跳到主要内容

标签: SB896

SB 896:特别政策简报


与 MAF 的首席执行官 Jose Quinonez 一起讨论加州 SB 896 的历史性通过

Mission Asset Fund 热烈邀请您到我们的 SB 896 政策简报网络研讨会于太平洋标准时间 9 月 29 日星期一上午 10:00 举行. MAF 的首席执行官 Jose Quinonez 将领导关于加州 SB 896 从最初构想到最终于 2014 年 8 月 15 日成为法律的历史性通过的讨论。

州长杰里·布朗于 2011 年 6 月 30 日星期四在州议会大厦签署由众议院议长约翰·A·佩雷斯(左)和参议院议长达雷尔·斯坦伯格(右)、萨克拉门托(右)包围的州预算在加利福尼亚州萨克拉门托..

该活动面向所有非营利组织工作人员、政策倡导者以及对推进金融倡导和资产建设领域感兴趣的任何人开放。有了这项法律,信用建设将成为基于资产的政策的下一个前沿领域。

这对我们来说是一个重要的时刻,但对资产建设领域来说更是一个更重要的时刻。

8 月 15 日,州长 Jerry Brown 将 SB 896 签署成为法律,使加利福尼亚成为第一个监管和承认 信用建设是一种有益的工具.我们将讨论 MAF 及其支持者如何努力使这部新法律得以制定、支持并签署成为法律。

我们鼓励您查看我们的 SB 896 情况说明书 在网络研讨会之前准备好提出问题!

我们的讨论将涵盖我们在制定法律时面临的障碍,我们从合作伙伴和社区领袖那里获得的重要支持,为这项重要的立法创造动力。最后,我们将深入探讨 SB 896 将如何为更多勤奋的人获得访问权铺平道路 0% 信用建设贷款.

请今天注册,在 9 月 29 日加入我们!现在注册

SB 896通过!加州成为第一个承认建立信用的州


只用了13个月就建立了非营利性信用建设的未来

2013年6月,我们开始为一项立法奠定基础,该立法将改变加利福尼亚州对信用建设的思考方式。就在上周,州长杰里-布朗签署了我们的法案。 SB 896该法案已成为法律。这对Mission Asset Fund来说是一个重要的时刻,但对资产建设领域来说更是一个重要的时刻。全州的非营利组织和倡导者与三藩市财务主管何塞-西斯内罗斯(Jose Cisneros)和加州主计长约翰-蒋(John Chiang)一起参加了会议。 对该法案的支持 早就开始了。该法案在整个立法过程中得到了两党的一致支持,得到了零票的反对。

SB 896法案的通过使加州成为第一个将信用建设作为一种善的工具来管理和认可的州。有了这项法律,信用建设成为基于资产的政策的下一个前沿阵地。

我们的国家在帮助低收入家庭建立资产的立法政策方面有着悠久的历史--从房屋所有权和投资税收优惠到个人退休账户(IRA)和个人发展账户(IDA)。但直到现在,在有关扶贫的讨论中,信用建设在很大程度上被忽略了。

90年代教会我们在低收入家庭中积累储蓄的必要性是很重要的;现在人们普遍认为,流动储蓄是衡量一个勤劳家庭财务复原力的许多指标之一。但是,当我们开始Mission Asset Fund时,我们很快就明白,从长远来看,要建立财务能力,需要的不仅仅是储蓄。在2007-2009年的经济衰退期间,当抵押贷款被压在水底,个人债务被压在水底的时候。 最低收入的美国人飙升,我们国家对信用和债务有了更多的了解。现在有6400万美国人没有信用分数。这意味着他们没有公平的机会获得低价银行账户或优惠贷款等东西。事实上,他们中的许多人甚至没有资格申请综合发展协会、可负担得起的公寓,有时甚至没有工作。他们的选择仅限于边缘和掠夺性的金融服务,使他们陷入高成本债务的循环中。

