跳到主要内容

标签: 会员故事

加州的梦想。DACA和美国梦的形成


MAF 成员朱红谈论连字符先生和美国梦。

鞠宏是一个没有多少局限的人。他是哈佛大学的研究助理,国家未DACAmented研究项目(NURP),兰尼学院校园男性中心的协调员,旧金山州立大学的研究生和新加冕的Hyphen先生.

Ju是美国梦的理想,Ju是无证的。他年轻时从韩国来到美国,他的母亲希望她的孩子过上更好的生活。

“我妈妈在餐馆打两份工,每天 12 小时,每周 7 天,自从她来到这个国家后就从未休过假。她很坚强,”朱说。

作为一名无证学生,Ju 无法找到工作,无法获得经济援助,也无法获得驾驶执照。朱以他母亲为榜样,决定尽他所能努力工作,让她感到骄傲。就在那时,Ju 听说了由 连字符杂志.通过这次比赛,他看到了一个机会,让人们了解无证移民的生活。

创建可见性

“连字符杂志是突出关键移民问题的绝佳途径. 七分之一的韩国移民是无证移民。亚裔现在是这个国家最大的新移民群体。 AAPI 社区不能忽视这个问题。事实上,AAPI社区应该参与对话并共同努力推动公平和人道的全面移民改革。”

在美国的 1100 万无证人口中,有 130 万是亚洲人,其中许多是在美国度过了大半生的年轻人。但是申请就需要$680 儿童入境延缓行动,对于像Hong's这样勤劳的家庭来说,这是一个巨大的障碍。

支持圈

当 Ju 第一次来到 Mission Asset Fund 时,他正在寻找一种方法来建立他的信誉,因为他的 DACA申请 获得批准,并获得成功所需的金融教育。在 Lending Circle 计划期间,Ju 获得了他需要的财务技能、金钱和信贷。

“我决定与其他五名无证学生一起申请 Lending Circles 计划。 Lending Circle 让我有机会更好地了解一般的信贷、贷款计划和金融。”

Ju 收到了 DACA、他的工作授权和驾驶执照。现在,朱已经开始为未来做打算了。他不再感到无证的耻辱和压力,他想确保没有人也必须有这种感觉。在旧金山州立大学完成研究生学习后,他计划致力于通过公共服务使移民社区更健康、更幸福。

这是一个梦想,源于他对母亲的钦佩。 “我的母亲是我最好的朋友、我的导师和我的榜样。总有一天,我想像我妈妈一样,成为一个敢于冒险、勤奋、永不放弃的梦想。”

微贷聚焦。Yeral Caldas,"喂养心脏"。

耶拉尔出生于秘鲁沿海城市钦博特。他有两个兄弟和两个姐妹。他的母亲有自己的事业,他的父亲在外地工作。父母离婚后,他会在假期里来回穿梭,帮他们打工。他会和母亲一起去杂货店做生意,然后去找后来在餐馆工作的父亲。 Yeral 喜欢食物,喜欢在厨房工作,准备和烹饪经典的秘鲁美食。

正是在那里,他开始梦想成为一名厨师。

耶拉尔作为一名成功的餐馆老板有着坚实的背景,但为了更多的机会来到美国也带来了更多的挑战。他面临的两个主要问题是语言障碍和没有社会安全号码。

当耶拉尔寻找银行为他的企业提供贷款时,他总是因为没有社会安全号码而被阻止。

“虽然困难重重,但我有耐心,有信心。我确信这笔钱会来,因为我对自己想做的事情有自己的想法,”耶拉尔说。

2011 年,Yeral 通过我们的员工 Joel 和 Doris 被介绍给 MAF。他感谢他们与他联系,特别是因为他们都可以和他说西班牙语,并解释了 MAF 可以如何提供帮助。

耶拉尔很乐意分享他的问题和他未来开设自己的餐厅的计划。 他继续加入两个 Lending Circles 以建立他的信用 并申请了小额贷款,为他的业务投资设备和产品。

