تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

الوسم: مهاجرين

نحن نعتمد على بعضنا البعض في أوقات الأزمات

إذا اضطررت إلى استخلاص جوهر عمل الاستجابة السريعة لـ MAF في كلمة واحدة فسيكون: الشراكات. في خضم التباعد الاجتماعي الجديد ، تمكنا من الاقتراب أكثر من أي وقت مضى للاستماع إلى بعضنا البعض ومساعدة بعضنا البعض خلال هذه الأزمة التي لا يمكن تصورها.

بعد فترة وجيزة من إصدار أوامر الإقامة في المنزل في شهر مارس ، شرعنا في مساعدة العملاء الذين علمنا أنهم سيتأثرون سلبًا.

سمعنا من العملاء على الفور ، قلقهم بشأن فقدان الدخل ، ولا يعرفون كيف سيدفعون الإيجار ، أو يشترون الطعام ، أو حتى مواكبة فواتيرهم الشهرية. شعرنا بقلقهم وتحركنا بسرعة لرفع ملف صندوق الاستجابة السريعة يوم 20 مارس لا أعرف حقًا عمق الوباء المنتشر.

في اللحظات الأولى من الأزمة ، احتشد مجال العمل الخيري للرد على هذا التحدي الجديد.

لقد دخلنا في شراكة مع المؤسسات التي تقدمت إلى الأمام لدعم المجتمعات التي يعملون معها وتهتم بها بشدة: طلاب الجامعات وأعضاء الاقتصاد الإبداعي والعائلات المهاجرة التي تم استبعادها من قانون CARES. لقد عملوا على إيصال الأموال إلينا بسرعة ، مع إدراك الحاجة الملحة ومساعدتنا في الحصول على الأموال مباشرة في أيدي أولئك الذين يحتاجونها في أسرع وقت ممكن. لم أر قط عملية المنح تتحرك بهذه السرعة ، حيث انطلقت من محادثتنا الأولى إلى الالتزام والصرف في غضون أيام. إنه لأمر مدهش ما يمكنك تحقيقه عندما تكون واضح البصر وملتزمًا بالهدف النهائي.

بينما كان جمع التبرعات مستمرًا ، كان فريقنا يعيد استخدام أنظمتنا وتقنياتنا لصرف المنح النقدية على نطاق واسع.

لقد أنشأنا عملية تقديم جديدة تمامًا لكل مجتمع من المجتمعات التي شرعنا في دعمها ، وقضينا وقتًا في التفكير في كيفية معالجة الاحتياجات الهائلة التي كانت موجودة هناك بإنصاف. لقد تأكدنا في كل طلب من أننا طرحنا المجموعة الصحيحة من الأسئلة بعناية واحترام واستغرقنا وقتًا لفهم الواقع المالي والاستراتيجيات والموارد لكل متقدم. من خلال هذا ، تمكنا من تحديد أولويات الحاجة: لقد علمنا أن من يأتي أولاً ، خدم أولاً فقط عدم المساواة المنهجية والحواجز التي تحول دون الوصول ، ويميز أولئك الذين لديهم أسرع الإنترنت وأفضل المعلومات. لقد أنشأنا بديلاً ركز الموارد التي لدينا على من هم في أمس الحاجة إليها. وضمن هذه العملية برمتها ، تأكدنا من أن نظامنا الجديد قد تم إعداده بنفس الالتزام الثابت لمعالجة البيانات المالية الحساسة بكفاءة وأمان.

بعد سبعة أسابيع من الحجر الصحي ، نحن الآن في منتصف تقديم منح $500 لأكثر من 20000 شخص في حاجة ماسة إلى المال.

من الملهم تقييم ما أنجزناه مع شركائنا:

  • 3 أموال للاستجابة السريعة تدعم طلاب الجامعات والمبدعين الشباب وعائلات المهاجرين
  • 23 مؤسسة تجمع الموارد عبر الصناديق الثلاثة
  • $12M إجمالاً لتزويد الناس بالإغاثة المالية الطارئة
  • 26 شريك توعية يربطوننا بأسر المهاجرين المؤهلة

مع شركائنا بجانبنا وموظفينا الصغار ولكن الأقوياء المكونين من 29 مافيستاس ، تمكنا من دعم:

  • أكثر من 75000 فرد سجلوا بحثًا عن المساعدة
  • 52000+ من التطبيقات المسبقة المكتملة مع رؤى حول الوضع المالي للأشخاص
  • أكثر من 8000 تطبيق كامل مكتمل على نظامنا الأساسي الآمن
  • تم توزيع 5500+ منحة وإيداعها في حسابات جارية

في كل خطوة ، كان هناك الكثير من العمل الدقيق والمدروس وراء كل هذه الأرقام.

