跳到主要内容

标签: 影响

将金融学习带出课堂


Lending Circles完善了游戏理论学院的经验

茉莉和帕夏的友谊始于童年时期,当时这两个女孩是小学同学。最终,她们被分配到不同的中学,并失去了联系。但是,这两位年轻女性对她们的教育和未来有着共同的深刻承诺。正是这种品质使她们重聚,并最终导致她们加入了 博弈论学院的第一个借贷圈。

他们的重逢是出乎意料和计划之外的。2015年,当茉莉和帕夏在两个不同的奥克兰高中读高三时,他们都参加了 "让你的决定发挥作用",这是奥克兰非营利组织的财务决策课程。 博弈论学院 (GTA)。他们恢复了他们的友谊,就像没有过去一样,并开始了平行的学习之旅,为他们的终身财务安全做准备。

GTA的使命是使年轻人具备在成年后实现财务稳定所需的决策技能和经济机会。在 "让你的决定有价值 "中,茉莉和帕夏练习放慢他们的决策过程,仔细考虑每一步的利弊。他们培养了在行动前暂停的习惯,并考虑 "什么对我最有利?在我做出决定之前,我需要知道什么?"

茉莉和帕夏知道这些技能将对他们未来的重要决定大有帮助,例如选择最好的银行或制定支付大学学费的计划。但是,Jasmine和Pasha成功的一个关键--以及他们与GTA的持续接触--是有机会将他们新获得的金融技能付诸实践。他们首先通过GTA的实习项目做到了这一点,并最终通过 Lending Circles.

在完成《让你的决定发挥作用》后,Jasmine和Pasha都成为该组织的实习生。 WOW农场这就是GTA的城市农业和商业项目。他们渴望有机会将他们的新技能应用于一个真正的企业。而且从实际情况来看,他们都需要工作经验。

帕夏谈到了学习和实践的价值。

"通过拿到GTA的工资,我们体验到如何保存它,预算它,每次拿到支票时拿出$40。你可以说到做到"。

茉莉和帕夏成功地完成了他们的实习并从高中毕业。但她们的学习并没有结束:她们都立即报名参加了GTA的 "就业准备速成班"。虽然许多没有直接上大学的年轻人陷入了一个混乱的网络中,没有联系或停滞不前的活动,但这两位令人印象深刻的年轻女性拒绝失去焦点。她们仍然致力于实现自己的目标,并利用GTA所提供的一切优势。

Lending Circles项目刚开始在GTA实施时,茉莉花和帕夏对该项目持怀疑态度。例如,茉莉对强调信贷的做法感到不安。她知道建立信用的唯一方法是使用信用卡,而她明智地认为信用卡对没有稳定收入的年轻人来说是有风险的。

但Lending Circles为她提供了一种她信任的建立信用的方式。她描述了她对该计划的满意程度。"你不必担心超过你的信用额度,因为它总是一个固定的数额"。帕莎对信用卡也有类似的戒心。但与此同时,她也认识到,没有信用分数会成为一个障碍。

"你需要一个信用分数来买车,做很多事情。当你年满18岁,即将上大学时,所有银行都会给你发送信用卡优惠,有时年利率真的很高,这可能会让你乱了阵脚。"

对于许多没有多少正式金融交易经验的年轻人来说,Lending Circles的承诺似乎令人生畏(每月定期付款!),其价值也很抽象(信用评分,什么?但是,帕沙和茉莉利用他们在金融教育方面的坚实基础来考虑该计划的好处。而且更重要的是,他们在参与项目的过程中与GTA建立了信任的关系。因此,他们抓住机会,加入了一个借贷圈。

