并决定专注于抚养孩子更好。一天,儿子问她最喜欢做什么,她回答:“烘焙。”

就在那时,一切都变了。

后来 Elvia 为她的家人制作的第一个蛋糕效果不佳,因为她在食谱中混合了摄氏和华氏的烹饪温度。

“我记得把蛋糕倒在盘子上,它砰地一声掉了下来。然后我的儿子惊呼,'看,妈妈做了一个轮胎!'”她笑着回忆道。

在那之后,Elvia 报名参加了蛋糕装饰和烘焙课程作为业余爱好。一旦她开始将蛋糕带到朋友和聚会上,人们也希望她为他们烤蛋糕。

“那时我就想,哦,我可以创业了!”艾尔维亚说。

但创业并不简单。 Elvia当时负债累累,但来到Mission Asset Fund寻求帮助后,她被鼓励申请小额贷款。她用 $5000 贷款投资了冰箱、营业执照和一些发展她的面包店的必需品, La Luna 纸杯蛋糕。

烘焙自制甜点对大多数人来说似乎是一种奢侈品,但对于 Elvia 来说,这是她一天中必不可少的一部分,她相信任何人只要真正喜欢它就可以做到。

她相信按照她母亲教她的方式,在她的纸杯蛋糕和蛋糕汽水中使用新鲜、天然的原料。

红丝绒、摩卡巧克力、蜜月蔓越莓橙,只是 Elvia 提供的几种美味。 La Luna Cupcakes 开始仅作为在线订单,并在 La Cocina 孵化器中运作。 Elvia 会亲自下达订单并举办特别活动。

2013 年,La Luna Cupcakes 搬进了旧金山市中心 Crocker Galleria 的实体店。 Elvia 还雇佣了 4 名员工与她一起工作,包括她去年 12 月加入的丈夫!

艾尔维亚的生活与她所梦想的截然不同。

由于销售和促销方面的挑战,经营企业可能会带来财务压力,但她说她的生活简单而轻松。她已经结婚 25 年,育有两个孩子——一个 22 岁的女儿和一个 16 岁的儿子。即使过了这么多年,她最喜欢做的事情还是打开烤箱闻闻新鲜的纸杯蛋糕。

“这让我想起了我和妈妈在厨房里度过的所有时光,”Elvia 笑着说。

今年 12 月,Elvia 将还清她的贷款,并期待扩大 La Luna Cupcakes。她的目标是在另外两个地方开店,她把孩子作为她继续经营的动力。

“我总是教他们如果你想要什么,你就可以做到!相信你的梦想!”


内西玛·阿贝拉 是 Mission Asset Fund 的营销助理和新部门研究员。她喜欢讲故事、社会公益和一杯好茶。你可以联系她 [email protected].

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2022 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Tag: entrepreneur

Javier: Striking Gold by Building Credit


An entrepreneur finds the secret to lifting up his business

Javier began his entrepreneurial career in the United States with a carpet business. Now, as a licensed contractor, he renovates old rental properties to manage or resell. After spending nearly a year working on the first property he bought, when he sold it at a profit, he was thrilled. He had found his American Dream. Javier thought that “flipping houses” was going to be his most lucrative business strategy yet. But when the market took a turn for the worst, he borrowed as much as he could from friends and family to pay his mortgages, but ultimately lost two of his properties and filed for bankruptcy.

Javier suddenly found himself at the bottom of a hole that banks and lawyers couldn’t help him get out of.

He opened one credit card before but after losing his properties, his score plummeted. He tried to apply for loans but the banks wouldn’t touch him. Not having credit was particularly difficult for Javier because it meant he couldn’t even rent tools from Home Depot.

Javier wasn’t sure what to do next. He had heard of Lending Circles and was familiar with the concept from growing up in Mexico. His mom would participate in tandas very often and buy things for him and his five brothers and sisters. Now as a father of three and the only source of income, it was critical for Javier to pay off his debt and take care of his own family. He decided to join a Lending Circle to build up his credit and learn more about financial management.