صعدت شركة MAFistas لضمان قيامنا ببناء التطبيقات المناسبة ، واستخدام التكنولوجيا المناسبة ، وإنشاء العملية الصحيحة لكل مجتمع من المجتمعات التي نساعدها - كل ذلك يتم بعناية وإلحاح لمساعدة الناس في هذه اللحظة من الأزمة. لماذا ا؟ ببساطة: لقد تلقينا أكثر من 7000 رسالة بريد إلكتروني ومكالمة وتذاكر من أشخاص يطلبون المساعدة - نسمع قصصهم وصيحاتهم طلبًا للمساعدة - وهذا يحفز الموظفين على الذهاب إلى أبعد من عملنا العادي للظهور للأشخاص في وقتهم. يحتاج.

لا يسعني إلا أن أقول إنه لمن التواضع حقًا أن نشهد مثل هذا الإخلاص.

مع هذا اللطف والرحمة وراءها ، فإننا نظهر أفضل ما يمكن أن تكون عليه التكنولوجيا والتمويل. ومع شركائنا إلى جانبنا ، فإننا نظهر ما يعنيه الظهور للناس - لمساعدة العائلات في هذه اللحظة من الأزمة ليس فقط بالمساعدات المالية ولكن الأهم من ذلك ، رسالة أمل وتضامن بأنهم ليسوا وحدهم.

يمكنك دعم صندوق الاستجابة السريعة التابع لـ MAF هنا.

مساعدة أولئك الذين يعانون من أقل الصمود في وجه الأزمة

نحن في خضم أزمة تحدد الأجيال. يكشف فيروس كورونا عن الترابط بين الحياة الحديثة ، وينتشر بسرعة ويهدد صحة ورفاهية ملايين الأشخاص حول العالم. لا أحد محصن.

هذه الجائحة غير المسبوقة والتي تتكشف تصيب الجميع ، ولكن أولئك الذين يعانون من الأقل والأخير سيتضررون أكثر من غيرهم.

يكشف فيروس كورونا عن تفاوتات عميقة في مجتمعنا. سوف يتأثر الأشخاص الذين لديهم منازل يلجأون إليها ، والأصول التي يجب حمايتها ، والإغاثة للحصول عليها. لكن الأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم منازل ، والمهاجرون بدون حماية ، والعمال الذين ليس لديهم إغاثة ، سيتحملون وطأة الأزمة الاقتصادية. بالفعل ، يقوم العملاء بالاتصال بنا لإبلاغنا بقصص فقدان الوظائف والأجور والمداخيل. إنهم لا يعرفون كيف سيدفعون الإيجار في نهاية الشهر.

يشعر الناس بألم مالي عميق في الوقت الحالي.

ما يجعل الأمر أكثر صعوبة هو حقيقة أن العديد من عملائنا لا يمكنهم الحصول على الدعم من البرامج الحكومية أو لا يحصلون عليه. قد لا يتأهل الملايين من العاملين بدوام جزئي والطلاب والمقاولين والمهاجرين والعاملين لحسابهم الخاص للحصول على التأمين ضد البطالة أو المزايا الصحية أو حتى المساعدة الغذائية. يظهر هذا الوباء حقيقة أنه لا توجد شبكة أمان ذات مغزى للأشخاص الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إليها.

عائلات المهاجرين مرعوبون. نفذت الحكومة الفيدرالية مؤخرًا "قاعدة الرسوم العامة" التي بعثت برسالة تقشعر لها الأبدان إلى العائلات المهاجرة ضد استخدام الخدمات العامة. الآن ، يتساءلون عما إذا كان الذهاب إلى المستشفى سيضر بفرصهم في أن يصبحوا مقيمين دائمين بشكل قانوني. إنهم قلقون ، "إذا كنت لا أملك وثائق ، فهل يمكن أن يجعلني طلب العلاج عرضة للترحيل؟"

في ماف ، نربط العملاء بخدمات المجتمع ونقدم لهم المساعدة المالية المباشرة عندما يكون ذلك ممكنًا.

هناك وعي متزايد بأنه في مثل هذه اللحظات ، فإن الشيء الأكثر فائدة هو النقد الفعلي لمساعدة الناس على دفع الإيجار وشراء الطعام ومنعهم من التخلف عن الركب أكثر. بالنسبة للبعض ، قد يكون تدخلًا صغيرًا أو إحالة أو منحة صغيرة أو قرضًا تجسيريًا يمكن أن يستمر. لكن التوقيت أمر بالغ الأهمية.

نحن نتحرك بسرعة لرفع صندوق الاستجابة السريعة التابع لـ MAF لمساعدة العمال ذوي الدخل المنخفض ، والأسر المهاجرة ، والطلاب الذين من المحتمل أن يتخلفوا عن الركب ، دون إعفاء من الإجراءات الحكومية. لدينا الأدوات والتكنولوجيا والوصول إلى هذه المجتمعات الضعيفة ولكننا نحتاج إلى دعمك المالي لجعل ذلك حقيقة واقعة. 

