跳到主要内容

标签: 移民

我们在危机中互相依靠。

如果我必须将MAF快速反应工作的精髓浓缩为一个词,那就是:伙伴关系。在新的社会疏远中,我们能够比以往任何时候都更加接近,在这场难以想象的危机中相互倾听,相互帮助。

在3月份的留守令下达后不久,我们就开始帮助那些我们知道会受到不利影响的客户。

我们马上就听到了客户的声音,他们为失去收入而焦虑,不知道如何支付房租、购买食物,甚至是维持每月的账单。我们感受到了他们的担忧,并迅速行动起来,为他们解除了一个。 快速反应基金 在3月20日,不知道真正的深层次的疫情展开。

在危机初期,慈善领域团结起来,应对这一新的挑战。

我们与一些基金会合作,这些基金会挺身而出,支持他们工作的社区和他们非常关心的社区:大学生、创意经济的成员和被《CARES法案》排除在外的移民家庭。他们认识到资金的紧迫性,并帮助我们尽快将资金直接送到需要资金的人手中,努力将资金迅速送到我们手中。我从来没有见过资助过程如此之快,从我们的第一次谈话到承诺和付款,在几天之内就完成了。当你目光清晰,致力于实现最终目标时,你能完成的事情是惊人的。

在筹款的同时,我们的团队正在重新利用我们的系统和技术,大规模地发放现金补助。

我们为每一个我们打算支持的社区建立了一个全新的申请程序,花时间考虑如何公平地满足那里的巨大需求。我们确保在每一份申请中,我们都会小心翼翼地提出正确的问题,并花时间了解每个申请人的财务状况、战略和资源。有了这一点,我们就能够对需求进行优先排序:我们知道,先到先得只会夸大系统性的不平等和障碍,让那些拥有最快的互联网和最好的信息的人享有特权。我们创造了一个替代方案,将我们所拥有的资源集中在那些最需要的人身上。而且,在整个过程的基础上,我们确保我们的新系统在建立时同样坚定不移地致力于高效和安全地处理敏感的金融数据。

隔离7周后,我们正在为超过2万名急需经济援助的人提供$500资助。

总结我们与合作伙伴共同取得的成就,令人鼓舞。

  • 3个快速反应基金,支持大学生、青年创作者和移民家庭。
  • 23个基金会汇集所有三个基金的资源。
  • $12M共为人们提供紧急资金救助。
  • 26个外联伙伴将我们与符合条件的移民家庭联系起来

有了我们身边的合作伙伴和我们29名MAFistas的小而强大的工作人员,我们已经能够支持:

  • 75,000多个人报名寻求帮助。
  • 5.2万多份已完成的预申请,深入了解人们的财务状况。
  • 在我们的安全平台上完成了8,000多份完整的申请。
  • 分发了5 500多笔赠款并存入支票账户。

每一步,这些数字的背后都有很多细致周到的工作。

MAFistas挺身而出,确保我们为我们所帮助的每个社区建立正确的应用程序,使用正确的技术,并创建正确的流程--所有这些都是为了在这个危机时刻帮助人们而精心和紧急完成的。为什么要这样做?简单地说:我们已经收到了超过7000封来自人们求助的电子邮件、电话、票据--我们听到了他们的故事,他们的求助呼声--这也激励着员工们在正常工作之外,在人们需要帮助的时候出现。

我只能说,目睹这样的奉献精神,实在令人惭愧。

在这种善意和同情的背后,我们正在展示技术和金融的最佳效果。在我们身边的合作伙伴的支持下,我们展示了为人民服务的意义 -- -- 不仅为处于危机时刻的家庭提供财政援助,而且最重要的是,传达了希望和团结的信息,即他们并不孤单。

您可以支持MAF的快速反应基金。 此处.

