تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

"نعمة ... شوكة": 10 سنوات من DACA

عندما توفيت والدة شانيك في عام 2015 ، لم تستطع مغادرة الولايات المتحدة لحضور جنازتها. هاجرت شانيك من جزر الباهاما عندما كانت في الخامسة عشرة من عمرها ، ومنذ ذلك الحين ، كانت "عالقة" في الولايات المتحدة بسبب وضعها المعتمد في DACA.

"على الرغم من أن DACA كانت نعمة ، إلا أنها كانت أيضًا بمثابة شوكة في جسدي ، كما يمكنني القول ،" يقول Shanique ، متلقي مساعدة رسوم MAF DACA. إذا كانت شانيك قد غادرت البلاد لتودع والدتها ، فلن يُسمح لها بالعودة إلى وطنها في الولايات المتحدة.

هذا السيف ذو الحدين ليس نادرًا بالنسبة لمئات الآلاف من المهاجرين الذين جُلبوا إلى الولايات المتحدة وهم أطفال. منذ إنشائها في عام 2012 ، كان DACA برنامجًا تحويليًا. يُسمح لشانيك والعديد من الأشخاص الآخرين بالحصول على رخص القيادة وبطاقات الضمان الاجتماعي وتصاريح العمل. تقول شانيك ، التي تعمل كموظفة في المستشفى: "لولا DACA ، لما حصلت على الوظيفة التي أمتلكها اليوم".

قدمت DACA نوعًا من السلامة والأمن المتغيرة للحياة ، وفقًا لميغيل ، وهو زميل متلقي مساعدة رسوم MAF DACA. يقول: "تمكنت DACA من إعطائي القدرة على متابعة أحلامي ، ومتابعة مسيرتي المهنية ، وعدم الخوف من الترحيل". أعطاه البرنامج الوسائل لمتابعة مهنة المناصرة ، للقتال من أجل آخرين مثله في دوره كمدير غير ربحي. 

"قبل DACA ، كان علينا دائمًا أن نكون في الظل وكان علينا الخوف ،" يقول ميغيل. "ولم يعد هذا هو الحال."

لكن DACA لم يكن من المفترض أن يكون حلاً طويل الأمد لآلاف المهاجرين غير الشرعيين في البلاد. عندما تم الإعلان عن DACA لأول مرة في عام 2012 ، وصفه الرئيس السابق أوباما بأنه "تدبير مؤقت مؤقت. " هذا ليس عفو ، هذه ليست حصانة. هذا ليس طريق المواطنة. قال "إنه ليس حلًا دائمًا". 

في العقد الذي مر منذ ذلك الحين ، واجه متلقو DACA عقبات متعددة - قاضٍ اتحادي يتحدى شرعية البرنامج ، وتراكم USCIS لمدة شهور يعرض التجديدات للخطر ، ورسوم الطلب $495 ، والتي لا تزال واحدة من أكبر العوائق أمام دخول المتقدمين ذوي الدخل المنخفض DACA . ومع دخول DACA الذكرى السنوية العاشرة لتأسيسها ، تم إغلاق DACA أمام المتقدمين الجدد بسبب التحديات القانونية. حتى المهاجرين الذين يمكنهم التقدم بطلب التجديد لا يزالون ممنوعين من حقوق مختلفة ، مثل التصويت أو القدرة على السفر دوليًا. 

يقول شانيك: "يتم تذكيرنا باستمرار بوضعنا". "شيء بسيط مثل رؤية كلمة" مؤقت "في رخصة القيادة الخاصة بك هو نوع من اللدغة إلى حد ما".

هذا هو السبب في أن الطريق إلى المواطنة أمر بالغ الأهمية - ليس فقط لما يقرب من 800000 متلقي DACA ، ولكن لجميع 11.4 مليون مهاجر غير مسجلين في الولايات المتحدة.

"في الواقع ، خلق طريق إلى المواطنة لملايين الأشخاص الموجودين في الولايات المتحدة ، والذين يساهمون في هذا البلد ، والذين يجعلون هذا البلد أفضل ، من شأنه أن يغير حياة الناس عشرة أضعاف ،" يقول ميغيل. "انظر فقط إلى شخص مثلي." 

أصبح ميغيل مؤخرًا مقيمًا دائمًا - تغيير الحالة ليس خيارًا لمعظم مستلمي DACA. لقد سمح له الحصول على الإقامة الدائمة ليس فقط بمتابعة شغفه "غير المقيد" ، ولكن لرؤية عائلته في المكسيك ، التي انفصل عنها لمدة 32 عامًا. "لقد انتقلت إلى هنا في الثانية من عمري. وبسبب تغيير وضعي الجديد ، عدت إلى المكسيك وقابلت عائلتي للمرة الأولى ".

