标签: 家庭

创新。让看不见的东西看得见


CEO Jose Quinonez 在麻省理工学院出版社的“创新”杂志上对 MAF 的起源故事进行了幕后调查。

以下摘录最初发表在麻省理工学院出版社出版的期刊“创新:技术、治理、全球化”上。 在这里阅读全文.

我 20 岁那年,我意识到我母亲因为我们穷而去世了。

她在我九岁的时候去世了,太年轻了,无法理解贫困生活的复杂和危险本质。那个时候,我不得不把内心的一切都集中起来,才能在我们家庭生活的悲痛和变化的雪崩中幸存下来。

直到成年后,我才开始接受痛苦的童年。我现在认为它是我对世界上受苦和挣扎的人们深切同情的来源。

这就是为什么我将我的一生奉献给与贫困作斗争的原因。

这就是我成为 Mission Asset Fund (MAF) 的创始首席执行官的原因,该组织是一个致力于为勤奋家庭创造公平金融市场的非营利组织。当我 2007 年加入 MAF 时,该组织是一家非营利性初创公司,计划帮助旧金山 Mission District 的低收入移民。

八年后,MAF 因开发 Lending Circles 获得全国认可,这是一项基于人们聚集在一起借贷的社会贷款计划。凭借尖端技术,我们将这种无形的实践转化为一种向善的力量。

计划参与者正在通过开设银行账户、建立信用记录、偿还高成本债务和增加储蓄来摆脱掠夺性贷方的控制。他们正在投资企业,购买房屋,并为更美好的未来而储蓄。

Lending Circles 揭示了人们生活中已经好的东西。

在这种情况下,参与者正在开辟一条通往金融主流的可靠道路,在每一步释放他们真正的经济潜力。该计划的成功正在成为与贫困作斗争的典范,展示了帮助低收入人群而又不贬低他们的新的有效方法。

这是我们如何做到这一点的幕后故事.

庆祝我们社区的许多妈妈


这个母亲节,我们庆祝所有“MAF 妈妈”通过 Lending Circles 努力为家人创造更美好的生活。

这个星期天是献给我们生活中坚强、睿智、慷慨和有爱心的母亲的日子。本着母亲节的精神,我们正在庆祝一些 MAF 客户,他们正在努力为家人建立光明的金融未来。

三代厨师

为了 瓜达卢佩,烹制地道的墨西哥美食,一直是家常便饭。作为一个女孩,她和她的母亲从头开始制作最美味的玉米饼,现在她和她的女儿们也这样做了。她用她的 Lending Circles 贷款购买设备并帮助支付一辆面包车以扩大她的餐饮业务, 埃尔皮皮拉 - 她和女儿一起经营以养家糊口。

当我们上一次分享瓜达卢佩的故事是在 2014 年,她梦想开一家小型的实体食品摊。现在,她是一家食品供应商 大厅 在旧金山和湾区节日的常客食品卡车。瓜达卢佩的家庭是她成功的关键。 “我这样做是为了我的女儿们。我想确保他们中的任何一个都不必为除自己以外的任何人工作”。

执行任务的妈妈

海伦来自危地马拉的单身妈妈带着一个简单的梦想来到 MAF:为她的孩子拥有一个安全的家。因为她付不起高额的押金,也没有信用评分,她别无选择,只能在合租公寓里租房——包括一个家庭住在走廊的公寓。

加入 Lending Circle 后,Helen 存够了保证金,并建立了信用评分。现在,她为女儿们拥有了自己的三居室公寓,还有更大的梦想。

在她儿子的支持下制作纸杯蛋糕

艾尔维亚儿子用一个简单的问题点燃了她对烘焙的热情:“妈妈,你最喜欢做什么?”在以在派对上吃最好的甜点而闻名后,她的家人和朋友鼓励 Elvia 开一家面包店。

她用 MAF 的 $5,000 贷款投资了冰箱、营业执照和一些必需品来发展她的面包店, La Luna Cupcakes.她现在在旧金山的克罗克广场拥有一家纸杯蛋糕店,她的孩子们仍然是她的北极星。 “我总是教他们如果你想要什么,你就可以做到!相信你的梦想!”

