الدراسة من خلال جائحة: قصة مارلينا

جلست مارلينا على مكتبها في أبريل من عام 2020 ، وهي غير مركزة بشكل غير معتاد حيث انطلقت محاضرة زوم البيولوجيا في الخلفية. نظرت إلى هاتفها ، فارغًا حيث كانت تنتظر الإخطارات. نقر إصبعها على النبض السريع لقلبها العصبي ، حيث شعرت ، لأول مرة منذ فترة طويلة ، بالسيطرة على طموحاتها. كانت دائمًا تمسك بزمام مستقبلها بقوة. لكن العالم اهتز وكذلك هي.

لا تهتز مارلينا بسهولة. 

في بداية الوباء ، كانت في سنتها الثانية من دراسة الهندسة الطبية الحيوية في كلية كرافتون هيلز المجتمعية حيث شقت طريقها كطالبة جامعية من الجيل الأول وامرأة ملونة في حقل ذكور كثيف البياض. لقد تقدمت على الرغم من التحيز ، واختارت إضافته كوقود لنارها. 

ومع ذلك ، عندما رأى والداها قطعًا لساعات عملهما أثناء الوباء ، أصبحت مارلينا فجأة غير متأكدة من كيفية دفعها مقابل كتب الفصل الدراسي التالي. لذلك طلبت المساعدة. ثم انتظرت. كان الانتظار هو الجزء الصعب.

قالت "عدم القدرة على التحكم في كل شيء من حولي كان من الصعب حقًا معالجته".

تعلمت مارلينا لأول مرة كيف يمكن أن يكون فقدان السيطرة مؤلمًا عندما كانت في الثانية عشرة من عمرها. 

عمل والدها ، وهو الرابح الوحيد لأسرة مكونة من ستة أفراد ، في شركة تم الاستحواذ عليها. لقد رفض عرضًا للاحتفاظ بوظيفته عند خفض راتبه الحاد ، مما تسبب في ملاحقتهم لشركة الرهن العقاري مثل مجموعة من النسور وأثار دعوى قضائية تركت الأسرة في حالة خراب مالي.

وروت قائلة: "لقد فقدنا كل شيء". "لقد فقدنا منزلنا ، واضطررنا إلى الانتقال واستغرق الأمر حوالي سبع سنوات من العيش في الراتب حتى نتمكن من الوقوف على أقدامنا."

لقد علمتها تجربة مارلينا في وقت مبكر أنه لا يوجد سوى قدر كبير من تأثير يديك. كما أن الجلوس مع والديها وإخوتها على مائدة طعامهم من خلال العديد من المحادثات الصعبة علمها أيضًا أن الموارد المالية أساسية لبناء المستقبل. أخذت هذه الدروس على محمل الجد وألقت بنفسها في دراستها ، وتمسك بزمام مستقبلها بشراسة وانضباط مميزين.

تخرجت مارلينا مع أعلى مرتبة الشرف من مدرستها الثانوية كطالب متفوق في فصلها وقبل عام واحد. بعد الانتهاء من درجة الزمالة ، تخطط للانتقال إلى جامعة مدتها أربع سنوات لكسب البكالوريوس والماجستير في الهندسة الطبية الحيوية. في حين أن إنجازاتها الحالية رائعة بما فيه الكفاية ، بالنسبة لمارلينا ، فهي مجرد مقدمة.

قالت: "حلمي هو إنشاء أول أعضاء مطبوعة ثلاثية الأبعاد في العالم". "أنا متحمس جدًا لدراستي لأنني أرغب في إنقاذ الأرواح."

يدرك أي شخص يعرف مارلينا أنه في حين أنها تشع شغفًا بمجالها ، فإن حبها لعائلتها ، بطريقة ما ، أكثر قوة. لم تكن أبدًا لتتبادل أسرتها من أجل طموحاتها الخاصة لذلك ، بأسلوب مارلينا النموذجي ، قامت برحلتها الأكاديمية بمهمة لرفع العبء المالي للكلية عن عائلتها بتركيز وتفاني لا يلين.