“Cash is good to buy, but credit makes it easy in the United States. Credit is gold. You don’t have credit, you don’t have anything,” Javier says.

With three years left in his bankruptcy program, Javier balances running his remaining properties and construction business and paying off his debt.

After finishing his Lending Circle, Javier now has a repaired credit score, which makes him more confident about going to banks and applying for credit cards. He is happy he has taken the first step towards improving his financial health and changing his life. Javier was even featured in a video for MAF’s 2014 Community Leadership Award, where he shared his story and how proud his family is for what he’s accomplished.

After working so hard, his goal is to take his family on a well-deserved vacation to Puerto Vallarta and Cancun to celebrate overcoming a difficult challenge and looking positively towards the future.

Microloan Spotlight: Elvia Buendia, Cupcake Boss


Elvia loved desserts, so she followed her heart and opened her own cupcake shop!

Elvia Buendia grew up in a small town on the outskirts of Mexico City. As the youngest of 6 children, she was raised in a protective, loving, moderate-income family. She had a passion for desserts which stemmed from spending time in the kitchen with her mother who would use farm-fresh ingredients to whip up delicious homemade pastries and cakes.

Elvia studied computer programming for three years and then got married. After a few years, she and her husband decided that they wanted their family to have more opportunities and moved to San Francisco.

Elvia thought that she would be able to stay at home with her children and work from home as a computer programmer. She found it hard to find stable work and decided that it would be better to focus on raising her children.  One day, her son asked her what she loved to do most, she answered: “Baking.”

And that’s when everything changed.

The first cake Elvia made for her family afterwards didn’t turn out well because she mixed up using Celsius and Fahrenheit cooking temperatures in the recipe.

“ I remember dumping the cake out on the the plate and it fell with a thump. My son then exclaimed, ‘Look, Mommy made a tire!’” she recalls, with a laugh.

After that, Elvia signed up for cake decorating and baking classes as a hobby. Once she began taking her cakes to friends and parties, people wanted her to bake them cakes as well.

“That’s when I thought, oh I can start a business!” Elvia says.

But starting a business was not simple. Elvia had a lot of debt at the time but after coming to Mission Asset Fund for help, she was encouraged to apply for a microloan. She used the $5000 loan to invest in a fridge, business license and a number of necessities to grow her bakery, La Luna Cupcakes.

Baking homemade desserts may seem like a luxury to most people, but for Elvia, it’s an essential part of her day and something she believes anyone can do if they truly enjoy it.

She believes in using fresh, natural ingredients for her cupcakes and cake pops just the way her mother taught her.

Red velvet, mocha chocolate, honeymoon cranberry orange, are just a few of the delicious flavors Elvia offers. La Luna Cupcakes started as online orders only and worked out of the La Cocina incubator. Elvia would deliver the orders and cater special events herself.

In 2013, La Luna Cupcakes was able to move into a physical store in the Crocker Galleria in downtown San Francisco. Elvia also has hired 4 employees to work with her, including her husband who joined last December!

Elvia’s life is very different from what she dreamed of.

Running a business can be stressful financially with the challenges of sales and promotion, but she says she has a simple and easy life. She’s been married for 25 years and has two kids- a 22-year-old daughter and 16-year-old son. Even after all these years, her favorite thing to do is open the oven and smell the fresh cupcakes.

“It makes me think of all the time I spent with my mother in her kitchen,” Elvia says with a smile.

This December, Elvia will have paid off her loan and looks forward to expanding La Luna Cupcakes. Her goal is to open up stores in two more locations and she cites her children as her motivation to continue her business.

“I always taught them if you want something, you can do it! Believe in your dream!”


Nesima Aberra is the Marketing Associate and New Sector Fellow at Mission Asset Fund. She loves storytelling, social good and a good cup of tea. You can reach her at nesima@missionassetfund.org.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English