感谢 MAF 最新的合作伙伴成功经理 Lesley Marling 对本文的贡献。

政策要扬长避短,不要批判人品


社会学家 Philip N. Cohen 最近发表的一篇文章强调了尊重我们所服务家庭的尊严和实力的政策的重要性。

上周,马里兰大学社会学教授、当代家庭委员会高级学者菲利普·科恩在《华盛顿邮报》上发表了一篇文章,认为“美国政策未能减少儿童贫困,因为它旨在解决贫困问题."

标题引起了我的注意。

它简洁地抓住了与低收入社区几十年的合作教会我的东西:我们不需要救世主来教穷人正确的道德。我们需要倡导者认识和培养他们的优势,使他们自己摆脱贫困。

当前旨在解决它们的反贫困政策实际上对它们不利。

科恩的文章仔细审查了这种当前的方法,并放弃了它。他挑战了反贫困政策的动机、逻辑和结果,这些政策将迫使贫困父母结婚或找工作作为政府援助的先决条件:

我们知道在贫穷中长大对孩子不利。但美国的反贫困政策往往关注穷人自身的道德缺陷,而不是关注金钱。 ... 具体来说,如果贫困父母想摆脱贫困,我们为他们提供两种选择:找工作或结婚。这种方法不仅行不通,而且对于无法为父母的决定负责的孩子也是一种残酷的惩罚。

儿童税收抵免和劳动收入税收抵免等税收优惠专供那些能够找到并拥有工作的人使用,这对于难以照顾年幼子女或年长父母和残疾人的人来说几乎是不可能的工作。福利金受到限制 工作要求和时间限制使数以百万计的家庭望而却步.

其他过去、现在和提议的反贫困政策旨在激励婚姻,有效惩罚选择不结婚的父母——每个人,无论贫富,都应该能够自由做出选择。

此类政策未能以应有的尊重对待穷人。

他们无法提供适用于所有家庭的解决方案。科恩提出了更简单的替代方案,即平等为所有父母服务并为贫困家庭提供帮助的计划,而不会对他们的个人决定和需求强加道德判断。

这给我们带来了一个更广泛的教训,我们所有人——政策制定者、非营利组织领导人、社区成员——都可以从中吸取教训:我们必须与人见面,尊重他们带来的东西,以及 建立在他们所拥有的优势之上.

这种方法不是白日做梦。我每天都看到它与 Lending Circles 一起工作。

MAF 的社会贷款计划从尊重、承认和重视我们的客户已经拥有的丰富资源和金融头脑的立场开始。然后我们在这些优势的基础上 整合他们的积极行为和非正式实践 进入主流金融市场。

穷人不坏。他们拥有我们常常无法认识到的优势。

与其评判他们的行为并将我们自己的价值观强加于他们,我们必须以尊严对待他们,并寻求适合每个人的解决方案,无论他们的背景、能力或婚姻状况如何。

法学院与塔马雷斯。DACA为Kimberly打开了大门。


在Lending Circles for DACA的帮助下,金伯利正在完成她的学位并准备她的法学院申请--同时帮助她的妈妈和姐姐发展他们的家庭玉米饼生意。

很难错过Ynes的玉米饼摊。

在工作日的早晨,在奥克兰一个安静的社区,你会发现一个小餐车里挤满了街头市场的所有能量。"我正准备去街对面买早餐,然后我看到了你们!"Ynes的一个常客走近小车时喊道。

多年来,Ynes和她的女儿Kimberly和Maria一直来到同一个地方,提供正宗的墨西哥玉米粉蒸肉。Ynes和她的丈夫20年前从卡波圣卢卡斯搬到奥克兰,以创造一种新的生活,为他们年轻的女儿提供更多机会。

从很小的时候起,金伯利就决心要充分利用这些机会。

金伯利是数以千计的年轻人中的一员,他们曾使用过 儿童入境延缓行动 (DACA)上大学和获得工作。她是数百名使用DACA的人中的一员。 DREAMers的Lending Circles 以资助他们的DACA申请。

但在DACA之前,许多门对她来说是关闭的。

小时候,金伯利在学校里努力学习,最终以她所需要的成绩毕业,进入一所四年制大学。但由于她不是在美国出生,她没有资格获得财政援助,甚至没有资格获得州内的学费。相反,她进入了一所她能负担得起的当地社区大学,自费学习。

