在大流行中学习:玛莲娜的故事

2020 年 4 月,Marlena 坐在她的办公桌前,异常不专注,因为 Zoom 讲座在背景中嗡嗡作响。她看着手机,等待通知的地方一片空白。她的手指轻敲着她紧张的心脏的快速跳动,很长一段时间以来,她第一次感觉到对她的野心的控制滑落。她始终牢牢掌握着自己未来的缰绳。然而,世界动摇了,她也动摇了。

玛莲娜不容易动摇。 

在大流行开始时,她正在克拉夫顿山社区学院攻读生物医学工程的第二年,在那里她作为第一代大学生和有色人种女性在白人男性领域开辟了道路。她不顾偏见勇往直前,选择把它作为火上浇油。 

然而,当她的父母都看到他们的工作时间在大流行期间被削减时,玛琳娜突然不确定下学期的书本如何支付。于是她伸手求救。然后她就等了。等待是最难的部分。

“无法控制我周围的一切真的很难处理,”她说。

玛莲娜在 12 岁时第一次了解到失去控制是多么痛苦。 

她的父亲是一家六口之家唯一的养家糊口的人,在一家被收购的公司工作。他拒绝了一份以大幅减薪保住工作的提议,这导致他们的抵押贷款公司像一群秃鹰一样追赶他们,并引发了一场官司,使家庭陷入财务危机。

“我们失去了一切,”她回忆道。 “我们失去了家,我们不得不搬家,我们花了大约七年的生活薪水才重新站起来。”

Marlena 的经历很早就告诉她,你自己的两只手可以影响的范围有限。与父母和兄弟姐妹坐在餐桌旁通过许多艰难的谈话也教会了她财务是建立未来的基础。她把这些教训牢记在心,全身心地投入到学习中,以特有的凶猛和纪律来把握自己未来的缰绳。

Marlena 以最高荣誉从她的高中毕业,成为她的班级告别演说者,并提前一年毕业。完成副学士学位后,她计划转学到一所四年制大学,攻读生物医学工程的学士和硕士学位。虽然她目前的成就已经足够了不起,但对于玛莲娜来说,它们只是序言。

“我的梦想是创造世界上第一个 3D 打印器官,”她分享道。 “我对我的学习充满热情,因为我想拯救生命。”

任何了解 Marlena 的人都知道,虽然她对自己的领域充满热情,但不知何故,她对家人的爱更加强烈。她绝不会为了自己的抱负而用家庭来交换。因此,以典型的 Marlena 方式,她开始了她的学术之旅,使命是通过不懈的专注和奉献来减轻家庭的大学经济负担。

“我可能已经申请了数百个奖学金,”她回忆道。 “我也适用于大的和小的。我知道每一点都加起来。有一次,我每天申请两项奖学金。”

她的努力得到了回报。  

在奖学金和父母的支持下,她毫不妥协地度过了头两年的学习。然后大流行使她的计划脱轨。由于费用问题,Marlena 突然考虑减少秋季学期的课程负担。然后她开始寻找外部资源并遇到了 MAF 的 加州大学生助学金.  

无论学习成绩如何,$500 赠款都是为有需要的学生提供的紧急经济救济。由于需求量巨大,MAF 团队创建了一个 金融公平框架 把那些最后和最少的人带到队伍的前面。我们优先考虑那些失去收入、经济困难且无法获得其他资金支持的人。

像 Marlena 这样的学生永远不必在杂货账单和书籍之间做出选择。 

学生应该有时间学习,而不必担心跟踪数百个奖学金。出于这个原因,MAF 利用最好的技术和资金来尽可能有效和快速地提供赠款。

四月份回到玛莲娜的办公桌前,她松了一口气。她刚刚收到一封来自 MAF 的电子邮件,她的申请已被接受。那天结束时,她看到补助金存入了她的账户。

“在 24 小时内,我看到了我账户中的资金,我就可以购买我的书了,”她笑着说。 “接受资助给了我希望。还有其他人在投资我和我的未来。”

家人坚定地支持她,越来越多的支持者为她加油,Marlena 正在实现她的梦想。它正在发挥作用。 Marlena 在学期结束时保持了 4.0 的 GPA,并将于 2021 年以最高荣誉毕业,然后获得 Regents 奖学金进入加州大学河滨分校。她认为向她的美国原住民曾祖父和她的信仰表示敬意是实现这一目标的关键灵感。

“我知道还有很多其他人正在经历和我一样的事情,”她说。 “如果我能够鼓励和激励他们不放弃,那一切都值得。”

在 MAF,我们知道她会做到这一点。她已经是了。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有©2020 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

Studying Through A Pandemic: Marlena’s Story

Marlena sat at her desk in April of 2020, unusually unfocused as the biology Zoom lecture droned on in the background. She eyed her phone, blank where she was waiting for notifications. Her finger tapped to the rapid beat of her nervous heart as, for the first time in a long while, she felt the grip over her ambitions slip. She always held the reins to her future firmly in hand. The world, though, was shaken and so was she.

