付出代价:南希的故事

南希·阿隆索对意外并不陌生。这位南加州本地人面临的挑战和悲惨的风暴不止她那份。通过所有这些,她一直在前进,一名船长带着她的两个孩子在做她必须做的事情。

南希的故事的核心是说明金融体系如何将自己扭曲成对努力工作的人们梦想的束缚。它还展示了社区如何成为让他们获得自由的关键。

自从南希 21 岁时有了他们的第一个孩子以来,她和她的丈夫就一头扎进了人生的赛跑中。  

他们把每一美元都用在下个月的薪水上,有时,他们有喘息的空间。但是,大多数情况下,需要克服障碍。他们应该支付最新的医疗费用还是一周的杂货? 

南希和她的丈夫都努力工作,都努力维持生计。他会在他表弟的餐厅外面捡纸板卖。她会带着他们两个孩子穿的过时的衣服去跳蚤市场赚点外快。他们做了他们该做的。

然而,远远超出下一个直接障碍的边缘,梦想的地平线向他们招手,永远向前。南希和她的丈夫在地平线上看到了他们自己的房子。他们知道,有一天,她会辞去零售工作,成为一名医疗助理。然后他们不仅可以偶尔呼吸,而且可以一直呼吸。日复一日,年复一年,他们继续前进,知道彼此没有太大的障碍。

然后,在 2019 年 10 月 9 日,南希接到了医院的电话。

一个月后,她的丈夫去世了。

在茫然中,南希搬回圣伊西德罗和她的父母住在一起,因为她周围的世界在缓慢移动。 2020 年 6 月,她与儿子共用一张双层床,进入 COVID-19 大流行,并帮助她的家人度过了父亲的中风,震惊笼罩着她。慢慢地,她开始拾起她破碎生活的碎片,并建立了新的马赛克她的未来。

事实证明,她的丈夫有一份适度的人寿保险单。她从来不知道这件事,因为他们从来没有谈过财务。现在,她终于可以买得起房子了。但当她去贷款机构讨论抵押贷款时,她发现自己的信用评分很差,无法获得资格。她从来没有考虑过她的信用,所以这也是毁灭性的消息。  

南希被困住了。 

以前只是事后才想到的金融体系现在成了她和毕生梦想之间的护城河。她甚至查看私人公寓以重新站起来。然而,这些都需要 2-3 倍的收入与租金比率,她无法填补丈夫留下的工资差距。她的孩子仍然需要得到照顾,而她之前的医疗助理计划也没有她希望的那么可信。南希终于走到了可能性的门口,但阻碍她前进的障碍是她所面临的最大障碍之一。而这一次,她一个人。

“那是有人告诉我有关 Casa Familiar 的时候,”南希回忆道。 “他们提到了一个帮助我提高信用评分的计划。但它们远不止这些。”

位于圣地亚哥的社区服务组织 Casa Familiar 将 Nancy 带到了他们的第一个 Lending Circle 计划之一。  

她加入了一家 LC 以提高她的分数,并且很快就能够做到这一点。 3 个月后,南希将她的信用评分提高了 118 分。 

然后她开始提问。而 Casa Familiar 团队则给出了答案。他们帮助 Nancy 获得她从未知道的社会保障基金,共享财务规划资源,并帮助她的父母安排 COVID-19 疫苗接种。

“我问的每一件小事,他们都会帮助我,”她闪闪发光。 “如果不是他们,我什至不知道从哪里开始。”

今天,南希有望将她的信用评分提高到足以获得抵押贷款的资格,并且正在努力获得一份医疗助理的工作。

尽管丈夫不在身边,但她仍继续着他们共同的梦想,日复一日地朝着他们看得如此清楚的地平线前进。仍有许多障碍需要克服,南希坚信没有人能阻止她。毕竟,她并不孤单。

“Casa Familiar 的玛丽安娜打电话告诉我她有一个惊喜,”南希分享道。 “因为我一直按时支付所有款项,她从 Kaiser 赠款中给了我 $500 的奖金。我哭了,因为我能够更多地帮助我的父母。对于发生在我们身上的所有坏事,好事也发生了。”

南希继续提问,学习如何驾驭新世界,同时将来之不易的知识传授给她 17 岁和 13 岁的孩子。她希望这样,他们将在她冲刺的人生赛跑中领先一步这么久。 

无论如何,孩子们已经拥有自己的宝贵礼物;追求梦想的勇气和钢铁般的决心。这份遗产由南希和她的丈夫一起传下来。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2021 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Paying It Forward : Nancy’s Story

Nancy Alonso is no stranger to the unexpected.  The Southern California native has faced more than her share of challenging and tragic storms.  Through them all she’s kept moving forward, a captain doing what she must to steer ahead with her two children in tow.