该计划是成功的。茉莉和帕夏开始时根本没有信用记录--这对18岁的人来说并不罕见。现在他们每个人的信用评分都超过650分,比普通的千禧一代高出30分。

但是,借贷圈不仅仅是一个信用建设工具--它类似于一个资金管理的速成班:参与者必须为一个目标储蓄,偿还贷款,提前计划,并管理自动支付交易。

多亏了Lending Circles,茉莉和帕夏不必以普通的方式学习信用--通过犯难以挽回的错误。他们已经能够安全地建立自己的信用,并以此为基础建立未来的财务安全。

博弈论学院的最终目标是让年轻人掌握他们所需的知识和信心,以驾驭往往是神秘和高风险的财务决策。

Lending Circles仍在获得GTA青年的青睐。但在很短的时间内,该计划已经在很大程度上深化了该组织的金融能力服务。GTA现有的金融教育模块让年轻人接触到他们在学校里没有学到的话题,而Lending Circles则提供了将他们所学的东西付诸实践的机会。

茉莉现在在查博特学院学习数学,在奥克兰上城的一家受欢迎的餐馆工作,并在一个簿记员处实习。帕沙在一家建筑公司的社区事务中发挥作用,并在梅里特学院学习。他们从博弈论学院毕业时,拥有每个年轻人都需要和值得拥有的东西:强大的财务和战略决策技能,广泛的就业准备培训,扎实的工作经验,以及出色的信用评分。

像我们大多数人一样,他们不知道接下来到底是什么。但他们已经为可能发生的任何事情做好了充分准备。

***

本帖作者Jasmin Dial于2014-2016年在博弈论学院负责学生参与工作,包括Lending Circles的启动和实施。她拥有加州大学伯克利分校的学士学位,目前在芝加哥大学学习公共政策。

国家文化部向MAF颁发2015年家庭强化奖。


NCLR的这一认可有助于我们为勤劳的家庭铺设一个公平的金融市场。

堪萨斯城,莫。-在今天于堪萨斯城举行的2015年NCLR年会上举行的全国附属机构午餐会上,NCLR(全国拉扎理事会)表彰了两个属于NCLR附属网络的社区组织,表彰他们在增强拉丁裔家庭能力和扩大机会方面的杰出努力。今年的获奖者是位于旧金山的Mission Asset Fund和位于莫桑比克堪萨斯城的Guadalupe Centers, Inc.

"我们在2015年NCLR年会上表彰Mission Asset Fund和Guadalupe中心改变拉美青年及其家庭生活的工作。他们的奉献和成功加强了我们整个社区,"NCLR总裁兼首席执行官Janet Murguía说。"我们赞扬这些模范组织以及他们帮助堪萨斯城和旧金山的西班牙裔社区获得安全信贷和负担得起的医疗保健的创新方法。"

NCLR家庭强化奖每年颁发一次,奖励两个与NCLR有联系的社区组织,以表彰他们致力于通过各种方案和服务来支持西班牙裔社区的成功和力量。每位获奖者将获得$5,000美元的现金奖励,以进一步推动他们在社区的工作及其与NCLR的伙伴关系。

Mission Asset Fund成立于2007年,致力于为那些缺乏机会和资源来实现其财务目标的勤劳和低收入家庭创造一个公平的金融市场。该组织因其创新的Lending Circles计划而获得认可,该计划是一个零利率的信用建设社会贷款计划,旨在帮助低收入家庭融入金融主流。该方案使参与者能够建立信用分数和信用记录,实现财务稳定。

"我们很高兴被选为今年NCLR家庭强化奖的获得者,"Mission Asset Fund的首席执行官Jose Quinonez说。"NCLR的这一认可帮助我们为美国勤劳家庭铺平了通往公平金融市场的道路,我们一起为全国成千上万的信用隐形人拓展了机会,确保他们不会被发薪日贷款机构的掠夺性贷款所困,而是借助社区的力量,迈出人生下一步的财务步伐。"