帮助最困难的人度过危机

我们正处于一场决定一代人命运的危机之中。冠状病毒正暴露出现代生活的相互联系,迅速蔓延并危及全世界数百万人的健康和福祉。没有人能够幸免于难。

这场史无前例的、正在展开的大流行病正在冲击着每一个人,但那些最少和最后的人将受到最大的伤害。

冠状病毒正在揭示我们社会中的深刻不平等。有房可住、有资产可保、有救济可得的人将受到影响。但没有房子的人,没有保护的移民,没有救济的工人,将在经济危机中首当其冲。已经有客户与我们联系,讲述他们失去工作、工资和收入的故事。他们不知道月底要怎么付房租。

人们现在感到深深的经济痛苦。

更加困难的是,我们的许多客户不能或不会得到政府计划的支持。数以百万计的非全时工人、学生、承包商、移民和自雇者可能没有资格获得失业保险、医疗福利,甚至是营养援助。这种大流行病表明了这样一个现实:对于最需要的人来说,没有一个有意义的安全网。

移民家庭很害怕.联邦政府最近实施了一项 "公共收费规则",向移民家庭发出了反对使用公共服务的寒心信息。现在,他们不知道去医院是否会影响他们成为合法永久居民的机会。他们担心,"如果我是无证者,寻求治疗会不会让我容易被驱逐出境?"

在MAF,我们将客户与社区服务联系起来,并在可能的情况下为他们提供直接的经济援助。

人们越来越认识到,在这样的时刻,最有用的是实际的现金,以帮助人们支付房租、购买食物,并防止他们进一步落后。对一些人来说,这可能是一个小的干预措施、一个转介、一个小的赠款或一笔过渡性贷款,可以使他们继续生活下去。但时机至关重要。

我们正在迅速行动,以提高MAF的快速反应基金,以帮助低收入工人、移民家庭和可能被遗弃的学生,而不从政府行动中获得救济。我们拥有工具、技术和进入这些脆弱社区的能力,但我们需要您的财政支持来实现这一目标。 

在这一前所未有的国家危机时刻,需要我们所有人团结起来,以新的相互尊重精神相互支持。我们同舟共济,只有我们一起才能作为一个国家向前迈进。

点击 此处 捐赠。

团结一致,

Jose Quinonez

我们看到了它的到来。

自从特朗普走下自动扶梯宣布参选这一可怕的日子以来,我们都深知这是移民开放季节的开始。我们以前见过。绝望的政治家使用可恶的狗哨言论来非人化和替罪羊有色人种。我从来没有想过这次的开放季节会意味着子弹雨——仅仅因为他们看起来像墨西哥人就可以不分青红皂白地杀死人类,包括 Jordan 和 Andre Anchondo,他们都是在埃尔帕索保护他们婴儿的父母。

像许多其他人一样,埃尔帕索的消息动摇了我在美国的安全感和归属感。

我想这正是针对移民的另一项恐怖行为的意图。我很清楚的是,埃尔帕索射手并不是单独行动的。白宫也在推动他们自己的竞选活动,现在很清楚: 突袭工地 只是为了它的奇观; 拒绝签证 希望与家人团聚的人以创纪录的速度; 分离家庭 寻求庇护只是为了传达对他们的要求持恶意和漠不关心的信息;现在,如果合法居民寻求公共援助,他们将惩罚对其移民身份不确定的合法居民。他们做这一切是为了在人们的生活中施加残酷,使移民 感到不安全,不被需要或不受欢迎 在美国。我们也感觉到了。

在 MAF,我们正在将痛苦转化为行动。我们承诺提供 $150 万的循环贷款基金,以帮助符合条件的移民申请公民身份和 DACA。

我们正在将零息贷款的数量增加一倍,以帮助那些现在无法支付申请费用的人。超过 800 万符合条件的移民可以申请美国公民身份;我们想帮助那些无法支付 $725 申请费用的人。没有时间可以浪费了。

加入我们。帮帮我们。跟我们工作。我们不能允许美国进一步下降。

带着感激之情,

Jose Quinonez

我们会继续战斗

听到婴儿为父母伤心地哭泣,乞求帮助,我的灵魂很受伤。每次看到我的孩子时,我都会想起这些小孩子,希望我们能停止这种疯狂,让他们与他们的父母团聚,他们勇敢地经历了数百万移民以前经历过的漫长而危险的旅程,在美国寻找安全。   