Marlena is not easily shaken. 

At the start of the pandemic, she was in her second year of studying biomedical engineering at Crafton Hills Community College where she blazed a path as a first-generation college student and woman of color in a heavily white, male field. She forged ahead in spite of prejudice, choosing to add it as fuel to her fire. 

However, when her parents both saw their hours cut during the pandemic, Marlena was suddenly uncertain how she’d pay for the next semester’s books. So she reached out for help. Then she waited. The waiting was the hard part.

“Not being able to control everything around me was really hard to process,” she said.

Marlena first learned how painful losing control could be when she was 12. 

Her father, the sole bread-winner of a family of six, worked for a company that got acquired. He turned down an offer to keep his job at a steep pay cut, which caused their mortgage company to come after them like a pack of vultures and sparked a lawsuit that left the family in financial ruin.

“We lost everything,” she recounted. “We lost our home, we had to move and it took us about seven years of living paycheck to paycheck to get back on our feet.”

Marlena’s experience taught her early that there is only so much your own two hands can influence. Sitting with her parents and siblings at their dining table through many hard conversations also taught her that finances are fundamental to building a future. She took these lessons to heart and threw herself into her studies, gripping the reins of her future with characteristic ferocity and discipline.

Marlena graduated with the highest honors from her high school as her class valedictorian and one year early. After completing her associate’s degree, she plans to transfer to a four-year university to earn both a bachelor’s and master’s in biomedical engineering. While her current accomplishments are remarkable enough, for Marlena, they’re just the preamble.

“My dream is to create the world’s first 3D-printed organs,” she shared. “I’m so passionate about my studies because I want to save lives.”

Anyone who knows Marlena understands that while she radiates passion for her field, her love for her family is, somehow, even more potent. She would never trade family for her own ambitions. So in typical Marlena fashion, she has gone about her academic journey with a mission to lift the financial burden of college on her family with unrelenting focus and dedication.

“I’ve probably applied to hundreds of scholarships,” she recounts. “I apply to the big ones and the small ones, too. I know every bit adds up. At one point, I was applying to two scholarships a day.”

Her hard work was paying off.  

Between her scholarships and her parents’ support, she had made it through the first two years of study without compromise. Then the pandemic derailed her plans. Marlena was suddenly considering reducing her course load for the fall semester because of the cost. She then began searching for external resources and came across MAF’s CA College Student Grant.  

The $500 grants were emergency financial relief for students in need, regardless of academic performance. Because of the sheer volume of demand, the MAF team created a financial equity framework to bring those left last and least to the front of the line. We prioritized those who had lost income, were financially strained and were marginalized from other funding.

Students like Marlena should never have to choose between their grocery bill and their books. 

Students should have the time to study without worrying about tracking hundreds of scholarships. For this reason, MAF leveraged the best of technology and finance to deliver grants as effectively and quickly as possible.

Back at Marlena’s desk in April, she released a full-bodied sigh of relief. She’d just received an email from MAF that her application was accepted. By the end of that day, she saw the grant deposited into her account.

“Within 24 hours, I saw the funds in my account and I was able to buy my books,” she beamed. “Receiving the grant gave me hope. There are others out there investing in me and my future.”

With her family firmly beside her and a growing circle of supporters cheering her on, Marlena is well on her way to realizing her dreams. And it’s working. Marlena ended her semester maintaining a 4.0 GPA and will be graduating in 2021 with highest honors before moving on to UC Riverside on a Regents scholarship. She credits honoring her Native American great-grandfather and her faith as key inspirations in making it to this point.

“I know there are many others who are going through the same things I am,” she says. “If I’m able to encourage and inspire them to not give up, that makes everything worthwhile.”

At MAF, we know she will do just that. She already is.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English