Yeral 说,自从来到 MAF,他的生活发生了巨大的变化。他在情绪和经济上感觉更加稳定,并相信他可以成为一名成功的企业家。

他的餐厅  Cholo Soy 两年前开业 他说它一直在“增长和增长”。 Cholo Soy 提供不断变化的秘鲁菜肴菜单,如酸橘汁腌鱼和 Cabrito Norteno de Cordero(羊腿)。他非常关心创造各种菜肴,并向他的客户展示秘鲁所有地区的烹饪产品。

Cholo Soy 的名声越来越大。它位于 Mission District 的 Plaza Adelante 大楼的一楼,目前仅供应午餐。一旦他有能力做更多的事情,Yeral 希望从早餐到晚餐全天营业,雇佣更多员工并搬到更大的地方。

“我的梦想是像一家公司一样在全国拥有许多餐厅,我从中心位置管理它们,”Yeral 说。

他最自豪的时刻是 发表的文章给了 Cholo Soy 好评如潮 当高级城市官员来到餐厅并告诉他他提供了他们品尝过的最好的酸橘汁腌鱼时。

“当他们说他们想吃我的食物时,这让我为我的名字和我的工作感到自豪,”他说。不难看出耶拉尔眼中的热情和决心,他站在Cholo Soy 的小柜台后面,愉快地将食物分发给坐在他面前长凳上的顾客。尽管成为移民面临挑战,但他仍然保持乐观,甚至为其他有抱负的企业家提供建议。

“不要停止相信你的梦想。我相信自己,我的食物很棒。会有批评,但不要考虑他们。要相信你自己。”

梦想不再推迟

几周前,埃德加做了一件他在过去两年里一直梦想的事情。在旧金山教会区的一个阳光明媚的日子里,埃德加走进社会保障管理局,开始填写申请表。你可能还记得 Edgar 和他的搭档 Gustavo 从他们第一次在 湾区记者. Mission Asset Fund与湾区记者密切 跟随埃德加和古斯塔沃的两年旅程.

埃德加和古斯塔沃一生中的大部分时间都在追逐美国梦。一个梦想,直到最近,他们还认为永远不可能实现。孩提时代,他们随父母移民美国,寻求机会和更好的生活。当他们到达时,他们加入了 1100 万其他无证移民 生活在美国试图过得去。

Edgar 和 Gustavo 在 Mission Asset Fund 办公室(照片:Rick Gerharter)

追逐美国梦

两年前,埃德加从没想过自己有一天会实现他的美国梦。古斯塔沃和埃德加的生活因他们的无证身份而受到严重限制。埃德加儿时当老师的梦想在高中毕业后被无限期搁置。他已被加州大学伯克利分校录取,但无法注册,因为无证学生无法获得传统贷款或联邦财政学生援助。

进入职场后,埃德加是一名模范员工,赢得了同事的尊重,并因其强烈的职业道德得到了上司的认可。当他得到升职时,这一切都瓦解了。埃德加无法提供公司要求的文件,他被迫离开

古斯塔沃也无法上大学,只能在高中打扫人们的房子后才能找到工作,工作时间长,工资微薄。

作为一名无证移民,埃德加面临的另一个挑战是与他的两个年幼的孩子分开。没有证件,古斯塔沃和埃德加都无法乘坐飞机将他们带回旧金山。古斯塔沃只能定期通过电话与他的孩子交谈。古斯塔沃和埃德加等待着与孩子们团聚的那一天,让他们的家庭变得完整。

新机遇

2012 年初,当奥巴马政府宣布一项新计划时,埃德加和古斯塔沃的生活将永远改变,该计划将为居住在美国的一些未满 16 岁但未满16 岁的无证青年提供保护和工作许可31.

