跳到主要内容

标签: 女性

庆祝我们社区的许多妈妈


这个母亲节,我们庆祝所有“MAF 妈妈”通过 Lending Circles 努力为家人创造更美好的生活。

这个星期天是献给我们生活中坚强、睿智、慷慨和有爱心的母亲的日子。本着母亲节的精神,我们正在庆祝一些 MAF 客户,他们正在努力为家人建立光明的金融未来。

三代厨师

为了 瓜达卢佩,烹制地道的墨西哥美食,一直是家常便饭。作为一个女孩,她和她的母亲从头开始制作最美味的玉米饼,现在她和她的女儿们也这样做了。她用她的 Lending Circles 贷款购买设备并帮助支付一辆面包车以扩大她的餐饮业务, 埃尔皮皮拉 - 她和女儿一起经营以养家糊口。

当我们上一次分享瓜达卢佩的故事是在 2014 年,她梦想开一家小型的实体食品摊。现在,她是一家食品供应商 大厅 在旧金山和湾区节日的常客食品卡车。瓜达卢佩的家庭是她成功的关键。 “我这样做是为了我的女儿们。我想确保他们中的任何一个都不必为除自己以外的任何人工作”。

执行任务的妈妈

海伦来自危地马拉的单身妈妈带着一个简单的梦想来到 MAF:为她的孩子拥有一个安全的家。因为她付不起高额的押金,也没有信用评分,她别无选择,只能在合租公寓里租房——包括一个家庭住在走廊的公寓。

加入 Lending Circle 后,Helen 存够了保证金,并建立了信用评分。现在,她为女儿们拥有了自己的三居室公寓,还有更大的梦想。

在她儿子的支持下制作纸杯蛋糕

艾尔维亚儿子用一个简单的问题点燃了她对烘焙的热情:“妈妈,你最喜欢做什么?”在以在派对上吃最好的甜点而闻名后,她的家人和朋友鼓励 Elvia 开一家面包店。

她用 MAF 的 $5,000 贷款投资了冰箱、营业执照和一些必需品来发展她的面包店, La Luna Cupcakes.她现在在旧金山的克罗克广场拥有一家纸杯蛋糕店,她的孩子们仍然是她的北极星。 “我总是教他们如果你想要什么,你就可以做到!相信你的梦想!”

感谢 MAF 最新的合作伙伴成功经理 Lesley Marling 对本文的贡献。

AliciaTamale的开拓者


艾丽西亚从挨家挨户的销售到拥有自己的玉米饼食品车,利用Lending Circles克服了她的债务和缺乏信用分数。

当艾丽西亚第一次开始她的玉米饼生意时,她和她八岁的儿子佩德罗一起挨家挨户地卖自制的玉米饼。每个星期,她有足够的钱购买100个玉米粉蒸肉的用品,卖完后,她会带回家一小笔利润。一个好的星期结束时,艾丽西亚会有$200的利润。她非常努力地工作,但她没有办法用这一点利润来支付她的所有账单。

一个更美好的未来

这个家庭在失业和商业债务中挣扎。对她来说,那是一段非常令人沮丧和紧张的时期,但艾丽西亚一直在坚持,因为她相信她的玉米饼生意。加入借贷圈后,艾丽西亚获得了第一笔$1,000的贷款,这帮助她最终在旧金山开设了自己的食品车业务。 艾丽西亚的塔玛利亚饼.参加MAF的财务管理课程并按时偿还贷款,帮助艾丽西亚把她的财务状况搞好。

"以前,当我的孩子要求我买东西时,我会说'不,你必须等待'。现在,当我说'是的,我们走吧!'时,他们都很惊讶。"

艾丽西亚从自己卖100个玉米粉到管理7名员工,每周制作3000个玉米粉。今年晚些时候,你很快就能在Whole Foods找到Alicia's Tamales,而且她正在制定一个商业计划,以开辟她的第一家餐馆。

