跳到主要内容

世代相传的家园:伊娃的故事

作为新房主,伊娃喜欢很多东西。 

她喜欢在她租了多年的社区里有一所房子。作为两个孩子的姐妹、母亲和祖母,她喜欢和家人住在一起。而且她喜欢她可以真正享受她的房子而无需耗时的通勤。 

“这里有很多雾,但我喜欢旧金山,”MAF 的长期客户 Eva 说。 “我的一个梦想一直是我想住在我工作的地方。”

但这个梦想并不是一个容易实现的现实。伊娃一生做了很多事情:她 15 岁时从萨尔瓦多移民到美国,在从事社会服务的全职工作之外开始了自己的营养事业,送三个孩子上大学,并忍受着经济上具有挑战性的离婚——几乎让她梦想买房的梦想破灭。

“从两份收入变成一份收入——我背负着债务,”伊娃说。 “我从没想过我会有机会重新成为房主。”

伊娃想方设法养家糊口,包括她的孩子和祖母。她开始投资于营养以保护自己的健康,几乎不请病假来维持收入。 “我无法想象自己在需要保持强壮的时候生病了,”伊娃说。 

收入是一回事,但建立信用是另一个挑战。由于离婚所欠下的债务,伊娃知道她必须加强自己的信用评分,才能给自己和她的家人最好的机会拥有自己的房子。

加入 MAF 改变了 Eva 的财务状况。

多年前,伊娃和她的表妹在上班的路上路过 MAF 位于 Mission Street 的办公室。 “我们喜欢尝试一切,”伊娃说,所以他们决定参加一次信息会议。

能量立即打动了她。她开始参加 MAF Lending Circles 该计划通过社区支持提供无息信用建设贷款。这正式形成了社区借贷的全球传统,有时被称为 谭达斯苏苏。

“加入 [MAF] 的人来自社区。这些都是工薪家庭,正在寻找像我这样的资源,”伊娃说。 “与这些人会面并聆听他们的故事——这是一次聚会,是一次分享。总是有食物,并试图拥有安全和社区的环境。”

多年来,Eva 参加了 MAF 的 金融服务 对于小企业主来说,提供的服务与她在大学时所上的课程明显不同。 “它们基本上是为像我这样的拉丁美洲人设计的,旨在为我们的社区服务,”伊娃说。

“这不仅仅是拉丁裔社区,”她补充道。 “这是不同的移民社区,那里的环境变得更像家人和朋友,总是分享非常私人的——有时是亲密的、困难的——成长经历。”

MAF 的社区建立了宝贵的友谊和关系。一直以来,Lending Circles 都在打开伊娃曾经认为对她关闭的一扇门。

“我看到了我信用评分的变化,”伊娃说。 “那真是梦想成真。” 

这些变化来得正是时候。 2022 年夏天,伊娃和她的家人正忙着用他们的总收入买房子。所有的卡片都准备就绪,但伊娃只需要再提高她的信用评分就可以获得贷款批准。

当时,Eva 正在参加一个 Lending Circle,所以她问 MAF 的高级客户成功经理 Doris,是否有什么可以做的。 

“再付一次钱,”伊娃被告知。 “再付一次钱,就会有所不同。”  

Lending Circles 计划通过向所有三个主要征信机构报告贷款支付情况来提高信用评分。 MAF 迅速加快了 Eva 的贷款支付时间表,因此她的最后一笔付款在截止日期前处理完毕。 

整个旅程让 Eva 想起了她当初加入 MAF 的原因。

“这是一种社区、朋友和家人的感觉,'我们在这里为你服务,'”伊娃说。 “目标不仅仅是吸引参与者。我们的目标是帮助参与者实现梦想。”

Eva 的新家最棒的地方是什么?这不仅仅是为了她。

“你正在为子孙后代打理自己的房子,”伊娃说。她希望她的孩子们愿意长期住在这所房子里。 

毕竟,那所房子有很多价值,而不仅仅是经济上的价值。在她的职业生涯、个人生活以及在 MAF 的工作中,家庭和社区激励并支持了 Eva。 

这所房子是这种关系的象征——也是伊娃在未来几年延续这一传统的一种方式。 “这是团队的努力,”伊娃说。

A Home for the Generations: Eva’s Story

There’s a lot that Eva loves about being a new homeowner. 

