A Tale of Two Recoveries

两次康复的故事:移民家庭如何在 COVID-19 中幸存下来

最近,我们在新闻中听到最 美国家庭今天的财务状况要好得多 与 COVID-19 大流行之前相比。从刺激检查和失业保险到扩大的儿童税收抵免,联邦 COVID-19 救济在帮助家庭生存甚至改善他们的财务基础方面发挥了关键作用。

但这张照片错过了另一个鲜为人知的复苏故事:被排除在联邦大流行救济之外的移民家庭的经历。 

2021 年 12 月 2 日,我们齐聚一堂,讲述留守移民家庭的故事和经历。我们与合作伙伴一起反思并问自己, 我们如何帮助移民家庭重建他们的财务生活? 观看下面的录音.

1150 万移民及其家人被拒绝获得联邦 COVID-19 救济。

作为一个已经为我报税 12 年的无证人士,很难接受在我们挣扎的时候,我们无法收回任何东西。”——Juan,移民家庭基金接受者

长期以来,移民一直被排除在这个国家的社会安全网之外。尽管付出了 数十亿的联邦税 每年,无证移民仍然没有资格享受几乎所有的联邦保护,从健康保险到食品和住房补贴。

在大流行期间,四分之三的无证移民担任前线重要角色,冒着生命危险帮助我们保持食物、安全和健康。然而,即使他们为国家挺身而出,他们仍然被排除在联邦救济之外。据估计,一个移民四口之家是 拒绝 $11,400 以上.如果没有这种关键支持,移民家庭的生活就会遭受毁灭性打击。 

必不可少的、不可见的和被排除在外的。 

借鉴我们无与伦比的 对超过 11,000 名移民的调查 被排除在联邦救济之外,我们对移民家庭如何生存进行了诚实而痛苦的审视。  

没有社会安全网可以依靠,许多移民别无选择,只能出现在工作岗位上。前线工人的成本是巨大的:不仅工人将家人的健康置于危险之中,而且那些确实生病的人还面临着经济困难的螺旋式下降。

与没有人生病的家庭相比,成员感染 COVID-19 的家庭不仅更有可能失去收入和拖欠账单,而且他们也更有可能面临处罚、公用事业关闭和被驱逐.

许多移民家庭在进入危机时遇到了有限的机会和很少的财务选择。在 COVID-19 之前对正式金融系统不可见的家庭𑁋缺乏社会安全号码或税号𑁋,他们不太可能拥有支票账户或信用卡。

由于财务策略较少,这些家庭在 COVID-19 期间可利用的选择较少。事实上,我们看到有税号的移民比没有税号的移民更有可能全额支付每月的账单。 

那么,家庭是如何在一个将他们视为必不可少且不可见的系统中生存的呢?许多人没有,因为十分之六的家庭报告无法满足他们的基本需求。尽管做出了这些牺牲,许多家庭仍然不得不负债。在大流行最严重的时候,落后的家庭报告说有 $2,000 的未付账单,这代表着家庭即使进入复苏阶段也会随身携带的僵尸债务。

我们的行动呼吁.

那么,我们该何去何从?

我们邀请了倡导者和从业者谈论我们如何能够出现、做得更多、做得更好。总的来说,我们听说虽然正在采取措施帮助人们重建,但要实现真正公平和包容性的复苏,还需要做更多的事情。

A Tale of Two Recoveries, webinar panelists

展示:制定包含所有移民的政策。 联邦政府开创了将移民排除在关键社会安全网政策之外的破坏性先例。但是,我们可以在州和地方层面做出选择,以利用我们现在可用的资源提供救济。政策是一种选择,我们有能力为各级政府的所有移民倡导更具包容性的保护和服务。

做更多:消除结构障碍。 没有合法身份,移民继续被排除在可以帮助他们重建的关键资源之外。但可访问性甚至更深层次:从语言到技术障碍,我们需要确保以语言、文化以及帮助家庭在需要时使用资源的方式提供计划和服务。

做得更好:一起改变思维方式。 从 COVID-19 救济计划到人们越来越认识到为人们提供现金工作,我们为更好地支持边缘人群而取得的进展感到鼓舞。但在这场斗争中,我们需要更多的盟友,这样我们才能建立系统,创造更公平的机会途径。当我们利用我们的集体力量时,我们可以创造持久的变化。

我们知道这项工作远未结束。

移民被排除在我们国家的支持系统之外太久了,而 COVID-19 只会加剧其中许多现有的不平等。这就是为什么我们的工作比以往任何时候都更重要。

当我们展望未来时,我们被何塞的提醒所锚定:“我们必须相互依赖才能保持完整并保持精神振奋。我们不能让现实的毁灭压倒我们的精神。”在相互尊重和相互尊重的情况下,我们可以一起帮助移民家庭有尊严地重建他们的财务生活。

使命资产基金是一个501C3组织

使用条款   |   隐私   |   接触

版权所有 © 2022 Mission Asset Fund。版权所有。

Chinese

A Tale of Two Recoveries

A Tale of Two Recoveries: How Immigrant Families Survived COVID-19

Lately, we’ve been hearing in the news how most American households are doing much better financially today than they were before the COVID-19 pandemic. From stimulus checks and unemployment insurance to the expanded Child Tax Credit, federal COVID-19 relief played a critical role in helping families survive, and even improve their financial footing.