赞誉的评论

"星期一,我们制作馅料。星期二和星期三,我们把玉米饼放在一起。周四和周五,我们把它们包装起来,送到我们快乐的顾客手中!"艾丽西亚说。

她的快乐客户之一是希瑟-沃特金斯(Heather Watkins),她将在自己即将举行的婚礼上享用艾丽西亚的美味玉米粉蒸肉。

"关于Alicia's Tamales,有太多的话要说。她的整个心和灵魂都通过她美妙的食物传递出来。她正在用她的事业改变她的社区和家庭的生活。她的快乐和辛勤工作使她周围的每个人都感到参与这一运动正是他们应该做的,并激励其他人加入进来。我的未婚妻和我很荣幸能有这样一位开拓者参与我们的婚礼,"她说。

在参加Lending Circles之后,艾丽西亚已经能够存钱,并计划继续偿还债务,以实现她的美国梦。随着她的食品车和餐饮服务的成功,她有一些令人兴奋的项目正在进行中。今年晚些时候,你很快就能在Whole Foods找到Alicia's Tamales,而且她正在制定一个商业计划,以开辟她的第一家餐厅

"我们在我的企业中有一句话,"艾丽西亚说。"我的玉米饼塞满了爱,最好的人都塞满了我的玉米饼!"

莱蒂西亚崛起


有句话说,一只手帮助另一只手,他们一起鼓掌比一个人鼓掌更响亮。

为了过上更好的生活,莱蒂西亚在 20 多岁时移民到湾区。在不到二十年的时间里,她拥有了两所房子,成功地创办了两家企业,并已婚并育有两个孩子。她甚至带了两个寄养孩子给他们一个安全的家。但在 2005 年,一连串的灾难动摇了莱蒂西亚的坚强 精神.

莱蒂西亚的丈夫提出离婚,并让她全权负责他们的抵押贷款。她的商业伙伴离开了她,后来,她病得很重,无法为自己工作。 “我感到无力做任何改变我的生活的事情,”她说。

失去家和稳定的收入也让莱蒂西亚成为养母的角色面临风险。但她不想放弃她的养子。她决心要站起来。莱蒂西亚开始申请贷款以开展食品车业务。当银行家们看到她的巨额抵押贷款时,他们急忙拒绝了。

莱蒂西亚于 2011 年加入了她的第一个 Lending Circle,为新的开始做好准备。

“我认为我的信用需要 5 到 10 年才能改善。我没有时间等待,”她说。

令她惊讶的是,18 个月后,莱蒂西亚的 信用评分 跃升 250 点至 608。

由于按时还款,她有资格获得Mission Asset Fund的$5000小额贷款。这笔贷款将有助于推出肯定会成为莱蒂西亚众多食品车中的第一辆。

她感谢社区的支持,帮助她改变生活,照顾家人。

“有一种说法,一只手帮助另一只手,他们一起鼓掌比一个人鼓掌更响亮。”

Skip to main content

Tag: women

Celebrating the Many Moms of Our Community


This Mother’s Day, we’re celebrating all the “MAF Moms” working hard to create better lives for their families through Lending Circles.

This Sunday is a day dedicated to the strong, wise, generous, and caring mothers in our lives. In the spirit of Mother’s Day, we’re celebrating a few MAF clients who are working hard to build bright financial futures for their families.

Three Generations of Chefs

For Guadalupe, cooking authentic Mexican cuisine has always been a family affair. As a girl, she and her mother made the tastiest tortillas from scratch, and now she and her daughters do the same. She used her Lending Circles loan to buy equipment and help pay for a van to expand her catering business, El Pipila — which she runs with her daughter to support their family.

When we last shared Guadalupe’s story in 2014, she dreamed of opening a small, brick-and-mortar food stand. Now, she’s a food vendor at The Hall in San Francisco and a food truck regular at Bay Area festivals. Guadalupe’s family is key to her success. “I am doing this for my daughters. I want to make sure that neither of them has to work for anyone but themselves”.

A Mom on a Mission

Helen, a single mom from Guatemala, came to MAF with a simple dream: to have a safe home for her children. Because she couldn’t afford the hefty security deposit and didn’t have a credit score, she had no choice but to rent rooms in shared apartments — including one with families living in hallways.

After joining a Lending Circle, Helen saved up enough for a security deposit and built her credit score. Now, she has her own three-bedroom apartment for her daughters, and even bigger dreams.