ǞǞǞ 儿童入境暂缓遣返 (DACA),是他们一直在等待的机会。像生活在美国的许多其他无证人士一样,埃德加和古斯塔沃生活在没有银行账户的情况下,经济困难不断。他们靠薪水过日子,四百六十五美元的申请费似乎遥不可及。埃德加和古斯塔沃决心找到一种方法来支付费用。

加入一个圈子

通过朋友和 SF LGBT 中心, Edgar 和 Gustavo 了解了 Mission Asset Fund 梦想家的借贷圈 程序。 Lending Circles for Dreamers 计划提供零利率贷款,让 Edgar 和 Gustavo 以及许多其他类似的人获得支付申请费所需的 465 美元。在为期十个月的计划中,参与者参加在线金融培训课程并在偿还贷款时建立信用。当参与者准备好申请 DACA 时,Mission Asset Fund 会给他们一张支票给美国国土安全部。

埃德加和古斯塔沃前往社会保障办公室的两年旅程充满了大量的文书工作和数英里的繁文缛节。现已解决的文书工作问题迫使古斯塔沃的申请被搁置数周,而提交错误迫使埃德加重新开始他的申请。通过这一切,古斯塔沃和埃德加一直互相支持。现在他们有文件、社区和信用记录。

凭借他们进入金融主流的新能力,他们离实现目标又近了一步。梦想家贷款圈计划和 DACA 为埃德加和古斯塔沃开辟了可能性。埃德加现在可以回到学校,与家人团聚,并找到稳定的工作。随着他的社会保障申请上的墨水变干,埃德加的梦想终于成为现实。

这就是社会借贷5年的模样

五年前,我们永远无法想象发布此出版物。当 MAF 首次启动其社会贷款计划 Lending Circles 时,我们不知道它会走向何方。我们只是在尝试一个新的想法。但后来这个想法长出了自己的腿。它不断发展壮大——从旧金山的一个街区一直到美国的五个州。

我们很高兴发布这本在线杂志,带您浏览五年。

您可以第一次阅读我们创始人的故事。 Jose Quinonez我们的首席执行官,在这本小册子中讲述了一个关于一个小男孩从跳蚤市场工作开始的机会和成长之旅的精彩故事。

您还会发现社会借贷改变了生活的鼓舞人心的故事。阅读我们的成员之一克里斯蒂娜·鲁伊斯 (Christina Ruiz),她在旧金山经营着一辆名为 顶级精品店 (当你在旧金山的克罗克画廊附近时,一定要去看她)。伊萨·霍普金斯 (Isa Hopkins) 在 Grist 杂志的文章中写道点对点借贷消除了华尔街中间商“。对于克里斯蒂娜来说,她的第一份酒保职业意味着她的财务状况“只收现金”。

但是,当只收现金的调酒师想要推出一辆时尚卡车并需要银行的商业贷款时会发生什么?

您还可以阅读 Aquilina Soriano-Versoza,她充满活力的执行董事 菲律宾工人中心 在洛杉矶。她每天都帮助低收入的留宿家政工人想办法从他们的薪水中省钱,这样他们就可以在工作意外结束时安然无恙。员工 PWC 是一个紧密结合的社区,可以完成严肃的工作。他们是我们唯一运行我们所有社会贷款计划的合作伙伴:Lending Circles、Lending Circles for Dreamers、Lending Circles for Citizenship and Security Deposit Loans。他们的成员亲切地称“Lending Circles”的菲律宾名字为“Paluwagan”。   

但众所周知,伟大的故事并不是一切。结果也很重要。

这就是为什么您还会找到出色的信息图表,显示有多少人通过减少高成本债务而储蓄。您会看到平均信用评分增加,并看到我们一直处于什么样的增长轨迹。

你认为我们接下来会去哪里?

巴勃罗。有抱负的电影人

参加 Lending Circles 和金融教育后,Pablo 找到了如何驾驭美国金融体系的方法

11 年前,巴勃罗从哥伦比亚搬到旧金山时,他发现仅仅因为他没有债务,并不意味着他可以轻松建立新生活。但没有信用记录,他就没有分数。在加入 Lending Circle 并在 MAF 参加金融教育课程后,他了解了如何在美国金融体系中导航,为了提高分数,他需要承担负担得起的债务并按时还清。他用他的贷款支付大学费用并投资于他未来的职业生涯。作为一名政治学和新闻学专业的学生,Pablo 正在制作他的第一部关于 2014 年巴西世界杯预选赛的故事片。

“Mission Asset Fund 为我提供了非常好的管理资金的工具。”

