تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

قابل MAF Madrina: جيني فلوريس

لا تزال جيني فلوريس تتذكر عندما ظهر مؤسس MAF والرئيس التنفيذي خوسيه كوينونيز في Citigroup بقطعة من الورق وحلم كبير. 

في ذلك الوقت ، كان MAF مجرد مكتب صغير في الطابق الثاني من المطعم ، ولم يكن إقناع الناس بمهمتنا مهمة سهلة. 

تتذكر جيني: "كنت تبيع هذه الرؤية الكبيرة ، ولم يستوعبها العديد من التنفيذيين تمامًا". "ولكن لأنني نشأت في هذا المجتمع ، ولأنني فهمتك جيدًا - ما كنت تحاول حله - فقد انطلقنا لدعم هذه الرؤية الكبيرة. وها نحن هنا ، بعد 15 عامًا ". 

الآن ، جيني هي رئيسة العمل الخيري لنمو الأعمال الصغيرة في Wells Fargo ، وقد تجاوزت MAF هذا المكتب الصغير - ولكن ليس هذا الحلم الكبير. في الواقع ، نحن نبنيها معًا جنبًا إلى جنب مع جيني ، مدينة ماف 15 عاما احتفال كوينسينيرا

"جيني تشع الطاقة. قال خوسيه عن جيني قبل منحها جائزة Madrina "حماسها وشغفها بخدمة الناس معدي لأنه حقيقي وصادق." "إنه لشرف لي أن اتصل بها أميغا ، colega y compañera en la lucha."

تم اختيار جيني لهذا التكريم بسبب التزامها المستمر طوال حياتها بخدمة الناس بكرامة واحترام. قالت جيني للجمهور: "حقيقة أن مجتمع المهاجرين لدينا - أن لدينا الكثير من الأصول التي قد يراها الآخرون على أنها" نقاط ضعف "- إنها في الواقع نقاط قوة". "وأنا أحب ذلك."

قال خوسيه: "على مر السنين ، من خلال جميع أدوارها المختلفة في العمل الخيري ، وجدت دائمًا طرقًا لدعم عملنا في بناء حلول متجذرة في المجتمع". "أتذكر العديد من المحادثات التي كنا قد أجريناها على الغداء ، ووضع الاستراتيجيات والحلم بما يمكننا القيام به أكثر للأشخاص الذين نخدمهم. وبينما بدا لي دائمًا أنني أبتعد عن طريق المزيد من المشاريع على لوحتي بعد كل محادثة ، فقد تركت اجتماعاتنا دائمًا مفعمًا بالحيوية والإلهام ، وعلى استعداد للقيام بالمزيد ". 

قابل MAF Padrino: John A. Sobrato.

Skip to main content

Meet the MAF Madrina: Jenny Flores

Jenny Flores still remembers when MAF Founder and CEO José Quiñonez showed up at Citigroup with a piece of paper and a big dream. 

Back then, MAF was just a small office on the second floor of a restaurant, and convincing people of our mission was no easy task. 

“You were selling this big vision, and many executives didn’t quite get it,” Jenny recalls. “But because I grew up in this community, and because I understood you so intimately — what you were trying to solve — we jumped in to support that big vision. And here we are, 15 years later.” 

Now, Jenny is the Head of Small Business Growth Philanthropy at Wells Fargo, and MAF has outgrown that small office — but not that big dream. In fact, we’re building it together hand-in-hand with Jenny, the madrina of MAF’s 15-year quinceañera celebration

“Jenny radiates energy. Her enthusiasm and passion for serving people is contagious because it’s real and heartfelt,” José said of Jenny before presenting her with the Madrina Award. “It is my honor to call her amiga, colega y compañera en la lucha.”

Jenny was chosen for this honor because of her lifelong and steadfast commitment to serving people with dignity and respect. “The fact that our immigrant community — that we have so many assets that others may see as ‘weaknesses’ — they’re actually strengths,” Jenny said to the audience. “And I love that.”

“Over the years, through all her various roles in philanthropy, she always found ways to support our work of building solutions rooted in community,” José said. “I recall many conversations we’d have over lunch, strategizing and dreaming of what more we could do for the people we serve. And while I always seemed to have walked away with way more projects on my plate after every conversation, I always left our meetings energized and inspired, ready to do more.” 

Meet the MAF Padrino: John A. Sobrato.