الوسم: التعليم المالي

Ventanilla: فرصة سانحة

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) والقنصليات المكسيكية في سان فرانسيسكو و سان خوسيه تضافرت جهودهم لدعم التمكين الاقتصادي للمواطنين المكسيكيين عبر شمال كاليفورنيا وولاية هاواي. يغطي هذا الأفراد في جميع أنحاء شمال كاليفورنيا ، بما في ذلك في مقاطعات سانتا كروز وسان بينيتو ومونتيري وهاواي. على غرار مدينة نيويورك Ventanilla de Asesoría Financiera—معنى "نافذة التمكين المالي" —يوفر البرنامج خدمات وموارد التمكين المالي المخصصة في القنصليتين.

منذ يناير 2017 ، قدمت MAF عروضًا مالية وورش عمل وجلسات تدريب لحوالي 2000 فرد شهريًا في كل موقع. بحلول نهاية العام الأول من فينتانيلا البرنامج ، خدم MAF 30000 عميل - أكثر من مضاعفة هدفنا.

من خلال إقامة شراكات في كل من القطاعين العام وغير الربحي ، وسعت MAF مجموعة متنوعة من خدمات التعليم المالي لتلبية الاحتياجات الفريدة لمجتمعاتنا.

  • نحن نخصص موظفين لرحلات القنصلية المتنقلة مرة واحدة في الشهر - للتأكد من أن المجتمعات التي يصعب الوصول إليها مثل كونا وهاواي وبيسكاديرو ، كاليفورنيا تحصل على الخدمات التي تحتاجها.
  • نحن نقدم الوصول في الموقع إلى Lending Circles، وهو برنامج قرض بفائدة 0% ، يساعد الأشخاص في تكوين ائتماناتهم.
  • ندعو مقدمي العروض الخارجيين لقيادة ورش العمل بانتظام (طولا) في موضوعات تدعم ريادة الأعمال في مجتمعات المهاجرين ، بما في ذلك المنظمات من SFEDA. قمنا بتنسيق المحتوى والعروض التقديمية لمدة أسبوعين من التعليم المالي في مارس ونوفمبر.
  • شراكتنا مع مكتب التمكين المالي (OFE) أدى إلى تطوير نشرة باللغتين الإنجليزية والإسبانية لمساعدة العملاء في منطقة الخليج على تحديد أفضل خيارات الحسابات الجارية لفتحها. خلال أسبوع التعليم المالي ، أحضر OFE متحدثين من مصلحة الضرائب للتحدث معهم فينتانيلا الزائرون حول أرقام تعريف دافع الضرائب الفردي أو ITINs. ساعدنا OFE أيضًا في تنسيق الإحالات إلى مساعدة ضريبة الدخل للمتطوعين (VITA) مقدمي الخدمات عبر منطقة الخليج ، وهي خدمة تقدم مساعدة ضريبية مجانية للأشخاص الذين يحصلون عمومًا على $54000 أو أقل ، والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة وذوي الكفاءة المحدودة في اللغة الإنجليزية.
  • لقد عملنا عن كثب مع قنصلية سان خوسيه ، التي أطلقت تعاونًا معها الوخز في المكسيك لتقديم لمحة عامة عن التعليم المالي والمنتجات الموجودة في المكسيك. كان هذا مفيدًا للغاية لأن لدينا كل يوم عائلات تأتي إلينا بأسئلة حول إدارة شؤونها المالية في كل من الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك. بسبب ال فينتانيلا بالتعاون ، تمكنا من تزويد العملاء بالمعلومات من خلال FEAPI و CONDUSEF والقنصلية. بدون ال فينتانيلا، فإن هذه العائلات كانت ستكافح للعثور على إجابات لأسئلتهم من القنصليات وحدها أو من مقدمي الخدمات المالية في المكسيك.

في ظل الإدارة الحالية ، يكون العديد من المهاجرين في وضع التخطيط للطوارئ لأنهم قلقون بشأن الترحيل. انتشرت MAF للعمل وأنشأت ملف خطة العمل المالية الطارئة للمهاجرين (FEAPI) لمساعدة المهاجرين على حماية مواردهم المالية في حالة الطوارئ مثل الاحتجاز أو الترحيل أو الانفصال عن الأسرة.

قدمنا مجموعة الأدوات هذه في منطقة الخليج في القنصليات وفي زيارات القنصلية المتنقلة في جميع أنحاء كاليفورنيا وهاواي. لالتقاط شبكة أوسع من الأشخاص للمساعدة ، يقوم فريقنا حاليًا ببناء FEAPI في تطبيق لزيادة المشاركة مع مجتمعنا.