“Mission Asset Fund 为我提供了非常好的管理资金的工具。由于我从 Mission Asset Fund 学到的东西,我已经有两年不用在餐厅工作了。我一直在上学,并一直致力于完成我的学位。”

作为一名真正热情的参与者,Pablo 总是招募他的朋友加入 Lending Circles 并利用这个机会了解更多信息。他还加入了 MAF 的公民身份 Lending Circles,以资助另一个梦想:成为公民。

海伦:一个有梦想的妈妈

海伦带着梦想来到Mission Asset Fund——租房子

海伦是一位带着梦想来到 Mission Asset Fund 的单身妈妈—— 租她自己的公寓.来自危地马拉的移民,海伦是一个没有银行账户的母亲,有两个小孩。因为付不起押金,也没有信用评分,海伦被迫在一年的时间里租了三套不同的公寓。有些公寓人满为患,走廊变成了卧室。这些公寓充斥着过多的水分和霉菌,让海伦的女儿一直咳嗽。

因为付不起押金,也没有信用评分,海伦被迫在一年的时间里租了三套不同的公寓。

在当地非营利组织做兼职的同时,海伦继续为她的孩子寻找稳定的公寓。 2011 年 5 月,她加入了 Lending Circle 以建立信用并存入存款。海伦的妈妈意外病倒,海伦决定把钱寄回家,帮她做眼科手术。一年后,经过财务管理培训和$4,100零息信用建设贷款,海伦出现了新的信用评分673。现在, 她有自己的公寓供家人使用 甚至更大的梦想。

Veronica:一个有远见的餐厅老板

Veronica 在参加 Lending Circle 后实现了她拥有一家餐厅的梦想。

作为一名来自墨西哥的移民,Veronica 来到 Mission Asset Fund,梦想拥有一家餐厅来供应她在墨西哥城的最爱:gorditas、huitlacoche、huaraches 和 pozole。凭借独创性和当地食品企业家孵化器计划的帮助,Veronica 的业务从小型餐饮发展为旅行食品卡车。她甚至赢得了开发商的新店面空间竞赛。但是,如果没有信用评分,维罗妮卡就无法获得为新餐厅提供所需的商业贷款。

但是,如果没有信用评分,维罗妮卡就无法获得为新餐厅提供所需的商业贷款。

加入 Lending Circles 计划后,Veronica 能够偿还债务并投资于她的业务。经过两年的金融课程和零息信用建设贷款,她的信用评分提高到 615。这使她有资格从批发供应商处获得新的信贷额度,以进一步投资于她的业务。现在,维罗妮卡在她位于马林县的新餐厅有 20 名员工与她一起工作, El Huarache Loco.请到维罗妮卡的新餐厅品尝她的美味佳肴!

Skip to main content

Tag: Member stories

California DREAMing: DACA and the making of an American dream


MAF member, Ju Hong, talks about Mr. Hyphen and the American Dream.

Ju Hong is a man of few limitations. He is a research assistant with Harvard University, on the National UnDACAmented Research Project (NURP), a coordinator at the Men’s Center on the Laney College Campus, a graduate student at San Francisco State University and newly crowned Mr. Hyphen.

Ju is the ideal of the American Dream, Ju is undocumented. He came to the United States from South Korea when he was younger with his mother who wanted a better life for her children.

“My mother works two jobs at restaurant, twelve hours a day, seven days a week, and never had a vacation ever since she arrived to this country. She is tough,” says Ju.

As an undocumented student, Ju was unable to get a job, access financial aid, and get a driver’s license. Ju took his mother’s example and decided he was going to work as hard as he could to make her proud. That’s when Ju heard about a contest hosted by Hyphen Magazine. With this contest, he saw a chance to bring visibility to the lives of undocumented immigrant populations.

Creating Visibility

“Hyphen magazine was a great avenue to highlight a critical immigration issue. One out of seven Korean immigrants are undocumented. Asians are now the largest group of new immigrants in this country. The AAPI community cannot ignore this issue. In fact, the AAPI community should engage in the conversation and join in efforts to push for a fair and humane comprehensive immigration reform.”

Of the 11 million undocumented people in the United States, 1.3 million are Asian, many of whom are youth who have lived most of their lives in the United States. But it costs $680 just to apply for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals, a substantial barrier standing in the way of for hardworking families like Hong’s.