Nancy’s story, at its core, illustrates how the financial system can distort itself into shackles on the dreams of hard-working people.  It also shows how community can be the key to set them free.

Since having their first child when Nancy was 21, she and her husband had dove headfirst into the race of life.  

They stretched each dollar to the next month’s paycheck, sometimes, making it through with breathing room. Most often, though, there were hurdles to overcome. Should they pay for the latest medical bill or the week’s groceries? 

Nancy and her husband both worked hard, and both hustled to make ends meet. He would pick up cardboard outside his cousin’s restaurant to sell. She would take their two kids’ outgrown clothes to the flea market for extra cash. They did what they had to.

Yet far beyond the edges of the next immediate hurdle, a horizon of dreams beckoned them ever forward. Nancy and her husband saw a house of their own nestled on that horizon. One day, they knew, she’d leave her retail job to work as a medical assistant. Then they’d be able to breathe not only on occasion, but all the time. Day by day, year by year, they continued pushing ahead knowing that with each other no hurdle was too big.

Then, on October 9th, 2019, Nancy received a call from the hospital.

One month later, her husband had passed away.

In a daze, Nancy moved back in with her parents in San Ysidro as the world moved in slow motion around her. The shock gripped her as she shared a bunk bed with her son, entered the COVID-19 pandemic and helped her family through her father’s stroke in June 2020. Slowly, she began to pick up the shards of her broken life and build a new mosaic of her future.

Her husband, it turned out, had a modest life insurance policy. She’d never known about it because they never spoke about finances. Now, at last, she could afford to buy a home. But when she went to a lender to discuss a mortgage, she found out she had a poor credit score and couldn’t qualify. She’d never looked into her credit so this, too, was devastating news.  

Nancy was stuck. 

The financial system that had never been more than an afterthought was now the moat standing between her and a lifelong dream.  She even looked into private apartments to get back on her feet.  These, however, all required 2-3x income to rent ratios and she was not able to fill the salary gap her husband had left.  Her kids still needed to be cared for and her previous medical assistant program had been less credible than she’d hoped.  Nancy was finally at the doorstep of possibility, yet the hurdle holding her back was one of the biggest she’d faced. And this time, she was alone.

“That’s when someone told me about Casa Familiar,” Nancy recounted. “They mentioned a program to help me improve my credit score. But they are so much more.”

Casa Familiar, a San Diego-based community services organization, brought Nancy to one of their first Lending Circle programs.  

She joined an LC to raise her score and was quickly able to do so.  After 3 months, Nancy raised her credit score by 118 points. 

Then she started asking questions. And the Casa Familiar team had answers. They helped Nancy access Social Security funds she’d never known about, shared resources on financial planning and helped schedule COVID-19 vaccinations for her parents.

“Every little thing I ask, they help me,” she glowed. “If it wasn’t for them, I wouldn’t even know where to start.”

Today, Nancy is on track to increase her credit score enough to qualify for a mortgage and is working to secure a job as a medical assistant.

Even though her husband is not with her, she carries on the dreams they’d held together, moving day after day toward the horizon they’d seen so clearly. There are still many hurdles to overcome, and Nancy is resolute that none will stop her. After all, she’s not alone.

“Mariana at Casa Familiar called to tell me she had a surprise,” Nancy shared. “Because I’ve been making all my payments on time, she gave me a bonus of $500 from a Kaiser grant. I cried because I was able to help out my parents more. For all the bad things that have happened to us, good things have happened too.”

Nancy continues asking questions, learning how to navigate a new world while passing on hard-won knowledge to her children, 17 and 13. In this way, she hopes, they will have a head start on the race of life she’d sprinted through for so long. 

Regardless, the children already possess an invaluable gift of their own; grit and steel determination to chase after dreams. This inheritance was passed down by Nancy and her husband, together.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English