标签: 金融教育

文塔尼利亚:机会之窗

Mission Asset Fund(MAF)和墨西哥领事馆 旧金山圣何塞 已经联合起来,支持整个北加州和夏威夷州的墨西哥国民的经济赋权。这涵盖了整个北加州的个人,包括在圣克鲁斯、圣贝尼托、蒙特利等县和夏威夷的个人。仿照纽约市的 财务顾问办公室意思是 "金融赋权窗口"--该计划在两个领事馆提供定制的金融赋权服务和资源。

自2017年1月以来,MAF每月在每个地点向大约2000人提供财务介绍、研讨会和辅导课程。到第一年结束时 文塔尼利亚 在这个项目中,MAF为30,000名客户提供了服务--比我们的目标高出一倍多。

通过在非营利组织和公共部门建立伙伴关系,MAF已经扩展了各种金融教育服务,以满足我们社区的独特需求。

  • 我们每个月都有专门的工作人员进行移动领馆旅行--确保像夏威夷的科纳和加州的佩斯卡德罗这样难以到达的社区能够获得他们所需要的服务。
  • 我们提供现场访问 Lending Circles,一个0%的利息贷款计划,帮助人们建立他们的信用。
  • 我们邀请外部演讲者定期主持研讨会(高楼),主题是支持移民社区的创业,包括来自以下的组织 SFEDA.我们协调了3月和11月的两个金融教育周的内容和演讲。
  • 我们的合作伙伴是 金融赋权办公室(OFE 导致开发了一份英文和西班牙文的讲义,以帮助湾区的客户确定最佳的支票账户选择。在金融教育周期间, OFE请来了美国国税局的演讲者,与他们交谈。 文塔尼利亚 访客了解个人纳税人识别号码,即ITIN。OFE还帮助我们协调转介到 志愿者所得税援助(VITA) 整个湾区的供应商,这项服务为一般收入$54,000或以下的人、残疾人和英语水平有限的人提供免费的税务帮助。
  • 我们与圣何塞领事馆紧密合作,该领事馆已启动与 CONDUSEF 在墨西哥,他们提供了一个基于墨西哥的金融教育和产品的概述。这对我们帮助很大,因为每天都有家庭来找我们,询问他们在美国和墨西哥的财务管理情况。由于 文塔尼利亚 合作,我们能够通过我们的FEAPI、CONDUSEF和领事馆向客户提供信息。如果没有 文塔尼利亚这些家庭本来会努力从领事馆或墨西哥的金融供应商那里找到问题的答案。

在目前的政府下,许多移民处于紧急计划状态,因为他们担心被驱逐出境。亚马逊基金立即行动起来,创建了一个 移民金融应急行动计划 (FEAPI),以帮助移民在被拘留、被驱逐出境或家庭分离等紧急情况下保护他们的财务状况。

我们在湾区的领事馆提供这个工具包,并在加州和夏威夷各地的流动领事馆访问中提供。为了捕捉更广泛的帮助网,我们的团队目前正在将FEAPI建设成一个应用程序,以增加与我们社区的接触。

来拜访我们吧!我们在圣何塞和旧金山都有工作人员,从周一到周五。

MAF的成功之处在于 文塔尼利亚 这些项目帮助我们实现我们的承诺,即 "在客户所在的地方满足他们"。我们正计划超越我们自己的期望,因为我们希望在来年通过我们的领事馆站点为成千上万的低收入和移民个人提供财务教育、辅导、纳税时间储蓄和0%利息贷款。

欢迎Ximena,财务服务经理


她将她对商业和社区的热情带到了 MAF 团队!

Ximena Arias 于 2014 年 5 月加入 MAF,担任金融服务经理。凭借对创业的热情和多元文化的成长经历,她非常适合这份工作。

Ximena 出生于哥伦比亚,12 岁时随父母和妹妹移居美国。全家在佛罗里达州迈阿密安顿下来后,希梅娜努力适应中学生活。幸运的是,她的英语作为第二语言的同学成为了她的支持小组。

“我们彼此都拥有双重文化,并且了解了如何与他人相处,”Ximena 说。

回到哥伦比亚,Ximena 的父母经营牙科产品供应业务。她的父亲是企业背后的战略负责人,负责监督运营,而她的母亲则是企业的代言人,致力于吸引客户并与该地区的牙医建立关系。 Ximena 相信她是她父母的结合,并从他们的经验中学到了宝贵的技能。

Ximena 喜欢被多元化包围,并将佛罗里达描述为“拉丁美洲移民的大熔炉”。

她精通西班牙语、葡萄牙语、法语和一些德语。她就读于佛罗里达大学,获得语言学和工商管理学士学位,后来获得国际商务硕士学位。毕业后,Ximena 教授英语并与国际学生一起工作。

来到湾区,Ximena 希望回馈并追随她的热情,将人们与他们需要的资源联系起来,以做出更好、更明智的选择。在加入 MAF 之前,她曾在妇女自雇倡议组织工作。她很欣赏 Lending Circles 模型,因为它为移民所熟悉并在世界各地练习。作为金融服务经理,Ximena 负责监督小型企业辅导、小额贷款计划、金融教育和本地客户管理。
“我喜欢 MAF 看待大局的方式,这对于有所作为至关重要。它确实可以与社区和合作伙伴合作的方式访问和复制,”她说。

“复制该计划是非营利组织如何利用技术的一个例子,我期待看到该组织成长。”

在 Mission District 工作让 Ximena 从食物到商业和艺术都对拉丁美洲有着美好的回忆。工作之余,她热爱音乐,希望有一天能创作出自己的歌曲。她也非常擅长吹口哨你告诉她的任何歌曲! Ximena 喜欢探索奥克兰繁荣的社区和文化,她和丈夫住在那里。

欢迎加入团队,Ximena!