但他们没有避难,而是找到了一个政府恐吓他们的清白,将孩子从父母身边夺走,并在此过程中侵犯了他们的人权和合法权利。特朗普的“零容忍”政策让人想起奴隶制、日本拘留营,甚至纳粹德国。为了什么?这届政府冷酷地计算出,将婴儿劫为人质会引发一场危机,以推进他们的政治议程。

他们犯了一个可怕的错误。

特朗普的新行政命令并没有结束危机。政府仍在遵循“零容忍”政策,将寻求庇护者关押在美国/墨西哥边境的拘留营中。 他们没有采取任何措施让美国监护下的 2,300 名儿童与他们的父母团聚。相反,他们遵循他们的游戏计划,利用儿童作为讨价还价的筹码,向国会施压,以资助特朗普的墙,削减合法移民的签证,取消多元化签证计划,将移民定为犯罪,并阻止数百万人获得公民身份的任何希望勤劳的移民推动了我们的经济,但更重要的是,他们将美国称为家。

我们对特朗普的行为并不感到惊讶,但我们感到愤怒和活跃。从一开始,这届政府就攻击移民,称他们为 强奸犯, 罪犯, 暴徒动物。他的行动与这种言论一致:终止 DACA 并破坏两党为梦想家提供立法解决方案的努力。一步一步地,他正在摧毁移民和有色人种成为我们社会正式成员的任何希望。

显然,他害怕一个新兴的美国,它丰富多样、丰富多彩、复杂。他害怕一个看起来不像他的美国。

但无论他多么害怕或多么恨我们,他都无法摆脱我们。他的政府正在努力使移民家庭的生活变得悲惨和不可能。他们会定罪,他们会拘留,他们会驱逐出境,他们会进行恐吓,他们会没收我们可能拥有的任何一点东西;但他们无法摆脱我们。

我们是有弹性的。我们是幸存者。我们并不孤单。数以百万计的人并不害怕,他们将与我们一起为新兴的美国而战,这个新兴的美国公正而广阔,为那些现在在边境哭泣的孩子们提供充足的空间、拥抱和资源。

听我这么说:特朗普不会有最终决定权。他不会决定美国是什么,或者它会变成什么。

在 MAF,我们正在加倍努力。我们正在帮助更多合法永久居民申请公民身份。多年来,我们已经资助了 8,000 多个美国公民和 DACA 申请,并准备在未来几个月和几年内再做数千个。目前有 880 万合法永久居民有资格获得公民身份。我们希望帮助他们入籍,迈出能够在即将到来的选举中投票的第一步。我们比以往任何时候都更有决心帮助移民改善他们的财务生活,帮助他们在他们居住的地方扎根,并相信他们属于他们。

他们是我们作为一个国家的重要组成部分,我们需要他们的梦想和能量来继续建设新兴的美国。

世界各地听到的呼声不会被忽视。 对于从父母的怀抱中被夺走的孩子,以及数百万处于社会边缘的人,我们将继续为自由、尊严和尊重而战,永远弯曲 MLK 曾经提到的道德宇宙的弧线——直到它走向正义。

带着爱和感激,

Jose Quinonez

给:

捐赠给致力于在法庭上捍卫移民权利的法律和非营利组织,并为边境家庭提供直接支持。

  • 美国公民自由联盟基金会 是一个非营利组织 捍卫个人的公民权利。他们的 移民权利项目 捍卫移民的权利,目前正在对家庭分离问题提起诉讼。
  • 难民和移民教育和法律服务中心 (RAICES) 是一家为德克萨斯州中部和南部的移民儿童、家庭和难民提供法律服务的非营利组织。他们正在帮助父母摆脱拘留,以便他们能够与孩子团聚。
  • 需要防御的孩子 (KIND) 是一个国家政策倡导组织,在十个城市设有办事处,包括旧金山和华盛顿特区 KIND 培训无偿律师代表无人陪伴的移民儿童。
  • 边境天使一家位于圣地亚哥的非营利组织,专注于移民权利、移民改革和防止边境沿线的移民死亡。
  • 与移民家庭站在一起:#HretoStay 是 MAF 筹集资金以支持 DACA、公民身份、TPS 和绿卡申请的活动,以防止家庭因改变移民身份而分崩离析。