一天晚上,金伯利在Univision上看到了一个将改变一切的片段:一个当地非营利组织的简介,该组织提供社会贷款,帮助移民建立信用并申请DACA。她希望这可能是进入她梦想的学校的关键,于是她来到我们的办公室了解更多情况。

两年前,Kimberly加入了她的第一个Lending Circle。

一开始,她就发现MAF的财务管理培训非常有帮助。"她说:"在学校里,他们教你如何做数学题和写论文,但他们没有教你关于信贷的知识。接下来,通过她的Lending Circles贷款和一个 旧金山墨西哥领事馆的$232.50比赛因此,她申请了DACA并很快获得批准。

她的新身份解除了一直以来阻碍她实现梦想的障碍。

金伯利终于可以获得她转入旧金山州立大学所需的财政援助。她被雇用做两份兼职工作。有了更好的信用,她获得了贷款,为她家的生意购买了新的设备:桌子、椅子和雨篷,以便他们的顾客可以坐下来社交。

今天,Kimberly正在完成她在SFSU的政治学学位 - 以及她的第二个Lending Circle。

她通过在东湾避难所盟约做志愿者来回馈她的社区,该组织支持湾区的难民和移民。她还在学习LSAT考试,并准备她的法学院申请,努力在移民和家庭法方面发展。

而与此同时,她还在帮助她妈妈发展他们家的食品车业务。

金伯利和她的妹妹玛丽亚仍然在母亲身边,为不断增长的客户提供玉米粉。这个家族企业的下一步是什么?随着信用记录的改善,他们正在寻求更大的贷款,以扩大他们的业务,建立第二个食品车。最终,Ynes梦想着开一家餐馆,把她的美味玉米粉蒸肉带给更多热切、饥饿的顾客。

对每段关系来说都是一个重要的问题。"你的信用分数是多少?"


从寻找下一个伟大的关系到支付一个特别的夜晚,拥有良好的信用很重要。

这个博客是 最初发表 作为 CFED 的“包容性经济”博客的一部分 资产与机会国家行动周.

我们都喜欢在查看您的约会资料后收到某人对您感兴趣的通知的兴奋。你快速查看他们的照片,看看他们住在哪里,他们有什么兴趣,他们的照片对他们有什么看法。

但是,如果您也能看到他们的信用评分呢?

如此多的关系都充满了金钱问题,因此想知道您的潜在合作伙伴的财务状况是否良好是可以理解的。约会网站擅长根据自我报告的措施确定兼容性,但使用信用评分等看似客观的指标似乎有助于进行更好的匹配——并可能帮助爱情鸟避免一些严重的财务问题。

没有信用记录的人怎么办?

估计有 美国2600万人“信用隐形”,这意味着借款人的个人资料中没有足够的信息来生成信用报告或信用评分。与白人或亚裔美国人相比,黑人和西班牙裔美国人更可能没有信用记录或没有信用记录。还有数百万人拥有“次级”信用,这意味着他们的信用状况或评分并不理想。

一个星期五下午,有一位女士在 Mission Asset Fund (MAF),我工作的非营利组织。她问她是否能拿到钱,以便她可以在儿子生日那天晚上带她出去吃饭。不幸的是,MAF 的社会贷款计划没有提供她需要的即时资金。

那么像她这样的人去哪里了?

如果她没有信用并且无法向朋友和家人借款,她唯一的选择可能是去发薪日贷方,该贷方可以在同一天提供她的钱,作为她在雇主那里的正常收入的预付款。尽管众所周知,发薪日贷款机构会收取高昂的利率和费用,但为了与家人共进庆祝晚餐,这种权衡对她来说似乎是值得的。

我看到很多人在我妈妈在印第安纳州管理的发薪日贷款店做出同样的决定。挑战在于,一旦有人拿出发薪日贷款,他们就很难摆脱它。

看似短期贷款膨胀为长期承诺。

在高中时,我每六个月从加利福尼亚回来探望我的妈妈,每年我都会一次又一次地看到相同的客户。他们甚至会为我妈妈送圣诞礼物。发薪日贷方很快成为首选贷方,有时也是唯一的贷方,在一个客户感到被倾听和理解的地方,但这并没有帮助他们摆脱信贷和债务循环,从而真正建立资产。