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2022 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Skip to main content

Tag: financial education

Ventanilla: A Window of Opportunity

Mission Asset Fund (MAF) and the Mexican Consulates of San Francisco and San Jose have joined forces to support the economic empowerment of Mexican nationals across northern California and the State of Hawaii. This covers individuals across Northern California, including those in the Counties of Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey and in Hawaii. Modeled after New York City’s Ventanilla de Asesoría Financiera—meaning “Financial Empowerment Window”—the program provides customized financial empowerment services and resources at the two Consulates.

Since January of 2017, MAF has provided financial presentations, workshops, and coaching sessions to approximately 2,000 individuals per month at each site. By the end of the first year of the Ventanilla program, MAF served 30,000 clients —more than doubling our goal.

By establishing partnerships in both the nonprofit and public sectors, MAF has extended a variety of financial education services to meet our communities’ unique needs.

  • We dedicate staff for mobile consulate trips once a month – making sure that hard-to-reach communities like Kona, Hawaii and Pescadero, CA are getting access to the services they need.
  • We provide on-site access to Lending Circles, a 0% interest loan program, that helps people build their credit.
  • We invite outside presenters to regularly lead workshops (talleres) on topics supporting entrepreneurship in immigrant communities, including organizations from SFEDA. We coordinated content and presentations for two Financial Education weeks in March and November.
  • Our partnership with the Office of Financial Empowerment (OFE) led to the development of a handout in both English and Spanish to help clients in the Bay Area determine the best checking account options to open. During Financial Education Week, OFE brought in speakers from the IRS to talk to Ventanilla visitors about Individual Taxpayer Identification Numbers, or ITINs. OFE also helped us coordinate referrals to Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) providers across the Bay Area, a service that offers free tax help to people who generally make $54,000 or less, persons with disabilities and those with limited English proficiency.
  • We worked closely with the San Jose Consulate, which has launched a collaboration with CONDUSEF in Mexico to provide an overview of financial education and products based in Mexico. This was immensely helpful because everyday we have families that come to us with questions about managing their finances in both the U.S. and Mexico. Because of the Ventanilla collaboration, we were able to provide clients with information through our FEAPI, CONDUSEF, and the Consulate. Without the Ventanilla, these families would have struggled to find the answers to their questions from the Consulates alone or from financial providers in Mexico.

Under the current administration, many immigrants are in emergency planning mode because they are concerned about deportation. MAF sprung to action and created a Financial Emergency Action Plan for Immigrants (FEAPI) to help immigrants protect their finances in the case of an emergency like detention, deportation, or family separation.

We provided this toolkit in the Bay Area at the Consulates, and at mobile consulate visits throughout California and Hawaii. To capture an even wider net of people to help, our team is currently building the FEAPI into an app to increase engagement with our community.

Come by and visit us! We have staff on-site in San Jose and San Francisco, Monday through Friday:

The success of MAF’s Ventanilla programs help us deliver on our promise to “meet clients where they are.” We’re planning on exceeding our own expectations, as we look to serve thousands of low-income and immigrant individuals through our Consulate sites in the upcoming year with financial education, coaching, tax-time savings, and 0% interest loans.

Welcome Ximena, Financial Services Manager


She brings her passion for business and community to the MAF team!

Ximena Arias joined MAF as a Financial Services Manager in May 2014. With her passion for entrepreneurship and her multicultural upbringing, she was a perfect fit for the job.

Born in Colombia, Ximena moved to the US at age 12 with her parents and younger sister. After the family settled in Miami, Florida, Ximena struggled to adjust to middle school. Luckily, her English as a Second Language classmates became a support group for her.

“We all related to each other being bi-cultural and gained an understanding of how to relate to others,” Ximena said.

Back in Colombia, Ximena’s parents ran a dental product supply business. Her father was the strategy behind the business, overseeing the operations, while her mother was the face of the business, working to bring in clients and build relationships with dentists in the area. Ximena believes she is a combination of her parents and picked up invaluable skills from both of their experiences.

Ximena loves being surrounded by diversity and describes Florida as a “big melting pot of Latin American immigrants.”

She is fluent in Spanish, Portuguese, French and some German. She attended the University of Florida and received a BA in Linguistics and Business Administration and later a Masters in International Business. After she graduated, Ximena taught English and worked with international students.

Coming to the Bay Area, Ximena wanted to give back and follow her passion for connecting people with the resources they need to make better, informed choices. She worked at Women’s Initiative for Self-Employment before coming to MAF. She appreciates the Lending Circles model because it is familiar to immigrants and practiced all over the world. In her role as Financial Services Manager, Ximena oversees small business coaching, the microloan program, financial education and local client management.
“I love the way MAF sees a bigger picture, which is critical to make a difference. It’s really accessible and replicable in a way that works with communities and partners, ” she said.

“Replicating this program is an example of how nonprofits leverage technology and I am looking forward to seeing the organization grow.”

Working in the Mission District gives Ximena fond memories of Latin America from the food to the businesses and art. Outside of work, she loves music and hopes to one day compose her own songs. She’s also really great at whistling any song you tell her! Ximena enjoys exploring the thriving community and culture of Oakland, where she lives with her husband.

Welcome to the team, Ximena!