تعال وقم بزيارتنا! لدينا موظفون في الموقع في سان خوسيه وسان فرانسيسكو ، من الاثنين إلى الجمعة:

نجاح ماف فينتانيلا تساعدنا البرامج على الوفاء بوعدنا "بمقابلة العملاء أينما كانوا." نحن نخطط لتجاوز توقعاتنا الخاصة ، حيث نتطلع إلى خدمة الآلاف من الأفراد ذوي الدخل المنخفض والمهاجرين من خلال مواقع قنصليتنا في العام المقبل من خلال التعليم المالي والتدريب والمدخرات الضريبية وقروض الفائدة 0%.

مرحبًا بك Ximena ، مدير الخدمات المالية


إنها تجلب شغفها للأعمال والمجتمع إلى فريق ماف!

انضمت Ximena Arias إلى MAF كمديرة للخدمات المالية في مايو 2014. مع شغفها بريادة الأعمال وتربيتها متعددة الثقافات ، كانت مناسبة تمامًا للوظيفة.

ولدت Ximena في كولومبيا ، وانتقلت إلى الولايات المتحدة في سن الثانية عشرة مع والديها وأختها الصغرى. بعد أن استقرت الأسرة في ميامي ، فلوريدا ، كافحت Ximena للتكيف مع المدرسة المتوسطة. لحسن الحظ ، أصبح زملاؤها في اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية مجموعة دعم لها.

قال خيمينا: "نحن جميعًا نرتبط ببعضنا البعض لكوننا ثنائيي الثقافة واكتسبنا فهمًا لكيفية الارتباط بالآخرين".

بالعودة إلى كولومبيا ، كان والدا Ximena يديران شركة توريد منتجات طب الأسنان. كان والدها هو الاستراتيجية وراء العمل ، حيث كان يشرف على العمليات ، بينما كانت والدتها هي واجهة العمل ، وتعمل على جذب العملاء وبناء علاقات مع أطباء الأسنان في المنطقة. تعتقد Ximena أنها مزيج من والديها واكتسبت مهارات لا تقدر بثمن من تجربتيهما.

يحب Ximena أن يكون محاطًا بالتنوع ويصف فلوريدا بأنها "بوتقة تنصهر فيها مهاجري أمريكا اللاتينية".

وهي تتقن الإسبانية والبرتغالية والفرنسية وبعض الألمانية. التحقت بجامعة فلوريدا وحصلت على درجة البكالوريوس في اللغويات وإدارة الأعمال ولاحقًا على درجة الماجستير في إدارة الأعمال الدولية. بعد تخرجها ، قامت Ximena بتدريس اللغة الإنجليزية وعملت مع الطلاب الدوليين.

قادمة إلى منطقة الخليج ، أرادت Ximena رد الجميل ومتابعة شغفها بربط الناس بالموارد التي يحتاجونها لاتخاذ خيارات أفضل ومستنيرة. عملت في مبادرة المرأة للتوظيف الذاتي قبل مجيئها إلى ماف. إنها تقدر نموذج Lending Circles لأنه مألوف للمهاجرين ويمارس في جميع أنحاء العالم. من خلال دورها كمديرة للخدمات المالية ، تشرف Ximena على تدريب الأعمال الصغيرة وبرنامج القروض الصغيرة والتعليم المالي وإدارة العملاء المحليين.
"أحب الطريقة التي ترى بها ماف صورة أكبر ، وهو أمر بالغ الأهمية لإحداث فرق. إنها حقًا يمكن الوصول إليها وقابلة للتكرار بطريقة تعمل مع المجتمعات والشركاء ".

"يعد تكرار هذا البرنامج مثالاً على كيفية استفادة المنظمات غير الربحية من التكنولوجيا وأنا أتطلع إلى رؤية المنظمة تنمو".

يمنح العمل في منطقة Mission District زيمينا ذكريات جميلة عن أمريكا اللاتينية من الطعام إلى الأعمال والفن. خارج العمل ، تحب الموسيقى وتأمل أن تؤلف يومًا ما أغانيها الخاصة. إنها أيضًا رائعة حقًا في صفير أي أغنية تخبرها بها! تستمتع Ximena باستكشاف مجتمع وثقافة أوكلاند المزدهرة ، حيث تعيش مع زوجها.

مرحبًا بك في الفريق ، Ximena!

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Skip to main content

Tag: financial education

Ventanilla: A Window of Opportunity

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) and the Mexican Consulates of San Francisco and San Jose have joined forces to support the economic empowerment of Mexican nationals across northern California and the State of Hawaii. This covers individuals across Northern California, including those in the Counties of Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey and in Hawaii. Modeled after New York City’s Ventanilla de Asesoría Financiera—meaning “Financial Empowerment Window”—the program provides customized financial empowerment services and resources at the two Consulates.