许多州法律保护消费者免受掠夺性贷方的侵害,但借款人仍然可以在线获得这些贷款,如果他们附近没有这些贷款。纽约已警告在线贷方有关其 利率上限和产权贷款规则,而加利福尼亚等其他州已经看到 业务迁出州到部落保留地 以阻挠监管并继续开展业务。法律不足以保护消费者免于获得不良贷款,因为人们总是需要获得资金。

强有力的消费者保护的障碍之一是我们国家处理信贷的方式。

一个人可能因未能支付电费或电缆账单而被记在信用报告上,同时又无法从定期按时支付此类服务中受益——尽管这些通常需要信用检查或可观的存款。信用变得越来越重要,以至于它可以影响您的工作地点甚至居住地点。

从寻找下一个伟大的关系到支付一个特别的夜晚,拥有良好的信用很重要。我从印度来到美国的移民父亲反复告诉我,年轻时不要刷信用卡,这样我就可以避免他犯的同样错误。他将我添加为他的 AMEX 信用卡的授权用户,这样我就可以在不负债的情况下尽早建立信用记录。

我鼓励您也与家人和朋友开始类似的关于信用的对话。

您甚至可能希望与 A&O 网络中的组织之一建立联系,以帮助您实现更大的财务目标。你,你的关系和你的信用档案应该是强大的。

路易斯和泽奈达:一个厨师家庭。

令人筋疲力尽的工作日程促使 Luis 和 Zenaida 为自己设想一个不同的未来。 Lending Circles 帮助他们实现了目标。

当泽奈达和路易斯发现泽奈达怀孕时,他们的反应不同。路易斯流下了喜悦的泪水,泽奈达则担心孕吐。

“但一切都发生在路易斯身上。他困了,他累了,他生病了——我很好!”她说。

这对来自萨尔瓦多、精力充沛的 30 多岁夫妇与他们的父亲有着截然不同的经历。 Luis 从未真正认识他的父亲,而 Zenaida 仍然感受到她父亲三年前去世的刺痛感。

“我和我父亲非常亲近,我希望路易斯和马特奥也一样,”她说。

2012 年,路易斯发现自己的工作时间很残酷,留给儿子马特奥的时间很少。他经常每天工作 14 小时,同时兼顾两份厨师的工作。泽奈达知道这只是时间问题,他再也无法忍受了。

一个新的经营理念

于是,这对夫妇开始了自己的事业, D'maize 餐饮,希望能有更多的时间和家人在一起。他们很快 了解到他们需要信用才能接受更大的订单。但是,泽奈达没有信用记录,因为她总是用现金支付账单。

Zenaida 加入了一个借贷圈 建立信用评分 第一次,令人印象深刻的 750!她有资格获得一笔小额贷款,为企业投资汽车,并计划申请更多资金,为家人投资商业厨房和房屋。

现在,这对夫妇拥有 8 名员工,并定期为 Foursquare 等硅谷公司和旧金山的美食节举办活动。他们继续受到儿子马特奥的启发,马特奥长大后也想成为一名厨师。

“每个人都有梦想,但有时你需要帮助,”路易斯说。 “我们并不特别。我们在社区的帮助下做到了这一点。”

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2022 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Skip to main content

Tag: family

Innovations: Making the Invisible Visible


CEO Jose Quinonez gives a behind-the-scenes look into MAF’s origin story in MIT Press’s “Innovations” journal.

The following excerpt was originally published in “Innovations: Technology, Governance, Globalization,” a journal published by MIT Press. Read the full essay here.

I was 20 years old when I realized that my mother had died because we were poor.

She passed away when I was nine, too young to understand the complex and dangerous nature of life in poverty. At that time, I had to muster everything inside of me just to survive the avalanche of sorrow and change in our family life.

It was only as an adult that I came to terms with my painful childhood. I see it now as the source of the deep empathy I have for people who suffer and struggle in the world.

That is why I’ve dedicated my life to working against poverty.

And it is how I became the founding CEO of Mission Asset Fund (MAF), a nonprofit organization that strives to create a fair financial marketplace for hardworking families. When I joined MAF in 2007, the organization was a nonprofit start-up with plans to help low-income immigrants in San Francisco’s Mission District.

Eight years later, MAF is nationally recognized for developing Lending Circles, a social loan program based on people coming together to lend and borrow money. With cutting-edge technology, we transformed this invisible practice into a force for good.