提倡:

致电您的国会议员以支持家庭团聚。要求国会听取庇护申请,并使已经与父母分离的 2,300 名儿童团聚。  

  • 白宫公众评论专线: 202-456-1111
  • 司法部公众意见专线: 202-353-1555
  • 美国参议院总机: 202-224-3121

集会:

走上街头,加入一个 家庭属于一起 6 月 30 日在您附近集会

从事:

在社交媒体上表达您的支持 (#FamiliesBelongTogether #KeepFamiliesTogether)。

在此提供帮助:对DACA法院的最新命令作出反应。

第三位联邦法官已经发布了一个 新的DACA裁决.虽然前两个禁令在可预见的未来重新开放了该计划,但这一命令是自2017年9月5日以来第一次有一线希望,即国土安全部可能被命令恢复采取  DACA申请--而不仅仅是接受延期。这为符合条件的梦想者开辟了新的机会,他们在没有工作许可的情况下挣扎着维持生计,对自己的安全和稳定感到担忧。在国会没有可行的梦想法案的情况下,目前的DACA计划是唯一的曙光之一。

在90天内--根据法院的命令--我们应该从国土安全部和法院了解更多关于将发生的事情。但我们不是在等待,而是在采取行动来帮助 更多的人尽快调整他们的移民身份.随着ICE突击检查的增加,有毒的压力和恐惧在移民家庭中肆虐,有那么多令人心碎的家庭被拆散的案例,我们现在必须尽我们所能来帮助。

这就是我们的抵制方式:用新的和扩大的项目来满足我们社区的迫切需求。这是我们说的方式。我们在这里。我们已经准备好了。这里有一个易于分享的信息图。

回顾一下。

  • 继续接受DACA延期。 如果你有能力续费,我们建议尽快进行。如果你需要财政援助。 我们在这里提供帮助.
  • 没有 正在接受DACA申请 但敬请关注--我们将在未来1-3个月内知道更多)。
  • 你可能有资格通过其他方式来调整你的移民身份。 我们建议通过以下方式与律师联系 Immi.org 以了解你是否有资格获得合法的永久居留权或其他项目。

我们正在做什么。

  • 提供0%利息贷款 为加州居民提供DACA、TPS、绿卡、公民身份及更多服务。 了解更多.
  • 提供费用援助和转介 向面临极端经济困难的人提供。 联系我们以获取更多信息.
  • 主持关于创业的培训 如果你没有工作许可,这是一个可行的方法,可以有一份工作)。 现在注册.

你可以如何帮助。

  • 分享知识。 鼓励家人和朋友现在就更新他们的DACA,或者现在就开始准备,以防国土安全部在未来几个月开始接受新的申请。

Skip to main content

Tag: immigrants

We Lean on Each Other in Times of Crisis

If I had to distill the essence of MAF’s Rapid Response work into one word it would be: partnerships. Amidst the new social distancing, we’ve been able to come closer than ever to listen to one another and help each other during this unimaginable crisis.

Soon after the stay-at-home orders were given in March, we set out to help clients that we knew were going to be adversely impacted.

We heard from clients right away, anxious about losing income, not knowing how they were going to pay rent, buy food or even keep up with their monthly bills. We felt their concern and moved quickly to lift up a Rapid Response Fund on March 20th not really knowing the depth of the unfolding pandemic.

In the early moments of the crisis, the philanthropy field rallied to respond to this new challenge.

We partnered with foundations that stepped forward to support the communities they work with and care deeply about: college students, members of the creative economy, and immigrant families left out of the CARES Act. They worked to get money to us quickly, recognizing the urgency and helping us get money directly into the hands of those who needed it as fast as possible. I have never seen the grant process move so quickly, sprinting from our first conversation to commitment and disbursal within days. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you’re clear-eyed and committed to the end goal.

While the fundraising was ongoing, our team was repurposing our systems and technology to disburse cash grants at scale.