A Circle of Support

When Ju first came to Mission Asset Fund he was looking for a way to build his credit now that his DACA application was approved, and access the financial education he needed to succeed. During the Lending Circle program Ju gained the financial skills, money, and credit he needed.

“I decided to apply for the Lending Circles program with five other undocumented students. The Lending Circle has given me an opportunity to better understand credit, loan programs, and finance in general.”

Ju received DACA, his work authorization and driver’s license. Now, Ju has started making plans for the future. He no longer feels the stigma and pressure of being undocumented, and he wants to make sure that no one has to feel that way either. After he finishes his graduate studies at San Francisco State, he plans on working to make immigrant communities healthier and happier through public service.

This is a dream that is driven by his admiration for his mother. “My mother is my best friend, my mentor, and my role model. One day, I want to be like my mother, becoming more of a risk taker, hard-worker, and never giving up on a dream.”

MicroLoan Spotlight: Yeral Caldas, Feeding the heart

Yeral was born in Chimbote, a coastal city in Peru. He has two brothers and two sisters. His mother had her own business and his dad worked in the field. After his parents divorced, he would go back and forth between them helping them work during his vacation. He would travel with his mother for her grocery business and then go to his dad who later worked in a restaurant. Yeral loved food and enjoyed working in the kitchen, preparing and cooking classic Peruvian meals.

It was there he began to dream of becoming a chef.

Yeral had a solid background to succeed as a restaurateur but coming to the United States for more opportunities brought on additional challenges. The two major ones he faced were the language barrier and not having a Social Security Number.

When Yeral would look for banks to give him a loan for his business, he was always blocked by not having a Social Security Number.

“Even though there was lot of difficulties, I was patient and had faith. I was convinced that the money would come because I had my idea of what I wanted to do,” Yeral said.

In 2011, Yeral was introduced to MAF through our staff members Joel and Doris. He credits them for reaching out to him, particularly because they both could speak Spanish with him and explained how MAF could help.

Yeral felt comfortable sharing his problems and his future plans to open his own restaurant. He went on to join two Lending Circles to build up his credit and applied for a microloan to invest in equipment and products for his business.

Yeral said his life has changed dramatically since coming to MAF. He feels more stable emotionally and economically and believes he can succeed as an entrepreneur.

His restaurant  Cholo Soy opened two years ago and he said it’s been “growing and growing.” Cholo Soy features a changing menu of Peruvian dishes like ceviche and Cabrito Norteno de Cordero (lamb shank). He cares deeply about creating a variety of dishes and highlighting the culinary offerings of all the regions in Peru to his customers.

Cholo Soy is growing in reputation. It’s on the first floor of Plaza Adelante building in the Mission District and currently only serves lunch. Once he has the capacity to do more, Yeral would like to be open all day from breakfast to dinner, hire more employees and move to a bigger location.

“My dream is to have many restaurants all over the country like a corporation and I manage them from the central location,” Yeral said.

His proudest moments have been when an article came out that gave Cholo Soy rave reviews and when senior city officials came to the restaurant and told him he served the best ceviche they’d ever tasted.

“When they say they want to eat my food, it makes me proud of my name and of my work,” he said. It’s not hard to see the passion and determination in Yeral’s eyes as he stands behind the small counter of Cholo Soy and happily passes out his food to the customers sitting on the bench in front of him. Despite the challenges of being an immigrant, he remains optimistic and even offered advice to other aspiring entrepreneurs.

“Don’t stop believing in your dreams. I believe in myself and that my food is great. There will be critics but don’t think about them. Just believe in yourself.”

A dream no longer deferred

Edgar did something a few weeks ago that he had been dreaming of for the past two years. On a sunny day in San Francisco’s Mission District, Edgar walked into the Social Security Administration Office and began to fill out an application. You may remember Edgar and his partner Gustavo from when they were first profiled in the Bay Area Reporter. Mission Asset Fund and The Bay Area Reporter have been closely following Edgar and Gustavo’s two year journey.