Program participants are freeing themselves from the grasp of predatory lenders by opening bank accounts, building credit histories, paying down high-cost debt, and increasing their savings. They are investing in businesses, buying homes, and saving for a better future.

Lending Circles brings to light what’s already good in people’s lives.

And within that light, participants are forging a sure path into the financial mainstream, unlocking their true economic potential every step of the way. The program’s success is serving as a model in the fight against poverty, demonstrating new and effective ways of helping low-income people without belittling them in the process.

This is the behind-the-scenes story of how we made this happen.

Celebrating the Many Moms of Our Community


This Mother’s Day, we’re celebrating all the “MAF Moms” working hard to create better lives for their families through Lending Circles.

This Sunday is a day dedicated to the strong, wise, generous, and caring mothers in our lives. In the spirit of Mother’s Day, we’re celebrating a few MAF clients who are working hard to build bright financial futures for their families.

Three Generations of Chefs

For Guadalupe, cooking authentic Mexican cuisine has always been a family affair. As a girl, she and her mother made the tastiest tortillas from scratch, and now she and her daughters do the same. She used her Lending Circles loan to buy equipment and help pay for a van to expand her catering business, El Pipila — which she runs with her daughter to support their family.

When we last shared Guadalupe’s story in 2014, she dreamed of opening a small, brick-and-mortar food stand. Now, she’s a food vendor at The Hall in San Francisco and a food truck regular at Bay Area festivals. Guadalupe’s family is key to her success. “I am doing this for my daughters. I want to make sure that neither of them has to work for anyone but themselves”.

A Mom on a Mission

Helen, a single mom from Guatemala, came to MAF with a simple dream: to have a safe home for her children. Because she couldn’t afford the hefty security deposit and didn’t have a credit score, she had no choice but to rent rooms in shared apartments — including one with families living in hallways.

After joining a Lending Circle, Helen saved up enough for a security deposit and built her credit score. Now, she has her own three-bedroom apartment for her daughters, and even bigger dreams.

Whipping Up Cupcakes with Her Son’s Support

Elvia’s son ignited her passion for baking with a simple question: “Mom, what do you love to do most?” After building a reputation for having the best desserts at parties, her family and friends encouraged Elvia to start a bakery.

She used a $5,000 loan from MAF to invest in a fridge, business license, and a number of necessities to grow her bakery, La Luna Cupcakes. She now has a cupcake shop in Crocker Galleria in San Francisco, and her children continue to be her North Star. “I always taught them if you want something, you can do it! Believe in your dream!”

Thanks to Lesley Marling, MAF’s newest Partner Success Manager, for her contributions to this post.

Policy Must Uplift People’s Strengths, Not Criticize Their Character


A recent article from sociologist Philip N. Cohen underscores the importance of policies that respect the dignity & strengths of the families we serve.

Last week Philip N. Cohen, professor of sociology at the University of Maryland and senior scholar with the Council on Contemporary Families, published an article in the Washington Post arguing that “American policy fails at reducing child poverty because it aims to fix the poor.”

The headline grabbed my attention.

It succinctly captured what decades of work with low-income communities have taught me: We don’t need saviors to teach poor people the right morals. We need advocates to recognize and cultivate their strengths so that they move out of poverty themselves.

Current anti-poverty policies that aim to fix them, actually work against them.

Cohen’s piece scrutinizes this current approach, and dispenses with it. He challenges the motives, logic, and outcomes of anti-poverty policies that pressure poor parents to get married or find jobs as a precondition for government assistance:

We know growing up poor is bad for kids. But instead of focusing on the money, U.S. anti-poverty policy often focuses on the perceived moral shortcomings of the poor themselves. … Specifically, we offer two choices to poor parents if they want to escape poverty: get a job, or get married. Not only does this approach not work, but it’s also a cruel punishment for children who cannot be held responsible for their parents’ decisions.

Tax benefits like the Child Tax Credit and Earned Income Tax Credit are reserved for those able to find and hold a job, which can be all but impossible for people struggling to care for young children or older parents and people with disabilities that make it difficult to work. Welfare payments are restricted by work requirements and time limits that leave millions of families out.

Other past, present, and proposed anti-poverty policies are designed to incentivize marriage, effectively penalizing parents who choose not to marry – a choice that everyone, rich or poor, should be able to make freely.

Policies like these fail to treat poor people with the respect they deserve.