瓜达卢佩中心公司成立于1919年,距今已有近一个世纪的历史,位于堪萨斯城,是美国历史最悠久的拉丁裔社区组织。瓜达卢佩中心公司通过一系列全面的教育、社会、娱乐和文化服务来提高拉美裔的生活质量,改善拉美裔家庭的生活。该集团因其推出的Guadalupe教育系统而受到认可,Guadalupe教育系统是一个特许学校计划,为拉丁裔K-12学生提供严格和丰富的学习体验。通过这一计划,Guadalupe Centers, Inc.正在帮助弥补影响堪萨斯城拉美裔的教育差距,并赋予年轻学生权力,使其充分发挥潜力。

"在96年的服务中,Guadalupe Centers, Inc.为拉丁裔社区提供了教育项目。我们非常感谢与NCLR在这些方面的合作,并很荣幸获得这一认可,"Guadalupe Centers, Inc.首席执行官Cris Medina说。

NCLR是美国最大的全国性西班牙裔民权和宣传组织,致力于改善美国西班牙裔的机会。欲了解更多关于NCLR的信息,请访问 www.nclr.org 或关注 脸书 推特.

捐赠者聚焦罗比-平卡德


Robby 对能源和可持续性充满热情。找出为什么他受到启发成为 MAF 捐助者。

介绍我们的捐助者聚焦系列,我们在其中分享了我们的一位社会投资者的一些信息,并感谢他们采取行动通过信用建设支持社区的金融赋权。

认识罗比

Robby 毕业于三一学院,在加拿大皇家银行从事能源研究。去年,他和妻子从奥斯汀搬到了旧金山。罗比开始喜欢旧金山的山上楼梯、美食和文化。

即使作为新居民,他也开始注意到旧金山社区的变化和高档化的速度。由于这一现实,他知道必须投资于为该市低收入人群提供正确的支持。

每年,罗比和他的妻子都会挑选不同的当地组织来支持和参与。他对金融、政策和环境的兴趣促使他不断思考如何做出积极的改变。在他听说 MAF 之后 市场 走过我们在瓦伦西亚的旧办公室,他做了一件不寻常的事。

在他决定投资之前,他想先认识我们。所以去年,我们有机会与 Robby 坐下来,了解他在哪里长大 (DC),与他分享我们最喜欢的社区活动 (Dia de Los Muertos) 并谈论我们对未来的愿景。

几个月后,我们得知 Robby 决定向 MAF 捐款(并且能够通过皇家银行的员工匹配计划将捐款翻倍!)。他告诉我们他觉得 Lending Circles 是解决日益严重的全市问题的一剂良药。

我们最近给罗比打电话问他——“等等,你为什么要向 MAF 捐款?”他告诉我们:“当我想到慈善捐赠时,我想产生可持续的影响。”

因为建立人们的信用、帮助他们创业并管理他们的财务以便他们能够回馈社区的想法是他认为会产生持久影响的事情。

去年我们和罗比谈话时 网站重新设计.现在,随着活跃 博客 (和编辑日历相匹配),我们只需要向他征求一些反馈意见。

出于好奇,我们问道:“等等,你能告诉我们你认为我们做得好吗?或者你还想听什么?”罗比没有犹豫。

他说他喜欢听到关于如何 会员正在使用Lending Circles 并查看我们的网站以获取有关我们计划的统计数据 影响.我们邀请您,我们的读者,今天来看看他的最爱。

感谢 Robby 的演讲并感谢您选择投资 MAF 以及旧金山及其他地区辛勤工作家庭的未来。

加入罗比和 给予信贷 今天!

信用陷阱22

总有一个问题。有了信用,就有了第 22 条军规!勤奋的人很容易陷入这个 Credit Catch 22。例如,如果您想建立良好的信用记录,您必须拥有信用额度。但是为了获得信贷额度的批准,您必须展示偿还信贷的历史。因此信用捕获22!