في هذه اللحظة من الأزمة الوطنية غير المسبوقة ، سيتطلب الأمر منا جميعًا أن نتحد معًا ، لندعم بعضنا البعض بروح متجددة من التبادلية والاحترام. نحن في هذا معًا ، وفقط معًا يمكننا المضي قدمًا كأمة.

انقر هنا للتبرع.

تضامنا مع،

خوسيه كوينونيز

رأيناها قادمة.

منذ ذلك اليوم الرهيب ، نزل ترامب أسفل السلم الكهربائي للإعلان عن ترشحه ، عرفنا جميعًا في أعماقنا أنه كان بداية موسم مفتوح للمهاجرين. لقد رأينا ذلك من قبل. السياسيون اليائسون يستخدمون خطاب صافرة الكراهية لتجريد الملونين من إنسانيتهم وكبش فداء. لم أفكر أبدًا في أن الموسم المفتوح هذه المرة سيعني سقوط الرصاص - مما يؤدي إلى قتل البشر بشكل عشوائي لمجرد أنهم يبدون مكسيكيين ، بما في ذلك جوردان وأندريه أنكوندو ، وكلاهما يحميان طفلهما الرضيع في إل باسو.

مثل كثيرين آخرين ، هزت أخبار إل باسو إحساسي بالأمان والانتماء في أمريكا.

أفترض أن هذا كان بالضبط القصد من عمل إرهابي آخر في حملة ضد المهاجرين. ما هو واضح بالنسبة لي هو أن مطلق النار في إل باسو لم يتصرف بمفرده. يقود البيت الأبيض أيضًا حملته الخاصة التي أصبحت الآن واضحة: مداهمة مواقع العمل فقط للمشهد. رفض التأشيرات بمعدلات قياسية للأشخاص الذين يتطلعون إلى لم شمل أسرهم ؛ تفرق العائلات طلب اللجوء لمجرد إرسال رسالة حقد وعدم مبالاة بمطالبهم ؛ والآن يعاقب المقيمون الشرعيون في حالة عدم اليقين بشأن وضعهم كمهاجرين إذا طلبوا المساعدة العامة. إنهم يفعلون كل هذا لإلحاق القسوة في حياة الناس ، ولجعلهم مهاجرين تشعر بعدم الأمان ، غير مرغوب فيه أو مرحب به في امريكا. نشعر به أيضًا.

في ماف ، نحول ألمنا إلى عمل. نحن نلتزم بصندوق قرض متجدد $1.5 مليون لمساعدة المهاجرين المؤهلين للتقدم بطلب للحصول على الجنسية و DACA.

[infogram id = "8a81d3c6-4732-45e2-aa5a-a989160fe941 ″ بادئة = تنسيق L0T" = "عنوان تفاعلي" = "MAF Immigration Loans"]

نقوم بمضاعفة عدد القروض بدون فائدة لمساعدة الأشخاص الذين لا يستطيعون تغطية تكلفة التقدم للقيام بذلك الآن. يمكن لأكثر من 8 ملايين مهاجر مؤهل التقدم للحصول على الجنسية الأمريكية ؛ نريد مساعدة أولئك الذين لا يستطيعون تغطية تكلفة $725 للتقديم. ليس هناك مجال لتضييع الوقت.

انضم إلينا. ساعدنا. اعمل معنا. لا يمكننا السماح لأمريكا بالنزول أكثر من ذلك.

مع الامتنان،

خوسيه كوينونيز

يتبرع

سوف نستمر في القتال

تتألم روحي عند سماع صراخ الأطفال بلا هوادة على والديهم ، وهم يستجدون المساعدة. أفكر في هؤلاء الصغار في كل مرة أنظر فيها إلى أطفالي ، على أمل أن نوقف هذا الجنون ونجمعهم مع أمهاتهم وآباءهم الذين تحدوا تلك الرحلة الطويلة والخطيرة التي قطعها ملايين المهاجرين من قبل ، بحثًا عن الأمان في أمريكا.   

لكن بدلاً من اللجوء ، وجدوا حكومة أرهبت براءتهم ، وتمزيق الأبناء عن والديهم ، وانتهاك حقوقهم الإنسانية والقانونية في هذه العملية. تعود سياسة "عدم التسامح" التي يتبعها ترامب إلى العبودية ومعسكرات الاعتقال اليابانية وحتى ألمانيا النازية. و لماذا؟ لقد حسبت هذه الإدارة بشكل قاسٍ أن أخذ الأطفال رهائن من شأنه أن يشعل أزمة لتعزيز أجندتهم السياسية.