We built an entirely new application process for each of the communities we set out to support, spending time to consider how we could equitably address the tremendous need that was out there. We made sure that in each application we asked the right set of questions with care and respect and took time to understand each applicant’s financial reality, strategies, and resources. With this, we were able to prioritize need: we knew that first come, first served only exaggerated systemic inequities and barriers to access, privileging those with the fastest internet and best information. We created an alternative that focused the resources we have on those who needed it the most. And, underlying this whole process, we ensured our new system was set up with the same steadfast commitment to processing sensitive financial data efficiently and securely.

Seven weeks into the quarantine, we’re now in the middle of providing $500 grants to over 20,000 people who are in desperate financial need.

It is inspiring to take stock of what we have accomplished with our partners:

  • 3 Rapid Response funds supporting college students, young creatives, and immigrant families
  • 23 foundations pooling resources across all three funds
  • $12M in total to provide people with emergency financial relief
  • 26 outreach partners who are connecting us with eligible immigrant families

With our partners beside us and our small but mighty staff of 29 MAFistas, we’ve been able to support:

  • 75,000+ individuals who signed up looking for help
  • 52,000+ completed pre-applications with insights about people’s financial situation
  • 8,000+ completed full applications on our secure platform
  • 5,500+ grants distributed and deposited into checking accounts

At every step, there has been a lot of careful and thoughtful work behind all of these numbers.

MAFistas stepped up to ensure that we built the right applications, used the right technology, and created the right process for each of the communities we’re helping – all done with care and urgency to help people in this moment of crisis. Why? Simply put: we have received over 7,000 emails, calls, tickets from people asking for help – we hear their stories, their cries for help – and that’s motivating staff to go above and beyond our normal work to show up for people in their time of need.

I can only say that it is truly humbling to witness such devotion.

With this kindness and compassion behind it, we are demonstrating the best of what technology and finance can be. And with our partners beside us, we are demonstrating what it means to show up for people – to help families in this moment of crisis not only with financial aid but, most importantly, a message of hope and solidarity that they are not alone.

You can support MAF’s Rapid Response Fund here.

Helping Those With the Least Weather the Crisis

We are in the midst of a generation-defining crisis. The coronavirus is laying bare the interconnectedness of modern life, rapidly spreading and jeopardizing the health and well-being of millions of people around the world. No one is immune.

This unprecedented and unfolding pandemic is hitting everyone, but those with the least and the last will be hurt the most.

The coronavirus is uncovering deep inequalities in our society. People with homes to shelter, assets to protect, and relief to obtain will be impacted. But people without homes, immigrants without protections, workers without relief are going to bear the brunt of the economic crisis. Already, clients are contacting us with stories of losing jobs, wages, and incomes. They don’t know how they are going to pay rent at the end of the month.

People are feeling deep financial pain right now.

Making it harder still is the fact that many of our clients can’t or won’t get support from government programs. Millions of part-time workers, students, contractors, immigrants and self-employed may not qualify for unemployment insurance, health benefits, or even nutritional assistance. This pandemic is showing the reality that there is no meaningful safety net for the people who need it most.

Immigrant families are terrified. The federal government recently implemented a “Public Charge Rule” that sent a chilling message to immigrant families against using public services. Now, they wonder if going to the hospital would hurt their chances of becoming legal permanent residents. They are worried, “If I’m undocumented, could seeking treatment make me vulnerable to deportation?”

At MAF, we are connecting clients to community services and providing them with direct financial assistance when possible.

There is a growing awareness that in moments like these, what is most helpful is actual cash to help people pay rent, buy food and keep them from falling further behind. For some, it may be a small intervention, a referral, a small grant or a bridge loan that can keep them going. But timing is critical.

We are moving quickly to lift up MAF’s Rapid Response Fund to help low income workers, immigrant families, and students likely to be left behind, without relief from government action. We have the tools, the technology and the reach into these vulnerable communities but we need your financial support to make this a reality. 

In this moment of unprecedented national crisis, it is going to take all of us to come together, to support one another in a renewed spirit of mutuality and respect. We are in this together, and only together can we move forward as a nation.

Click here to donate.

In solidarity,

Jose Quinonez

We saw it coming.