وتروي قائلة: "لقد تقدمت على الأرجح إلى مئات المنح الدراسية". "أتقدم بطلب إلى الشركات الكبيرة والصغيرة أيضًا. أعلم أن كل جزء يضيف. في وقت من الأوقات ، كنت أتقدم بطلب للحصول على منحتين دراسيتين يوميًا ".

كان عملها الشاق يؤتي ثماره.  

بين منحها الدراسية ودعم والديها ، نجحت في اجتياز أول عامين من الدراسة دون حل وسط. ثم أخرج الوباء خططها عن مسارها. كانت مارلينا تفكر فجأة في تقليل عبء الدورة التدريبية لفصل الخريف بسبب التكلفة. ثم بدأت في البحث عن موارد خارجية وصادفت ماف منحة طالب كلية كاليفورنيا.  

كانت المنح $500 بمثابة إعانة مالية طارئة للطلاب المحتاجين ، بغض النظر عن الأداء الأكاديمي. نظرًا لحجم الطلب الهائل ، أنشأ فريق MAF ملف إطار العدالة المالية لجلب هؤلاء المتروكين أخيرًا وأقلهم في مقدمة الصف. لقد أعطينا الأولوية لمن فقدوا الدخل ، وتعرضوا لضغوط مالية وتهميشوا من مصادر التمويل الأخرى.

يجب ألا يضطر الطلاب مثل Marlena أبدًا إلى الاختيار بين فاتورة البقالة الخاصة بهم وكتبهم. 

يجب أن يتاح للطلاب الوقت للدراسة دون القلق بشأن تتبع مئات المنح الدراسية. لهذا السبب ، استفادت MAF من أفضل التقنيات والتمويل لتقديم المنح بأكبر قدر ممكن من الفعالية والسرعة.

بالعودة إلى مكتب مارلينا في أبريل ، أطلقت تنهيدة كاملة من الارتياح. لقد تلقت للتو بريدًا إلكترونيًا من MAF يفيد بقبول طلبها. بحلول نهاية ذلك اليوم ، رأت المنحة مودعة في حسابها.

"في غضون 24 ساعة ، رأيت الأموال في حسابي وتمكنت من شراء كتبي" ، قالت. "لقد منحني تلقي المنحة الأمل. هناك آخرون بالخارج يستثمرون بي وفي مستقبلي ".

مع عائلتها بجانبها بقوة ودائرة متنامية من المؤيدين الذين يهتفون لها ، مارلينا في طريقها لتحقيق أحلامها. وهو يعمل. أنهت مارلينا فصلها الدراسي وحافظت على معدل 4.0 GPA وستتخرج في عام 2021 بأعلى درجات الشرف قبل الانتقال إلى جامعة كاليفورنيا في ريفرسايد في منحة ريجنتس. إنها تنسب تكريم جدها الأمريكي الأصلي وإيمانها كمصدر إلهام رئيسي في الوصول إلى هذه النقطة.

"أعرف أن هناك العديد من الأشخاص الآخرين الذين يمرون بنفس الأشياء التي أنا عليها الآن" ، كما تقول. "إذا كنت قادرًا على تشجيعهم وإلهامهم على عدم الاستسلام ، فهذا يجعل كل شيء يستحق العناء."

في ماف ، نعلم أنها ستفعل ذلك بالضبط. هي بالفعل.

MISSION ASSET FUND هو منظمة 501C3

حقوق النشر © 2020 Mission Asset Fund. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Arabic

Studying Through A Pandemic: Marlena’s Story

Marlena sat at her desk in April of 2020, unusually unfocused as the biology Zoom lecture droned on in the background. She eyed her phone, blank where she was waiting for notifications. Her finger tapped to the rapid beat of her nervous heart as, for the first time in a long while, she felt the grip over her ambitions slip. She always held the reins to her future firmly in hand. The world, though, was shaken and so was she.