لقد ارتكبوا خطأ فادحا.

الأمر التنفيذي الجديد لترامب لم ينهِ الأزمة. لا تزال الإدارة تتبع سياسة "عدم التسامح المطلق" ، حيث تبقي طالبي اللجوء في معسكرات اعتقال على طول الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك. وهم لا يفعلون شيئًا لجمع شمل 2300 طفل محتجزين في الولايات المتحدة مع والديهم. وبدلاً من ذلك ، فإنهم يتبعون خطة لعبتهم ، ويستخدمون الأطفال كورقة مساومة للضغط على الكونجرس لتمويل جدار ترامب ، وخفض التأشيرات للمهاجرين القانونيين ، وإلغاء برنامج تأشيرة التنوع ، وتجريم المهاجرين ، ومنع أي أمل في سبيل الحصول على الجنسية للملايين. من المهاجرين الكادحين الذين يقودون اقتصادنا ، ولكن الأهم من ذلك ، الذين يعتبرون الولايات المتحدة موطنًا لهم.

لم نتفاجأ من تصرفات ترامب ، لكننا غاضبون ومفعلون. منذ البداية ، هاجمت هذه الإدارة المهاجرين في خطاب نادى بهم المغتصبين, المجرمين, السفاحين أو الحيوانات. كانت أفعاله متوافقة مع هذا الخطاب: إنهاء DACA ونسف جهود الحزبين لتوفير حلول تشريعية لـ Dreamers. خطوة بخطوة ، يقوم بتفكيك أي أمل للمهاجرين والأشخاص الملونين ليكونوا أعضاء كاملين في مجتمعنا.

من الواضح أنه يخشى أمريكا الناشئة الغنية والمتنوعة والملونة والمعقدة. إنه خائف من أمريكا لا تشبهه.

لكن مهما كان يخافنا أو يكرهنا ، لا يمكنه التخلص منا. تعمل إدارته جاهدة لجعل الحياة بائسة ومستحيلة لعائلات المهاجرين. سوف يجرمون ويحتجزون ويرحلون ويرعبون ويصادرون كل ما لدينا من القليل ؛ لكنهم لا يستطيعون التخلص منا.

نحن صامدون. نحن ناجون. ونحن لسنا وحدنا. هناك الملايين من الناس الذين ليسوا خائفين والذين سيقاتلون معنا من أجل أمريكا الناشئة تلك التي هي عادلة وواسعة مع الكثير من المساحة والعناق والموارد لهؤلاء الأطفال الذين يبكون على الحدود الآن.

اسمعني أقول هذا: لن يكون لترامب الكلمة الأخيرة. لن يملي ما هي أمريكا أو ماذا ستكون.

في ماف ، نحن نضاعف. نحن نساعد المزيد من المقيمين الدائمين القانونيين في التقدم للحصول على الجنسية. على مر السنين ، قمنا بتمويل أكثر من 8000 طلب للحصول على الجنسية الأمريكية و DACA ونحن على استعداد للقيام بآلاف أخرى في الأشهر والسنوات القادمة. هناك 8.8 مليون مقيم دائم قانوني مؤهل للحصول على الجنسية الآن. نريد مساعدتهم على التجنس ، لاتخاذ تلك الخطوة الأولى نحو التمكن من التصويت في الانتخابات القادمة. ونحن مصممون أكثر من أي وقت مضى على مساعدة المهاجرين على تحسين حياتهم المالية ، ومساعدتهم على ترسيخ الجذور في المكان الذي يعيشون فيه ، والشعور بالثقة في أنهم ينتمون.

إنهم جزء لا يتجزأ من هويتنا كأمة ونحن بحاجة إلى أحلامهم وطاقتهم لمواصلة بناء تلك أمريكا الناشئة.

الصرخات التي تُسمع في جميع أنحاء العالم لن تذهب أدراج الرياح. بالنسبة للأطفال الذين انتزعوا من أذرع آبائهم ، وملايين الأشخاص على هامش المجتمع ، سنواصل النضال من أجل الحرية والكرامة والاحترام ، ونحني هذا القوس من العالم الأخلاقي الذي ذكره MLK مرة واحدة - حتى ينقلب نحو العدالة.

مع الحب والامتنان ،

خوسيه كوينونيز

يعطى:

قدم للمنظمات القانونية وغير الربحية التي تعمل على الدفاع عن حقوق المهاجرين في المحاكم وتقديم الدعم المباشر للعائلات على الحدود.