She loves having a house in a neighborhood she’s been renting in for years. She loves living close to her family, as a sister, mother, and grandmother of two. And she loves that she can actually enjoy her house without a time-consuming commute. 

“There’s a lot of fog, but I love San Francisco,” Eva, a longtime MAF client, says. “One of my dreams always was that I want to live where I work.”

But this dream wasn’t an easy-to-achieve reality. Eva has done a lot in her life: She immigrated to the United States from El Salvador when she was 15, started her own nutrition business on top of her full-time job in social services, sent her three children to college, and endured a financially challenging divorce — one that almost stopped her dreams of buying a home.

“Coming from two incomes to one — I was left with debt,” Eva says. “I never thought that I was going to be given the opportunity back to be a homeowner.”

Eva thought of ways to support her family, including her children and grandmother. She became invested in nutrition to protect her own health, barely taking any sick days to preserve her income. “I couldn’t imagine myself getting sick during the time I needed to stay strong,” Eva says. 

Income was one thing, but building credit posed another challenge. Because of the debt from the divorce, Eva knew she had to strengthen her credit score to give herself — and her family — the best possible chance at homeownership.

Joining MAF was a game-changer for Eva’s finances.

Years ago, Eva and her cousin passed by MAF’s office on Mission Street on their way to work. “We like to try everything,” Eva says, so they decided to join an informational meeting.

The energy immediately moved her. She started participating in MAF’s Lending Circles program, which provides interest-free credit-building loans via community support. This formalizes a global tradition of community lending, sometimes known as tandas and susus.

“The people that join [MAF] are from the community. These are working families looking for a resource like me,” Eva says. “Meeting these people and hearing their stories — it was a gathering, it was sharing. There was always food and trying to have that environment of safety and community.”

Over the years, Eva participated in MAF’s financial services for small business owners, services that were tangibly different from the classes she took in college. “They’re basically designed for Latinos, like me, to try to serve our community,” Eva says.

“It’s not just the Latino community,” she adds. “It’s different immigrant communities where the environment becomes more like family and friends, always sharing very personal — sometimes intimate, difficult — growing experiences.”

The community at MAF created treasured friendships and relationships. All the while, Lending Circles were opening a door that Eva once thought was closed to her.

“I saw the changes in my credit score,” Eva says. “It was a dream come true.” 

The changes came at exactly the right hour. In the summer of 2022, Eva and her family were hustling to buy a house with their combined income. All the cards were falling into place, but Eva just needed one more boost to her credit score to get a loan approved.

At the time, Eva was participating in a Lending Circle, so she asked Doris, MAF’s Senior Client Success Manager, if there was anything that could be done. 

“One more payment,” Eva was told. “One more payment, and it’s going to make a difference.”  

The Lending Circles program boosts credit scores by reporting loan payments to all three major credit bureaus. MAF quickly accelerated Eva’s loan payment timeline so her final payment was processed before the closing date. 

The whole journey reminded Eva of why she joined MAF in the first place.

“It’s a sense of community, friends, and family, ‘we’re here for you,’” Eva says. “The goal is not just getting participants. The goal is helping the participants make their dreams come true.”

The best part about Eva’s new home? It’s not just for her.

“You’re taking care of your own house for future generations,” Eva says. She hopes that her kids will want to keep and live in the house for a long time. 

After all, there’s a lot of value in that home, and not just financially. Family and community motivated and anchored Eva through all those years in her profession, in her personal life, and in her work with MAF. 

This house is a symbol of that relationship — and a way for Eva to continue that tradition for years to come. “It’s a team effort,” Eva says.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English