Since January of 2017, MAF has provided financial presentations, workshops, and coaching sessions to approximately 2,000 individuals per month at each site. By the end of the first year of the Ventanilla program, MAF served 30,000 clients —more than doubling our goal.

By establishing partnerships in both the nonprofit and public sectors, MAF has extended a variety of financial education services to meet our communities’ unique needs.

  • We dedicate staff for mobile consulate trips once a month – making sure that hard-to-reach communities like Kona, Hawaii and Pescadero, CA are getting access to the services they need.
  • We provide on-site access to Lending Circles, a 0% interest loan program, that helps people build their credit.
  • We invite outside presenters to regularly lead workshops (talleres) on topics supporting entrepreneurship in immigrant communities, including organizations from SFEDA. We coordinated content and presentations for two Financial Education weeks in March and November.
  • Our partnership with the Office of Financial Empowerment (OFE) led to the development of a handout in both English and Spanish to help clients in the Bay Area determine the best checking account options to open. During Financial Education Week, OFE brought in speakers from the IRS to talk to Ventanilla visitors about Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers, or ITINs. OFE also helped us coordinate referrals to Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) providers across the Bay Area, a service that offers free tax help to people who generally make $54,000 or less, persons with disabilities and those with limited English proficiency.
  • We worked closely with the San Jose Consulate, which has launched a collaboration with CONDUSEF in Mexico to provide an overview of financial education and products based in Mexico. This was immensely helpful because everyday we have families that come to us with questions about managing their finances in both the U.S. and Mexico. Because of the Ventanilla collaboration, we were able to provide clients with information through our FEAPI, CONDUSEF, and the Consulate. Without the Ventanilla, these families would have struggled to find the answers to their questions from the Consulates alone or from financial providers in Mexico.

Under the current administration, many immigrants are in emergency planning mode because they are concerned about deportation. MAF sprung to action and created a Financial Emergency Action Plan for Immigrants (FEAPI) to help immigrants protect their finances in the case of an emergency like detention, deportation, or family separation.

We provided this toolkit in the Bay Area at the Consulates, and at mobile consulate visits throughout California and Hawaii. To capture an even wider net of people to help, our team is currently building the FEAPI into an app to increase engagement with our community.

Come by and visit us! We have staff on-site in San Jose and San Francisco, Monday through Friday:

The success of MAF’s Ventanilla programs help us deliver on our promise to “meet clients where they are.” We’re planning on exceeding our own expectations, as we look to serve thousands of low-income and immigrant individuals through our Consulate sites in the upcoming year with financial education, coaching, tax-time savings, and 0% interest loans.

Welcome Ximena, Financial Services Manager


She brings her passion for business and community to the MAF team!

Ximena Arias joined MAF as a Financial Services Manager in May 2014. With her passion for entrepreneurship and her multicultural upbringing, she was a perfect fit for the job.

Born in Colombia, Ximena moved to the US at age 12 with her parents and younger sister. After the family settled in Miami, Florida, Ximena struggled to adjust to middle school. Luckily, her English as a Second Language classmates became a support group for her.

“We all related to each other being bi-cultural and gained an understanding of how to relate to others,” Ximena said.

Back in Colombia, Ximena’s parents ran a dental product supply business. Her father was the strategy behind the business, overseeing the operations, while her mother was the face of the business, working to bring in clients and build relationships with dentists in the area. Ximena believes she is a combination of her parents and picked up invaluable skills from both of their experiences.

Ximena loves being surrounded by diversity and describes Florida as a “big melting pot of Latin American immigrants.”

She is fluent in Spanish, Portuguese, French and some German. She attended the University of Florida and received a BA in Linguistics and Business Administration and later a Masters in International Business. After she graduated, Ximena taught English and worked with international students.

Coming to the Bay Area, Ximena wanted to give back and follow her passion for connecting people with the resources they need to make better, informed choices. She worked at Women’s Initiative for Self-Employment before coming to MAF. She appreciates the Lending Circles model because it is familiar to immigrants and practiced all over the world. In her role as Financial Services Manager, Ximena oversees small business coaching, the microloan program, financial education and local client management.
“I love the way MAF sees a bigger picture, which is critical to make a difference. It’s really accessible and replicable in a way that works with communities and partners, ” she said.

“Replicating this program is an example of how nonprofits leverage technology and I am looking forward to seeing the organization grow.”

Working in the Mission District gives Ximena fond memories of Latin America from the food to the businesses and art. Outside of work, she loves music and hopes to one day compose her own songs. She’s also really great at whistling any song you tell her! Ximena enjoys exploring the thriving community and culture of Oakland, where she lives with her husband.

Welcome to the team, Ximena!