  • مؤسسة ACLU هي منظمة غير ربحية الدفاع عن الحقوق المدنية للأفراد. هم مشروع حقوق المهاجرين يدافع عن حقوق المهاجرين ويتقاضى حاليًا قضايا الفصل الأسري.
  • مركز اللاجئين والمهاجرين للتعليم والخدمات القانونية (RAICES) هي منظمة غير ربحية تقدم خدمات قانونية للأطفال المهاجرين والأسر واللاجئين في وسط وجنوب تكساس. إنهم يساعدون في إخراج الآباء من الاحتجاز حتى يمكن لم شملهم مع أطفالهم.
  • أطفال في حاجة إلى دفاع (KIND) هي منظمة للدفاع عن السياسة الوطنية ولها مكاتب في عشر مدن ، بما في ذلك سان فرانسيسكو وواشنطن العاصمة ، تقوم KIND بتدريب المحامين المجانيين لتمثيل الأطفال المهاجرين غير المصحوبين بذويهم.
  • ملائكة الحدود هو مؤسسة غير ربحية مقرها سان دييغو تركز على حقوق المهاجرين وإصلاح الهجرة ومنع وفيات المهاجرين على طول الحدود.
  • الوقوف مع عائلات المهاجرين: #HeretoStay هي حملة MAF لجمع الأموال لدعم تطبيقات DACA والمواطنة و TPS والبطاقة الخضراء لمنع تمزق العائلات عن طريق تغيير وضع الهجرة.

المؤيد:

اتصل بعضو الكونجرس الخاص بك لدعم العائلات التي تبقى معًا. طالبوا الكونجرس بسماع طلبات اللجوء ولم شمل 2300 طفل انفصلوا بالفعل عن والديهم.  

  • خط التعليق العام للبيت الأبيض: 202-456-1111
  • خط التعليق العام لوزارة العدل: 202-353-1555
  • لوحة مفاتيح مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي: 202-224-3121

تجمع:

انزل إلى الشوارع وانضم إلى العائلات تنتمي معا تجمع بالقرب منك في 30 يونيو

يخطب:

أظهر دعمك على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي (#FamiliesBelongTogether #KeepFamiliesTogether).

هنا للمساعدة: الرد على أمر محكمة DACA الأخير

أصدر قاض اتحادي ثالث أ حكم DACA الجديد. بينما أعاد الأمران الزجريان الأولان فتح البرنامج في المستقبل المنظور ، فإن هذا الأمر هو المرة الأولى منذ 5 سبتمبر 2017 التي تظهر فيها بصيص أمل في إمكانية إصدار أمر من وزارة الأمن الداخلي لاستئناف العمل الجديد تطبيقات DACA - وليس مجرد قبول التجديدات. هذا يفتح فرصًا جديدة للحالمين المؤهلين الذين يكافحون لتغطية نفقاتهم دون تصريح عمل ويخافون على سلامتهم واستقرارهم. مع عدم وجود قانون أحلام قابل للتطبيق يشق طريقه من خلال الكونجرس ، فإن برنامج DACA الحالي هو أحد أشعة الضوء الوحيدة.

في غضون 90 يومًا - وفقًا لأمر المحكمة - يجب أن نعرف المزيد من وزارة الأمن الداخلي والمحاكم حول ما سيحدث. ولكن بدلاً من مجرد الانتظار ، نتخذ إجراءات للمساعدة يقوم المزيد من الأشخاص بتعديل وضع الهجرة الخاص بهم بأسرع ما يمكن. مع تزايد غارات شركة ICE ، وتفشي التوتر السام والخوف في عائلات المهاجرين من العديد من الحالات المفجعة للعائلات التي تمزقها ، يجب علينا أن نفعل ما في وسعنا للمساعدة في الوقت الحالي.

هكذا نقاوم: ببرامج جديدة وموسعة تلبي الاحتياجات العاجلة لمجتمعاتنا. هذا طريقتنا في القول: نحن هنا. نحن جاهزون. إليك مخطط معلومات يسهل مشاركته:

إلى خلاصة:

  • يستمر قبول تجديدات DACA. إذا كنت قادرًا على التجديد ، فنحن نوصي بالقيام بذلك في أقرب وقت ممكن. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مساعدة مالية ، نحن هنا للمساعدة.
  • لا الجديد يتم قبول طلبات DACA (لكن ترقبوا - سنعرف المزيد في الأشهر 1-3 القادمة).
  • قد تكون مؤهلاً للحصول على طرق أخرى لتعديل وضع الهجرة الخاص بك. نوصي بالتواصل مع محام من خلال Immi.org لمعرفة ما إذا كنت مؤهلاً للحصول على الإقامة الدائمة القانونية أو برامج أخرى.