But this picture misses another lesser-known story of recovery: the experience of immigrant families who were excluded from federal pandemic relief. 

On December 2, 2021, we came together to uplift the stories and experiences of immigrant families left behind. We reflected with partners and asked ourselves, how can we help immigrant families rebuild their financial lives? Watch the recording below.

11.5 million immigrants and their families were denied federal COVID-19 relief.

As an undocumented person who has filed my taxes for twelve years, it has been hard to have to accept that in times when we struggle, we are unable to receive anything back.”—Juan, Immigrant Families Fund recipient

Immigrants have long been excluded from this country’s social safety net. Despite paying billions in federal taxes every year, undocumented immigrants remain ineligible for nearly all federal protections, from health insurance to food and housing subsidies.

During the pandemic, three in four undocumented immigrants filled frontline essential roles, risking their own lives to help keep us fed, safe, and healthy. Yet, even as they stepped up for the country, they remained excluded from federal relief. It’s estimated that an immigrant family of four was denied upward of $11,400. Without this critical support, immigrant families’ lives took a devastating hit. 

Essential, invisible, and excluded. 

Drawing on our unparalleled survey of more than 11,000 immigrants excluded from federal relief, we got an honest and painful look at how immigrant families survived.  

Without a social safety net to fall back on, many immigrants had no choice but to show up for work. The costs for workers on the frontlines was immense: not only did workers put their families’ health at risk, but those who did get sick faced a downward spiral of financial hardship.

Families where a member got sick with COVID-19 were not only more likely to lose income and fall behind on bills than households where no one got sick, but they were also more likely to face penalties, have their utilities shut off, and be evicted.

Many immigrant families walked into the crisis with limited access and few financial options. Families who were invisible to the formal financial system prior to COVID-19𑁋lacking a Social Security Number or Tax ID𑁋were less likely to have checking accounts or credit cards.

And with fewer financial strategies, these families had fewer options to draw on during COVID-19. Indeed, we saw that immigrants who had a Tax ID were 45% more likely to pay their monthly bills in full than immigrants without a Tax ID. 

So how did families survive in a system that treated them as essential and invisible? Many went without, as 6 in 10 families reported being unable to cover their basic needs. Despite these sacrifices, many families still had to take on debt. In the depth of the pandemic, families who had fallen behind reported having $2,000 in unpaid bills, representing zombie debt that families will carry with them even into the recovery.

Our calls to action.

So, where do we go from here?

We invited advocates and practitioners to talk about how we can show up, do more, and do better. Across the board, we heard that while steps are being taken to help people rebuild, more needs to happen for a truly equitable and inclusive recovery.

A Tale of Two Recoveries, webinar panelists

SHOW UP: Make policies inclusive of all immigrants. The federal government has set a damaging precedent of excluding immigrants from critical social safety net policies. However, there are choices we can make at the state and local levels to help offer relief with the resources we have available now. Policy is a choice, and it’s in our power to advocate for more inclusive protections and services for all immigrants across all levels of government.

DO MORE: Remove structural barriers. Without legal status, immigrants continue to be left out of critical resources that could help them rebuild. But accessibility runs even deeper: from language to technology barriers, we need to ensure programs and services are delivered in-language, in-culture, and in ways that help families use resources when they need them.

DO BETTER: Change mindsets together. From COVID-19 relief packages to the growing recognition that giving people cash works, we’re encouraged by the progress that has been made to better support people at the margins. But we need more allies in this fight so that we can build systems that create more equitable pathways of opportunity. When we harness our collective power, we can create lasting change.

We know the work is far from over.

Immigrants have been excluded from our nation’s support systems for too long, and COVID-19 has only exacerbated many of these existing inequities. This is why our work is more important than ever.

When we look ahead, we’re anchored by José’s reminder: “We have to rely on one another to keep ourselves whole and keep our spirits up. We can’t let the devastation of our reality overtake our spirits.” Together, with respect and mutuality, we can help immigrant families rebuild their financial lives with dignity.

MISSION ASSET FUND IS A 501C3 ORGANIZATION

TERMS OF USE   |   PRIVACY   |   CONTACT

Copyright © 2022 Mission Asset Fund. All Rights Reserved.

English