如果没有长期的信用、居住或银行业务历史,您更有可能陷入这个 Credit Catch 22。

当我们的客户想要一套公寓或一张信用卡但没有文件或非常薄的文件时,这是一个真正的问题。当贷方进行查询以了解某人是否有资格获得贷款时,这实际上会降低获得批准的机会。如果没有长期的信用、居住或银行业务历史,您更有可能陷入此信用陷阱 22。

我们希望帮助每个人克服被困、束缚或隐形的感觉。这就是为什么 MAF 提供的产品通过我们的社会贷款和金融教育为客户提供负责任的信用额度,最终逃脱并过上安全、有能力的生活。下面的信息图展示了信用捕获 22 是如何工作的,以及我们自己成员经验中的一些现象证据。

Skip to main content

Tag: Impact

Taking Financial Learning Beyond the Classroom


Lending Circles round out the Game Theory Academy Experience

Jasmine and Pasha’s friendship began during childhood, when the two girls were elementary school classmates. Eventually they were assigned to different middle schools, and they lost touch. But the two young women shared a deep commitment to their educations and their futures. It was this quality that would reunite them and that would ultimately lead them to join Game Theory Academy’s first Lending Circle.

Their reunion was unexpected and unplanned. In 2015, when Jasmine and Pasha were in their senior years at two different Oakland high schools, they both enrolled in “Make Your Decisions Count,” a class on financial decision-making with the Oakland nonprofit Game Theory Academy (GTA). They resumed their friendship as if no time had passed and began parallel learning journeys that would prepare them for lifelong financial security.

GTA’s mission is to equip young people with the decision-making skills and economic opportunities needed to achieve financial stability in adulthood. In “Make Your Decisions Count,” Jasmine and Pasha practiced slowing down their decision-making process and carefully considering the pros and cons of each step. They cultivated the habit of pausing before acting and considering the questions, “What’s in my best interest? And what do I need to know before I decide?”

Jasmine and Pasha knew these skills would aid them tremendously in important future decisions, such as selecting the best bank or making a plan to pay for college. But a key to Jasmine and Pasha’s success – and their ongoing engagement with GTA – was the opportunity to put their newly acquired financial skills into practice. They did this first through GTA’s internship program, and eventually through Lending Circles.

After completing Make Your Decisions Count, both Jasmine and Pasha became interns with WOW Farm, GTA’s urban farming and business program. They were eager for the chance to apply their new skills to a real business. And on a practical level, they both needed the job experience.

Pasha spoke to the value of learning and doing:

“By getting the GTA paychecks, we experience how to save it, budget it, take out $40 each time you get a check. You can talk the talk and walk the walk.”

Jasmine and Pasha successfully completed their internships and graduated from high school. But their learning wasn’t over: they both immediately enrolled in GTA’s “Crash Course in Job Readiness.” While many young adults who do not go directly to college get caught in a chaotic web of disconnected or stagnant activities, these two impressive young women refused to lose focus. They remained committed to their goals and took advantage of all GTA had to offer.

Jasmine and Pasha were skeptical of Lending Circles when the program first began at GTA. Jasmine, for example, was uneasy with the emphasis on credit. The only way she knew to build credit was with a credit card, and she wisely thought of credit cards as risky for young people without steady incomes.

But Lending Circles provided her with a way to build credit that she trusted. She described her comfort with the program: “You don’t have to worry about going over your credit limit since it’s always a set amount.” Pasha was similarly wary of credit cards. But at the same time, she recognized that not having a credit score would prove to be a barrier:

“You need a credit score to get a car, to do a lot of things. When you turn 18 and you’re about to go to college, all the banks send you credit card offers and sometimes the APR is really high and that can you mess up.”

For many young adults without much experience with formal financial transactions, the Lending Circles commitment can seem intimidating (a regular monthly payment!) and its value abstract (credit score, what?). But Pasha and Jasmine drew on their strong foundation in financial education to consider the benefits of the program. And more importantly, they had built a trusting relationship with GTA over the course of their participation in programs. So they took a chance and joined a Lending Circle.

The program was a success. Both Jasmine and Pasha began with no credit history at all — not uncommon for 18-year-olds. Now they each have a credit score over 650, which is 30 points higher than the average Millennial.