这就是为什么我们的愿景是创建一个新的法律,首次建立和规范创新的信用建设方法,以便加州的非营利组织能够联合起来,为更好地改变金融市场。SB 896的主要内容包括

  • 加利福尼亚州宣布,非营利组织在帮助个人获得负担得起的信用建设贷款方面可以发挥重要作用。
  • 加州金融贷款人法(CFLL)中对501c3非营利组织的许可豁免,以促进高达$2,500的零利率贷款。
  • 非营利组织将能够申请豁免提供零利率贷款,只要他们符合其他标准,如提供信用教育,向国家信用机构报告,应要求向商业监督部公开账目,并每年向商业监督部报告贷款数据。
  • 承认非营利组织之间的伙伴关系是在整个州内扩大范围和影响的有效战略途径

SB896为像MAF这样的项目提供了监管保证。 Lending Circles这是一个社会贷款计划,已经向全国的客户提供了超过$3百万的零利率贷款。我们非常感谢布朗州长认识到非营利部门在帮助数百万得不到服务的加州人实现其真正的经济潜力方面的巨大潜力。SB896的颁布意味着更多的非营利组织将与低收入的加州人合作,为他们提供负责任的贷款,这些贷款将使他们获得成功,并使他们走上财务安全的道路。

加利福尼亚州现在是第一个承认信用建设贷款是为银行服务不足者创造机会的重要社区解决方案的州。

SB896。离历史只差一个签名


经过几个月在加州参议院的运作,SB 896号法案已正式提交给州长作最后批准。

Mission Asset Fund很高兴地宣布,截至今天上午,经过一年多的加州立法程序,我们只差一笔钱就能实现。 SB896 成为法律。

MAF收到通知,SB896已经通过了审议程序,现在正在前往布朗州长的办公桌上接受最后的批准。

我们要感谢参与这个漫长而复杂的过程的每一个人。通过你们的支持,我们离为勤劳的家庭创造一个新的、更好的借贷空间只有一个签名,支持全州小额贷款机构之间的可持续扩展和合作。

现在,我们需要确保SB896得到签署!我们昨天下午给布朗州长发了一封信,要求他最终确定这项立法。阅读下面的信。


2014年8月4日
尊敬的Edmund G. Brown, Jr.
加利福尼亚州州长  

RE:SB896 (Correa)

亲爱的布朗州长。

我们代表Mission Asset Fund,恭请您将SB896签署为法律,以消除对金融主流的不必要的障碍。

SB896法案得到了全州公共领导人、非营利组织和政策倡导者的压倒性支持,因为它有可能为文化相关的金融产品和服务创造新的机会,帮助低收入的加州人实现他们真正的经济潜力。

近100万加州家庭处于金融阴影之中,无法获得最基本的主流金融产品,如支票或储蓄账户。根据CFED的数据,57%的加州消费者拥有次级信用评分,使贷款更加昂贵,低收入家庭无法获得。事实上,数以百万计的加州人被迫在金融边缘生存,挣扎着获得负责任的金融工具来建立他们的财务安全。

SB896法案将建立一个重要的先例,承认小额贷款和信用建设领域的工作并使之合法化。该法案将在《加州金融贷款人法》(CFLL)中为像MAF这样的非营利组织建立许可豁免,以促进零利率贷款并提供金融教育。

在过去的6年里,MAF通过经过测试和验证的Lending Circles计划,促成了超过$的社会贷款,使数以千计的客户提高了他们的信用分数,并获得了低成本的贷款。MAF直接为旧金山湾区的客户提供服务,并通过与全州其他非营利组织的合作间接提供服务。

SB896法案的颁布将鼓励更多的非营利组织帮助财务上得不到服务的加州人。该法案将认可非营利组织在网络和合作方面的努力,以降低在自己社区提供贷款服务的成本负担。

SB896获得了以下公众领袖、组织和倡导者的广泛支持。

亚洲法律联盟
加利福尼亚州主计长,约翰-蒋先生
加州微型企业机会协会
加利福尼亚人促进共享繁荣联盟
卡莱西科社区行动委员会
资产建设机会中心
拉美文化中心(Centro Latino for Literacy
CFED
EARN
家庭独立倡议
La Raza全国委员会
旧金山市和县的财务主管和税务员办公室
机会基金
南加州菲律宾工人中心
财务部
萨拉米公司
旧金山市参事大卫-坎波斯
绿岭研究所
华兹/世纪拉丁组织