Edgar and Gustavo had been chasing the American dream for most of their lives. A dream, that until recently, they thought could never come true. As children, they immigrated with their parents to the United States seeking opportunities and a better life. When they arrived they joined 11 million other undocumented immigrants living in the United States trying to get by.

Edgar and Gustavo at the Mission Asset Fund Office (Photo: Rick Gerharter)

Chasing the American Dream

Two years ago, Edgar never thought he would one day be on track to realize his American Dream. Gustavo and Edgar’s lives had been severely limited by their undocumented status.  Edgar’s childhood dream of being a teacher had been put on indefinite hold after high school. He had been accepted to U.C. Berkeley, but was unable to enroll because undocumented students cannot access conventional loans or federal financial student aid.

Once joining the working world, Edgar was an exemplary employee, earning the respect of his coworkers and was recognized by his supervisors for his strong work ethic. All of this fell apart when he was offered a promotion. Edgar was unable to produce the documentation that the company requested and he was forced to leave

Gustavo was also unable to attend college and could only secure work after high school cleaning people’s houses, laboring for long hours and little pay.

Another challenge Edgar faced as an undocumented immigrant was being separated from his two young children. Without documentation, neither Gustavo nor Edgar can get on a plane to bring them home to San Francisco. Gustavo has only been able to talk with his children periodically on the phone. Gustavo and Edgar wait for the day that they would be reunited with the children to make their family whole.

A New Opportunity

In early 2012, Edgar and Gustavo’s lives would change forever when the Obama Administration announced a new program that would offer protection from deportation and permission to work for some undocumented youth living in the United States who had arrived before they turned 16 who had not yet turned 31.

The Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), was the opportunity they had been waiting for. Like many of the other undocumented people living in the United States Edgar and Gustavo were living unbanked and under constant financial hardship. They lived from paycheck to paycheck, and the four hundred and sixty five dollar application fee was seemingly out of reach. Edgar and Gustavo were determined to find a way to cover the costs.

Joining a Circle

Through friends and the SF LGBT Center, Edgar and Gustavo learned about the Mission Asset Fund’s Lending Circle for Dreamers program. Lending Circles for Dreamers program provides zero-interest loans that allowed Edgar and Gustavo, and many other like them, access the four hundred and sixty five dollars they needed to cover the application fees. Over the course of the ten month program, participants take online financial training classes and build credit as they repay the loan. When participants are ready to apply for DACA, Mission Asset Fund gives them a check made out to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

The two year journey to the Social Security Office for Edgar and Gustavo was filled with mountains of paperwork and miles of red tape. A now resolved paperwork issue forced Gustavo’s application to be put on hold for weeks, while a filing error forced Edgar to restart his application. Through it all, Gustavo and Edgar have always had each other for support. Now they have documentation, community, and credit history.

With their new ability to access the financial mainstream, they are one step closer to achieving their goals. The Lending Circle for Dreamers program and DACA have opened up the possibilities for Edgar and Gustavo. Edgar will now be able to go back to school, unite his family, and find stable work. As the ink dries on his Social Security application, Edgar’s dream is finally becoming reality.

This is what 5 years of social lending looks like

Five years ago, we never could have imagined releasing this publication. When MAF first started it’s social lending program, Lending Circles, we had no idea where it would go. We were just trying out a new idea. But then that idea grew its own legs. It growing and expanding – all the way from one neighborhood in San Francisco to five U.S. states.

We’re excited to release this online magazine taking you through a tour of five years.

You can read for the first time our founder’s story. Jose Quinonez, our CEO, has an amazing story in this booklet about a young boy’s journey of opportunity and growth starting with a job at a flea market.

You’ll also find inspiring stories of lives that were changed by social lending. Read about one of our members, Christina Ruiz, who runs the amazing fashion truck in San Francisco called TopShelf Boutique (and be sure to visit her when you’re near San Francisco’s Crocker Galleria). Isa Hopkins wrote about her in the Grist Magazine article “Peer to Peer Lending Cuts out the Wall Street Middlemen“. For Christina, her first career as a bartender meant her finances were “cash-only”.

But what happens when a cash-only bartender wants to launch a fashion truck and needs a business loan from a bank?