But a Lending Circle is more than a credit-building tool — it’s akin to a crash course in money management: participants have to save for a goal, repay a loan, plan ahead, and manage auto-pay transactions.

Thanks to Lending Circles, Jasmine and Pasha do not have to learn about credit the common way– by making mistakes that are hard to reverse. They’ve been able to build their credit safely, and with it, to build the foundations for a future of financial security.

Game Theory Academy’s ultimate goal is to equip young people with the knowledge and confidence they need to navigate what are often mystifying and high-stakes financial decisions.

Lending Circles are still gaining traction with GTA’s youth. But in a short time, the program has already gone a long way to deepen the organization’s financial capability services. GTA’s existing financial education modules expose young people to topics they don’t learn in school, and Lending Circles provide the opportunity to put what they learn into practice.

Jasmine now studies Mathematics at Chabot College, works at a popular restaurant in Oakland’s Uptown, and interns with a bookkeeper. Pasha has a role in community affairs with a construction company and studies at Merritt College. They are graduating from Game Theory Academy with what every young adult needs and deserves: strong skills in financial and strategic decision-making, extensive job readiness training, solid work experience, and a fantastic credit score.

Like most of us, they don’t know exactly what’s next. But they are well-prepared for whatever it may be.

***

Jasmin Dial, the author of this post, ran student engagement at Game Theory Academy from 2014-2016, including the launch and implementation of Lending Circles. She holds a B.A. from University of California at Berkeley and currently studies Public Policy at the University of Chicago.

NCLR Presents MAF with the 2015 Family Strengthening Award


This recognition from NCLR helps us pave the way toward a fair financial marketplace for hardworking families

KANSAS CITY, Mo.—At the National Affiliate Luncheon held today at the 2015 NCLR Annual Conference in Kansas City, Mo., NCLR (National Council of La Raza) recognized two community-based organizations that belong to the NCLR Affiliate Network for their outstanding efforts to empower Latino families and broaden opportunities available to them. This year’s awardees are Mission Asset Fund in San Francisco and Guadalupe Centers, Inc. in Kansas City, Mo.

“We are honoring Mission Asset Fund and Guadalupe Centers at the 2015 NCLR Annual Conference for work that has transformed the lives of young Latinos and their families. Their dedication and success strengthen our entire community,” said Janet Murguía, President and CEO, NCLR. “We applaud these exemplary organizations and their innovative approach to helping the Hispanic communities in Kansas City and San Francisco gain access to safe credit and affordable health care.”

Presented annually, the NCLR Family Strengthening Awards honor two NCLR-affiliated community-based organizations for their commitment to bolstering the success and strength of the Hispanic community through a combination of programs and services. Each recipient receives a $5,000 cash award to further their work in the community and their partnership with NCLR.

Founded in 2007, Mission Asset Fund works to create a fair financial marketplace for hardworking and low-income families who lack the access and resources to reach their financial goals. The organization was recognized for its innovative Lending Circles program, a zero-interest credit-building social loans program designed to help weave low-income families into the financial mainstream. The program enables participants to build credit scores and credit histories and achieve financial stability.

“We are thrilled to be chosen as this year’s recipient of the NCLR Family Strengthening Award,” said Jose Quinonez, CEO of Mission Asset Fund. “This recognition from NCLR helps us pave the way toward a fair financial marketplace for hardworking families in the U.S. Together, we expand access to thousands of credit invisibles across the country, ensuring they aren’t stuck with predatory loans from payday lenders and instead are building on the strengths of their community to take the next financial steps in their lives.”