Whipping Up Cupcakes with Her Son’s Support

Elvia’s son ignited her passion for baking with a simple question: “Mom, what do you love to do most?” After building a reputation for having the best desserts at parties, her family and friends encouraged Elvia to start a bakery.

She used a $5,000 loan from MAF to invest in a fridge, business license, and a number of necessities to grow her bakery, La Luna Cupcakes. She now has a cupcake shop in Crocker Galleria in San Francisco, and her children continue to be her North Star. “I always taught them if you want something, you can do it! Believe in your dream!”

Thanks to Lesley Marling, MAF’s newest Partner Success Manager, for her contributions to this post.

Alicia: Tamale trailblazer


Alicia went from door-to-door sales to owning her own tamale food cart, using Lending Circles to overcome her debt and lack of credit score.

When Alicia first started her tamale business, she went door to door selling homemade tamales with her eight-year-old son, Pedro. Each week, she had enough money to buy supplies for 100 tamales and after she sold them all, she would bring home a tiny profit. A good week would end with Alicia making a $200 profit. She was working so hard but there was no way with that little profit that she could take care of all her bills.

A better future

The family struggled with unemployment and business debt. It was a very frustrating and stressful time for her but Alicia kept going because she believed in her tamale business. Joining a Lending Circle got Alicia her first loan for $1,000, which helped her to eventually open her own food cart business in San Francisco: Alicia’s Tamales Los Mayas. Taking MAF’s financial management classes and paying her loans off on time helped Alicia get her finances in order.

“Before when my kids asked me to buy things, I would say ‘no, you have to wait.’ Now, they are surprised when I say ‘yes, let’s go!'”

Alicia went from selling 100 tamales by her self to managing 7 employees to make 3,000 tamales a week. You’ll soon be able to find Alicia’s Tamales in Whole Foods later this year and she’s working on a business plan to open up her first restaurant.

Rave reviews

“On Mondays, we make the fillings.Tuesdays and Wednesdays, we put the tamales together. Thursdays and Fridays, we package and deliver them to our happy customers!” Alicia said.

One of her happy customers is Heather Watkins, who will be serve Alicia’s delicious tamales at her upcoming wedding.

“There is so much to say about Alicia’s Tamales. Her whole heart and soul is transferred through her wonderful food. She is changing the lives of her community and family with her business. Her joy and hard work makes everyone around her feel like being apart of this movement is exactly where they are supposed to be, and inspires others to join in. My fiancee and I are honored to have such a trailblazer be apart of our wedding day,” she said.

After participating in Lending Circles, Alicia has been able to save money and plans to continue paying down her debt to live her American Dream. With the success of her food cart and catering service, she has some exciting projects in the work. You’ll soon be able to find Alicia’s Tamales in Whole Foods later this year and she’s working on a business plan to open up her first restaurant!

“We have a saying in my business,” Alicia said. “My tamales are stuffed with love and the best people are stuffed with my tamales!”

Leticia: Rising up


There is a saying when one hand helps the other hand, and together they applaud much louder than one alone.

Leticia immigrated to the Bay Area in her late 20’s for a better life. In less than two decades, she owned two houses, started two successful businesses, and was married with two children. She even brought in two foster children to give them a safe home. But in 2005, a succession of disasters shook Leticia’s strong spirit.

Leticia’s husband filed for divorce and made her solely responsible for their mortgages. Her business partners walked out on her and later, she became too ill to work for herself. “I felt powerless to do anything to change my life,” she said.

Losing her home and steady income also risked Leticia’s role as a foster mother. But she did not want to give up her foster children. She was determined to rise up. Leticia began applying for loans to start a food cart business. When bankers saw her large mortgages, they hastily declined.

Leticia joined her first Lending Circle in 2011 ready for a new start.

“I thought it would take 5 or 10 years for my credit to improve. I didn’t have time to wait,” she said.

To her surprise, after 18 months, Leticia’s credit score jumped 250 points to 608.

Because she paid back her loans on time, she qualified for a $5000 microloan from Mission Asset Fund. This loan will help launch what will surely be the first of Leticia’s many food carts.

She is grateful for the support of the community in helping her change her life and take care of her family.

“There is a saying when one hand helps the other hand, and together they applaud much louder than one alone.”