我们感谢你在这个关键问题上的领导。SB 896法案在帮助数百万生活在金融阴影下的加州人成为可见的成功消费者方面迈出了有力的一步。

真诚的。
Jose Quinonez, CEO

Skip to main content

Tag: SB896

SB 896: A Special Policy Briefing


Join MAF’s CEO, Jose Quinonez, in a discussion on the historic passing of California’s SB 896

Mission Asset Fund warmly invites you to our SB 896 Policy Briefing webinar on Monday, September 29 at 10:00 AM PST. MAF’s CEO, Jose Quinonez, will lead the discussion on the historic passing of California’s SB 896 from its initial conception to finally becoming law on August 15th, 2014.

Gov. Jerry Brown, signs the state budget surrounded by Assembly Speaker John A. Peréz, D-Los Angeles, left, and Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg, D-Sacramento, right, on Thursday, June 30, 2011 at the state Capitol in Sacramento, Calif..

This event is open for all nonprofit staff, policy advocates, and anyone interested in advancing the financial advocacy and asset-building fields. With this law, credit-building becomes the next frontier for asset-based policy.

This is a momentous occasion for us, but an even bigger moment for the asset-building field.

On August 15th, Governor Jerry Brown signed SB 896 into law, making California the first state to regulate and recognize credit-building as a vehicle for good. We will be talking about how MAF and it’s supporters worked to get this new law written, supported, and signed into law.

We encourage you to check out our SB 896 fact sheet prior to the webinar and be ready with questions!

Our discussion will cover the barriers we faced in creating the law, the vital support we received from our partners and community leaders to create momentum for this significant legislation. Finally, we will dive into how SB 896 will pave the way for more hardworking people to access 0% credit-building loans.

Please sign up today to join us on September 29th! REGISTER NOW

SB 896 passes! CA becomes first state to recognize credit-building


It took just 13 months to build the future of nonprofit credit building

In June of 2013, we started laying the groundwork for a piece of legislation that would change the way the state of California thinks about credit-building. Just last week, Governor Jerry Brown signed our bill, SB 896, into law. This is momentous for Mission Asset Fund, but an even bigger moment for the asset-building field. Nonprofit organizations and advocates throughout the state joined SF Treasurer Jose Cisneros and CA Controller John Chiang in support of the bill early on. The bill received unanimous bipartisan support throughout the legislative process, receiving zero votes in opposition.

The passage of SB 896 makes California the first state to regulate and recognize credit-building as a vehicle for good. With this law, credit-building becomes the next frontier for asset-based policy.

Our nation has a long history of legislating policies that help low-income families build assets – from home ownership and investment tax benefits to Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs) and Individual Development Account (IDA). But until now, credit-building has been largely missing from the discourse around poverty alleviation.

What the 90’s taught us about the need to accumulate savings among low-income households was important; liquid savings is now widely understood to be one of many indicators of the financial resilience of a hardworking family. But when we started Mission Asset Fund, we quickly understood that it would take more than savings to build financial capability in the long run. During the 2007-2009 recession, in a time when mortgages went underwater and personal debt for the lowest income Americans soared, our nation learned even more about credit and debt. 64 million Americans don’t have credit scores right now. That means they don’t have equitable access to things like low-cost bank accounts or prime-rate loans. In fact, many of them can’t even qualify for IDAs, affordable apartments or sometimes even jobs. Their choices are limited to fringe and predatory financial services that entrap them in a cycle of high cost debt.