اثنان وثلاثون عامًا هي فترة زمنية غير معقولة للانفصال عن الأسرة. لكن الطريق إلى المواطنة يمكن أن يجمع شمل العائلات ويسمح للمهاجرين غير المسجلين بالحق في التصويت ورؤية أحبائهم وعيش حياة خاصة مليئة بالحرية. بعد عقد من DACA ، طال انتظار الطريق إلى المواطنة.

"أشعر وكأنني عشت هنا لفترة كافية. هذا هو المنزل الوحيد الذي أعرفه ، " شانيك يقول. "لا أتذكر الكثير من حياتي في جزر البهاما. لقد كانت أمريكا موطني ".


ماف تقف في تضامن مع المستفيدين من DACA ، وتوفير مساعدة الرسوم بحيث لا تشكل رسوم التسجيل عائقاً أمام أولئك الذين يتطلعون إلى التقدم بطلب للحصول على DACA. منذ أن بدأ برنامج DACA ، قدمت MAF قروضًا ومنحًا مماثلة لأشخاص في 47 ولاية ومقاطعة كولومبيا. حصل أكثر من 11000 من مستلمي DACA على مساعدة رسوم DACA من MAF ، بما في ذلك Miguel و Shanique. 

إذا كنت مؤهلاً للتقدم بطلب لتجديد DACA ، فإن MAF تقدم مساعدة في الرسوم. تعلم المزيد وتطبيق اليوم!

Skip to main content

‘A Blessing…A Thorn’: 10 Years of DACA

When Shanique’s mother passed away in 2015, she couldn’t leave the United States for her funeral. Shanique immigrated from The Bahamas when she was 15, and ever since then, she has been “stuck” in the U.S. because of her DACAmented status.

“Although DACA has been a blessing, it has also been a bit of a thorn, I would say, in my flesh,” says Shanique, a MAF DACA fee assistance recipient. If Shanique had left the country to say goodbye to her mother, she would not have been allowed to return home to the United States.

This double-edged sword isn’t uncommon for hundreds of thousands of immigrants who were brought to the United States as children. Since its inception in 2012, DACA has been a transformative program. It’s allowed Shanique and so many others to receive driver’s licenses, social security cards, and work permits. “If it was not for DACA, I would not have the job I have today,” says Shanique, who works as a hospital clerk.

DACA provided a kind of life-changing safety and security, according to Miguel, a fellow MAF DACA fee assistance recipient. “DACA was able to give me the ability to follow my dreams, to follow my career path, to not be afraid of being deported,” he says. The program gave him the means to pursue a career of advocacy, to fight for others like himself in his role as a nonprofit director. 

“Prior to DACA, we always had to be in the shadows and we had to be afraid,” Miguel says. “And that’s no longer the case.”

But DACA was never meant to serve as a long-lasting solution for the thousands of undocumented immigrants in the country. When DACA was first announced in 2012, former president Obama called it a “temporary stopgap measure.” “This is not amnesty, this is not immunity. This is not a path to citizenship. It’s not a permanent fix,” he said. 

In the decade since, DACA recipients have faced multiple hurdles — a federal judge challenging the program’s legitimacy, a months-long USCIS backlog jeopardizing renewals, and the $495 application fee, which remains one of the largest barriers to entry for low-income DACA applicants. And as DACA hits its 10-year-anniversary, DACA is closed to new applicants because of legal challenges. Even immigrants who can apply for renewals are still barred from various rights, like voting or being able to travel internationally. 

“We’re constantly reminded of our status,” Shanique says. “Something as simple as seeing the word ‘temporary’ on your driver’s license is a little bit of a sting to the heart.”

That’s why a path to citizenship is so crucial — not just for the approximately 800,000 DACA recipients, but for all 11.4 million undocumented immigrants in the United States.

“Actually creating a pathway to citizenship for the millions of people who are in the United States, who are contributing to this country, who are making this country better, would change the lives of people tenfold,” Miguel says. “Just look at someone like myself.” 

Miguel recently became a permanent resident — a status change that isn’t an option for most DACA recipients. Becoming a permanent resident has allowed him not just to pursue his passions “unrestricted,” but to see his family in Mexico, whom he had been separated from for 32 years. “I moved here at the age of two. And because of my new status change, I went back to Mexico and met my family for the first time.”

Thirty-two years is an unconscionable amount of time to be separated from family. But a pathway to citizenship can reunite families and allow undocumented immigrants the right to vote, see loved ones, and live a private life of freedom. After a decade of DACA, a pathway to citizenship is long overdue.

“I feel like I’ve lived here long enough. This is the only home I know,” Shanique says. “I don’t even remember much of my life in The Bahamas. America has been my home.”


MAF stands in solidarity with DACA recipients, providing fee assistance so that the filing fee isn’t a barrier for those looking to apply for DACA. Since the DACA program began, MAF has provided loans and matching grants to people in 47 states and the District of Columbia. More than 11,000 DACA recipients have accessed MAF’s DACA fee assistance, including Miguel and Shanique. 

If you’re eligible to apply for a DACA renewal, MAF offers fee assistance. Learn more and apply today!