Marlena is not easily shaken. 

At the start of the pandemic, she was in her second year of studying biomedical engineering at Crafton Hills Community College where she blazed a path as a first-generation college student and woman of color in a heavily white, male field. She forged ahead in spite of prejudice, choosing to add it as fuel to her fire. 

However, when her parents both saw their hours cut during the pandemic, Marlena was suddenly uncertain how she’d pay for the next semester’s books. So she reached out for help. Then she waited. The waiting was the hard part.

“Not being able to control everything around me was really hard to process,” she said.

Marlena first learned how painful losing control could be when she was 12. 

Her father, the sole bread-winner of a family of six, worked for a company that got acquired. He turned down an offer to keep his job at a steep pay cut, which caused their mortgage company to come after them like a pack of vultures and sparked a lawsuit that left the family in financial ruin.

“We lost everything,” she recounted. “We lost our home, we had to move and it took us about seven years of living paycheck to paycheck to get back on our feet.”

Marlena’s experience taught her early that there is only so much your own two hands can influence. Sitting with her parents and siblings at their dining table through many hard conversations also taught her that finances are fundamental to building a future. She took these lessons to heart and threw herself into her studies, gripping the reins of her future with characteristic ferocity and discipline.

Marlena graduated with the highest honors from her high school as her class valedictorian and one year early. After completing her associate’s degree, she plans to transfer to a four-year university to earn both a bachelor’s and master’s in biomedical engineering. While her current accomplishments are remarkable enough, for Marlena, they’re just the preamble.

“My dream is to create the world’s first 3D-printed organs,” she shared. “I’m so passionate about my studies because I want to save lives.”

Anyone who knows Marlena understands that while she radiates passion for her field, her love for her family is, somehow, even more potent. She would never trade family for her own ambitions. So in typical Marlena fashion, she has gone about her academic journey with a mission to lift the financial burden of college on her family with unrelenting focus and dedication.

“I’ve probably applied to hundreds of scholarships,” she recounts. “I apply to the big ones and the small ones, too. I know every bit adds up. At one point, I was applying to two scholarships a day.”

Her hard work was paying off.  

Between her scholarships and her parents’ support, she had made it through the first two years of study without compromise. Then the pandemic derailed her plans. Marlena was suddenly considering reducing her course load for the fall semester because of the cost. She then began searching for external resources and came across MAF’s CA College Student Grant.  

The $500 grants were emergency financial relief for students in need, regardless of academic performance. Because of the sheer volume of demand, the MAF team created a financial equity framework to bring those left last and least to the front of the line. We prioritized those who had lost income, were financially strained and were marginalized from other funding.

Students like Marlena should never have to choose between their grocery bill and their books. 

Students should have the time to study without worrying about tracking hundreds of scholarships. For this reason, MAF leveraged the best of technology and finance to deliver grants as effectively and quickly as possible.

Back at Marlena’s desk in April, she released a full-bodied sigh of relief. She’d just received an email from MAF that her application was accepted. By the end of that day, she saw the grant deposited into her account.

“Within 24 hours, I saw the funds in my account and I was able to buy my books,” she beamed. “Receiving the grant gave me hope. There are others out there investing in me and my future.”

With her family firmly beside her and a growing circle of supporters cheering her on, Marlena is well on her way to realizing her dreams. And it’s working. Marlena ended her semester maintaining a 4.0 GPA and will be graduating in 2021 with highest honors before moving on to UC Riverside on a Regents scholarship. She credits honoring her Native American great-grandfather and her faith as key inspirations in making it to this point.

“I know there are many others who are going through the same things I am,” she says. “If I’m able to encourage and inspire them to not give up, that makes everything worthwhile.”

At MAF, we know she will do just that. She already is.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2021 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English