That’s why our vision was to create a new law that – for the first time – would establish and regulate innovative credit-building approaches so that nonprofits in California could band together to change the financial marketplace for the better. Key elements of SB 896 include:

  • The State of California declares that nonprofit organizations have an important role to play in helping individuals obtain access to affordable, credit-building loans
  • A licensing exemption within the California Finance Lenders Law (CFLL) for 501c3 nonprofits facilitating zero-interest loans of up to $2,500
  • Nonprofit organizations will be able to apply for exemption to provide zero-interest loans, as long as they meet other criteria like provide credit education, report to national credit agencies, open books to the Department of Business Oversight upon request, and annually report lending data to the DBO
  • Recognition of partnerships between nonprofits as an effective strategic way to scale reach and impact throughout the state

SB896 provides regulatory assurance to programs like MAF’s Lending Circles, a social loan program which has provided over $3 million in zero-interest loans to clients nationwide. We are extremely grateful that Governor Brown recognized the enormous potential of the nonprofit sector in helping millions of underserved Californians realize their true economic potential. The enactment of SB896 means that more nonprofits will work with low-income Californians by providing them access to responsible loans, loans that will set them up for success and set them on a path to financial security.

California is now the first state to recognize credit-building loans as an important community-based solution to creating access for the underbanked.

SB896: One signature away from history


After months of movement through the California Senate SB 896 has officially been sent to the Governor for final approval.

Mission Asset Fund is thrilled to announce that as of this morning, after more than a year of movement through the California legislative process, we are a single pen stroke away from SB896 becoming law.

MAF was sent notification that SB896 has moved through the engrossment process and is now on it’s way to Governor Brown’s desk to receive final approval!

We want to thank everyone who has been involved in this long, intricate process. Through your support, we are only one signature away from creating a new and better lending space for hardworking families that supports sustainable scaling and collaboration between micro-lenders statewide.

Now we need to make sure that SB896 gets signed! We sent a letter to Governor Brown yesterday afternoon to ask him to finalize this legislation. Read the letter below.


August 4, 2014
The Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr.
Governor, State of California  

RE: SB896 (Correa)

Dear Governor Brown,

On behalf of Mission Asset Fund, we respectfully request that you remove unnecessary barriers to the financial mainstream by signing SB896 into law.

SB896 has overwhelming support from public leaders, nonprofit organizations and policy advocates across the state for its potential to create new opportunities for culturally relevant financial products and services to help low-income Californians realize their true economic potential.

Close to 1 million California families are in the financial shadows without access to the most basic mainstream financial products like checking or savings accounts. According to CFED, 57% of California consumers have subprime credit scores, making loans more costly and inaccessible to low-income families. Indeed, millions of Californians are forced to subsist on the financial fringes, struggling to access responsible financial tools to build their financial security.

SB896 would set a major precedent by recognizing and legitimizing the work in small-dollar lending and credit building fields. The bill will establish a licensing exemption within the California Finance Lenders Law (CFLL) for nonprofit organizations like MAF that facilitating zero-interest loans and provide financial education.

In the past 6 years, MAF has facilitated over $3.0 million in social loans through the tested and proven Lending Circles Program, allowing thousands of clients to improve their credit scores and to have access low-cost loans. MAF serves clients directly in the San Francisco Bay Area and indirectly through partnerships with other nonprofit organizations statewide.

The enactment of SB896 will encourage more nonprofits to help financially underserved Californians. The bill will recognize efforts by nonprofits to network and collaborate together to lower the cost burdens of providing lending services in their own communities.

SB896 has gained widespread support from the following public leaders, organizations, and advocates:

Asian Law Alliance
CA State Controller, John Chiang
California Association for Micro Enterprise Opportunity
Californians for Shared Prosperity Coalition
Calexico Community Action Council, Inc.
Center for Asset Building Opportunities
Centro Latino for Literacy
CFED
EARN
Family Independence Initiative
National Council of La Raza
Office of the Treasurer & Tax Collector City & County of San Francisco
Opportunity Fund
Pilipino Workers Center of Southern California
Progreso Financiero
Salaami Firm
San Francisco City Supervisor, David Campos
The Greenlining Institute
Watts / Century Latino Organization

We are grateful for your leadership on this critical issue. SB 896 is a strong step forward in helping millions of Californians living in the financial shadows become visible and successful consumers.

Sincerely,
Jose Quinonez, CEO