You can also read about Aquilina Soriano-Versoza, the dynamic Executive Director of the Pilipino Worker’s Center in Los Angeles. Everyday she helps low-income live-in domestic workers find ways to save money from their paychecks so they’ll be OK if a job ends unexpectedly. The staff PWC is a tight-knit community who gets serious stuff done. They are our only partner who runs all of our social loan programs: Lending Circles, Lending Circles for Dreamers, Lending Circles for Citizenship and Security Deposit Loans. Their members affectionately call “Lending Circles” by its Filipino name, “Paluwagan”.   

But as everyone knows, great stories aren’t everything. Results matter, too.

That’s why you’ll also find great infographics showing how many millions people are saving by reducing high-cost debt. You’ll see average credit score increases and see what kind of a growth trajectory we’ve been on.

Where do you think we will go next?

Pablo: Aspiring Filmmaker

After participating in Lending Circles and Financial Education, Pablo figured out how to navigate the US financial system

When Pablo moved to San Francisco 11 years ago from Columbia, he discovered that just because he had no debt, it didn’t mean he would have it easy in building a new life. But without a credit history, he had no score. After joining a Lending Circle and taking financial education classes at MAF, he learned about navigating the U.S. financial system and that to improve his score, he needed to take on affordable debt and pay it off on time. He used his loan towards paying for college and investing in his future career. A Political Science and Journalism student, Pablo is working on his first feature film on the 2014 World Cup qualification process in Brazil.

“Mission Asset Fund gave me really good tools to manage my money.”

“Mission Asset Fund gave me really good tools to manage my money. I’ve had two years without having to work in a restaurant thanks to the things I’ve learned from Mission Asset Fund. I’ve been in school and have been dedicating my time to finish my degree.”

A truly enthusiastic participant, Pablo is always recruiting his friends to join Lending Circles and take advantage of the opportunity to learn more. He has also joined a Lending Circles for Citizenship with MAF to finance another dream: becoming a citizen.

Helen: A Mom with a Dream

Helen came to Mission Asset Fund with a dream– to rent her own apartment

Helen is a single mom who came to Mission Asset Fund with a dream– to rent her own apartment. An immigrant from Guatemala, Helen was an unbanked mother of two small children. Because she couldn’t afford the security deposit and didn’t have a credit score, Helen was forced to rent rooms in three different apartments over the course of a year. Some apartments were so full that hallways were turned into bedrooms. Riddled with excessive moisture and mold, these apartments left Helen’s daughter with a persistent cough.

Because she couldn’t afford the security deposit and didn’t have a credit score, Helen was forced to rent rooms in three different apartments over the course of a year.

While working part-time at local nonprofits, Helen continued her search for a stable apartment for her children. In May 2011, she joined a Lending Circle to build her credit and save for a deposit. Helen’s mom unexpectedly fell ill, so Helen decided to send the money home to help her get the eye surgery she needed. A year later, with financial management training and $4,100 in zero-interest credit-building loans, a Helen emerged with a new credit score of 673. Now, she has her own apartment for her family and even bigger dreams.

Veronica: A Visionary Restaurateur

Veronica reached her dream of owning a restaurant after participating in a Lending Circle.

An immigrant from Mexico, Veronica came to Mission Asset Fund with a dream of owning a restaurant to serve her Mexico City favorites: gorditas, huitlacoche, huaraches, and pozole. With ingenuity and help from a local food entrepreneur incubator program, Veronica’s business grew from small time catering to a traveling food truck. She even won a developer’s contest for a new storefront space. But without a credit score, Veronica could not qualify for the business loans she needed to supply her new restaurant.

But without a credit score, Veronica could not qualify for the business loans she needed to supply her new restaurant.

After joining the Lending Circles program, Veronica was able to pay down her debt and invest in her business. After two years of financial classes and zero-interest credit-building loans, she raised her credit score to 615. This enabled her to qualify for new lines of credit from wholesale suppliers to further invest in her business. Now, Veronica has 20 employees working with her at her new restaurant in Marin County, El Huarache Loco. Please check out Veronica’s new restaurant to enjoy her delicious food!