And they fail to provide solutions that work for all families. Cohen proposes simpler alternatives, programs that serve all parents equally and offer poor families a leg up without imposing moral judgments on their individual decisions and needs.

This brings us to a broader lesson that all of us – policymakers, nonprofit leaders, community members – can learn from: We must meet people where they are, respect what they bring to the table, and build on the strengths they have.

This approach is not a pipe dream. I see it work every day with Lending Circles.

MAF’s social loan programs begin from a position of respect, acknowledging and valuing the rich resources and financial savvy that our clients already possess. We then build on those strengths by integrating their positive behaviors and informal practices into the mainstream financial marketplace.

Poor people are not broken. They have strengths that we too often fail to recognize.

Rather than judging their behavior and imposing our own values on them, we must treat them with dignity and seek out solutions that work for everyone, whatever their background, abilities – or marital status.

Law School & Tamales: DACA Opens Doors for Kimberly


With the help of Lending Circles for DACA, Kimberly is finishing her degree and prepping her law school applications — all while helping her mom and sister grow their family tamale business.

It’s hard to miss Ynes’s tamale stand.

On weekday mornings in a quiet Oakland neighborhood, you’ll find all the energy of a street market packed into one small food cart. “I was about to get breakfast across the street, then I saw you all!” shouted one of Ynes’s regulars as she approached the cart.

For years Ynes and her daughters, Kimberly and Maria, have been coming to the same spot to serve up authentic Mexican tamales. Ynes and her husband moved to Oakland from Cabo San Lucas 20 years ago to create a new life, with more opportunities for their young daughters.

From an early age, Kimberly was determined to make the most of these opportunities.

Kimberly is one of the many thousands of young people who have used Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) to attend college and secure jobs. And she’s one of the hundreds who have used Lending Circles for DREAMers to fund their DACA applications.

But before DACA, many doors were closed to her.

As a child, Kimberly worked hard in school and ultimately graduated with the grades she needed to go to a 4-year university. But because she wasn’t born in the US, she didn’t qualify for financial aid or even in-state tuition. Instead, she enrolled in a local community college that she could afford to pay out-of-pocket.

One evening, Kimberly saw a segment on Univision that would change everything: a profile of a local nonprofit that provides social loans to help immigrants build credit and apply for DACA. Hoping this could be the key to her dream school, she came to our office to learn more.

Two years ago, Kimberly joined her first Lending Circle.

Right off the bat, she found MAF’s financial management training extremely helpful. “In school they teach you how to do math problems and write papers, but they don’t teach you about credit,” she said. Next, with her Lending Circles loan and a $232.50 match from the SF Mexican Consulate, she applied for DACA and was soon approved.

Her new status lifted the barriers that had been holding her back from her dreams.

Kimberly could finally access the financial aid she needed to transfer to San Francisco State University. She was hired for two part-time jobs. And with better credit, she secured a loan to buy new equipment for her family’s business: tables, chairs, and canopies so their customers to sit and socialize.

Today, Kimberly is finishing her degree in political science at SFSU — and her second Lending Circle.

She’s giving back to her community by volunteering at the East Bay Sanctuary Covenant, an organization that supports refugees and immigrants in the Bay Area. She’s also studying for the LSAT and preparing her law school applications, working toward a career in immigration and family law.

And all the while, she’s helping her mom grow their family’s food cart business.

Kimberly and her sister Maria are still by their mother’s side, serving tamales to an ever-growing clientele. What’s next for the family business? With an improved credit history, they’re seeking a larger loan to expand their operations with a second food cart. Ultimately, Ynes dreams of opening a restaurant to bring her delicious tamales to even more eager, hungry customers.

An Important Question for Every Relationship: “What’s Your Credit Score?”


From finding your next great relationship to paying for a special night out, having good credit is important.

This blog was originally published on CFED’s “Inclusive Economy” blog as part of the Assets & Opportunity National Week of Action.

We all love the excitement of getting a notification that someone is interested in you after looking at your dating profile. You quickly check theirs, see where they live, what interests they have, what their pictures say about them.

But what if you could see their credit score, too?

So many relationships are fraught with money troubles, so it’s understandable to want to know whether your potential partner is sound financially. Dating sites are good at determining compatibility based on self-reported measures, but using a seemingly objective indicator like credit score seems like it would help make better matches–and potentially help love birds avoid some serious financial problems down the road.