Ever since that dreadful day Trump descended down the escalator to announce his candidacy, we all knew deep down that it was the start of open season on immigrants. We’d seen it before. Desperate politicians using hateful dog-whistle rhetoric to dehumanize and scapegoat people of color. Never did I think that open season this time would mean a shower of bullets – indiscriminately killing human beings just because they look Mexican, including Jordan and Andre Anchondo, both parents protecting their infant child in El Paso.

Like many others, news of El Paso shook my sense of safety and belonging in America.

I suppose that was exactly the intent of yet another act of terror in a campaign against immigrants. What is clear to me is that the El Paso shooter did not act alone. The White House is also driving their own campaign that is now clear: raiding work sites just for the spectacle of it; denying visas at record rates for people looking to reunite with their families; separating families seeking asylum just to send a message of spite and indifference to their claims; and now punishing legal residents with uncertainty over their immigration status if they seek public assistance. They are doing all of this to inflict cruelty in people’s lives, to make immigrants feel insecure, not wanted or welcomed in America. We feel it too.

At MAF, we’re turning our pain into action. We are committing a $1.5 million revolving loan fund to help eligible immigrants to apply for citizenship and DACA.

[infogram id=”8a81d3c6-4732-45e2-aa5a-a989160fe941″ prefix=”L0T” format=”interactive” title=”MAF Immigration Loans”]

We’re doubling the number of zero-interest loans to help people that can’t cover the cost of applying to do so now. Over 8 million eligible immigrants can apply for US citizenship; we want to help those who can’t cover the $725 cost of applying. There is no time to waste.

Join us. Help us. Work with us. We can’t allow for America to descend any further.

With gratitude,

Jose Quinonez

DONATE

We will keep fighting

My soul hurts to hear babies crying inconsolably for their parents, begging for help. I think about these little ones each time I look at my children, hoping that we will stop this madness and reunite them with their mothers and fathers who braved through that long and dangerous journey millions of immigrants have taken before, looking for safety in America.   

But instead of refuge, they found a government that terrorized their innocence, ripping child away from parent and violating their human and legal rights in the process. Trump’s “zero tolerance” policy harkens back to slavery, Japanese internment camps, and even Nazi Germany. And for what? This administration callously calculated that taking babies hostage would ignite a crisis to further their political agenda.

They made a terrible mistake.

Trump’s new Executive Order did not end the crisis. The administration is still following “zero tolerance” policy, keeping asylum seekers in detention camps along the US/Mexico border. And they’re doing nothing to reunite the 2,300 children in US custody with their parents. Instead they’re following their game plan, using children as bargaining chips to pressure Congress to fund Trump’s wall, cut back on visas for legal immigrants, eliminate the diversity visa program, criminalize immigrants, and block any hope for a pathway to citizenship for millions of hardworking immigrants who drive our economy, but more importantly, who call the United States home.

We are not surprised by Trump’s actions, but we are outraged and activated. From the start, this administration has attacked immigrants in rhetoric calling them rapists, criminals, thugs or animals. His actions have been aligned with this rhetoric: terminating DACA and torpedoing bipartisan efforts to provide legislative solutions to Dreamers. Step by step, he’s dismantling any hope for immigrants and people of color to be full fledged members of our society.

Clearly, he is afraid of an emerging America that is rich and diverse, colorful and complex. He’s afraid of an America that does not look like him.

But no matter how much he may fear or hate us, he can’t get rid of us. His administration is working hard to make life miserable and impossible for immigrant families. They will criminalize, they will detain, they will deport, they will terrorize, they will confiscate whatever little we may have; but they can’t get rid of us.

We are resilient. We are survivors. And we are not alone. There are millions of people that are not afraid and who will fight with us for that emerging America that is just and expansive with plenty of room, hugs and resources for those children crying at the border right now.

Hear me say this: Trump will not have the last word. He will not dictate what America is, or what it will become.

At MAF, we are doubling down. We’re helping more legal permanent residents apply for citizenship. Over the years, we have financed over 8,000 U.S. citizenship and DACA applications and are ready to do thousands more in the months and years to come. There are 8.8 million legal permanent residents eligible for citizenship right now. We want to help them naturalize, to take that first step towards being able to vote in elections to come. And we’re more determined than ever to help immigrants improve their financial lives, to help them put down roots where they live, and feel confident that they belong.