Established nearly a century ago in 1919, Guadalupe Centers, Inc. in Kansas City, Mo., is the oldest operating community-based organization for Latinos in the United States. Enhancing the quality of life for Hispanics through a comprehensive set of educational, social, recreational and cultural services, Guadalupe Centers, Inc. is improving the lives of Latino families. The group was recognized for its launch of the Guadalupe Educational Systems, a charter school program that provides a rigorous and enriching learning experience for Latino K–12 students. Through this program, Guadalupe Centers, Inc. is helping remedy the educational gaps affecting Kansas City Latinos and empowering young students to reach their full potential.

“Throughout 96 years of service, Guadalupe Centers, Inc. has provided educational programs for the Latino community. We appreciate the collaboration with NCLR in these endeavors and are honored to receive this recognition,” said Cris Medina, CEO, Guadalupe Centers, Inc.

NCLR—the largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States—works to improve opportunities for Hispanic Americans. For more information on NCLR, please visit www.nclr.org or follow along on Facebook and Twitter.

Donor Spotlight on Robby Pinkard


Robby is passionate about energy and sustainability. Find out why he was inspired to be a MAF donor.

Introducing our Donor Spotlight series, where we share a little about one of our Social Investors and thank them for taking action to support the financial empowerment of communities through credit-building.

MEET ROBBY

A Trinity grad, Robby works in energy research with the Royal Bank of Canada. Last year, he and his wife moved from Austin to San Francisco. Robby has come to love San Francisco’s staircases on hills, food and culture.

Even as a new resident, he started to notice how rapidly San Francisco’s neighborhoods are changing and gentrifying. Because of this reality, he knew that it would be imperative to invest in the right kinds of support for the city’s lower-income individuals.

Every year, Robby and his wife pick different local organizations to support and get involved with. His interests in finance, policy and the environment motivate him to think constantly about how to make positive change. After he heard about MAF on Marketplace and walked by our old office on Valencia, he did something unusual.

Before he decided to invest, he wanted to meet us first. So last year, we had the opportunity to sit down with Robby, find out about where he grew up (DC), share with him our favorite neighborhood events (Dia de Los Muertos) and talk about our vision for the future.

A few months later, we got word that Robby decided to donate to MAF (and was able to double it with the Royal Bank’s employee matching program!). He told us that he felt Lending Circles was a great antidote to a growing citywide problem.

We recently gave Robby a call to ask him – “Wait, why did you donate to MAF?” He told us: “When I think of charitable giving, I want to make a sustainable impact.”

Because the idea of building people’s credit, helping them start businesses and taking care of their finances so that they can give back to the community is something he believes will make a lasting impact.

When we talked to Robby last year, we were knee deep in a website redesign. Now, with an active blog (and editorial calendar to match), we just had to ask him for some feedback.

Out of curiosity, we asked, “Wait, can you tell us what you think we are doing well? Or what do you want to hear more about?” Robby didn’t hesitate.

He said he loved hearing about how members are using Lending Circles and checking out our website for statistics on our program impact. We invite you, our readers, to check out his favorites today.

Thank you Robby for the talk and for choosing to invest in MAF and in the future of hardworking families in San Francisco and beyond.

Join Robby and Give Credit today!

The Credit Catch 22

There’s always a catch. With credit, there’s a Catch 22! It’s too easy for hardworking people to get stuck in this Credit Catch 22. For example, if you want to build a great credit history, you have to have lines of credit. But in order to be approved for lines of credit, you have to show a history of repaying credit. Thus the credit catch 22!

Without a long credit, residential or banking history, you’re more likely to get stuck in this Credit Catch 22.

This is a real problem our clients run into when they want to get an apartment or a credit card but have no file or a very thin one. When a lender does an inquiry to find out if a person qualifies for a loan, that actually lowers the chance of being approved.Without a long credit, residential or banking history, you’re more likely to get stuck in this Credit Catch 22.

We want to help everyone get over feeling stuck, strapped or invisible.That’s why MAF offers products that give clients a responsible line of credit with our social loans and the financial education to finally escape and live a secure, empowered life. The infographic below lays out how the credit catch 22 works and some evidence of the phenomenon from our own members’ experiences.