What about folks who don’t have any credit history at all?

There are an estimated 26 million people in the United States who are “credit invisible”, meaning there is not enough information in the borrower’s profile to generate a credit report or a credit score. Blacks and Hispanics are more likely than whites or Asian Americans to be credit invisible or to have unscored credit records. Millions more have “subprime” credit, meaning that they have less-than-ideal credit profiles or scores.

There was a woman who dropped by one Friday afternoon at Mission Asset Fund (MAF), the nonprofit where I work. She asked if she would be able to get money so that she could take her son out to dinner that night for his birthday. Unfortunately, MAF’s social loan program does not provide the immediacy of funds that she needed.

So where does someone like her go?

If she does not have credit and is unable to borrow from friends and family, her only option may be to go to a payday lender that can offer her money that same day as an advance on her regular earnings with an employer. Even though payday lenders are known to charge exorbitant interest rates and fees, the trade-off may seem worth it to her in order to have a celebratory meal with her family.

I saw so many people make this same decision at the payday loan shop that my mom managed in Indiana. The challenge was that, once someone took out a payday loan, it became very difficult for them to get rid of it.

What seemed like a short-term loan ballooned into a long-term commitment.

While in high school, I came back from California to visit my mom every six months, and I would see the same customers every year, again and again. They would even get my mom gifts for Christmas. The payday lender soon became the lender of choice and at times the only lender, a place where customers felt listened to and understood, but which did little to break them out of a credit-and-debt cycle so that they could truly build assets.

Many state laws protect consumers against predatory lenders, but borrowers can still access these loans online if they are not available in their neighborhood. New York has warned online lenders about its interest rates caps and rules against title lending, while other states like California have seen operations move out of state to tribal reservations in order to thwart regulations and continue business. Laws are not enough to protect consumers from accessing bad loans, as people will always need access to capital.

One of the barriers to strong consumer protection is the way our country goes about credit.

It is not intuitive that a person may be dinged on their credit report for failing to pay an electricity or cable bill, while at the same time being unable to benefit from making regular on-time payments for such services–even though these often require a credit check or a sizable deposit. Increasingly, credit has become so important that it can impact where you work and even where you live.

From finding your next great relationship to paying for a special night out, having good credit is important. My immigrant father who came to the United States from India repeatedly told me to avoid credit cards as a young adult so I would avoid the same mistakes he made. He added me as an authorized user to his AMEX charge card so I could build a credit history early on without taking on debt.

I encourage you to start similar conversations with your family members and friends about credit too.

You may even want to connect with one of the organizations in the A&O Network to help you realize larger financial goals. You, your relationship and your credit profile deserve to be powerful.

Luis and Zenaida: A family of chefs

An exhausting work schedule motivated Luis and Zenaida to envision a different future for themselves. Lending Circles helped them get there.

Zenaida and Luis reacted differently when they found out Zenaida was pregnant. While Luis shed joyful tears, Zenaida worried about morning sickness.

“But everything happened to Luis. He was sleepy, he was tired, he was sick – I was fine!” she said.

The spunky thirty-something couple from El Salvador had very different experiences with their fathers.  Luis never really knew his dad, while Zenaida still feels the sting of her father’s passing three years ago.

“I was very close to my father and I wanted the same for Luis and Mateo,” she said.

In 2012, Luis found himself working brutal hours with little time left over for his son, Mateo.  He often worked 14-hour days juggling two jobs as a chef.  Zenaida knew it was just a matter of time before he just couldn’t stand it anymore.

A new business idea

So, the couple started their own business, D’maize Catering, in hopes of spending more time together as a family. They quickly learned that they needed credit to take on bigger orders. But, Zenaida had no credit history because she always paid bills in cash.

Zenaida joined a Lending Circle and established a credit score for the first time, an impressive 750! She qualified for a small loan to invest in a car for the business and plans to apply for more to invest in a commercial kitchen and a home for her family.

Now, the couple has 8 employees and regularly cater events for Silicon Valley companies like Foursquare and at food festivals in San Francisco. They continue to be inspired by their son, Mateo, who also wants to be a chef when he grows up.

“Everyone has a dream, but sometimes you need help,” Luis said. “We’re not special. We did it with help from our community.”