ماذا نفعل حيال ذلك:

  • تقديم قروض بفائدة 0% لـ DACA و TPS والبطاقات الخضراء والمواطنة والمزيد لسكان كاليفورنيا. يتعلم أكثر.
  • تقديم المساعدة في الرسوم والإحالات للأشخاص الذين يواجهون صعوبات اقتصادية شديدة. اتصل بنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات.
  • استضافة دورات تدريبية لبدء مشروعك الخاص (طريقة قابلة للتطبيق للحصول على وظيفة إذا لم يكن لديك تصريح عمل). أفتح حساب الأن.

كيف يمكنك المساعدة:

  • شارك المعرفة: شجع العائلة والأصدقاء على تجديد DACA الخاص بهم الآن أو البدء في التحضير الآن في حال بدأت وزارة الأمن الداخلي في قبول الطلبات الجديدة في الأشهر القليلة المقبلة.

Skip to main content

Tag: immigrants

We Lean on Each Other in Times of Crisis

If I had to distill the essence of MAF’s Rapid Response work into one word it would be: partnerships. Amidst the new social distancing, we’ve been able to come closer than ever to listen to one another and help each other during this unimaginable crisis.

Soon after the stay-at-home orders were given in March, we set out to help clients that we knew were going to be adversely impacted.

We heard from clients right away, anxious about losing income, not knowing how they were going to pay rent, buy food or even keep up with their monthly bills. We felt their concern and moved quickly to lift up a Rapid Response Fund on March 20th not really knowing the depth of the unfolding pandemic.

In the early moments of the crisis, the philanthropy field rallied to respond to this new challenge.

We partnered with foundations that stepped forward to support the communities they work with and care deeply about: college students, members of the creative economy, and immigrant families left out of the CARES Act. They worked to get money to us quickly, recognizing the urgency and helping us get money directly into the hands of those who needed it as fast as possible. I have never seen the grant process move so quickly, sprinting from our first conversation to commitment and disbursal within days. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you’re clear-eyed and committed to the end goal.

While the fundraising was ongoing, our team was repurposing our systems and technology to disburse cash grants at scale.

We built an entirely new application process for each of the communities we set out to support, spending time to consider how we could equitably address the tremendous need that was out there. We made sure that in each application we asked the right set of questions with care and respect and took time to understand each applicant’s financial reality, strategies, and resources. With this, we were able to prioritize need: we knew that first come, first served only exaggerated systemic inequities and barriers to access, privileging those with the fastest internet and best information. We created an alternative that focused the resources we have on those who needed it the most. And, underlying this whole process, we ensured our new system was set up with the same steadfast commitment to processing sensitive financial data efficiently and securely.

Seven weeks into the quarantine, we’re now in the middle of providing $500 grants to over 20,000 people who are in desperate financial need.

It is inspiring to take stock of what we have accomplished with our partners:

  • 3 Rapid Response funds supporting college students, young creatives, and immigrant families
  • 23 foundations pooling resources across all three funds
  • $12M in total to provide people with emergency financial relief
  • 26 outreach partners who are connecting us with eligible immigrant families

With our partners beside us and our small but mighty staff of 29 MAFistas, we’ve been able to support:

  • 75,000+ individuals who signed up looking for help
  • 52,000+ completed pre-applications with insights about people’s financial situation
  • 8,000+ completed full applications on our secure platform
  • 5,500+ grants distributed and deposited into checking accounts

At every step, there has been a lot of careful and thoughtful work behind all of these numbers.

MAFistas stepped up to ensure that we built the right applications, used the right technology, and created the right process for each of the communities we’re helping – all done with care and urgency to help people in this moment of crisis. Why? Simply put: we have received over 7,000 emails, calls, tickets from people asking for help – we hear their stories, their cries for help – and that’s motivating staff to go above and beyond our normal work to show up for people in their time of need.

I can only say that it is truly humbling to witness such devotion.

With this kindness and compassion behind it, we are demonstrating the best of what technology and finance can be. And with our partners beside us, we are demonstrating what it means to show up for people – to help families in this moment of crisis not only with financial aid but, most importantly, a message of hope and solidarity that they are not alone.

You can support MAF’s Rapid Response Fund here.

Helping Those With the Least Weather the Crisis

We are in the midst of a generation-defining crisis. The coronavirus is laying bare the interconnectedness of modern life, rapidly spreading and jeopardizing the health and well-being of millions of people around the world. No one is immune.

This unprecedented and unfolding pandemic is hitting everyone, but those with the least and the last will be hurt the most.

The coronavirus is uncovering deep inequalities in our society. People with homes to shelter, assets to protect, and relief to obtain will be impacted. But people without homes, immigrants without protections, workers without relief are going to bear the brunt of the economic crisis. Already, clients are contacting us with stories of losing jobs, wages, and incomes. They don’t know how they are going to pay rent at the end of the month.

People are feeling deep financial pain right now.

Making it harder still is the fact that many of our clients can’t or won’t get support from government programs. Millions of part-time workers, students, contractors, immigrants and self-employed may not qualify for unemployment insurance, health benefits, or even nutritional assistance. This pandemic is showing the reality that there is no meaningful safety net for the people who need it most.

