跳到主要内容

“祝福……荆棘”:DACA 10 年

当 Shanique 的母亲在 2015 年去世时,她无法离开美国参加她的葬礼。 Shanique 15 岁时从巴哈马移民,从那时起,由于她的 DACAmented 身份,她一直“被困”在美国。

“虽然 DACA 是一种祝福,但我想说,在我的肉体中,它也有点像刺,” MAF DACA 费用援助接受者 Shanique 说。如果 Shanique 离开这个国家去和她的母亲道别,她就不会被允许回到美国的家中。

这把双刃剑对于数十万小时候被带到美国的移民来说并不少见。自 2012 年成立以来,DACA 一直是一项变革性计划。它允许 Shanique 和其他许多人获得驾驶执照、社会保障卡和工作许可证。 “如果不是因为 DACA,我不会有今天的工作,”担任医院文员的 Shanique 说。

据 MAF DACA 费用援助接受者米格尔说,DACA 提供了一种改变生活的安全保障。 “DACA 让我有能力追随自己的梦想,追随我的职业道路,不怕被驱逐出境,”他说。该计划使他有机会从事倡导事业,以非营利组织董事的身份为像他这样的其他人而战。 

“在 DACA 之前,我们总是不得不在阴影中,我们不得不害怕,” 米格尔说。 “情况不再如此。”

但 DACA 从来都不是为该国成千上万的无证移民提供长期解决方案。当 DACA 于 2012 年首次宣布时,前总统奥巴马称其为“临时权宜措施。” “这不是特赦,这不是豁免。这不是通向公民身份的途径。这不是永久性的解决办法,”他说。 

从那以后的十年里,DACA 接受者面临着多重障碍——联邦法官质疑该计划的合法性、长达数月的 USCIS 积压危及续签,以及 $495 申请费,这仍然是低收入 DACA 申请者进入的最大障碍之一.随着 DACA 成立 10 周年,DACA 因法律挑战而对新申请人关闭。即使是可以申请续签的移民仍然被禁止享有各种权利,例如投票或能够出国旅行。 

“我们经常被提醒自己的身份,”Shanique 说。 “在你的驾照上看到‘临时’这个词这样简单的事情就有点刺痛了你的心。”

这就是为什么获得公民身份的途径如此重要的原因——不仅对大约 800,000 名 DACA 接受者,而且对美国所有 1140 万无证移民而言。

“实际上,为数以百万计的美国人创造一条获得公民身份的途径,他们正在为这个国家做出贡献,正在让这个国家变得更好,这将改变人们十倍的生活,” 米格尔说。 “看看像我这样的人。” 

米格尔最近成为了永久居民——对于大多数 DACA 接受者来说,这种身份变化不是一种选择。成为永久居民让他不仅可以“不受限制”地追求自己的激情,还可以在墨西哥见到他与他已经分开 32 年的家人。 “我两岁时搬到这里。由于我的新身份改变,我回到了墨西哥,第一次见到了我的家人。”

三十二年是与家人分离的不合情理的时间。但获得公民身份的途径可以使家庭团聚,并让无证移民有权投票、见到亲人并过上自由的私人生活。经过十年的 DACA,获得公民身份的途径早就应该了。

“我觉得我在这里住得够久了。这是我唯一知道的家,” 沙尼克说。 “我什至不记得我在巴哈马的大部分生活。美国一直是我的家。”


MAF 与 DACA 接受者团结一致,提供 费用协助 这样申请费就不会成为那些希望申请 DACA 的人的障碍。自 DACA 计划开始以来,MAF 已向 47 个州和哥伦比亚特区的人们提供贷款和配套赠款。超过 11,000 名 DACA 接受者获得了 MAF 的 DACA 费用援助,其中包括 Miguel 和 Shanique。 

如果您有资格申请 DACA 续签,MAF 会提供费用援助。 了解更多信息并立即申请!

Skip to main content

‘A Blessing…A Thorn’: 10 Years of DACA

When Shanique’s mother passed away in 2015, she couldn’t leave the United States for her funeral. Shanique immigrated from The Bahamas when she was 15, and ever since then, she has been “stuck” in the U.S. because of her DACAmented status.

“Although DACA has been a blessing, it has also been a bit of a thorn, I would say, in my flesh,” says Shanique, a MAF DACA fee assistance recipient. If Shanique had left the country to say goodbye to her mother, she would not have been allowed to return home to the United States.

This double-edged sword isn’t uncommon for hundreds of thousands of immigrants who were brought to the United States as children. Since its inception in 2012, DACA has been a transformative program. It’s allowed Shanique and so many others to receive driver’s licenses, social security cards, and work permits. “If it was not for DACA, I would not have the job I have today,” says Shanique, who works as a hospital clerk.

DACA provided a kind of life-changing safety and security, according to Miguel, a fellow MAF DACA fee assistance recipient. “DACA was able to give me the ability to follow my dreams, to follow my career path, to not be afraid of being deported,” he says. The program gave him the means to pursue a career of advocacy, to fight for others like himself in his role as a nonprofit director. 

“Prior to DACA, we always had to be in the shadows and we had to be afraid,” Miguel says. “And that’s no longer the case.”

But DACA was never meant to serve as a long-lasting solution for the thousands of undocumented immigrants in the country. When DACA was first announced in 2012, former president Obama called it a “temporary stopgap measure.” “This is not amnesty, this is not immunity. This is not a path to citizenship. It’s not a permanent fix,” he said. 

In the decade since, DACA recipients have faced multiple hurdles — a federal judge challenging the program’s legitimacy, a months-long USCIS backlog jeopardizing renewals, and the $495 application fee, which remains one of the largest barriers to entry for low-income DACA applicants. And as DACA hits its 10-year-anniversary, DACA is closed to new applicants because of legal challenges. Even immigrants who can apply for renewals are still barred from various rights, like voting or being able to travel internationally. 

“We’re constantly reminded of our status,” Shanique says. “Something as simple as seeing the word ‘temporary’ on your driver’s license is a little bit of a sting to the heart.”

That’s why a path to citizenship is so crucial — not just for the approximately 800,000 DACA recipients, but for all 11.4 million undocumented immigrants in the United States.

“Actually creating a pathway to citizenship for the millions of people who are in the United States, who are contributing to this country, who are making this country better, would change the lives of people tenfold,” Miguel says. “Just look at someone like myself.” 

Miguel recently became a permanent resident — a status change that isn’t an option for most DACA recipients. Becoming a permanent resident has allowed him not just to pursue his passions “unrestricted,” but to see his family in Mexico, whom he had been separated from for 32 years. “I moved here at the age of two. And because of my new status change, I went back to Mexico and met my family for the first time.”

Thirty-two years is an unconscionable amount of time to be separated from family. But a pathway to citizenship can reunite families and allow undocumented immigrants the right to vote, see loved ones, and live a private life of freedom. After a decade of DACA, a pathway to citizenship is long overdue.

“I feel like I’ve lived here long enough. This is the only home I know,” Shanique says. “I don’t even remember much of my life in The Bahamas. America has been my home.”


MAF stands in solidarity with DACA recipients, providing fee assistance so that the filing fee isn’t a barrier for those looking to apply for DACA. Since the DACA program began, MAF has provided loans and matching grants to people in 47 states and the District of Columbia. More than 11,000 DACA recipients have accessed MAF’s DACA fee assistance, including Miguel and Shanique. 

If you’re eligible to apply for a DACA renewal, MAF offers fee assistance. Learn more and apply today!