They are part and parcel of who we are as a nation and we need their dreams, their energy to keep building that emerging America.

The cries heard around the world will not go unheeded. For the children ripped from their parents arms, and the millions of people at the margins of society, we will keep fighting for freedom and dignity and respect, ever bending that arc of the moral universe MLK once mentioned – until it breaks towards justice.

With love and gratitude,

Jose Quinonez

GIVE:

Give to the legal and nonprofit organizations working to defend the rights of immigrants in the courts and provide direct support to families on the border.

  • ACLU Foundation is a nonprofit defending the civil rights of individuals. Their Immigrant Rights Project defends the rights of immigrants and is currently litigating family separation issues.
  • Refugee and Immigrant Center for Education and Legal Services (RAICES) is a nonprofit providing legal services to immigrant children, families and refugees in Central and South Texas. They are helping get parents out of detention so that they can be reunited with their children.
  • Kids in Need of Defense (KIND) is a national policy advocacy organization with offices in ten cities, including San Francisco and Washington D.C. KIND trains pro bono lawyers to represent unaccompanied immigrant children.
  • Border Angels is a San Diego-based nonprofit focused on migrant rights, immigration reform, and the prevention of immigrant deaths along the border.
  • Stand with Immigrant Families: #HeretoStay is MAF’s campaign to raise funds to support DACA, Citizenship, TPS and Green card applications to prevent families from getting torn apart by changing immigration status.

ADVOCATE:

Call your member of Congress to support families staying together. Demand that Congress hear asylum claims and reunite the 2,300 children already separated from their parents.  

  • White House public comment line: 202-456-1111
  • Department of Justice public comment line: 202-353-1555
  • U.S. Senate Switchboard: 202-224-3121

RALLY:

Take to the streets and join a Families Belong Together rally near you on June 30

ENGAGE:

Show your support on social media (#FamiliesBelongTogether #KeepFamiliesTogether).

Here to help: reacting to the latest DACA court order

A third federal judge has issued a new DACA ruling. While the first two injunctions re-opened the program for the foreseeable future, this order is the first time since September 5, 2017 that there’s been a glimmer of hope that the Department of Homeland Security could be ordered to resume taking new DACA applications – and not just accept renewals. This opens up new opportunities for eligible Dreamers who are struggling to make ends meet without a work permit and are in fear of their safety and stability. With no viable Dream Act making its way through congress, the current DACA program is one of the only rays of light.

Within 90 days – per the court order – we should know more from DHS and the courts about what will come to pass. But instead of just waiting, we are taking action to help more people adjust their immigration status as soon as they can. With rising ICE raids, toxic stress and fear rampant in immigrant families from so many heartbreaking cases of families being torn apart, we must do what we can to help right now.

This is how we resist: with new and expanded programs that meet the urgent needs of our communities. This is our way of saying: We are here. We are ready. Here’s an infographic that’s easy to share:

To recap:

  • DACA renewals continue to be accepted. If you are able to renew, we recommend doing it as soon as possible. If you need financial assistance, we’re here to help.
  • No new DACA applications are being accepted (but stay tuned – we will know more in the next 1-3 months).
  • You might be eligible for other ways to adjust your immigration status. We recommend connecting with an attorney through Immi.org to see if you might be eligible for legal permanent residence or other programs.

What we’re doing about it:

  • Offering 0% interest loans for DACA, TPS, Green Cards, Citizenship & more to California residents. Learn more.
  • Providing fee assistance & referrals to people facing extreme economic hardship. Contact us for more info.
  • Hosting trainings on starting your own business (a viable way to have a job if you don’t have a work permit). Sign up now.

How you can help:

  • Share the knowledge: Encourage family and friends to renew their DACA now or start preparing now in case DHS starts accepting new applications in the next few months.
  • Stand with Immigrants! Help us keep these programs going by donating or encouraging your friends and family to donate. Start a fundraiser with your friends or join a team of fundraisers and send a message to the world that you stand with immigrants!

 

English