Immigrant families are terrified. The federal government recently implemented a “Public Charge Rule” that sent a chilling message to immigrant families against using public services. Now, they wonder if going to the hospital would hurt their chances of becoming legal permanent residents. They are worried, “If I’m undocumented, could seeking treatment make me vulnerable to deportation?”

At MAF, we are connecting clients to community services and providing them with direct financial assistance when possible.

There is a growing awareness that in moments like these, what is most helpful is actual cash to help people pay rent, buy food and keep them from falling further behind. For some, it may be a small intervention, a referral, a small grant or a bridge loan that can keep them going. But timing is critical.

We are moving quickly to lift up MAF’s Rapid Response Fund to help low income workers, immigrant families, and students likely to be left behind, without relief from government action. We have the tools, the technology and the reach into these vulnerable communities but we need your financial support to make this a reality. 

In this moment of unprecedented national crisis, it is going to take all of us to come together, to support one another in a renewed spirit of mutuality and respect. We are in this together, and only together can we move forward as a nation.

Click here to donate.

In solidarity,

Jose Quinonez

We saw it coming.

Ever since that dreadful day Trump descended down the escalator to announce his candidacy, we all knew deep down that it was the start of open season on immigrants. We’d seen it before. Desperate politicians using hateful dog-whistle rhetoric to dehumanize and scapegoat people of color. Never did I think that open season this time would mean a shower of bullets – indiscriminately killing human beings just because they look Mexican, including Jordan and Andre Anchondo, both parents protecting their infant child in El Paso.

Like many others, news of El Paso shook my sense of safety and belonging in America.

I suppose that was exactly the intent of yet another act of terror in a campaign against immigrants. What is clear to me is that the El Paso shooter did not act alone. The White House is also driving their own campaign that is now clear: raiding work sites just for the spectacle of it; denying visas at record rates for people looking to reunite with their families; separating families seeking asylum just to send a message of spite and indifference to their claims; and now punishing legal residents with uncertainty over their immigration status if they seek public assistance. They are doing all of this to inflict cruelty in people’s lives, to make immigrants feel insecure, not wanted or welcomed in America. We feel it too.

At MAF, we’re turning our pain into action. We are committing a $1.5 million revolving loan fund to help eligible immigrants to apply for citizenship and DACA.

[infogram id=”8a81d3c6-4732-45e2-aa5a-a989160fe941″ prefix=”L0T” format=”interactive” title=”MAF Immigration Loans”]

We’re doubling the number of zero-interest loans to help people that can’t cover the cost of applying to do so now. Over 8 million eligible immigrants can apply for US citizenship; we want to help those who can’t cover the $725 cost of applying. There is no time to waste.

Join us. Help us. Work with us. We can’t allow for America to descend any further.

With gratitude,

Jose Quinonez

DONATE

We will keep fighting

My soul hurts to hear babies crying inconsolably for their parents, begging for help. I think about these little ones each time I look at my children, hoping that we will stop this madness and reunite them with their mothers and fathers who braved through that long and dangerous journey millions of immigrants have taken before, looking for safety in America.   

But instead of refuge, they found a government that terrorized their innocence, ripping child away from parent and violating their human and legal rights in the process. Trump’s “zero tolerance” policy harkens back to slavery, Japanese internment camps, and even Nazi Germany. And for what? This administration callously calculated that taking babies hostage would ignite a crisis to further their political agenda.

They made a terrible mistake.

Trump’s new Executive Order did not end the crisis. The administration is still following “zero tolerance” policy, keeping asylum seekers in detention camps along the US/Mexico border. And they’re doing nothing to reunite the 2,300 children in US custody with their parents. Instead they’re following their game plan, using children as bargaining chips to pressure Congress to fund Trump’s wall, cut back on visas for legal immigrants, eliminate the diversity visa program, criminalize immigrants, and block any hope for a pathway to citizenship for millions of hardworking immigrants who drive our economy, but more importantly, who call the United States home.

We are not surprised by Trump’s actions, but we are outraged and activated. From the start, this administration has attacked immigrants in rhetoric calling them rapists, criminals, thugs or animals. His actions have been aligned with this rhetoric: terminating DACA and torpedoing bipartisan efforts to provide legislative solutions to Dreamers. Step by step, he’s dismantling any hope for immigrants and people of color to be full fledged members of our society.

Clearly, he is afraid of an emerging America that is rich and diverse, colorful and complex. He’s afraid of an America that does not look like him.

But no matter how much he may fear or hate us, he can’t get rid of us. His administration is working hard to make life miserable and impossible for immigrant families. They will criminalize, they will detain, they will deport, they will terrorize, they will confiscate whatever little we may have; but they can’t get rid of us.

We are resilient. We are survivors. And we are not alone. There are millions of people that are not afraid and who will fight with us for that emerging America that is just and expansive with plenty of room, hugs and resources for those children crying at the border right now.

Hear me say this: Trump will not have the last word. He will not dictate what America is, or what it will become.

At MAF, we are doubling down. We’re helping more legal permanent residents apply for citizenship. Over the years, we have financed over 8,000 U.S. citizenship and DACA applications and are ready to do thousands more in the months and years to come. There are 8.8 million legal permanent residents eligible for citizenship right now. We want to help them naturalize, to take that first step towards being able to vote in elections to come. And we’re more determined than ever to help immigrants improve their financial lives, to help them put down roots where they live, and feel confident that they belong.

They are part and parcel of who we are as a nation and we need their dreams, their energy to keep building that emerging America.

The cries heard around the world will not go unheeded. For the children ripped from their parents arms, and the millions of people at the margins of society, we will keep fighting for freedom and dignity and respect, ever bending that arc of the moral universe MLK once mentioned – until it breaks towards justice.

With love and gratitude,

Jose Quinonez

GIVE:

Give to the legal and nonprofit organizations working to defend the rights of immigrants in the courts and provide direct support to families on the border.

  • ACLU Foundation is a nonprofit defending the civil rights of individuals. Their Immigrant Rights Project defends the rights of immigrants and is currently litigating family separation issues.
  • Refugee and Immigrant Center for Education and Legal Services (RAICES) is a nonprofit providing legal services to immigrant children, families and refugees in Central and South Texas. They are helping get parents out of detention so that they can be reunited with their children.
  • Kids in Need of Defense (KIND) is a national policy advocacy organization with offices in ten cities, including San Francisco and Washington D.C. KIND trains pro bono lawyers to represent unaccompanied immigrant children.
  • Border Angels is a San Diego-based nonprofit focused on migrant rights, immigration reform, and the prevention of immigrant deaths along the border.
  • Stand with Immigrant Families: #HeretoStay is MAF’s campaign to raise funds to support DACA, Citizenship, TPS and Green card applications to prevent families from getting torn apart by changing immigration status.

ADVOCATE:

Call your member of Congress to support families staying together. Demand that Congress hear asylum claims and reunite the 2,300 children already separated from their parents.  

  • White House public comment line: 202-456-1111
  • Department of Justice public comment line: 202-353-1555
  • U.S. Senate Switchboard: 202-224-3121

RALLY:

Take to the streets and join a Families Belong Together rally near you on June 30

ENGAGE:

Show your support on social media (#FamiliesBelongTogether #KeepFamiliesTogether).

Here to help: reacting to the latest DACA court order

A third federal judge has issued a new DACA ruling. While the first two injunctions re-opened the program for the foreseeable future, this order is the first time since September 5, 2017 that there’s been a glimmer of hope that the Department of Homeland Security could be ordered to resume taking new DACA applications – and not just accept renewals. This opens up new opportunities for eligible Dreamers who are struggling to make ends meet without a work permit and are in fear of their safety and stability. With no viable Dream Act making its way through congress, the current DACA program is one of the only rays of light.

Within 90 days – per the court order – we should know more from DHS and the courts about what will come to pass. But instead of just waiting, we are taking action to help more people adjust their immigration status as soon as they can. With rising ICE raids, toxic stress and fear rampant in immigrant families from so many heartbreaking cases of families being torn apart, we must do what we can to help right now.

This is how we resist: with new and expanded programs that meet the urgent needs of our communities. This is our way of saying: We are here. We are ready. Here’s an infographic that’s easy to share:

To recap:

  • DACA renewals continue to be accepted. If you are able to renew, we recommend doing it as soon as possible. If you need financial assistance, we’re here to help.
  • No new DACA applications are being accepted (but stay tuned – we will know more in the next 1-3 months).
  • You might be eligible for other ways to adjust your immigration status. We recommend connecting with an attorney through Immi.org to see if you might be eligible for legal permanent residence or other programs.

What we’re doing about it:

  • Offering 0% interest loans for DACA, TPS, Green Cards, Citizenship & more to California residents. Learn more.
  • Providing fee assistance & referrals to people facing extreme economic hardship. Contact us for more info.
  • Hosting trainings on starting your own business (a viable way to have a job if you don’t have a work permit). Sign up now.

How you can help:

  • Share the knowledge: Encourage family and friends to renew their DACA now or start preparing now in case DHS starts accepting new applications in the next few months.
  • Stand with Immigrants! Help us keep these programs going by donating or encouraging your friends and family to donate. Start a fundraiser with your friends or join a team of fundraisers and send a message to the world that you stand with immigrants!

 

English